Free Shipping Over $50
Hot Tools

Hot Tools Professional Flat Iron

522 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The advanced professional flat iron (Hot Tools 1190) with 10 heat settings maintains constant temperature for non-stop smoothing with consistent quality.
$59.95
$29.99
Save 50%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 522 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Hot Tools Professional Flat Iron (522)
Show All 522 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Illinois
    2 Star Rating
    Hot Tool
    I think these work well... but they always break...im on my 4th
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 23, 2004
    Link to this post
  • CT
    1 Star Rating
    Do Not Get It
    i got this for christmas, i have very curly unmanageable hair, first i really enjoyed the straight styles i got, but that was when i was concerned about how my hair "looked" now i care about how it FEELS, and it obviously did not feel good. my hair became severley damaged, way past the point it should be. my hair was falling out, it was burnt, i had so many split ends, even my hairdresser had to get me the most expensive shampoos to help my hair. DO NOT GET IT
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 21, 2004
    Link to this post
  • Washington
    2 Star Rating
    Breaks Within Months!
    I have had this flat iron and within 2-5 months it just stops heating up. At first this straightener was a good straightener it did well on my curly, frizzy, poofy hair. Well, now its damaged and my 3rd one of these flat irons has stopped working and i cant even send it back i forgot to send in the warrenty for the 3rd time! Hot Tools is a waste of money. If you do decide to buy one, remember SEND IN THE WARRENTY and KEEP THE RECIEPT!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 15, 2004
    Link to this post
  • 2 Star Rating
    Worked Well On My Hair But Broke After 6 Months!!
    I loved this when I first got it, but after about 6 months, it completely stopped working! You would think after one flat iron from Hot Tools broke, I wouldnt buy another one, but I did. It was a newer improved model that cost more...and it still BROKE AFTER 8 MONTHS. I wil never buy from Hot Tools again, and you shouldnt either! One of my friends has the Chi and it has never broken. Next time, I will invest in an iron that is good quality.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 9, 2004
    Link to this post
  • 3 Star Rating
    Good
    I had this iron and it worked really great. It stoped heating after four months and I had thrown out the recipt. But what I am really here to say is this: stop complaining about split ends. There is no straightener that you could ever buy that will not give you split ends. I now have a ceramic plated iron and I still get split ends. This straightener worked really well until it broke.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 1, 2004
    Link to this post
  • From Jersey
    3 Star Rating
    You Could Do Better!
    I have think, THINK curley/ wavey hair that is SO puffy! When i got this iron, it was pretty good, then one day it stopped working so i got another one. The one i currently have now is slowing down. My hair is not as straight as i would like. As you use it, its abilities go down. Plus, there is a HUGE crack on the plastic by the blade and if i use it much more, i could brake in 2 (or more!) I give it a 3 1/2 for straightening results and a 2 for quality! You could do better!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 27, 2004
    Link to this post
  • Phoenix, AZ
    3 Star Rating
    Straightens Hair But Damages Hair Too
    This product straightens hair but it lacks the shine that I get at the salon. I take really good care of my hair (trim every 6 weeks, deep conditioning every week, leave in conditioner every day) and I still get split ends! I have straight hair already (Asian) but at times, I want the stick straight hair so I use the straightner, say at most twice a week. I get split ends! So you can see that this took damages your hair.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 23, 2004
    Link to this post
  • 3 Star Rating
    Not Bad For The Price
    This flat iron works reasonable well - however, it is not as good as the one my stylist has. After a few weeks one of the sides stopped heating up (can still use it - just not as effective). I have had to crank it up to the highest setting (10) for it to be effective. Now the plastic is also cracking. After one year, I am going to invest in a better quality flat iron.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 15, 2004
    Link to this post
  • Oregon
    4 Star Rating
    Crazy Good
    I have long think red curly hair, and nothing could straighten it and i tried everything. (Conair is the worst) My friend recomendid this one to me and i got it. It was wonderfull. It heated up fast, and i had straight stick flat hair in 15 minnutes. It was wonderfull, i had never been so happy! FInnaly something that had worked. But after about 2 montes a piece of the plastic broke off but it still worked great. Over time it need a little bit more time to heat up but it still worked wonderfully! But now it is broken and i dont know how. I never took it anywere with me, it stayed at home in my bathroom. I never droped it and took great care of it. Now one side doesnt work and it has only been 6 months. I have to say that this does work the best, but use your one year warenty the second you get it out of the box to help prevent having to buy another one. For the people who say it dries your hair- every product will do that unless you take care of your hair properly- dont blame this product for your hair problems. Just use a little extra condition or rebalencing-idolizer to help keep your hair heathly!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 4, 2004
    Link to this post
  • 3 Star Rating
    Average
    straightened hair really well but after a few months you start to see the affects of the gold plated flat iron. yes very damaging. after about 5 months it breaks. so overall its a good straightener for the price but im going to look forward to a ceramic straightener since i heard it was less damaging.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 4, 2004
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-3/4") Best of Folica

    Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-3/4")

    Solia's 1-3/4" model is designed for customers with thick, long hair (longer than shoulder length).

    801 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $165.95 New Price: $59.00
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Moisturizing Heat Protecting Boost

    Sedu Moisturizing Heat Protecting Boost

    Moisturizing Heat Protecting Boost from Sedu gives thirsty hair the moisture it needs. It buffers the heat from blow dryers, curling irons, flat irons, and hot rollers, while enhancing the effectiveness of each. Leaves your hair soft, shiny, and smooth. Ideal for all hair types.

    Old Price: $18.00 New Price: $8.99
  • Hot Tools 1875 watt Anti-Static Ion Dryer

    Hot Tools 1875 watt Anti-Static Ion Dryer

    Hot Tools 1875 watt Anti-Static Ion Dryer features faster drying and increased moisture absorption.

    Old Price: $40.00 New Price: $34.00
Server Name