Steal Of The Day PINK50
ghd

GHD Red Gloss Classic 1" Styler

238 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The original ghd Classic 1" styler just got glossy. A super-shiny Poppy Red finish gives our original styler a chic makeover, with a little more polish.
$120.00
Free Shipping
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.
 

Reviews

Based on 238 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • GHD Classic Styler Ceramic Hair Straightener (236)
  • GHD Red Gloss Classic 1" Styler (2)
Show All 238 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • GHD Classic Styler Ceramic Hair Straight...
    Boston, Ma
    Hair
    Auburn
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Disappointed, Not Worth It At All.
    Since 2008 i have had 2 GHDs, In dec 2008 i got my first (the hot pink one) and LOVED IT, it was the best straightener I've ever had, in Nov 2011 someone broke it, in June 2012 i bought a new one (the scarlet) and I am not impressed. I feel like they changed the way they make them, the plates now snag my hair and don't seem to grip it as well, I also have to go over my hair alot to get it to look the way i want, it almost immediately gets pouffy and it constantly needs to be touched up.

    I also recently found out that the PLATES ARE NOT CERAMIC, they are ALUMINUM PLATES with a thin layer of ceramic coating them, so it's bad for your hair. explains the number of split ends i have been getting. But honestly its a rip off, $200 for aluminum plates, i feel cheated and stupid for buying this flat iron. This is what I am angriest about to be honest.

    Oh and not to mention their CUSTOMER SERVICE IS AWFUL, they take for ever to get back to you and they DO NOT HAVE A REPAIR SHOP, when i asked they said "GHD does not have a repair shop because they don't break"

    If you're going to spend so much money on a flat iron, spend it on something a better quality, because honestly with the GHD I feel like I paid for packaging and accessories because the quality of the iron itself is not as good as they previously were.

    I have a PYT now and was at first skeptical but i LOVE it, it works wonders on my hair, and stays straight for days.
    32 out of 36 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 3, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Classic Styler Ceramic Hair Straight...
    1 Star Rating
    Beware: Ghd Customer Service!!
    BEWARE: Make sure to keep your receipt for the purchase of your styler. After only about a year of having my ghd styler, the electrical blew out. I sent in my styler to the company and they would not fix/replace because I did not have a receipt. I spent over $200 on my styler at an authorized dealer and was sooo disappointed that the company would not fix/replace. All my other "professional grade" stylers and hair blow dryers have lasted me over 10 years with no issues. So sad and so disappointed.
    17 out of 18 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 6, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Classic Styler Ceramic Hair Straight...
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great
    I bought the GHD when my previous straightener gave up on me. I do like it, but I expected it to get hotter temperature wise. I am happy with this, but I will probably try a Sedu next time around since you can adjust the heat setting.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 24, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Classic Styler Ceramic Hair Straight...
    Richmond, VA
    Hair
    Blonde
    Oily Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Why Did I Wait???
    My hair is medium length, thick and color treated. I have purchased the Sedu Pro 1 ½ and the Sedu Revolution and liked both of them. The problem was even after using the Sedu, the ends of my hair still seemed puffy or would flip out. I tried putting layers in my hair and even cutting the length but after a few hours my hair would start to get wavy. I decided to give GHD a try and I'm so happy with my purchase. I was a little put off by the price and the lack of temperature control. The cost of the GHD was well worth it and the heat setting was perfect. The heat seems to be the same from roots to the ends, which makes this flat iron, stand out. Now my hair is straight (not flat) all day and in half the time! The GHD takes about ten seconds to heat up and shuts off in thirty minutes in case you forget to turn it off. The first day I used the this flat iron, everyone at work told me how shiny and smooth my hair looked and asked me what I did differently. If you are looking for a great flat iron choose the GHD. Why spend hundreds of dollars on cuts and color treatments then use a cheap hair dryers and flat irons on your hair?
    8 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 4, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Classic Styler Ceramic Hair Straight...
    United States
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Very Good Product
    The GHD works very well for my thick hair. I do not like straighteners that leave my hair super straight and thin. The GHD gives my hair volume. I have used an electric straightening comb for years, but since I do not lose so much hair from combing with the straightening comb, my long hair is really growing more. It is important to purchase a GHD directly from the GHD company or an authorized dealer. There are many unauthorized dealers/individuals selling "fake" GHD products.....so be careful. I have found that the customer service representatives at GHD contact you right away when there is a question or concern. I have also purchased the GHD for my daughter, and she really likes the product as well.
    3 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 3, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Classic Styler Ceramic Hair Straight...
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Best Straighter I've Ever Used
    After months of being in the market for a new hair straighter and reading tons of different reviews, I bought this GHD. Best investment ever!!!! I have had a chi for years and about 2 years ago it started getting worse and worse, it would fry my hair no matter what I used to protect it. The chi would straighten my hair and would look good for a few minutes but then it would just start getting this ugly wave in the front. I have really thin hair but this straightner adds volume and makes it silky smooth..and it stays straight!!!! I highly recommend this straighter!!!!
    5 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 9, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Classic Styler Ceramic Hair Straight...
    Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Not For My Fine Hair
    It is a great looking straightner and the automatic shut-off is great but for my hair the results were not worth the price tag! For 200 dollars I would expect straight shiny hair.. .and I did not get that. I get better results from my sedu and my FHI than I got with this sadly and they cost far less! Girls with fine hair that are just looking to shine and reduce frizz, this isn't for you!
    15 out of 15 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 23, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Classic Styler Ceramic Hair Straight...
    United States
    Hair
    Auburn
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Takes Too Long To Straighten
    I was very disappointed with this straightener. All the reviews hailed it to be the greatest straightener on the market and the price point made me think I was getting an exceptional product. I was worried about the lack of temperature control but decided to give it a try anyways based on the reviews. I should have listened to my gut instinct.

    This flat iron does not get hot enough for my medium thickness, wavy hair. I have to pass it through my hair about 10 times to get it straight whereas my old T3 straightener would do the job in 3 passes. This is super frustrating as it extends my getting ready time. Once my hair is straight it does look great but getting there is a frustrating process. The outside gets super hot so it's impossible to put your hands on it for some extra clamping control.

    This might be ok for people with super fine hair but I can't see this working for others. My friend got one at the same time I did and will also be returning hers for the same reason. Looks like I'm going to buy another T3.

    12 out of 15 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 29, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Classic Styler Ceramic Hair Straight...
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    So Crazy About This Flat Iron!
    Hey there ladies! If your shopping for a new flat iron that won't damage your hair, and leaves your hair shiny and smooth, look no longer! I am crazy about this iron. I use to own a CHI, and I thought at the time that was the best out there. But the GHD blows it outta the park. Before I purchased, I was a little hesitant about spending so much money on a flat iron. So I watched tutorials on you tube, and read tons of reviews. I have never written a review myself, but I found everyone else's so helpful, that I thought I should share too. This iron is pricy, but Folica does put it on sale. So be sure to wait till you can get a good deal!! This iron heats up in minutes. Way faster than the CHI. And I love that the GHD has a sensor that shuts it off when it's not been in use after about 10 mins. I hope this review has helped you ladies choose a great iron! Happy shopping!!
    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 29, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Classic Styler Ceramic Hair Straight...
    Georgia, USA
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Lived A Short Life.
    I did a lot of research before I bought this flat iron. I wanted the best thing out there that I could afford. After months of researching, I decided on the GHD. It had stellar reviews from all of you people.

    I was quite pleased with the product when I first bought it. It was superior to the others I had owned and cut 15 mins off my hair styling time because I didn't have to run it over my hair multiple times. I'll give GHD that, the iron works amazingly...when it works.

    A few months after I bought it, it started shorting out. It would turn on and off while I was using it making annoying beeping noises. I'd have to hold the cord a particular way to get it to work. Angered by this, I tried to email the GHD company to see if they would repair my iron. I go no answer. So I emailed again. I got no answer. Then I sent a strongly worded email saying i'd never buy a product from them again and that I would tell all my friends never to buy from them either. Still no response. I was livid. I had paid $200 for a flat iron that died in less than 6 months. Since I got no response, I had an engineer friend tear it apart and fix it. He jerry-rigged the swivel cord to make it not short out anymore and it worked well again. No more shorting out.

    Then, the other day, I turned it on and it just constantly beeped and didn't heat up. Hitting the reset buttong wouldn't help. In less than a year, my $200 iron died. Absolutely ridiculous. Its embarassing to tell people that I spent that much on an iron and it didn't even make it a year. I find that unacceptable.

    Since my friend had already tampered with it, I couldn't ask the GHD company to repair it, which would have been a waste of time anyway because apparently they don't respond to their customer's requests.

    So yesterday, I bought a Chi. We'll see how that goes. But the moral of this story is that a great product isn't enough to keep customers. You have to make a product that LASTS and have good and responsive customer services. GHD lacked both of these things in my experience. I recommend that you do not purchase from this company. Thanks for reading.
    25 out of 25 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 25, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name