Free Shipping Over $50
15%, 20% or 25% off Your Order
CHI

CHI Ceramic Flat Iron (Original 1" CHI)

1,955 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Achieve professional results. This original CHI 1 inch flat iron will straighten, curl and flip your hair.
$149.00
$120.00
Save 19% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 1,955 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • CHI Ceramic Flat Iron (Original 1" CHI) (1955)
Show All 1,955 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Love...but Horribly Made!
    I have currently owned 3 chi straighteners. My first last one month. The blades on the iron completely burned up, causing black smoke to come from the iron. I thought maybe it was just a bad one... SO, I ordered me another one. ANOTHER glitch. Must have been a short in the wire. The iron just came on and off, making it impossible to fix my hair. Since I absolutely LOVED how this product fixed my naturally curly hair better than any other iron I had used, I went for one more try. Well, the on/off button simply just fell off. Hmmm... That's 3 straighteners and over $300. I will NOT be purchasing another chi. I loved the way the product worked.. WHEN it would work.
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 11, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Florida
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Reliable
    I have owned this straightener for almost six years now & have used it almost daily. It is just now starting to die (it does not get as hot as it used to & it is taking longer to heat up). It has a simple on & off button, no heat settings. I keep flatirons on the highest temperature anyways and find no need for heat settings. This is a pretty average flatiron; it straightens my hair. Shine, smoothness, etc. comes from the products I use in my hair prior to straightening, and that is true with every flatiron I have ever used. My one complaint with the Chi is that it makes a 'squeak' noise when closing, and I have noticed that others who own Chi flatirons complain of the same issue.
    OVERALL: Reliable, long-lasting, hot, fairly lightweight
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 11, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Straight Shiny Hair
    I've had my chi since April 2009 and has been working well for me ever since.
    I love how it heats up within seconds and doesn't fry my hair. I clean it every now and then and I never wrap the cord around the iron. A few months ago it was making the squeaky sound, but I used WD40 and it has stopped.
    I love this iron and couldn't have been happier.

    The only reason I gave 4 stars is because I cannot use it outside of North America.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 2, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Just Quits Working
    I bought this product because I had good results with my previous CHI (it lasted for 5 years). The CHI iron works really well when it works. But it suddenly stopped working after only 2 months of use. I would NOT recommend this product because it is very expensive and unreliable. The brand has horrible customer service, and could not answer my questions about the manufacturer's warranty.
    9 out of 12 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 7, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Buena Nj
    1 Star Rating
    After Three Months Of My Girlfriend Using The Chi It Quit Working
    I purchased a Chi flat iron for my girlfriend as a gift. Just after three months of using the product, it stopped working altogether without warning. One morning it just wouldn't turn on.
    14 out of 16 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 6, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Chi Vs Hot Tools
    I bought the CHI Ceramic Flat Iron a few months ago and it completely burnt my hair! There NEEDS to be a temperature control placed on this product so that customers can adjust it to their hair type. Even though there is a warranty that comes with it, it does not cover hair... which is priceless to most people. I had been using a ceramic flat iron made by Hot Tools for 15+ years (same iron for 15+ years!) and it never once burnt my hair. I am VERY disappointed, I expected a much better product coming from CHI. I could not with a clear conscious recommend this product, but would highly recommend Hot Tools for durability, quality and effectiveness.
    3 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 6, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Iowa
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Good While It Lasts
    I have purchased a total of 2 Chi's and thought they worked really well. I have very thick, curly frizzy hair naturally. My problem with Chi's are they always break and for the amount of money that you spend on them they should last a lot longer. I alos noticed that when I had to purchase my 2nd one the quality went waaaay downhill. My 1st chi lasted about 2 1/2 years... the second one about 10 months. I will not put anymore money into a Chi as they have a gaurantee to breakdown (would not be a huge deal if they weren't so expensive). My issue was they just didn't turn on, and it would suddenly happen without warning. I purchased a Rusk flat iron and I couldnt' be more happy. It was more expensive, but it actually works better than a Chi.

    For all of the reviews complaining about broken hair and split ends.... well all flat irons and hari dryers do that. In order to avoid this happening you must must use a heat protectant spray BEFORE you flat iron and dry your hair. That is what heat does... damges it. I'm surprised your hair stylists didn't point this out to you.
    12 out of 14 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 4, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    1 Star Rating
    Horrible.
    This was horrible. It burned my hair off! I would NOT recommend this product.
    8 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 5, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Ok
    I have had this straightener for about 4 years and it straightens my hair but my hair only stays straight for about an hour and with my other straightener it lasted all day I am currently buying the solia because I do not like my chi
    10 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 27, 2012
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Mine Just Broke
    Mine just broke after 4 awesome years..RIP my CHI :)
    4 out of 7 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 24, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. . Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $50.00 New Price: $37.00
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") Best of Folica

    Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

    The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution for true silky straight hair. 

    5,517 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $79.99 - $89.99
    Free Shipping
  • CHI Air Classic Tourmaline Ceramic 1" Flat Iron - Onyx Black

    CHI Air Classic Tourmaline Ceramic 1" Flat Iron - Onyx Black

    Achieve professional results with the CHI Air Classic 1" Ceramic Tourmaline flat iron will straighten, curl and flip your hair.

    New Price: $99.99
    Free Shipping
  • CHI Silk Infusion

    CHI Silk Infusion

    CHI Transformation System Silk Infusion helps strengthen your hair, providing incredible softness, manageability and shine without any build-up. Alcohol free, enriched with pure silk and wheat and soy proteins. Available in 6 oz. and 2 oz.

    549 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $14.00 - $41.50
  • Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer

    Sedu continues to innovate in its line of heat styling products with creativity and the latest advanced technology. One of the first professional hair dryers of its kind with super compact size and light weight design, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer has 60% more power than a conventional dryer. With the most effective tourmaline coated ionic generator, this dryer reduces frizz and static by 90% and cuts drying time in half. Get it today, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer is the only dryer you will ever need!

    847 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $250.00 New Price: $174.99
    Free Shipping
Server Name