Labor Day Sale
CHI

CHI Original Flat Iron 1"

Achieve professional results. This original CHI 1 inch flat iron will straighten, curl and flip your hair.
$120.00
In Stock
- Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 1,963 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • CHI Original Flat Iron 1" (1963)
Show All 1,963 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Straight Shiny Hair
    I've had my chi since April 2009 and has been working well for me ever since.
    I love how it heats up within seconds and doesn't fry my hair. I clean it every now and then and I never wrap the cord around the iron. A few months ago it was making the squeaky sound, but I used WD40 and it has stopped.
    I love this iron and couldn't have been happier.

    The only reason I gave 4 stars is because I cannot use it outside of North America.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 2, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Just Quits Working
    I bought this product because I had good results with my previous CHI (it lasted for 5 years). The CHI iron works really well when it works. But it suddenly stopped working after only 2 months of use. I would NOT recommend this product because it is very expensive and unreliable. The brand has horrible customer service, and could not answer my questions about the manufacturer's warranty.
    10 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 7, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Buena Nj
    1 Star Rating
    After Three Months Of My Girlfriend Using The Chi It Quit Working
    I purchased a Chi flat iron for my girlfriend as a gift. Just after three months of using the product, it stopped working altogether without warning. One morning it just wouldn't turn on.
    14 out of 16 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 6, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Chi Vs Hot Tools
    I bought the CHI Ceramic Flat Iron a few months ago and it completely burnt my hair! There NEEDS to be a temperature control placed on this product so that customers can adjust it to their hair type. Even though there is a warranty that comes with it, it does not cover hair... which is priceless to most people. I had been using a ceramic flat iron made by Hot Tools for 15+ years (same iron for 15+ years!) and it never once burnt my hair. I am VERY disappointed, I expected a much better product coming from CHI. I could not with a clear conscious recommend this product, but would highly recommend Hot Tools for durability, quality and effectiveness.
    3 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 6, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Iowa
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Good While It Lasts
    I have purchased a total of 2 Chi's and thought they worked really well. I have very thick, curly frizzy hair naturally. My problem with Chi's are they always break and for the amount of money that you spend on them they should last a lot longer. I alos noticed that when I had to purchase my 2nd one the quality went waaaay downhill. My 1st chi lasted about 2 1/2 years... the second one about 10 months. I will not put anymore money into a Chi as they have a gaurantee to breakdown (would not be a huge deal if they weren't so expensive). My issue was they just didn't turn on, and it would suddenly happen without warning. I purchased a Rusk flat iron and I couldnt' be more happy. It was more expensive, but it actually works better than a Chi.

    For all of the reviews complaining about broken hair and split ends.... well all flat irons and hari dryers do that. In order to avoid this happening you must must use a heat protectant spray BEFORE you flat iron and dry your hair. That is what heat does... damges it. I'm surprised your hair stylists didn't point this out to you.
    14 out of 16 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 4, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    1 Star Rating
    Horrible.
    This was horrible. It burned my hair off! I would NOT recommend this product.
    8 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 5, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Ok
    I have had this straightener for about 4 years and it straightens my hair but my hair only stays straight for about an hour and with my other straightener it lasted all day I am currently buying the solia because I do not like my chi
    10 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 27, 2012
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Mine Just Broke
    Mine just broke after 4 awesome years..RIP my CHI :)
    4 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 24, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Lasting Power
    I bought this about five years ago and it's still going strong. I straighten my hair once a week and it stays. A few times, I have forgotten to unplug it, came back a day later and the flat iron was still as hot as when I left it. It must be a safe one, because it didn't burn out or anything.
    With my thick-coarse hair, I cannot do without it. It straightens beautifully in seconds. I will definitely buy another, since any product can only last so long when used as much as I've used this one. My hair iis healthy and straight thanks to this product and spray preps.
    17 out of 20 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 23, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Florida
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Great At First, But Doesn't Last
    I have had my CHI for about 4 years and it worked perfect in the first year or so. The life of this CHI slowly goes down hill from that point on. The heat stops reaching it's highest temperature and it just doesn't work the same. It completely died on me last week, so I am done with CHI. I feel like your just paying for a name with CHI. There are a lot of other flat irons available at the same price if not less that deliver better quality.
    13 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 16, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name