Free Shipping Over $50
How lucky is your summer? Get up to 25% off.
ghd

GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler

26 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler is GHD's sleekest styler ever, with a cooler, lighter body, smoother plates, and an bonus protective plate guard for storage...
$225.00
Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 26 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • GHD Gold Professional 1" Styler (26)
Show All 26 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing Results
    I've gone through a fair number of straighteners, but I would definitely say that this one is by far the best. The plates go through your hair super smoothly, and I've never had any trouble with either straightening or curling.

    It heats up in literally seconds and cuts the time it takes to straighten my hair in half compared to some other irons I have. It also has an automatic shutoff setting which is perfect because I'll be honest, sometimes I do forget to turn my hot tools off.

    Overall, I'm definitely pleased with the results and I'd say its well worth the price.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 1, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Oily Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    New #1.. And I Own A Dozen Flat Irons!
    My title is not an exaggeration. I have very little patience with my coarse long hair, so I now own a dozen high end flat irons, but this particular GHD takes the cake! I stopped purchasing LE GHDs because I felt the plates did not get as hot due to the coloured coating. I was hesitant try this one, but I'm glad I took the plunge! It gets hot very quickly in true GHD fashion, but more importantly, the iron REMAINS hot while in use. I also think the flowery, whimsical embossments are fun yet subdued enough for an adult. The iron is lighter in weight than most of my GHDs, which some people find may feel cheapens the overall feel, but I prefer the lighter weight because my arm does not tire as easily while I'm curling, which takes about 15 minutes longer than straightening, 15 minutes for pin straight hair. Another bit to add to the pros list, this Gold Edition comes with a travelling clamp to hold the plates together while traveling, which prevents excess dust and grime from spoiling the plates.buoy won't be receiving a matching soft case, but I personally don't like the froo froo riff raff travel bags and cases, they are always too large and bulky (for my minimalist traveling style, anyway), so I rather like the basic clamp.
    I, however, don't find that my hair looks shinier after using this iron, so I usually finish off with a shine spray.Other than that, I have no criticisms. I think this iron is well worth the money, and it is leaps and bounds better than the Sedu Icon, which I had really high expectations for.
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 30, 2012
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Wonderful Straightener!
    I've been using this straightener for the past month really love the results I get from it! My first time using it I was a little unsure because it did cause some snagging in my hair but after that time it was never a problem! This makes your hair so incredibly straight and soft. I didn't notice too much shine from this product but it deffinetly creates the sexy, sleek, straight hair that you are looking for using a hair straightener. You can also create very sexy curls using this straightener as well.

    I also love how fast this straightener heats up...in seconds! And it beeps when it is ready for use. I love the packaging and the fact that it has the cover for your straightener. That's great to use after you are done and it will cool down. This is an amazing striahgtener that you will not be dissapointed with.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 30, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Super Fast Heat-up!
    First off, I am so impressed at how quickly this heats up. Literally 30 seconds, maybe less. Great if you're in a time crunch. I also noticed that unlike other flat irons, this actually allowed my hair to stay straight longer. When I've flat ironed my hair in the past, if I slept on my hair or put it up in a pony tail, there would be dents in my hair. When I straighten my hair with the GHD gold professional styler, my hair is still straight the next day. Of course you can curl your hair with this as well.

    The only thing I wish this styler had was a way to change the heat setting, but other than that I love this styler! Not to mention is looks very sleek!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 29, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Oily Hair
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love This Flat Iron!!! So Snazzy!
    PRICE:
    I must admit this is a huge expense to shell out. At $225.00, it's definitely the most expensive flat iron I have ever used, however it's also the best one I've used (and I've used a lot). I feel like if you have the money, you really need or like to flat iron your hair and will get a lot of use out of it... then go ahead! Splurge a little (ok a lot). If you are someone who occasionally flat irons your hair, then this might be a little much to spend.

    APPEARANCE:
    It's sleek, chic and snazzy. Everything a flat iron should be. It's not too confusing, too many buttons. They kept it simple and I like that. The black and gold make it look luxurious.

    USER FRIENDLINESS:
    This is dummy proof! It has one button which you slide up to turn on, slide down to turn off. It's so easy! It beeps 3 times when it's heated up. There is no dial where you have to adjust the heat, its just either on or off, which I really like.

    CORD:
    The cord is so long! I love that!! There is nothing worse than having a short cord and an outlet that it's a bit too far away. Especially when you are working in a salon, this is a must have! So whether you are a stylist or just like to look good in your own home.... you will not be disappointed with the length of the cord.

    HEAT:
    This flat iron heats up to 374F. It's plenty hot enough to smooth out and straighten even the toughest, most stubborn hair. I literally had to go over the piece of hair once and it was perfect. Some flat irons I do have to go over the same piece at least 3 or 4 times. I would say this would work beautifully on any hair type.

    WHAT YOU CAN DO WITH IT:
    Obviously it's main purpose is to straighten and smooth our curly, wavy or frizzy hair. You can also curl, flip or create those snazzy beachy waves with it too. I haven't had the chance to play with it as far as the curls or waves go but I have used to flat iron my hair and I was in love with the result. It was way faster to get my hold head done than normal, it looks and felt shiny, smooth and sooooo touchable! It glides through the hair without pulling or snagging any hairs (that's my biggest pet peeve with flat irons). It's easy to use and makes your hair look amazing. It just glides through it like butter!

    OVERALL:
    I think this is great. It works super well, it's easy to use and it also comes with the protective plate guard. That is perfect for stylists that are on the go or if you travel a lot. I think it's also really cool that it has a universal voltage! BIG PLUS! I have fried 2 flat irons in my time, visiting family in England and not thinking about the voltage. I would definitely recommend this iron to anyone, if you are willing to spend the money. This will last you a good few years at least, so you will definitely get your money's worth out of it.

    Hope that helps loves!!

    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 29, 2012
    Link to this post
  • MD
    Hair
    Platinum Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Hair Straightener On The Market !
    I have tried a number of flat irons in the past, but have never been blown away until using the GHD Gold Professional 1'' Styler. My natural hair is slightly wavy throughout, leaving me with a relatively unkempt look if I allow it to air dry. So I definitely rely on my hair straightener to achieve the sleek, straight look I love! The most wonderful thing about the GHD Gold Prof. is how quickly it heats up! In less than 30 seconds after turning it on, it indicated that it was hot and ready to work its magic :) This is by far the fastest heating flat iron I've ever used, and with a busy schedule this is vital for my morning routine. This hair straightener also straightens my hair just as quickly! With other irons it can take me 3-4 times to get one piece of hair to straighten to my satisfaction but with the GHD, every strand is perfectly straightened in 1-2 swoops! Another wonderful thing about the GHD Gold Professional is that it has not damaged my bleached hair whatsoever. I definitely have to be careful with hot styling tools now that I'm a platinum blonde, but this straightener actually makes my hair more sleek, and smooth after using it! I do however still recommend using some type of thermal protectant; as they are important to use whenever styling your hair. All in all, I was very impressed with this product! It was lightweight, easy to hold and use, super quick, and gave me fabulous sleek results! Highly recommend to anyone who wants smooth, straightened hair in minutes!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 28, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Baton Rouge, LA
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Oily Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    One Of The Best I've Ever Tried!!!
    I've been using this product a couple of weeks now and I am more than pleased. I am a Beauty Expert and know very little about hair. I only flat iron and curl my hair so a good quality flat iron is a must! This flat iron resembles the ones you see in some beauty supply stores that are very cheap and very bad quality. THIS IS NOT THE CASE WITH THIS FLAT IRON! Every other flat iron I own, I have to go over my hair multiple times to achieve the straightness I want. With this flat iron, one swipe and I'm on to the next piece of hair. I also am very bad with leaving my flat iron on and leaving the house. I AM SO HAPPY this flat iron cuts off after 30 minutes of no use. I use it exactly how it comes and even curl my hair with it!!! If you want a good quality, safe, sleek, and small flat iron, this is the way to go!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 22, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Battle Of The Curls: Ghd Gold Professional Styler
    My hair and I have a tumultuous relationship. There are more bad times than good times and the bad times stem from trying to tame my unruly mane. My hair is a curly, tangled mess in its natural state and trying to straighten my hair is a dramatic event. When I know Iâ??m going to straighten my hair it usually begins with me crying before, during, and after I straighten it. My hair will battle me to the ends of the earth and will always, always win.

    But now I have a new weapon. My desperate pleas have been answered by the Hair Gods in the form of the ghd Gold Professional 1â?³ Styler. This flat-iron is everything that I have been searching for to whip my hair into submission.

    When I plugged in this flat-iron I walked away to wait for it to heat and before I even left the room I heard the beep alerting me it was ready. I couldnâ??t believe how fast it was able to heat up. I sighed preparing for what I assumed would be a long chore. One piece of my hair usually takes me at least four swipes of a flat-iron before it behaves. The ghd Gold Professional Styler was able to tame my hair in only two swipes leaving it softer and shiny.

    It took me half the time it typically takes me to straighten all of my hair. The device was lightweight and didnâ??t tire my hand from holding it like other flat irons. The golden plates also make the flat-iron glide through hair smoothly. Only issue with this flat-iron is although it advertises as being easy to use to create waves and curls I found it to be just the same as any other flat-iron I have used. It took me a few tries to perfect any waves that I put in my hair.

    The ghd Gold Professional 1â?? Styler also comes with a small protective heat guard that is great for travel. Another awesome feature is â??Sleep modeâ?? in which the flat-iron turns itself off after a 30 minute period of inactivity. I know that I constantly run out of my house and then wonder while on the road if I turned off my flat-iron so that it doesnâ??t burn down the house. This is an amazing safety feature for a flat-iron.

    Overall I found this to be one of the better flat irons I have used. Itâ??s lightweight, easy to use, and creates an effortless look. So the hair vs. me score is now

    Hair: a million.
    Me: 1 (but more to come thanks to ghd!)
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    12 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 20, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Bay Area
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Oily Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Loving This!!
    I have used a chi for years and I have also tried many different straighteners at the salon I go to and ones that my friends had. I always said when my chi breaks I am definitely getting the GHD. I love how thin and curved it is so if I wanted to I can curl my hair. It does not snag my hair at all and it is very lightweight. The other awesome thing about it is that its plug is universal so when I travel I do not have to worry about frying my straightener like I did in Spain a couple years back (not fun at all). All in all I am very satisfied with my purchase! <3
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 18, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Not What They Used To Be
    I had a GHD straightener, the M3 I believe. It was AMAZING!! Packaging, straightener, everything. It lasted 7 years! My sister had an M4, It was good but it was no M3. The improvement of being dual voltage and auto shutoff was the only thing that made her keep it. I ordered this one ( the pro 1'" ) when my M3 broke. I was completely disappointed! The packaging is aweful compared to the M4. The plates didn't line up. It took me 4 passes to go through my clean, dry bangs.

    They just aren't what they used to be.
    9 out of 16 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 29, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $50.00 New Price: $37.00
  • GHD Classic Styler Ceramic Hair Straightener Best of Folica

    GHD Classic Styler Ceramic Hair Straightener

    The GHD Classic Styler is all you will ever need to create perfect curls, movement and volume. The GHD Classic Styler flat iron also auto adjusts for international voltages.

    232 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $255.00 New Price: $185.00
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1 Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1

    Winner of 2013 ALLURE Magazine's Best Of Beauty Flat Iron! Sedu Revolution Styling Iron features revolutionary technologies that allow you to create any hairstyle imaginable with half of the time and virtually no damage. Sedu Revolution's Ultra Smooth 1 inch plates leave your hair shiny and healthy. Includes 2 year warranty and free heat proof mat/pouch.

    1,044 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $200.00 New Price: $159.99
    Free Shipping
Server Name