CHI

CHI Ceramic Flat Iron (Original 1" CHI)

1,958 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Achieve professional results. This original CHI 1 inch flat iron will straighten, curl and flip your hair.
$149.00
$120.00
Save 19% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 1,958 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • CHI Ceramic Flat Iron (Original 1" CHI) (1958)
Show All 1,958 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Naples, FL
    2 Star Rating
    Cheap
    My daughter received an Ultra CHI about 3 years ago and works great, it has the cast aluminum body and the floating heads. I received one for my birthday about a year ago and it is made from plastic body, the heads have gooped up it just doesn't work anymore. The quality has fallen and I will not buy another. You may be asking, did I get a fake? The answer is no! It was purchased from a reputable dealer and it has been checked against several web sites proving it is not a fake. The iron that says "Global Beauty" on it, DO NOT BUY IT!!! Junk!!!
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 30, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Florida
    1 Star Rating
    Works Great....at First
    I first bought the pink breast cancer edition of this straightener last year around August. I had been told that Chi straighteners were more expensive but lasted longer and were a better quality. After my 3rd one breaking this morning, I have learned that is definitely untrue! My pink Chi lasted the longest but stopped working around the end of June, it just would not stay on or get hot! So I sent it in for a replacement and payed the fee for a new one. Since they no longer made the pink breast cancer edition flat iron I had this basic black one sent to me, which was fine with me as long as I got a straightener that worked. I got my replacement in after about a week and a half and it stopped working after ONE DAY!!( I straighten my hair everyday, so when my straightener breaks its a problem.) It did the same thing my last one did, it would not get hot enough to even straighten a small strand of my hair! So for the 2nd time I sent it back! Once again I received a new flat iron after about a week and a half. It worked great, and I was happy I finally had one that worked. Once again after about 4 months it stopped working this morning! I am never buying one of these flat irons again because they are pieces of junk and a huge waste of money! I would not recommend this to anyone, if anything I would urge them not to buy it and to invest there money in another brand that actually works!
    5 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 14, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Staten Island New York
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Chi
    It just stopped working after about a month, cannot put it on anymore, must be a piece of junk, no, it is a piece of junk
    6 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 6, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great Hair Straighter While It Lasted!
    great hair straighter, however mine lasted about a year. I used it just about everyday and eventually the blades would not heat up.
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 6, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    3 Star Rating
    It Does What It Should But There Is Better Out There!
    I've had my CHI flat iron since about 6th grade, I'm in college now and it still works perfectly fine! But now that I've been taking care of my hair, I've realized that this iron just gets TOO hot for my then thin hair. I ordered a Solia and used it on my mom's hair and it worked a LOT better than the CHI. Plus the Solia didn't smoke/steam like the CHI does because it would be so hot. You can't change the temp on the CHI which was my main issue with it. If you could, maybe I would have kept using it. My friend has one but it broke and I think she may either have a fake or a newer one and they may just not make them as well as when I got mine. Oh well, I don't use it anymore and am giving it to my friend. It works but try the Solia, it's cheaper, prettier, and you can change the temp!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 6, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Orlando, FL
    Hair
    Auburn
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    It Works Ok!
    I just got my first chi and its nice, sleek and powerful! The chi heats up really fast and flat irons nicely. If you have natural hair that gets dry or is really thin i would use an heat protection spray or somthing like leave in conditoner. If not flat iron the hair without one, this is my first chi flat iron, i love this chi but i need somthing less cooler like around 350F
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 5, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Orange County
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Staightens Hair But Kills It Too
    If you want something that will straighten your hair then this is okay. But after a few months or even years you are really going to be drying out your hair. I dont like the feel of this flat iron and it doesnt run smoothly through my hair. Trust me people, get the Sedu. The quality is amazing and makes the Chi feel cheap.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 2, 2011
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Do Not Order This Flatiron
    I have had several CHI products over the past few years and loved every one. However, I have had a horrible experience with this flatiron. I ordered three of these flat irons since March. The first one failed after 6 months and the next 2 after a month. The last one I only used about once or twice a week.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 28, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    1 Star Rating
    It Used To Be Good...
    I got this last year in the beginning of September. I had previously been using this big Conair steam straighter and at the time CHI was the only more expensive flat iron brand I had heard of so I decided to get this. My hair is naturally kinda thick and wavy. Anyway I at first thought this was the most amazing flat iron ever, especially after my previous flat iron. When I went to get my highlights touched up in November my stylist told me all those baby looking hairs I had recently noticed along my part were actually caused by my hair breaking off. My hair looked TERRIBLE for the next couple months. I had these insansley short hairs sticking up constantly. When I would go to pull my hair up for dance all those hairs along my part were to short to fit into my ponytail so I would have this bald strip where those hairs should have been and instead were down by face. I literally remeber crying at how terrible my hair looked. Yet I continued to straighten it. Only this time I used heat protectant every time and probably a lot more than neccarsray. But before this hair nightmare I would still occasionly use heat protectant. Over summer break I didn't straighten my hair th whole time so my CHI wasnt used at all for about 3 months. Acouple weeks ago I noticed my hair seemed to be taking longer to straighten and that my CHI isn't as hot. Now the cord seems to have to be in a certain position. My CHI has been in use for a year and is about to die. I can't tell you how annoyed I am with this straightner. Luckily I am getting a GHD for Christmas. I can't wait to put this flat iron where it belongs: In the garbage. If you are considering buying a CHI please reconsider. This flat iron is not even worth $30, let alone $100. Spend your money on something that won't die after ONE year.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 27, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Toronto
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great For Straightening And Curling
    I have to say that I've tried a couple of different flat irons and none help me curl my hair as well as this one does. It's easy to grip and the rounded edges help when curling... and not making those heat creases on your hair as many square edged flat irons do.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 9, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name