CHI

CHI Ceramic Flat Iron (Original 1" CHI)

Achieve professional results. This original CHI 1 inch flat iron will straighten, curl and flip your hair.
$120.00
In Stock
- Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 1,960 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • CHI Ceramic Flat Iron (Original 1" CHI) (1960)
Show All 1,960 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Love, But Doesn't Last Long
    I have purchased 3 of these flat irons in my life. I love everything about the chi, other than the fact that they never last more than a year for me. Same issue with each one I've owed. The light starts flashing on and off and the only way to get it to work is to squeeze it tightly together, but then it just eventually dies altogether. :(
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 19, 2013
    Link to this post
  • USA
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Loved It
    My first flat iron was a cheapy from Wal- Mart, and it lasted about a year. I decided to get a higher quality one and decided on a Solia. I wanted it to arrive before school started, but it was backordered, and I chose a CHI instead. I was so happy with it! It worked with my shoulder length hair and even when I had super long hair. I had it with me all 4 years of high school and then it quit on me today, a few months into my freshman year of college. I used it a few times a week, and I'm debating on ordering another or switching brands. But I would recommend it, even though I wish it had lasted longer!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 16, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Florida
    5 Star Rating
    12 Years And Still Kicking!!!
    When I get my CHI, I was like this price is really expensive for this flat iron but I figured it would be worth a try.... Let me tell you, I think this is the BEST investment. I have had my CHI for 12 years now and it is STILL working like I just got it.... I love it.... Love it... Love it.... I have had people buy these other flat irons and they are good for 1 or 2 years and they are off paying another 100+ dollars for one. My aunt has a CHI and it is 12 1/2 years old.... So actually I have paid $1.04 per month for this item LOL...This is the BEST IRON OUT THERE.... TRUST ME..
    5 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 16, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Sacramento, Ca
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love This Product!
    I bought my first CHI and it burned out after three years. My second CHI is now starting to die as well (it's been 7 years). It works but it's not heating up as fast and not nearly as hot as it used to be. However, I am about to purchase my third one. It heats up fast and flat irons my hair quickly (albeit I do the Brazilian Blowout so running the CHI over my already straightened hair sets it in place, removes any frizz and adds shine). I've researched other flat irons (even more expensive ones) and just can't seem to leave CHI. I use heat protectant products and it works great!
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 7, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Houston, Tx
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Oily Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Not Worth It.
    I've used this flat iron for about three years until it just gave up on me. It was not damaged and I took care of it perfectly. It did its job in getting the hair straight but snag all the time. It really didn't give my hair shine. When I purchased it from here folica had sent me a made in china one. On the second try, it stopped working. I immediately contacted folica which they then said to contact the manufacturer. Chi replaced it with a made in usa one which lasted three years. Chi use to be the big time brand name in flat irons. I don't think that's the case anymore. There are better flat iron out there so I recommend to do a lot of research before settling for this one.
    5 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 1, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Love...but Horribly Made!
    I have currently owned 3 chi straighteners. My first last one month. The blades on the iron completely burned up, causing black smoke to come from the iron. I thought maybe it was just a bad one... SO, I ordered me another one. ANOTHER glitch. Must have been a short in the wire. The iron just came on and off, making it impossible to fix my hair. Since I absolutely LOVED how this product fixed my naturally curly hair better than any other iron I had used, I went for one more try. Well, the on/off button simply just fell off. Hmmm... That's 3 straighteners and over $300. I will NOT be purchasing another chi. I loved the way the product worked.. WHEN it would work.
    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 11, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Florida
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Reliable
    I have owned this straightener for almost six years now & have used it almost daily. It is just now starting to die (it does not get as hot as it used to & it is taking longer to heat up). It has a simple on & off button, no heat settings. I keep flatirons on the highest temperature anyways and find no need for heat settings. This is a pretty average flatiron; it straightens my hair. Shine, smoothness, etc. comes from the products I use in my hair prior to straightening, and that is true with every flatiron I have ever used. My one complaint with the Chi is that it makes a 'squeak' noise when closing, and I have noticed that others who own Chi flatirons complain of the same issue.
    OVERALL: Reliable, long-lasting, hot, fairly lightweight
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 11, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Straight Shiny Hair
    I've had my chi since April 2009 and has been working well for me ever since.
    I love how it heats up within seconds and doesn't fry my hair. I clean it every now and then and I never wrap the cord around the iron. A few months ago it was making the squeaky sound, but I used WD40 and it has stopped.
    I love this iron and couldn't have been happier.

    The only reason I gave 4 stars is because I cannot use it outside of North America.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 2, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Just Quits Working
    I bought this product because I had good results with my previous CHI (it lasted for 5 years). The CHI iron works really well when it works. But it suddenly stopped working after only 2 months of use. I would NOT recommend this product because it is very expensive and unreliable. The brand has horrible customer service, and could not answer my questions about the manufacturer's warranty.
    10 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 7, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Buena Nj
    1 Star Rating
    After Three Months Of My Girlfriend Using The Chi It Quit Working
    I purchased a Chi flat iron for my girlfriend as a gift. Just after three months of using the product, it stopped working altogether without warning. One morning it just wouldn't turn on.
    14 out of 16 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 6, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name