Steal Of The Day PINK50
ghd

GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection Set

44 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection Set features the GHD Gold Professional Styler but with scarlet red plates.
$270.00
$225.00
Save 17% + Free Shipping
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 44 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler (27)
  • GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection Set (17)
Show All 44 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Finally Able To Come Close To What My Stylist Does
    Used to have an ordinary flatiron from Target, probably $30. It was okay but not great, and rarely made my hair look like it does after Nicholas styles it. I asked what flatiron he used, and he recommended GHD. So worth it!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 6, 2014
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Atlanta
    3 Star Rating
    The One That I Receive Just Look Like Some Returned !!
    I just received ghd professional 1" gold flat today! when I opened the box the flat was opened ,not fold by any wire or plastic! look cheap! I am worried about is that a real GHD flat iron! but I will keep post when I use tonight !
    Before Photo
    14 out of 18 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 24, 2013
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Blonde
    Oily Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing
    Best flat iron EVER.
    it heats up in less than 30 seconds which make it quick and easy. I have really fine, stringy hair and normally just use it to smooth out my hair after blow drying or for the morning after a wash to keep it sleek. All my friends with curly thick hair love using it when they come over too. I also love that it automatically turns off if you're not using it, so I never have to worry about accidentally leaving it on.
    Definitely would recommend this!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 14, 2013
    Link to this post
  • GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection S...
    Mcfarland Ca
    Hair
    Auburn
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Chi Or Ghd
    firt of all i have think curly hair its hard to get stright for a hold day..... i got this ghd on sale and i was a so excited i always wanted a GHD the first day i used it i was not that happy the heat wasn't as hot i had to pass thu my hair more then 3 times so order a CHI (cam in 3 day) so i decited to use CHI on the right side and GHD on the left side of my hair. i was actulay happy with the left side it stayed stright the hole day then the right side. the right side got puffy and was getting wave i didn't like it at all so i got to stick to GHD

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 10, 2013
    Link to this post
  • GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection S...
    United States
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Amazing Flat Iron! Buy This Over The Chi
    At first I didn't want the red and preferred the original professional iron GHD offers, but the red is actually better than I thought it would be and I got an amazing price. For me, the bag was useless as I already had a Vera Bradley heat resistant pouch. It's oversized and gaudy. Though it does have room for hair tools because it has a zippered pouch to protect the iron and then some room on the side for the clips, comb etc. so it may work for you, just not my preference. I had a chi for years before it died on me before I went to Europe. I bought a transformer and adapter and it still just died, couldn't get it to turn on even when I got back home. The GHD has automatic dual voltage so you don't need to worry and you only need an adapter for the plug. It's lighter than the chi, curls better than the Chi, AND straightens better than the Chi. I also noticed it does not get as hot but still does a better job straightening. With the Chi I would have to wait to do a section again because it was too hot to touch. The clips actually work great, wasn't expecting them too.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 14, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection S...
    ALABAMA
    Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    If You're Thinking Of Buying This, Read This Review...
    OK so first of all, I have very frizzy, wavy hair. It's quite kinky and thick. Extremely hard to straighten and keep straight. I got this for an AMAZING price of $110. Folica had it on sale for $150, and I had a $40 off coupon if you re-send in an old iron/hair dryer. So I think that's an excellent price.

    This iron is really good quality. Heats up very quickly, and makes the hair very straight. I also love the auto-shutoff setting, as I often forget to turn off my iron. I LOVE the swivel cord, so that the cord doesn't get wrapped around the iron, drawers or anything else in my bathroom. So convenient. It makes the hair feel smooth and look shiny. Plus, you get a 2 year warranty if you register it with GHD.

    I don't like the fact that it has only one heat setting. This is a con for people with thick, frizzy hair (like me) or really thin hair. You can't adjust the setting. Also, I do sometimes have to make 2 passes on a section of hair (mostly very kinky strands near the ear or neck). Also, not sure it's worth the money if you pay the full price. It's a great iron, but I feel like I get similar results with a Sedu.

    All in all, for the price I paid I am happy. It gets 4/5 stars in my book.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 9, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection S...
    NY
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Not As Good As Ghd Iv
    I bought this ghd Scarlett Professional Iron to replace my old ghd IV iron which was a power horse and was still going strong at 5 years old. When I damaged the chord, I decided to just buy a new one. Apparently the ghd Professional was the new replacement for the IV.

    Well it is NOT the same. It does not style my hair the same, and the style doesn't keep as long as it used to. My ghd curls fall flat after a couple hours, and this sucks all the body out of my hair (unlike the IV). Also, the chord for this iron tangles terribly. I've had it for only a few months and already the chord is tangled and looks gnarled.

    I had always touted ghd as the BEST flat iron on the market, but I no longer endorse them because this let me down. I'm hoping they re-work this "Professional" iron, and improve it, because as-is, it's a disappointment.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 5, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection S...
    Toronto, Canada
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great, But At This Price It Should Be Perfect
    I'm a bit torn on the GHD Gold Flat iron. After a few bad experiences with other irons, I decided to go for "the best," despite the price tag. Although I did buy this one Folica on a great promo, and it only cost me about $125, which I think is a steal (note that I'm in Canada, but I had it shipped to my brother in the US. Folica ships with UPS, which means you will get hit with duties AND brokerage fees, without question). First impressions - the design of the iron is really nice. It's very light, but doesn't feel cheap at all. The plastic is high quality and very well made. The on-off button is on the inside, so you can't accidentally turn it off while in use. It's a slider with the GHD logo lit up. It flashes while warming up, and stays lit when hot. It heats up super super fast - even before I'm done sectioning my hair, and then it beeps to let you know it's ready. Styling with it is easy, and it makes nice curls. However, the plates aren't "floating" and they do snag my hair a bit, which is my biggest pet peeve. It doesn't snag as bad as my Babyliss Argan Heat, or the cheapo Conair I used once, but I can still "hear" my hair passing though, if you know what I mean. It's just not completely smooth. As everyone else has mentioned, it does NOT have temperature control. At this price, GHD should just suck it up and give us what we want, instead of smugly insisting that they know what the best temperature is. I have the Scarlet edition, which comes with a case and heat mat too. Personally, I don't like these - they are both too tacky and bulky, which defeats the purpose for travel. The satin is not exactly the best thing to have pacing down on your counter in the bathroom. I would've preferred a really thin, flexible, sleek case or mat. It also comes with a guard that slides onto the end of the iron, to keep the plates together for travel or storage. Again, it's way too bulky, and not well designed. As you pick up the iron to move it, you squeeze the plates together, which causes the guard to fall off. My previous iron, a Toni & Guy, had an awesome feature, a little slider that would lock the plates together. Why don't all irons have this? At the time I took it for granted. Overall, I'm happy with the high quality and the performance of the GHD, but I think it could use improvement in the fit of the plates, the accessories, and temperature control.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 20, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection S...
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Sigh Of Relief! Read This If You Think You Have A Fake!
    Ok, so I wasn't going to write a review for this product but I just had to share what I went through in the last few hours. :) I purchased the ghd scarlet here on folica. It took 5 business days for it to arrive, which is ok, I guess, since it was free shipping. When I opened it, everything looked authentic. The pouch is super cute and the iron is very light and easy to handle. The plates are red and glittery. I registered my product on the ghd website and had no problems.
    When I saw on the box that it was manufactured in P.R.C (People's Republic of China), I started to have doubts since I had heard that all ghds are made in Korea. Then I straightened my hair and it seemed to pull on my hair A LOT! It was painful. I looked at the plates and realized they were uneven. There was a gap between the plates (when you close the plates, only the front end would be touching). At this point I was sure that there was something wrong with my iron.
    I called the ghd customer service and this is what they told me:
    - Some irons are made in China, some in Korea- both are AUTHENTIC if purchased from an authorized retailer and folica is!
    -There IS SUPPOSED TO BE A GAP between the plates. When you're straightening your hair, you never close the plates completely because there will be hair between them, if that makes sense. The reason why it was pulling my hair was because I PUT TOO MUCH PRESSURE on the plates. I tried to close them as tightly as possible. With the ghds, you don'T have to do that! You just swipe the plates across your hair loosely. I tried this and it did NOT pull my hair anymore. I had a cheap remington iron before, so I was used to pushing the plates together hard.

    I was so relieved to find out that my iron was authentic and that it actually worked amazingly well once I used it correctly. If you don't push the plates together so hard it is also less damaging to your hair.

    Really hopes this was a help to someone because I was so freaked out at first. But I'm so happy with my iron now. It leaves my hair perfectly straight and glossy all day long.
    13 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 1, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection S...
    New York, NY
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love It!
    My favorite ghd flat iron thus far! It straightens beautifully and curls effortlessly. The packaging is stylish and comfortable. It is very lightweight so it doesn't tire your hand as you style your hair. Perfect flat iron!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 1, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name