Free Shipping Over $50
15% off + Free Shipping on Top Ten Lists
HAI

HAI Convertable Ceramic Flat Iron - 1 1/4"

1,022 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
HAI Convertable Professional Ceramic Flat Iron is plated with specially-coated ceramic heat panels which protect hair using infra-red heat.
$139.95
$79.95
Save 43% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 1,022 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • HAI Convertable Ceramic Flat Iron - 1 1/4" (1022)
Show All 1,022 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • MI
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Almost....
    I don't need to straighten my hair as much as just finish the ends after drying. I tried both this and the HAI Stik, and while they both added shine and didn't do much damage, the blue took 3 or 4 passes to look finished - which to me long-term, means it might be more damaging. The Stik, isn't necessarily hotter, but I found it was more effective on my hair, without being as intense as the Sedu Revolution (which really damaged my hair with just one pass), and 1 to 2 passes seem to do the trick. I found I had a little static with both, but not as much as some other irons (again, Sedu.) I haven't tried the CHI, I just don't need that much straightening power, but tried the GVP, which really damaged my hair with just 2 uses (only on 280 degrees). I also tried the Hot Tools Nano Ceramic, but while it got hot, it didn't really do anything other than dry out my ends. I think the plates on this are a little smoother than the Stik, but I didn't see any difference in performance. Also, I didn't see any reviews for the Stik that said the plates were chipping or wearing away, which made the Stik even more appealing. This is very good iron, and I think for some hair types it's one of the best - for me, the Stik makes more sense.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 5, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Excellent!
    I purchased this HAI hair straightener and used it for 5 years before it died. I switched to Solia and I noticed that it does not straighten my hair as well as the HAI did. Even though the Solia still works, I decided to purchase another HAI and switch back to what I had before. For the price I pay, I can't find another straightener that can beat this.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 31, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Santa Barbara, CA
    Hair
    Blonde
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    My Hair's Best Friend For Over 10 Years!
    The HAI convertible has been my go-to styling tool for over 10 years. I have fine, naturally wavy, highlighted hair that I like to wear straight, but it has the tendency to become frizzy. I want the sleekest hair I can possibly get. The HAI has always given me the look I want, and it usually takes only one pass on each section of hair to get it sleek and straight. I have used the T3 straightener and it did nothing compared to the HAI. I've also used Babyliss and Hot Tools. The HAI is by far the best straightener I have ever used, which is why I keep using it year after year. The downside is that I have probably owned at least 6 of them over the years because they always develop one problem or another. One time the iron just kept shutting off every 30 seconds or so and I'd have to use the reset/start buttons to get it going again. The one I have now (that I've used for about a year) I have to twist the cord until I get it in the exact right position and the red light starts blinking that it's working. I always keep a backup flat iron in my closet in case my HAI stops working, because that would be a major crisis!!
    So obviously this is an amazing iron since I keep buying them again and again even though they always break. I doubt I will ever use another iron unless they stop making these (heaven forbid)!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 23, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Alexandria, VA
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Bye Bye Chi, Hello Hai!
    I LIVED off of my Chi hair straighteners for about 10 years, and when my most recent one died, I began the search for another one. After much online research and review reading, I was skeptical about ordering a new one since many new Chi owners were complaining that they didn't last as long as they used to because they're now being manufactured in the US. My cousin is a hairstylist so I asked for her opinion, and HAI was one of her recommendations. I've been using it for several weeks now and I'm IN LOVE with it! It straightens so well without the strange odor that my Chi used to produce, nor do I feel like it's damaging my hair like other straighteners I've used. Plus, for the price, you can't beat it. A new Chi runs $100+, but for $79, I got the HAI straightener, a kink crimp iron, AND a travel case, which I've never had before but have always wanted. I am a new fan of HAI!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 12, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Oily Hair
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Loved My Hai, Miss My Hai
    I loved my HAI. I had it about 5 years before I dropped it & broke. I was able to glue it & it worked another year before it wouldn't heat up anymore. My best friend bought me another HAI but not the same blue plated iron. Now I'm not so happy & I find myself missing my blue plated flat iron.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 3, 2012
    Link to this post
  • EL Paso, TX
    Hair
    Blonde
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Flat Iron Ever!!!
    This would be my 2nd one, but because my first one lasted me 8 years and come on that is really good considering I would use it extremely alot . Can't complain is the only flat iron that does not damage my blonde high lights. I have try the Titanium and every other thing is out there. And I just can not get over this one. It leaves the hair so straight and shiny for days, not just that day. Is a tool we all women should have!!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 25, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Los Angeles
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Great Great!!!!
    i love it use it all the time my hair is horrible with out it !!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 20, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Alabama
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Straightener!
    This is the best straightener IMO. I tried the Solia and the CHI before settling with the HAI. I didn't think the solia straightened as well as the others. The CHI straightens well but it dries your hair out and it just looks brittle after a while. The HAI is the best of both worlds. It straightens just as well as the CHI but it also leaves your hair feeling silky, looks shiny, and does not dry it out! Love it! I have had mine for about 5 years and it's still going strong! I don't use it every day but I do use it several times per week. Just take care of the cord like the directions say and it will last a long time!
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 19, 2012
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    A New Favorite
    I've gone through several flat irons over the years. Because I have very thick, fine hair, I've been searching for a hair straightener that is powerful enough to straighten my massive amount I have without damaging the fine individual strands. This straightener did just that, while still cutting down on the average time it took to do my hair. Overall, I'm very impressed. It leaves my hair feeling smooth clear down to the ends.
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 14, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    My "old Faithful" Loyal Iron
    I had my Hai iron for 7 years and loved it. Unfortunately it got dropped one too many times on the tile floor and it finally died. But up until then, it was old faithful. I did notice that it seemed to lose some heat over time, so I bought a Chi. It lasted a few months then quit working all together. I bought another Chi and used my Hai until the new chi came. A year later, my second Chi died. No power, no heat, nada. Back to the Hai. Bought a Revlon from Target, and it was okay, not great. Went back to my Hai once again and stuck with it and gave the Revlon to my daughter. Sadly, it finally died.
    This little gem doesnt seem to get the marketing attention it deserves. Perhaps the company spends its money on the product itself, as opposed to advertising. Over the course of 5 years, I figure I've spent about $300 on my 3 replacement irons. Spent $90 on my original Hai and got 7 years of service. A no-brainer. From now on, I'm sticking with Hai.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 7, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. . Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $50.00 New Price: $37.00
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") Best of Folica

    Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

    The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution for true silky straight hair. 

    5,517 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $79.99 - $89.99
    Free Shipping
  • Keratin Complex Shine

    Keratin Complex Shine

    Keratin Complex Shine is a unique blend of precious oils and keratin protein oils.

    Old Price: $23.95 New Price: $16.00
Server Name