Free Shipping Over $50
ghd

GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection Set

43 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection Set features the GHD Gold Professional Styler but with scarlet red plates.
$270.00
$225.00
Save 17% + Free Shipping
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 43 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler (26)
  • GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection Set (17)
Show All 43 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Black
    Oily Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    New #1.. And I Own A Dozen Flat Irons!
    My title is not an exaggeration. I have very little patience with my coarse long hair, so I now own a dozen high end flat irons, but this particular GHD takes the cake! I stopped purchasing LE GHDs because I felt the plates did not get as hot due to the coloured coating. I was hesitant try this one, but I'm glad I took the plunge! It gets hot very quickly in true GHD fashion, but more importantly, the iron REMAINS hot while in use. I also think the flowery, whimsical embossments are fun yet subdued enough for an adult. The iron is lighter in weight than most of my GHDs, which some people find may feel cheapens the overall feel, but I prefer the lighter weight because my arm does not tire as easily while I'm curling, which takes about 15 minutes longer than straightening, 15 minutes for pin straight hair. Another bit to add to the pros list, this Gold Edition comes with a travelling clamp to hold the plates together while traveling, which prevents excess dust and grime from spoiling the plates.buoy won't be receiving a matching soft case, but I personally don't like the froo froo riff raff travel bags and cases, they are always too large and bulky (for my minimalist traveling style, anyway), so I rather like the basic clamp.
    I, however, don't find that my hair looks shinier after using this iron, so I usually finish off with a shine spray.Other than that, I have no criticisms. I think this iron is well worth the money, and it is leaps and bounds better than the Sedu Icon, which I had really high expectations for.
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 30, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    United States
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Wonderful Straightener!
    I've been using this straightener for the past month really love the results I get from it! My first time using it I was a little unsure because it did cause some snagging in my hair but after that time it was never a problem! This makes your hair so incredibly straight and soft. I didn't notice too much shine from this product but it deffinetly creates the sexy, sleek, straight hair that you are looking for using a hair straightener. You can also create very sexy curls using this straightener as well.

    I also love how fast this straightener heats up...in seconds! And it beeps when it is ready for use. I love the packaging and the fact that it has the cover for your straightener. That's great to use after you are done and it will cool down. This is an amazing striahgtener that you will not be dissapointed with.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 30, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Super Fast Heat-up!
    First off, I am so impressed at how quickly this heats up. Literally 30 seconds, maybe less. Great if you're in a time crunch. I also noticed that unlike other flat irons, this actually allowed my hair to stay straight longer. When I've flat ironed my hair in the past, if I slept on my hair or put it up in a pony tail, there would be dents in my hair. When I straighten my hair with the GHD gold professional styler, my hair is still straight the next day. Of course you can curl your hair with this as well.

    The only thing I wish this styler had was a way to change the heat setting, but other than that I love this styler! Not to mention is looks very sleek!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 29, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Oily Hair
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love This Flat Iron!!! So Snazzy!
    PRICE:
    I must admit this is a huge expense to shell out. At $225.00, it's definitely the most expensive flat iron I have ever used, however it's also the best one I've used (and I've used a lot). I feel like if you have the money, you really need or like to flat iron your hair and will get a lot of use out of it... then go ahead! Splurge a little (ok a lot). If you are someone who occasionally flat irons your hair, then this might be a little much to spend.

    APPEARANCE:
    It's sleek, chic and snazzy. Everything a flat iron should be. It's not too confusing, too many buttons. They kept it simple and I like that. The black and gold make it look luxurious.

    USER FRIENDLINESS:
    This is dummy proof! It has one button which you slide up to turn on, slide down to turn off. It's so easy! It beeps 3 times when it's heated up. There is no dial where you have to adjust the heat, its just either on or off, which I really like.

    CORD:
    The cord is so long! I love that!! There is nothing worse than having a short cord and an outlet that it's a bit too far away. Especially when you are working in a salon, this is a must have! So whether you are a stylist or just like to look good in your own home.... you will not be disappointed with the length of the cord.

    HEAT:
    This flat iron heats up to 374F. It's plenty hot enough to smooth out and straighten even the toughest, most stubborn hair. I literally had to go over the piece of hair once and it was perfect. Some flat irons I do have to go over the same piece at least 3 or 4 times. I would say this would work beautifully on any hair type.

    WHAT YOU CAN DO WITH IT:
    Obviously it's main purpose is to straighten and smooth our curly, wavy or frizzy hair. You can also curl, flip or create those snazzy beachy waves with it too. I haven't had the chance to play with it as far as the curls or waves go but I have used to flat iron my hair and I was in love with the result. It was way faster to get my hold head done than normal, it looks and felt shiny, smooth and sooooo touchable! It glides through the hair without pulling or snagging any hairs (that's my biggest pet peeve with flat irons). It's easy to use and makes your hair look amazing. It just glides through it like butter!

    OVERALL:
    I think this is great. It works super well, it's easy to use and it also comes with the protective plate guard. That is perfect for stylists that are on the go or if you travel a lot. I think it's also really cool that it has a universal voltage! BIG PLUS! I have fried 2 flat irons in my time, visiting family in England and not thinking about the voltage. I would definitely recommend this iron to anyone, if you are willing to spend the money. This will last you a good few years at least, so you will definitely get your money's worth out of it.

    Hope that helps loves!!

    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 29, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    MD
    Hair
    Platinum Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Hair Straightener On The Market !
    I have tried a number of flat irons in the past, but have never been blown away until using the GHD Gold Professional 1'' Styler. My natural hair is slightly wavy throughout, leaving me with a relatively unkempt look if I allow it to air dry. So I definitely rely on my hair straightener to achieve the sleek, straight look I love! The most wonderful thing about the GHD Gold Prof. is how quickly it heats up! In less than 30 seconds after turning it on, it indicated that it was hot and ready to work its magic :) This is by far the fastest heating flat iron I've ever used, and with a busy schedule this is vital for my morning routine. This hair straightener also straightens my hair just as quickly! With other irons it can take me 3-4 times to get one piece of hair to straighten to my satisfaction but with the GHD, every strand is perfectly straightened in 1-2 swoops! Another wonderful thing about the GHD Gold Professional is that it has not damaged my bleached hair whatsoever. I definitely have to be careful with hot styling tools now that I'm a platinum blonde, but this straightener actually makes my hair more sleek, and smooth after using it! I do however still recommend using some type of thermal protectant; as they are important to use whenever styling your hair. All in all, I was very impressed with this product! It was lightweight, easy to hold and use, super quick, and gave me fabulous sleek results! Highly recommend to anyone who wants smooth, straightened hair in minutes!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 28, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Oily Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    One Of The Best I've Ever Tried!!!
    I've been using this product a couple of weeks now and I am more than pleased. I am a Beauty Expert and know very little about hair. I only flat iron and curl my hair so a good quality flat iron is a must! This flat iron resembles the ones you see in some beauty supply stores that are very cheap and very bad quality. THIS IS NOT THE CASE WITH THIS FLAT IRON! Every other flat iron I own, I have to go over my hair multiple times to achieve the straightness I want. With this flat iron, one swipe and I'm on to the next piece of hair. I also am very bad with leaving my flat iron on and leaving the house. I AM SO HAPPY this flat iron cuts off after 30 minutes of no use. I use it exactly how it comes and even curl my hair with it!!! If you want a good quality, safe, sleek, and small flat iron, this is the way to go!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 22, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection S...
    Canada
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Gold Professional Styler 1" (scarlet Limited Edition)
    I have thick, wavy, dry, frizzy and color-treated Asian hair that is 23 inches from the nape. I am always looking for the best flat iron and, ladies and gentlemen, I think I've found it!

    PROS
    -Heats up in 14 seconds BUT it takes at least a minute to get really hot.
    -VERY LIGHT! Probably half the weight of my Sedu Revolution flat iron.
    -The thin and curved design enables versatility to create a straight or curly or mixed look
    -Because itâ??s thin, the GHD makes it easier to reach and vertically straighten the tight areas like those annoying cowlicks around the forehead and hair above the ears. This GHD feature is something my Sedu and Solia cannot do well.
    -My hair stays straight and absolutely frizz free and shiny for a whole 3 days!
    -The plates glide sooooo effortlessly, better than any other flat iron Iâ??ve owned: Conair (ugh!), Revlon (worthless), Remington (okay), Babyliss (okay), Chi (ugh!), Solia (really good), Sedu Revolution (comparable to GHD, but heavier and bulkier).
    -It claims to adjust the heat according to our hair type (somehow). I donâ??t believe that at all. I do believe the operating temperature for GHD is between 347-365 F so it does not require as much heat to straighten my hair, whereas I need about 400F for my Solia and Sedu.
    -2-3 medium-paced passes are all I need to sufficiently straighten my ridiculously long and thick hair
    -GHDs make good curls without dents if done correctly, but curls with any flat irons are not as precise as I want them to be compared to clip or clipless curling irons.
    -No snagging at all
    -Easy to clean and doesnâ??t stain
    -Plates donâ??t bleed colors
    - Universal adapter that tells you whether itâ??s safe to use the flat iron without blowing the appliance and your wallet.
    -Dropped it once from 4 feet (by accident!) and it still works perfectly (Thank God!)
    -Came with iron guard, hot red heat resistant case and 2 clips

    CONS
    -EXPENSIVE!!!! Even with my discount code + promotion, I eventually paid a little over $200 CAD for the GHD.
    -The plates do NOT meet unless additional force and effort is used. I heard thatâ??s part of the design. Itâ??s not really bothersome to me.
    -The black side opposite of the plates can be too hot to the touch
    -No temperature control!
    -The material and design of the GHD, although very chic, makes it difficult to get a good grip on the flat iron. It tends to slip up from my hand so I need to be careful not to get burned.
    -Because the widths of plates are only 1 inch, they do require more time to straighten my super thick and long hair.
    -Although the GHD can be stowed away while hot, the heat still penetrates the bottom side of the heat resistant case. I always lay the black pouch (that Folica ships for free with other flat irons) underneath the GHD case.
    -The GHD heat resistant case has that weird plastic smell.

    OVERALL, I am in love with my GHD Scarlet! I can do straight and curly looks, It is the best of both worlds and I will repurchase when its time is due.

    FELLOW CANADIANS: I paid $135 USD for the flat iron alone, thanks to a 20% Folica promotion and a 40% discount code. Shipping to Canada was the standard $20 USD from Folica. Inevitable Ontario duties and taxes was $42 CAD. So I paid a little over $200 CAD before it was finally in my hands. This is definitely an investment.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 22, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Battle Of The Curls: Ghd Gold Professional Styler
    My hair and I have a tumultuous relationship. There are more bad times than good times and the bad times stem from trying to tame my unruly mane. My hair is a curly, tangled mess in its natural state and trying to straighten my hair is a dramatic event. When I know Iâ??m going to straighten my hair it usually begins with me crying before, during, and after I straighten it. My hair will battle me to the ends of the earth and will always, always win.

    But now I have a new weapon. My desperate pleas have been answered by the Hair Gods in the form of the ghd Gold Professional 1â?³ Styler. This flat-iron is everything that I have been searching for to whip my hair into submission.

    When I plugged in this flat-iron I walked away to wait for it to heat and before I even left the room I heard the beep alerting me it was ready. I couldnâ??t believe how fast it was able to heat up. I sighed preparing for what I assumed would be a long chore. One piece of my hair usually takes me at least four swipes of a flat-iron before it behaves. The ghd Gold Professional Styler was able to tame my hair in only two swipes leaving it softer and shiny.

    It took me half the time it typically takes me to straighten all of my hair. The device was lightweight and didnâ??t tire my hand from holding it like other flat irons. The golden plates also make the flat-iron glide through hair smoothly. Only issue with this flat-iron is although it advertises as being easy to use to create waves and curls I found it to be just the same as any other flat-iron I have used. It took me a few tries to perfect any waves that I put in my hair.

    The ghd Gold Professional 1â?? Styler also comes with a small protective heat guard that is great for travel. Another awesome feature is â??Sleep modeâ?? in which the flat-iron turns itself off after a 30 minute period of inactivity. I know that I constantly run out of my house and then wonder while on the road if I turned off my flat-iron so that it doesnâ??t burn down the house. This is an amazing safety feature for a flat-iron.

    Overall I found this to be one of the better flat irons I have used. Itâ??s lightweight, easy to use, and creates an effortless look. So the hair vs. me score is now

    Hair: a million.
    Me: 1 (but more to come thanks to ghd!)
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    11 out of 12 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 20, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Bay Area
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Oily Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Loving This!!
    I have used a chi for years and I have also tried many different straighteners at the salon I go to and ones that my friends had. I always said when my chi breaks I am definitely getting the GHD. I love how thin and curved it is so if I wanted to I can curl my hair. It does not snag my hair at all and it is very lightweight. The other awesome thing about it is that its plug is universal so when I travel I do not have to worry about frying my straightener like I did in Spain a couple years back (not fun at all). All in all I am very satisfied with my purchase! <3
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 18, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection S...
    United States
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    I Love It!!!! Amazing!!! Wow!!!
    Recently my 5 year old Paul Mitchell flat iron started dying on me. Some days it wouldn't even heat up at all and others it took almost an hour and still wouldn't be hot enough to do the job. I was in denial for months but finally had to give in and start shopping for a new flat iron. I started searching reviews and found that the top rated brands were Sedu and ghd. I found numerous video blogs where annoying girls compared the two side by side. It was a close call but I decided to go with the ghd.

    I was able to get a really great deal on Scarlet. There was already a 20% off sale and I found a coupon for an additional 20% off entire purchase when you order 2 hair products. So I picked up some heat protection spray and some dry shampoo. My $225 ghd was only $135. That's almost as cheap as some of the fakes out there but I can rest easy because Folica is an authorized dealer. I made sure to check the ghd website first.

    I got my ghd in the mail today and was to ready try it out. I purposley went to bed with wet hair last night just to see how well the ghd performs. My hair was a wavy mess and my bangs all over the place when I woke up. I plugged the ghd in and in under a minute it was ready. Already a huge improvement from what I've been going through with my Paul Mitchell. It glided through my hair and did a terrific job. Did it get the job done in a single pass? No. But 2-3 passes when my hair is a total mess isn't bad. My old iron took 5-6 after a blow dry when it was in it's prime. The parts of my hair that normally look frizzy and fried were smooth and healthy looking. I was worried about the temperature because I read that it doesn't get as hot as the Paul Mitchell and there is no way to adjust it. Now I'm realizing that maybe my hair didn't need 400* on it daily. Perhaps I was over heating my hair in an attempt to get results that I never got. I like the automatic shut off feature because I do have a tendency to forget to shut it off.

    This puppy does stay hot for quite a while even after you shut it off and put the plate guard on. So be careful if you've got kiddos that like to touch things. I love all the accessories that came with it, that makes the whole package a really great value. I've only used a Paul Mitchell flat iron and an Instyler I was borrowing well I waited for my ghd and it out preforms both of those for sure. Are there other irons out there that do just as good of a job or better for less. Maybe. All I know is I am very satisfied with the ghd and think it was well worth the investment. I have no desire to try anything else at this time.
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 7, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. . Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $50.00 New Price: $37.00
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler

    GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler

    The GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler is GHD's sleekest styler ever, with a cooler, lighter body, smoother plates, and an bonus protective plate guard for storage and travel.

    26 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $225.00
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1 Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1

    Winner of 2013 ALLURE Magazine's Best Of Beauty Flat Iron! Sedu Revolution Styling Iron features revolutionary technologies that allow you to create any hairstyle imaginable with half of the time and virtually no damage. Sedu Revolution's Ultra Smooth 1 inch plates leave your hair shiny and healthy. Includes 2 year warranty and free heat proof mat/pouch.

    1,035 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $200.00 New Price: $159.99
    Free Shipping
  • Mason Pearson Popular Bristle & Nylon Brush

    Mason Pearson Popular Bristle & Nylon Brush

    A large size (9"x3") bristle and nylon mixed brush that has 8 rings of stiff bristle and nylon mixed tufts. Recommended for use on normal hair.

    New Price: $205.00
    Free Shipping
Server Name