Free Shipping Over $50
Customer Appreciation Sale
ghd

GHD Limited Edition Green Peacock Styler Set

31 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
GHD Limited Edition Green Peacock Styler Set features a Gold Classic Styler with green colored plates and accents, a protective plate guard, and a luxurious sto...
$250.00
$150.00
Save 40% + Free Shipping
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 31 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler (26)
  • GHD Limited Edition Green Peacock Styler Set (5)
Show All 31 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Chicago
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Superior To All Other Flat-irons
    When turning the iron on for the first time, I automatically noticed that there is no temperature control switch, just an on/off switch. Already I was a bit apprehensive because I usually need very high heat for my thick, curly hair and low heat for my bangs (in order for them not to be stick straight and flat).

    When the iron is switched on, it beeps, and the switch will light up and blink to indicate that the iron is heating up. Seconds later, it will fully heat up, and beep three times more and the light will stop blinking to indicate that it's ready for use. This iron heats up in less than 30 seconds, and is definitely faster than any other iron I've used.

    I don't normally forget to turn my flat iron off after use, but it's a habit to plug in my flat iron before I'm actually going to use it to give it time to heat up. After 30 minutes of being idle, the iron will go into sleep mode and beep every 10 seconds as a reminder that it's on, and it's still plugged in. I think it's a pretty sweet feature.

    My hair type:
    Long (down my back), thick, curly - a mixture of loose curls and waves (not kinky), dry and fine. My hair is like a difficult child that does what they want, when they want and won't listen to authority.

    With that said, I need a pretty good iron if I want my hair to be perfectly primped.

    I always start with the underside of my hair first, and comb out one inch sections. With one pass of my iron my hair is fairly straight, but two passes is needed because my hair is long, and with a thin plate flat iron, little areas can get missed. It takes around 20-25 minutes to get through my hair.

    It doesn't pull my hair, snag, and my hair glides smoothly through the plates without causing bends in my hair.

    What stands out the most to me about this iron is that it leaves my hair soft and shiny. It doesn't feel dry or fried and brittle like other flat irons I've used. Also, when flat ironing my bangs, I always style them on low heat so they'll fall naturally, rather than looking stick straight and in the way. This iron styles my bangs perfectly!

    I have to mention that I never wear my hair straight, but I have to use a flat iron when I wear my signature loose waves. My curls are tighter toward the roots and remain semi-tight a couple inches down my hair, and after that, the curls loosen up. So, I section my hair off and flat iron from my roots to about 1/3 down my hair, leaving the bottom curly. I then use a large barrel curling iron to curl my hair. It may seem like I can use any flat iron for this and get the same results, but I can definitely notice a difference in how healthy my hair appears.

    Because I have very long hair, this flat iron wouldn't be the best model for me for wearing my hair straight, as the plates are so small. If I did in fact wear my hair straight, I'd opt for a model with larger plates. For what I need this flat iron for, this model works just fine.

    $225 is a huge price to pay for a flat iron, and isn't in many of our budgets. But for those who are willing to pay an arm and a leg for professional hair tools, I'd definitely recommend looking into a GHD. This is my favorite flat iron by far!
    13 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 18, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Black
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great Iron!!
    The GHD Gold iron is a really great iron for at home use. Im a hairstylist so I really liked the fact that the temperature is controlled and doesn't get too hot. I usually don't like irons with just an on and off switch but this one is made really well. The plates glide super smooth through your hair and creates beautiful curls! If you're looking for a super easy to use flat iron, the GHD Gold is for you!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 12, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    United States
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Dry Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Straightener Ever!
    I absolutely LOVE this straightener! As a beauty guru on youtube, I have tried a lot of different ones and the GHD is seriously like no other. The plates are really great quality and make gliding down your hair really smooth. There is no heat setting because it adjusts to your hair type. I love the idea of this, it leaves my hair super straight without over heating it. When I finish straightening my hair it honestly feels like I just had a treatment done, its the softest its ever felt. The packaging is nice and it heats up very quick as well! All in all, coming from someone who has tried a lot of different straighteners this one is a bit more pricey but worth it! Don't waste time with cheap straighteners that make your hair frizz in hour later, spend a little more and you will get amazing results with a GHD!
    8 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 12, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Atlanta, GA
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Awesomeness!!
    This is honestly one of the best flat irons that I've ever used. I have very tightly coiled, kinky hair, however, I am also chemically relaxed. One of the problem areas I have with my hair is my resistant "new growth." Because of the size, this iron is able to get to my new growth and straighten it without issue. Additionally, this is the first iron that I have used that truly allows me to straighten my hair (to my satisfaction) with only one pass of the iron.

    Some of the biggest pros are that the iron heats up SUPER QUICKLY! Literally in less than a minute after plugging it up, the iron is good to go. Additionally, the safety feature that shuts the iron off after 30 minutes is a big positive for those of us who tend to forget our irons on when we leave the house in the morning (lol me!)

    The only "con" that I have for this iron is the lack of control for the amount of heat that I am applying to my hair. It would be perfect if I could adjust the level of heat that I am using on my strands (i.e. less heat for touch-ups, more heat for initial styling).
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 2, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Canada
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great Iron, But For A Price.
    Pros:
    - Heats up very quickly
    - Plate guard helps for travel and storage (no need to wait so long for plates to cool down!)
    - Super thin, light, and compact
    - Smooth plates
    - Automatic Sleep Mode feature is great for safety
    - 2 year warranty

    Cons:
    - Price reflects the "professional salon" quality
    - No adjustable temperature dial

    Compared to the g.h.d. Classic Styler:
    + Slightly better performance
    = Heats up very quickly
    = No adjustable temperature (one setting only)
    = Automatic Sleep Mode feature available in both
    - 20% more expensive

    Overall Comments
    I bought the g.h.d. Classic Styler about 1-2 years ago, and it was already my favourite straightener. This is hands down my new favourite iron for straightening only. I know $225 is a lot to pay, but if you're like me and constantly on the lookout for the perfect iron, this could very well be The One. For most people, buying this iron at this price point is unnecessary - you can get great (or maybe even equal!) results with the g.h.d. Classic Styler... or even other irons if they work well enough for you!

    Not having adjustable temperature doesn't make a HUGE difference to me, because my hair is quite thick and coarse, so I use a pretty high setting on adjustable irons anyway. However, for those of you with finer hair, you're better off looking for an iron that allows you to use a lower temperature setting.

    The auto Sleep Mode feature on the g.h.d. irons is a great safety check that gives me peace of mine.

    When it comes to curling...this iron claims to be easier to use to create flawless curls and waves. To be honest, yes it was a bit easier to get nice looking curls, but it wasn't so much easier that I would recommend getting this iron for that reason alone. This would be a non-deciding factor for me.

    Would I Recommend?
    Only for those who are having a difficult time finding a styling iron that performs well on their hair. For most people, I think the g.h.d. Classic Styler would be sufficient (at $40 less, too!). I wouldn't recommend this for people who have fine hair who are already able to see good results using a lower temperature setting on other irons.

    26 out of 26 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 1, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing Results
    I've gone through a fair number of straighteners, but I would definitely say that this one is by far the best. The plates go through your hair super smoothly, and I've never had any trouble with either straightening or curling.

    It heats up in literally seconds and cuts the time it takes to straighten my hair in half compared to some other irons I have. It also has an automatic shutoff setting which is perfect because I'll be honest, sometimes I do forget to turn my hot tools off.

    Overall, I'm definitely pleased with the results and I'd say its well worth the price.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 1, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Black
    Oily Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    New #1.. And I Own A Dozen Flat Irons!
    My title is not an exaggeration. I have very little patience with my coarse long hair, so I now own a dozen high end flat irons, but this particular GHD takes the cake! I stopped purchasing LE GHDs because I felt the plates did not get as hot due to the coloured coating. I was hesitant try this one, but I'm glad I took the plunge! It gets hot very quickly in true GHD fashion, but more importantly, the iron REMAINS hot while in use. I also think the flowery, whimsical embossments are fun yet subdued enough for an adult. The iron is lighter in weight than most of my GHDs, which some people find may feel cheapens the overall feel, but I prefer the lighter weight because my arm does not tire as easily while I'm curling, which takes about 15 minutes longer than straightening, 15 minutes for pin straight hair. Another bit to add to the pros list, this Gold Edition comes with a travelling clamp to hold the plates together while traveling, which prevents excess dust and grime from spoiling the plates.buoy won't be receiving a matching soft case, but I personally don't like the froo froo riff raff travel bags and cases, they are always too large and bulky (for my minimalist traveling style, anyway), so I rather like the basic clamp.
    I, however, don't find that my hair looks shinier after using this iron, so I usually finish off with a shine spray.Other than that, I have no criticisms. I think this iron is well worth the money, and it is leaps and bounds better than the Sedu Icon, which I had really high expectations for.
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 30, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    United States
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Wonderful Straightener!
    I've been using this straightener for the past month really love the results I get from it! My first time using it I was a little unsure because it did cause some snagging in my hair but after that time it was never a problem! This makes your hair so incredibly straight and soft. I didn't notice too much shine from this product but it deffinetly creates the sexy, sleek, straight hair that you are looking for using a hair straightener. You can also create very sexy curls using this straightener as well.

    I also love how fast this straightener heats up...in seconds! And it beeps when it is ready for use. I love the packaging and the fact that it has the cover for your straightener. That's great to use after you are done and it will cool down. This is an amazing striahgtener that you will not be dissapointed with.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 30, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Super Fast Heat-up!
    First off, I am so impressed at how quickly this heats up. Literally 30 seconds, maybe less. Great if you're in a time crunch. I also noticed that unlike other flat irons, this actually allowed my hair to stay straight longer. When I've flat ironed my hair in the past, if I slept on my hair or put it up in a pony tail, there would be dents in my hair. When I straighten my hair with the GHD gold professional styler, my hair is still straight the next day. Of course you can curl your hair with this as well.

    The only thing I wish this styler had was a way to change the heat setting, but other than that I love this styler! Not to mention is looks very sleek!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 29, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Oily Hair
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love This Flat Iron!!! So Snazzy!
    PRICE:
    I must admit this is a huge expense to shell out. At $225.00, it's definitely the most expensive flat iron I have ever used, however it's also the best one I've used (and I've used a lot). I feel like if you have the money, you really need or like to flat iron your hair and will get a lot of use out of it... then go ahead! Splurge a little (ok a lot). If you are someone who occasionally flat irons your hair, then this might be a little much to spend.

    APPEARANCE:
    It's sleek, chic and snazzy. Everything a flat iron should be. It's not too confusing, too many buttons. They kept it simple and I like that. The black and gold make it look luxurious.

    USER FRIENDLINESS:
    This is dummy proof! It has one button which you slide up to turn on, slide down to turn off. It's so easy! It beeps 3 times when it's heated up. There is no dial where you have to adjust the heat, its just either on or off, which I really like.

    CORD:
    The cord is so long! I love that!! There is nothing worse than having a short cord and an outlet that it's a bit too far away. Especially when you are working in a salon, this is a must have! So whether you are a stylist or just like to look good in your own home.... you will not be disappointed with the length of the cord.

    HEAT:
    This flat iron heats up to 374F. It's plenty hot enough to smooth out and straighten even the toughest, most stubborn hair. I literally had to go over the piece of hair once and it was perfect. Some flat irons I do have to go over the same piece at least 3 or 4 times. I would say this would work beautifully on any hair type.

    WHAT YOU CAN DO WITH IT:
    Obviously it's main purpose is to straighten and smooth our curly, wavy or frizzy hair. You can also curl, flip or create those snazzy beachy waves with it too. I haven't had the chance to play with it as far as the curls or waves go but I have used to flat iron my hair and I was in love with the result. It was way faster to get my hold head done than normal, it looks and felt shiny, smooth and sooooo touchable! It glides through the hair without pulling or snagging any hairs (that's my biggest pet peeve with flat irons). It's easy to use and makes your hair look amazing. It just glides through it like butter!

    OVERALL:
    I think this is great. It works super well, it's easy to use and it also comes with the protective plate guard. That is perfect for stylists that are on the go or if you travel a lot. I think it's also really cool that it has a universal voltage! BIG PLUS! I have fried 2 flat irons in my time, visiting family in England and not thinking about the voltage. I would definitely recommend this iron to anyone, if you are willing to spend the money. This will last you a good few years at least, so you will definitely get your money's worth out of it.

    Hope that helps loves!!

    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 29, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $50.00 New Price: $37.00
  • Folica Crane Clips

    Folica Crane Clips

    Folica Carbon Crane Clips are the perfect styling aid!

    New Price: $9.99
  • Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1 Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1

    Winner of 2013 ALLURE Magazine's Best Of Beauty Flat Iron! Sedu Revolution Styling Iron features revolutionary technologies that allow you to create any hairstyle imaginable with half of the time and virtually no damage. Sedu Revolution's Ultra Smooth 1 inch plates leave your hair shiny and healthy. Includes 2 year warranty and free heat proof mat/pouch.

    1,049 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $200.00 New Price: $159.99
    Free Shipping
Server Name