25% off site wide. 35% off Theorie.

CHI Original 1" Flat Iron

Achieve professional results. This original CHI 1 inch flat iron will straighten, curl and flip your hair.
$120.00

The original CHI® 1" Flat Iron is an ideal tool for all your creative styling and finishing needs. Achieve a variety of looks and styles with one versatile tool.

  • Model#: GF1001   /  
  • SKU: A8526   /  
  • Guaranteed Authentic
Plug Type: GFI
Max Temperature: 356 Degrees Fahrenheit
Included Bonus: Pouch
Voltage: 110
Cord Type: Swivel Cord
Material: Ceramic
Plate Size: 1 Inch
Cord Length: Cord Length (feet) Foot
  • You May Also Like

NARROW BY HAIR TYPE
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
NARROW BY PRODUCT
  • CHI Original 1" Flat Iron (1967)
Sort By
  • Date
  •  / 
  • Helpfulness
  •  / 
  • Rating
  • Chi Ruined My Hair! 1 Star Rating
    I got the CHI and the first one I bought short circuited, so then I got another one.However this iron ruined my hair, I used a thermal protectant yet it still fried my hair I had horrible split ends that resulted in me having to get 3 inches of breakage and split ends cut off.I am soo upset I used to have beautiful, thick, long hair!The CHI is not a good flat iron for the price.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 28, 2005
  • Chi Flat Iron Problems 3 Star Rating
    HEY GIRLS & GUYS, I TOO AM A HAIRDRESSER & HAVE BEEN DOING HAIR FOR ABOUT 7 YEARS NOW. I ALSO HAVE THE NATURALLY CURLY FRIZZY NAPPY HAIR WITHOUT MY CHI. IN MY EXPERIENCES WITH THIS IRON, IVE ALREADY HAD TO SEND BACK 4 OF THEM SINCE I BEGAN PURCHASING THEM BACK IN LATE 2002. IT IS THE BEST FLAT IRON I HAVE EVER USED. BUT I TOO HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS AS THE GENERAL PUBLIC WITH THE IRON COMING ON & GOING OFF. FOR A WHILE, I WAS HAVING TO TURN MY CORD AT THE BASE CERTAIN WAYS JUST TO GET THE LIGHT TO STAY ON SO I COULD SMOOTH OUT MY HAIR. LUCKILY, AS LONG AS THE 1 YEAR MARK HASNT PASSED FROM THE PURCHASE OF THE IRON, I CAN SEND IT BACK WITH MY SALESMAN & HE BRINGS ME A BRAND NEW ONE. I KNOW THE SUPPLY HOUSE THAT I DEAL WITH WILL HAPPILY TAKE BACK ANY CHI IRON ALONG WITH THE BOX IT CAME IN & THE ORIGINAL RECEIPT & REPLACE IT WITHING THAT FIRST YEAR. WHEN MY CUSTOMERS OR THE OTHER GIRLS CUSTOMERS THAT I WORK WITH HAVE BOUGHT A CHI IRON FROM ONE OF US, WE ALWAYS IMMEDIATELY UPON DELIVERY WRITE IN PERMANENT BLACK MARKER THE DATE OF PURCHASE ON THE BOX ITSELF & TELL THEM TO HOLD ONTO IT IN CASE THEY NEEDED TO RETURN IT. WE NEVER GIVE OUT RECEIPTS. FAROUK CHARGES US $15 TO SEND THE IRON BACK & WE DO REQUEST THAT THE CLIENT PAY THIS TO COVER THOSE COSTS. THE NEXT DAY, WE HAVE THEIR BRAND NEW ONE WAITING FOR THEM TO PICK IT UP. I KNOW THIS IS A LONG REVIEW, I JUST WAS HOPING TO HELP ANYONES DECISION OUT ON THIS IRON. I WILL DEFINITELY BE TRYING THAT SEDU I BELIEVE THAT IS WHAT ITS CALLED ANYWAY!!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 22, 2005
  • Not Reliable At All 2 Star Rating
    I orginally bought the Chi straightner about 2 years ago... I purchased it online for about 130 dollars. In the course of one year (it came with a one year warranty) I went through FIVE chi straightners!! FIVE!! It either stopped working, kept turning off and turning on... or just stopped turning on all togheter. One time it completely fried an entire section of my hair and started smoking and the plates turned completely black and it stopped working.. I currently have my 6th Chi straightner... and it just broke a few weeks ago. (It stopped turning on).... so now I am without a straigtner. The CHI works and does get the job done... but it is deffintly not reliable. I spent more money sending it back in shipping fees then it was really worth. I am currently looking to purchase another straightner, But i dont think I will be purchasing another Chi....

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 21, 2005
    / Long Island, New York
  • Best Thing In The World If You Know How To Use It. 4 Star Rating
    I am a cosmetologist and I have reviewed most of the reviews on this web site. I have had my CHI Iron now for almost 8 mo. I use it on quite a few of my clients sometimes three of four times a day. I have thus far not had ANY problems with mine, however I just learned that Farouk Systems has just done some remodeling of the iron. Some people that buy this iron need to read their instructions. If you use a product to protect your hair from the iron you will never have any problems with "fried" hair. As long as you stick to regular trims on your hair and use a decent shampoo and conditioner. Also one of the great things about the CHI iron is that it has no temp. dial. The harder you press the hotter igt gets. So for all of you heavy squeezers out there no wonder your plates are falling appart.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 19, 2005
    / Boise ID
  • Farouk Chi Flat Iron 4 Star Rating
    The Farouk CHI Ceramic Hairstyling Iron is the best straighner product in the market. I have naturally wavy hair. Living in Texas we have an abundant of humidity. Other straightners would make my hair look dry and frizzy. I have tried many other cheaper irons, but I have never been as satisfied with the results as the chi. The chi leaves my hair with a silky shinny look ever time. My hair is long and manages to stay straight and shinny almost all day. Expensive but worth the money spent.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 19, 2005
    / Houston, Texas
  • Beware Of Plates 4 Star Rating
    I have had my CHI for 2 years now. I have loved up till now. I read some of the reviews and there was one girl, a cosmotologist, who made a comment about people who squeeze to hard and the plates come loose. Well for the money I payed for it, it should last a lot longer than 2 years. My plates fell off, so now its a $140.00 down the toilet. Now granted, I bought a cheep one and hate it. I did read the instructions, and dont believe I read anything about the plates falling off if you squeeze to hard. If you have real curly, frizzy, nappy hair like mine, I guess dont press too hard. Other than that, its awesome!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 19, 2005
    / Lewis Center, Ohio
  • It Worked Great For 3 Years 3 Star Rating
    When I first got my CHI, I loved it. I have naturally curly hair and it was the first time that I could get my hair really straight, without being poofy. It was great for about 6 months, then it sparked, started smoking, and basically blew up, so I sent it back and got a new one. The next one worked great at first, but after 2 years now, the plates have fallen out and it wont stay on. I have tried glueing the plates, and taping the wires certain ways to get it to stay on, but nothing seems to work. My step daugher has enough hair for 3 humans and its very wavy. She also likes the CHI but it seems to have damaged her hair a little. She has some hair breakage (looks kind of like a little mohawk of baby hairs).I figured since Ive been using it for so long, its time to try something new anyways. So, I just ordered the Solia and should be getting it any day now. Overall, it was ok, it just isnt very durable.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 13, 2005
    / Katy, TX
  • Be Careful 3 Star Rating
    i had used several straighteners, starting with the hot tools, then the ceramic models of the hot tools, then a superstar. when i had to go through 2 superstars, i decided that i had to get the best and finally caved in and spent the big bucks on a chi, after seeing how good my friends hair looked (who has naturally CURLY hair).unfortunately, i straightened my hair every day, and usually more than once a day, for touchups, and my hair has thinned out so much and is really damaged because of this. and i DID use the styling products beforehand, like the biosilk sprays and biosilk silk therapy. the chi works great if you use it ***once in a while*** but never ever use it every day if your hair is not naturally straight. im regretting it every day because i now have to wear my hair wavy to avoid doing futher damage, which actually isnt a bad look on me, but im still tempted to turn my chi on sometimes. also, i had the problems that several customers mention with the light turning off if the cord swiveled to a certain point. very infuriating, but for me, it seemed like it was only the light that went off, not the iron. my main advice is to just use this sparingly, but if youre going to be using it a lot, make sure to have your hair completely blow dryed, use enough pre straightening product and do section by section only ONCE. i was straightening sections several times each, and the split ends are a nightmare. flat irons have huge risks, and unfortunately a lot of the damge is undoable.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jun 10, 2005
    / Dallas, Tx
  • Great Product...when It Works 4 Star Rating
    Keep the receipt! I was really pleased with this product, however, it started to shut off on its own a few months after I bought it. I didnt keep my receipt, so my $130 went down the drain.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jun 10, 2005
    / Fort Worth, TX
  • Nice 4 Star Rating
    I like this iron. It really straightens my curly hair. Although, it still takes me quite sometime to straighten it.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jun 8, 2005
    / Los Angeles, CA
Server Name