Free 2 Day Shipping
ghd

ghd V Jewel Collection Amethyst 1" Professional Styler

The ghd V Amethyst Set features a ghd gold professional 1" styler in a metallic finish with sparkling black plates that glide effortlessly through your hair.
$149.00
$143.00
4% OFF | FINAL SALE
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 31 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler (28)
  • ghd V Jewel Collection Amethyst 1" Professional Styler (3)
Show All 31 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    New York State
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Hair Purchase Ever
    I bought my GHD from Folica back in September 2010. Back then, I didn't know much about irons in general and had been using a CHI for the previous 3 years (which still works to this day as well!). I purchase a Sedu first, which I liked because I could modify the temperature settings, but it didn't give me the absolute pin straight look I wanted. So I returned it to Folica, no questions asked, read tons of reviews like this online and took my chances.
    I love this straighter! I've had it since 2010 and it has never failed me yet! Unlike my CHI, there has been no wearing on the plates and it doesn't rip my hair out during use. It's definitely not a "single pass" straightener and can take a little time to get my hair to the straightness I desire but for me it's totally worth it! I have tons of frizzy hair and the GHD makes it look like I was born with beautiful smooth and shinny hair!
    I went to turn it on the other day and it just beeped and beeped. I thought 5 years is a good amount of time for any product to last (especially one that I've used faithfully 3 or 4 times a week for years). Turned out it was just cold from sitting in my car in the below freezing temps and just needed to get back to room temperature. What a relief! If and when this ever dies I will definitely replace with another GHD!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 16, 2015
    Link to this post
  • ghd V Jewel Collection Amethyst 1" Profe...
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    I Found "the One".
    I've used many flat irons (Chi, BaByliss, Ktx450) and the ghd is by far the best I've used so far. It glides effortlessly through my hair, it never pulls or snags. My hair looks so smooth and shiny each time I straighten it.
    It only takes maybe two passes to get it straight, and it lasts all day. Actually, it will last until I wash my hair again (every 2-3 days) without touch-ups.

    The one thing I was concerned about is the lack of temperature settings. I have bangs, and I usually use really low heat on them. I've had no problems at all! The heat is a lot lower on my bangs than when I do the rest of my hair. I know a lot of people hate not being able to control the temp, but in my opinion it's a good thing. One less thing I have to worry about since it does it for me!

    And the price is unbeatable, right now it's on sale for $149(and this is the professional version!!) plus you get a free brush & free shipping!
    I used the recycle program which took an extra $40 off. And shipping my old flat iron to folica costs me only $7.

    Completely worth it!
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 27, 2014
    Link to this post
  • ghd V Jewel Collection Amethyst 1" Profe...
    Hair
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Wow Is All I Can Say
    So I ordered the amethyst color jewel professional styler. The price is unbeatable. I got a bit scared when I ordered it because I was scared it might be a fake but to my surprise, it came quickly, and first thing I did was registered it ghd website. Confirmed it was the real deal, I even went far enough to take pictures of it and send it to ghd people. They confirmed it was real. I used it immediately and oh my gosh. Awesome. I have redken steam infusion iron but it's a bit big for my roots. This was the perfect size and my hair looks even better. It's straight frizz free and so so soft. Had to come and give a review. It's been day 3 and my hair is still silky and frizz free.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 9, 2014
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Finally Able To Come Close To What My Stylist Does
    Used to have an ordinary flatiron from Target, probably $30. It was okay but not great, and rarely made my hair look like it does after Nicholas styles it. I asked what flatiron he used, and he recommended GHD. So worth it!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 6, 2014
    Link to this post
  • ghd V Jewel Collection Amethyst 1" Profe...
    United States
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Best Styler I've Ever Used!!!
    When I received my ghd, first of all I loved its presentation, the box was so pretty that I even kept it to storage stuff in, then when I opened and got it out , I also thought it looked so fashionable, the brush in the other hand It's just a regular brush that says ghd, I didn't think it was a big thing plus I don't even use it. Anyways, I read the manual to make sure I use my ghd in a proper manner, and then I plugged it in and turn the switch to turn it on, it was so easy as that, and literally it was ready to be use in 30 sec, which I think is such a great feature, specially in when you don't have much of a time. Then, I straighten all my hair in about 15-20 because I only had to pass it on twice and my hair end it up so straight and soft as never before. Nevertheless, the real challenge was how long will my hair stay straight, taking in consideration that every time I straightened my hair with previous straighteners (which were too many) it would last for a couple of hours before starting to frizz.......but for my surprise it lasted the whole day the day I did it, and the following day, until I took a shower at night!!! In conclusion, This is the best straightener I would or you would ever own. I highly recommended it .
    P.S. The only thing this straightener is missing and it left me some kind of unmet was the fact that it didn't come with a pouch to storage it.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 27, 2014
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Atlanta
    3 Star Rating
    The One That I Receive Just Look Like Some Returned !!
    I just received ghd professional 1" gold flat today! when I opened the box the flat was opened ,not fold by any wire or plastic! look cheap! I am worried about is that a real GHD flat iron! but I will keep post when I use tonight !
    Before Photo
    23 out of 27 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 24, 2013
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Blonde
    Oily Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing
    Best flat iron EVER.
    it heats up in less than 30 seconds which make it quick and easy. I have really fine, stringy hair and normally just use it to smooth out my hair after blow drying or for the morning after a wash to keep it sleek. All my friends with curly thick hair love using it when they come over too. I also love that it automatically turns off if you're not using it, so I never have to worry about accidentally leaving it on.
    Definitely would recommend this!
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 14, 2013
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love This Hair Straightener
    I have used hot tools in the past and was using an Andis before I bought my GHD. I was using the Andis to curl my hair and noticed that my hair was getting super damaged and actually was burnt and smelled burnt everytime i washed my hair. NOT OKAY. That was when i decided i needed to upgrade. I did a lot of research and decided that I needed to go big or go home. I am so glad I did. This hair straightener is awesome. it is fast and effective and seems to damage my hair much less. It is great for both straightening and curling. Also, this doesn't seem like a big deal but it really is convenient....IT HEATS UP SO FAST. Like its crazy you turn it on and like 30 secs later its fully hot. If you can afford to I would definitely save up, wait until folica has a good deal and buy this one. Worth the money.
    10 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 20, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Blonde
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great Except --no Way To Lower Temp...
    This is a great great flat iron except for one thing and I wanted to share this as to warn others and had to return mine >>> It has NO way to lower or adjust the temperature.
    It sustains a very consistne heat, but much to hot for my thin, fine hair.
    Othwerise I do recommend this if you use a high heat for your hair.

    Have a great day girls!
    13 out of 14 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 16, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    North Texas
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Ghd Makes The Best Irons.
    I like this iron. I sometimes have to pass over the hair twice but honestly I don't know ANY iron you don't have to do that with. My hair is fine and VERY wavy/curly. I have to blow it out first using fingers and it will be sorta curly/wavy puffy before I use iron. But after use my hair is straight and smooth.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 6, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name