StealOfTheDaySEDUSET
Cortex

Cortex Professional Steamliner Vapor Iron

12 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The Cortex Professional Steamliner Vapor-infusing iron redefines the possibilities for achieving salon-perfect hair in your own home!
$179.99
$99.99
Save 44% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 12 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Cortex Professional Steamliner Vapor Iron (12)
Show All 12 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • United States
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Back-to-school Shopping Ever!
    My 14 yr old spends 45-minutes straightening her hair, but the first time she used this, it took her less than 10. When she was taking it out of the beautiful box, she said "I feel like someone's proposing to me." After reading all the reviews, we were very careful getting the oil set up and started with a lower heat setting. It works like a professional iron should. And the oil infusion is awesome! I've already recommended it to friends.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 30, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Pros And Cons
    I ordered this iron about 2 months ago and i was SO excited to finally get it. My hair is VERY naturally curly, i'm 1/2 white and 1/2 black and my curls are about to my shoulders. First it was beautifully packaged, which was a plus. After getting used to using it I was both pleasantly and not so pleasantly surprised with the results.

    pros-

    Made my hair soft, shiny, manageable, and I got HEAPS of compliments
    It got my hair VERY straight, I must have gained 8 (no exaggeration) inches when straightening it, and since purchasing this 2 months ago, my hair has grown about 2 inches longer, I've been growing my hair out for 3 years and it's never grown faster

    cons-

    it takes me a long time to straighten it (maybe because I didn't go to beauty school and I try to be as thorough as possible)
    it left a HORRIBLE smell in my hair, which you can smell every time i wash it (could have been attributed to the fact that i didn't use enough heat protectant)

    I would DEFINITELY recommend this product, if you are willing to take the risk of bad smelling hair, and time dedication.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 13, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Lakeland, FL
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Move Over Chi . . .the Steamliner Vapor Iron Costs Less & Creates Amazing, Longlasting Results.
    First let me say, the Chi is a great product. However, the Cortex Steamliner Vapor Iron is absolutely awesome. Like the Chi, the Steamliner vapor iron heats up in seconds; it has more varying temperatures settings than the Chi. The Vapor Iron straightens the hair faster and, as the special Argan "vapor oil" is infused into the hair, it creates a softer, shinier hair which stays looking great all day. *I do take special precaution when working with or sitting the product down as it is a professional tool which gets very hot. I also turn off the tool right after use to avoid the oil from vaporing out. You must use their oil with this product which is a very thin oil.

    I truly love this hair tool; it's fast and effective.
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 22, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Perfect Iron
    This item was given to me as a gift. I already own a flat iron which I have been using for awhile now... but this iron is totally different. I didn't use the oil because I was in a rush but the results were great. My hair came out bone straight and I didn't have to do it twice to get it straight. Just one time did the job.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 3, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Michigan
    Hair
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing Results
    I am a hairstylist and I am always skeptical of gimmicky hair tools and had major doubts that this iron would be any different than any other. I am completely amazed. On clients that normally require a LOT of product and several passes with a 450 degree iron to get their hair straight, this iron required a lot less heat and NO other product but the oil from the iron. The smell of the oil is not the best but once I'm done using the iron, I do not notice the smell. It does not linger in your hair. I've also used this iron to curl hair and the curls end up perfect. I can't wait until my salon starts selling them. My clients are blown away and can't wait until they are able to have one of their own.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 30, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Georgia
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Awesome!!!!!!
    BEST FLAT IRON EVER.....
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 27, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Kissimmee Florida
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    1 Star Rating
    This Should Not Be Allowed To Be Sold!
    Boiling hot liquid poured down my arm the first time I used this Vapor Iron. I called Cortex at their corporate offices and they said "You're probably doing it wrong" and suggested I read the instructions thoroughly before trying to use it again. I asked to speak with someone else and they call was promptly disconnected.
    Well, I still have this iron, I need to send it back. I tried many times to figure it out but I think it's just poorly designed. To top it all off, the liquid smells very strong of tropical fruit and the smell will not leave my hair.
    I really hope this was of help. This iron is not only dangerous, it's frustrating!
    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 23, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Atlanta, Georgia
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    My Hair Turned Brown And Won't Wash Out!
    My hair is destroyed. This was the worst idea I have ever had. Not only did my hair turn brown and has this awful fruit smell that won't go away, the company (Cortex) told me, "Sometimes this happens". Some times this happens? What is that supposed to mean? I am so upset about having to pay to have my hair colored to hide the dark spots in my light brown hair. This iron is dangerous.
    2 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 22, 2013
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love This Straightener
    I really like this straightener. My natural hair is dry and frizzy. This straightener makes my hair come out super straight, shiny and no frizz. I was also really impressed with the price. I had been wanting to try the l'oreal steampod which is a similar concept but its three times the price. I figured I would just try this flat iron since the price was right and I'm glad I did.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 19, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Atlanta, Georgia
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Messy, Smelly, Waste Of Time! Thanks For Taking It Back Folica!
    Seemed like a good idea. Straighten your hair and add moisture at the same time, right? Well, not only did this thing leak all over the place, it makes your hair smell like suntan lotion (Think pineapple and Coconuts) for days!!! I mean, it's really really strong. Not just a little fragrance but WHAMM!
    I guess I forgot to mention the worst part, the liquid left brown marks on my blond hair that never washed out! I guess it burnt the oil onto my hair. :-(
    This thing is already on the way back, sorry folica. But I want the Sedu iron I should have purchased in the first place.

    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 16, 2013
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name