Free 2-3 Day Shipping On All Order Over $75
Hot Tools

Hot Tools Professional Flat Iron

The advanced professional flat iron (Hot Tools 1190) with 10 heat settings maintains constant temperature for non-stop smoothing with consistent quality.
$29.99
In Stock
- Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 524 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Hot Tools Professional Flat Iron (524)
Show All 524 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Long Island, NY
    4 Star Rating
    Works Well, But Plastic Broke
    Ive had this product for OVER A YEAR and I believe that it works quite well. It works better than 2 other gold plated flat irons Ive bought - it heats up fast, & b/c of the large surface area it gets the job done a lot quicker than most. Im a college student who does not have a relaxer (thick, kinky hair)and it is quick and easy to use. I find it LESS DAMAGING than when I used get my hair professionally straightened every 2 weeks. My beautician would use a non-electric flat iron (we all know about those) and that did the most damage.If youre putting heat in your hair, you expect some damage, they key is to treat your hair prior and during the times youre putting strain on your hair.For hair that is not chemically treated, use organic products that do not contain alcohol, and over conditioning your hair can be just as bad as not conditioning it enough.KNOW YOUR HAIR, get expert opinions and read books before you try anything new.---my hair is doing better using this flat iron, the only problem ive had was that the plastic broke on the side, and like another reviewer - I hadnt dropped it nor do I share my products - dont know how it happened.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 15, 2004
    Link to this post
  • NJ
    1 Star Rating
    Bad Deal
    I only wish I had read the other reviews here before I bought this iron! I have only had it 4 months and it burned out and wont heat up anymore. I also agree that it totally damages your hair - my ends are split like crazy!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 26, 2004
    Link to this post
  • Illinois
    2 Star Rating
    Hot Tool
    I think these work well... but they always break...im on my 4th
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 23, 2004
    Link to this post
  • CT
    1 Star Rating
    Do Not Get It
    i got this for christmas, i have very curly unmanageable hair, first i really enjoyed the straight styles i got, but that was when i was concerned about how my hair "looked" now i care about how it FEELS, and it obviously did not feel good. my hair became severley damaged, way past the point it should be. my hair was falling out, it was burnt, i had so many split ends, even my hairdresser had to get me the most expensive shampoos to help my hair. DO NOT GET IT
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 21, 2004
    Link to this post
  • Washington
    2 Star Rating
    Breaks Within Months!
    I have had this flat iron and within 2-5 months it just stops heating up. At first this straightener was a good straightener it did well on my curly, frizzy, poofy hair. Well, now its damaged and my 3rd one of these flat irons has stopped working and i cant even send it back i forgot to send in the warrenty for the 3rd time! Hot Tools is a waste of money. If you do decide to buy one, remember SEND IN THE WARRENTY and KEEP THE RECIEPT!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 15, 2004
    Link to this post
  • 2 Star Rating
    Worked Well On My Hair But Broke After 6 Months!!
    I loved this when I first got it, but after about 6 months, it completely stopped working! You would think after one flat iron from Hot Tools broke, I wouldnt buy another one, but I did. It was a newer improved model that cost more...and it still BROKE AFTER 8 MONTHS. I wil never buy from Hot Tools again, and you shouldnt either! One of my friends has the Chi and it has never broken. Next time, I will invest in an iron that is good quality.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 9, 2004
    Link to this post
  • 3 Star Rating
    Good
    I had this iron and it worked really great. It stoped heating after four months and I had thrown out the recipt. But what I am really here to say is this: stop complaining about split ends. There is no straightener that you could ever buy that will not give you split ends. I now have a ceramic plated iron and I still get split ends. This straightener worked really well until it broke.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 1, 2004
    Link to this post
  • From Jersey
    3 Star Rating
    You Could Do Better!
    I have think, THINK curley/ wavey hair that is SO puffy! When i got this iron, it was pretty good, then one day it stopped working so i got another one. The one i currently have now is slowing down. My hair is not as straight as i would like. As you use it, its abilities go down. Plus, there is a HUGE crack on the plastic by the blade and if i use it much more, i could brake in 2 (or more!) I give it a 3 1/2 for straightening results and a 2 for quality! You could do better!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 27, 2004
    Link to this post
  • Phoenix, AZ
    3 Star Rating
    Straightens Hair But Damages Hair Too
    This product straightens hair but it lacks the shine that I get at the salon. I take really good care of my hair (trim every 6 weeks, deep conditioning every week, leave in conditioner every day) and I still get split ends! I have straight hair already (Asian) but at times, I want the stick straight hair so I use the straightner, say at most twice a week. I get split ends! So you can see that this took damages your hair.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 23, 2004
    Link to this post
  • 3 Star Rating
    Not Bad For The Price
    This flat iron works reasonable well - however, it is not as good as the one my stylist has. After a few weeks one of the sides stopped heating up (can still use it - just not as effective). I have had to crank it up to the highest setting (10) for it to be effective. Now the plastic is also cracking. After one year, I am going to invest in a better quality flat iron.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 15, 2004
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name