Best of Folica - Save Up To 50%
ghd

ghd V Jewel Collection Amethyst 1" Professional Styler

29 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The ghd V Amethyst Set features a ghd gold professional 1" styler in a metallic finish with sparkling black plates that glide effortlessly through your hair.
$235.00
$149.00
Save 37% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 29 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler (27)
  • ghd V Jewel Collection Amethyst 1" Professional Styler (2)
Show All 29 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • ghd V Jewel Collection Amethyst 1" Profe...
    Hair
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Wow Is All I Can Say
    So I ordered the amethyst color jewel professional styler. The price is unbeatable. I got a bit scared when I ordered it because I was scared it might be a fake but to my surprise, it came quickly, and first thing I did was registered it ghd website. Confirmed it was the real deal, I even went far enough to take pictures of it and send it to ghd people. They confirmed it was real. I used it immediately and oh my gosh. Awesome. I have redken steam infusion iron but it's a bit big for my roots. This was the perfect size and my hair looks even better. It's straight frizz free and so so soft. Had to come and give a review. It's been day 3 and my hair is still silky and frizz free.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Last week
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Finally Able To Come Close To What My Stylist Does
    Used to have an ordinary flatiron from Target, probably $30. It was okay but not great, and rarely made my hair look like it does after Nicholas styles it. I asked what flatiron he used, and he recommended GHD. So worth it!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Last week
    Link to this post
  • ghd V Jewel Collection Amethyst 1" Profe...
    United States
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Best Styler I've Ever Used!!!
    When I received my ghd, first of all I loved its presentation, the box was so pretty that I even kept it to storage stuff in, then when I opened and got it out , I also thought it looked so fashionable, the brush in the other hand It's just a regular brush that says ghd, I didn't think it was a big thing plus I don't even use it. Anyways, I read the manual to make sure I use my ghd in a proper manner, and then I plugged it in and turn the switch to turn it on, it was so easy as that, and literally it was ready to be use in 30 sec, which I think is such a great feature, specially in when you don't have much of a time. Then, I straighten all my hair in about 15-20 because I only had to pass it on twice and my hair end it up so straight and soft as never before. Nevertheless, the real challenge was how long will my hair stay straight, taking in consideration that every time I straightened my hair with previous straighteners (which were too many) it would last for a couple of hours before starting to frizz.......but for my surprise it lasted the whole day the day I did it, and the following day, until I took a shower at night!!! In conclusion, This is the best straightener I would or you would ever own. I highly recommended it .
    P.S. The only thing this straightener is missing and it left me some kind of unmet was the fact that it didn't come with a pouch to storage it.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 27, 2014
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Atlanta
    3 Star Rating
    The One That I Receive Just Look Like Some Returned !!
    I just received ghd professional 1" gold flat today! when I opened the box the flat was opened ,not fold by any wire or plastic! look cheap! I am worried about is that a real GHD flat iron! but I will keep post when I use tonight !
    Before Photo
    10 out of 14 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 24, 2013
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Blonde
    Oily Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing
    Best flat iron EVER.
    it heats up in less than 30 seconds which make it quick and easy. I have really fine, stringy hair and normally just use it to smooth out my hair after blow drying or for the morning after a wash to keep it sleek. All my friends with curly thick hair love using it when they come over too. I also love that it automatically turns off if you're not using it, so I never have to worry about accidentally leaving it on.
    Definitely would recommend this!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 14, 2013
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love This Hair Straightener
    I have used hot tools in the past and was using an Andis before I bought my GHD. I was using the Andis to curl my hair and noticed that my hair was getting super damaged and actually was burnt and smelled burnt everytime i washed my hair. NOT OKAY. That was when i decided i needed to upgrade. I did a lot of research and decided that I needed to go big or go home. I am so glad I did. This hair straightener is awesome. it is fast and effective and seems to damage my hair much less. It is great for both straightening and curling. Also, this doesn't seem like a big deal but it really is convenient....IT HEATS UP SO FAST. Like its crazy you turn it on and like 30 secs later its fully hot. If you can afford to I would definitely save up, wait until folica has a good deal and buy this one. Worth the money.
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 20, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Blonde
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great Except --no Way To Lower Temp...
    This is a great great flat iron except for one thing and I wanted to share this as to warn others and had to return mine >>> It has NO way to lower or adjust the temperature.
    It sustains a very consistne heat, but much to hot for my thin, fine hair.
    Othwerise I do recommend this if you use a high heat for your hair.

    Have a great day girls!
    13 out of 14 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 16, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    North Texas
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Ghd Makes The Best Irons.
    I like this iron. I sometimes have to pass over the hair twice but honestly I don't know ANY iron you don't have to do that with. My hair is fine and VERY wavy/curly. I have to blow it out first using fingers and it will be sorta curly/wavy puffy before I use iron. But after use my hair is straight and smooth.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 6, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Chicago
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Superior To All Other Flat-irons
    When turning the iron on for the first time, I automatically noticed that there is no temperature control switch, just an on/off switch. Already I was a bit apprehensive because I usually need very high heat for my thick, curly hair and low heat for my bangs (in order for them not to be stick straight and flat).

    When the iron is switched on, it beeps, and the switch will light up and blink to indicate that the iron is heating up. Seconds later, it will fully heat up, and beep three times more and the light will stop blinking to indicate that it's ready for use. This iron heats up in less than 30 seconds, and is definitely faster than any other iron I've used.

    I don't normally forget to turn my flat iron off after use, but it's a habit to plug in my flat iron before I'm actually going to use it to give it time to heat up. After 30 minutes of being idle, the iron will go into sleep mode and beep every 10 seconds as a reminder that it's on, and it's still plugged in. I think it's a pretty sweet feature.

    My hair type:
    Long (down my back), thick, curly - a mixture of loose curls and waves (not kinky), dry and fine. My hair is like a difficult child that does what they want, when they want and won't listen to authority.

    With that said, I need a pretty good iron if I want my hair to be perfectly primped.

    I always start with the underside of my hair first, and comb out one inch sections. With one pass of my iron my hair is fairly straight, but two passes is needed because my hair is long, and with a thin plate flat iron, little areas can get missed. It takes around 20-25 minutes to get through my hair.

    It doesn't pull my hair, snag, and my hair glides smoothly through the plates without causing bends in my hair.

    What stands out the most to me about this iron is that it leaves my hair soft and shiny. It doesn't feel dry or fried and brittle like other flat irons I've used. Also, when flat ironing my bangs, I always style them on low heat so they'll fall naturally, rather than looking stick straight and in the way. This iron styles my bangs perfectly!

    I have to mention that I never wear my hair straight, but I have to use a flat iron when I wear my signature loose waves. My curls are tighter toward the roots and remain semi-tight a couple inches down my hair, and after that, the curls loosen up. So, I section my hair off and flat iron from my roots to about 1/3 down my hair, leaving the bottom curly. I then use a large barrel curling iron to curl my hair. It may seem like I can use any flat iron for this and get the same results, but I can definitely notice a difference in how healthy my hair appears.

    Because I have very long hair, this flat iron wouldn't be the best model for me for wearing my hair straight, as the plates are so small. If I did in fact wear my hair straight, I'd opt for a model with larger plates. For what I need this flat iron for, this model works just fine.

    $225 is a huge price to pay for a flat iron, and isn't in many of our budgets. But for those who are willing to pay an arm and a leg for professional hair tools, I'd definitely recommend looking into a GHD. This is my favorite flat iron by far!
    14 out of 14 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 18, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Black
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great Iron!!
    The GHD Gold iron is a really great iron for at home use. Im a hairstylist so I really liked the fact that the temperature is controlled and doesn't get too hot. I usually don't like irons with just an on and off switch but this one is made really well. The plates glide super smooth through your hair and creates beautiful curls! If you're looking for a super easy to use flat iron, the GHD Gold is for you!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 12, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name