Free Shipping Over $50
20% off All Orders + Sedu Travel Dryer with $100+
CHI

CHI Ceramic Flat Iron (Original 1" CHI)

1,955 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Achieve professional results. This original CHI 1 inch flat iron will straighten, curl and flip your hair.
$149.00
$120.00
Save 19% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 1,955 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • CHI Ceramic Flat Iron (Original 1" CHI) (1955)
Show All 1,955 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great Hair Straighter While It Lasted!
    great hair straighter, however mine lasted about a year. I used it just about everyday and eventually the blades would not heat up.
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 6, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    3 Star Rating
    It Does What It Should But There Is Better Out There!
    I've had my CHI flat iron since about 6th grade, I'm in college now and it still works perfectly fine! But now that I've been taking care of my hair, I've realized that this iron just gets TOO hot for my then thin hair. I ordered a Solia and used it on my mom's hair and it worked a LOT better than the CHI. Plus the Solia didn't smoke/steam like the CHI does because it would be so hot. You can't change the temp on the CHI which was my main issue with it. If you could, maybe I would have kept using it. My friend has one but it broke and I think she may either have a fake or a newer one and they may just not make them as well as when I got mine. Oh well, I don't use it anymore and am giving it to my friend. It works but try the Solia, it's cheaper, prettier, and you can change the temp!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 6, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Orlando, FL
    Hair
    Auburn
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    It Works Ok!
    I just got my first chi and its nice, sleek and powerful! The chi heats up really fast and flat irons nicely. If you have natural hair that gets dry or is really thin i would use an heat protection spray or somthing like leave in conditoner. If not flat iron the hair without one, this is my first chi flat iron, i love this chi but i need somthing less cooler like around 350F
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 5, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Orange County
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Staightens Hair But Kills It Too
    If you want something that will straighten your hair then this is okay. But after a few months or even years you are really going to be drying out your hair. I dont like the feel of this flat iron and it doesnt run smoothly through my hair. Trust me people, get the Sedu. The quality is amazing and makes the Chi feel cheap.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 2, 2011
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Do Not Order This Flatiron
    I have had several CHI products over the past few years and loved every one. However, I have had a horrible experience with this flatiron. I ordered three of these flat irons since March. The first one failed after 6 months and the next 2 after a month. The last one I only used about once or twice a week.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 28, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    1 Star Rating
    It Used To Be Good...
    I got this last year in the beginning of September. I had previously been using this big Conair steam straighter and at the time CHI was the only more expensive flat iron brand I had heard of so I decided to get this. My hair is naturally kinda thick and wavy. Anyway I at first thought this was the most amazing flat iron ever, especially after my previous flat iron. When I went to get my highlights touched up in November my stylist told me all those baby looking hairs I had recently noticed along my part were actually caused by my hair breaking off. My hair looked TERRIBLE for the next couple months. I had these insansley short hairs sticking up constantly. When I would go to pull my hair up for dance all those hairs along my part were to short to fit into my ponytail so I would have this bald strip where those hairs should have been and instead were down by face. I literally remeber crying at how terrible my hair looked. Yet I continued to straighten it. Only this time I used heat protectant every time and probably a lot more than neccarsray. But before this hair nightmare I would still occasionly use heat protectant. Over summer break I didn't straighten my hair th whole time so my CHI wasnt used at all for about 3 months. Acouple weeks ago I noticed my hair seemed to be taking longer to straighten and that my CHI isn't as hot. Now the cord seems to have to be in a certain position. My CHI has been in use for a year and is about to die. I can't tell you how annoyed I am with this straightner. Luckily I am getting a GHD for Christmas. I can't wait to put this flat iron where it belongs: In the garbage. If you are considering buying a CHI please reconsider. This flat iron is not even worth $30, let alone $100. Spend your money on something that won't die after ONE year.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 27, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Toronto
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great For Straightening And Curling
    I have to say that I've tried a couple of different flat irons and none help me curl my hair as well as this one does. It's easy to grip and the rounded edges help when curling... and not making those heat creases on your hair as many square edged flat irons do.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 9, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Please Read Before You Buy!
    SO I've been straightening my hair for about six years now. I've tried many brands and still haven't found the perfect brand. I thought this would be it until about a month ago. I was straightening my hair getting ready for school one morning when all of a sudden it just stopped working!!!!!! I plugged it into different outlets but it didn't work! My friend also has a chi and hers doesn't get very hot. I know there are a lot of good reviews but it really IS NOT WORTH IT!!!!! RECONSIDER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    8 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 17, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    My Chi Has A Sticker For The Labble
    Im pretty confused. I was looking up how to tell a real from a fake and all the things are right about my Chi except the labble its a sticker but it doesnt look like a cheap sticker. They say that if its a real chi that the info would be ingraved. Now it has all the right serial numbers but i just wasnt sure Its a new CHI but the original one. Does anyone know if thats right?. Other then that the products great!
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 17, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Canada
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    The "fake" Works Better
    My old CHI finally died after 5 years' of use. It worked wonderflly. So I was going to buy another new CHI. However, I was told the by a salon manager that the CHI she has had for 6 year was made in China. It was really durable and that was when CHI enjoyed great reputation.Later on, all the original 1' CHI were made in USA. Ever since then, she has never heard good things from customers. They break easily, smell like burning hair, catch fire.... I also saw videos talking about how the "fake" CHI with standard plug (instead of box-like) and paper sticker (instead of gravings) works much much better and lasts way longer! I don'r really understand it.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 27, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. . Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $50.00 New Price: $37.00
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") Best of Folica

    Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

    The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution for true silky straight hair. 

    5,517 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $79.99 - $89.99
    Free Shipping
  • CHI Air Classic Tourmaline Ceramic 1" Flat Iron - Onyx Black

    CHI Air Classic Tourmaline Ceramic 1" Flat Iron - Onyx Black

    Achieve professional results with the CHI Air Classic 1" Ceramic Tourmaline flat iron will straighten, curl and flip your hair.

    New Price: $99.99
    Free Shipping
  • CHI Silk Infusion

    CHI Silk Infusion

    CHI Transformation System Silk Infusion helps strengthen your hair, providing incredible softness, manageability and shine without any build-up. Alcohol free, enriched with pure silk and wheat and soy proteins. Available in 6 oz. and 2 oz.

    549 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $14.00 - $41.50
  • Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer

    Sedu continues to innovate in its line of heat styling products with creativity and the latest advanced technology. One of the first professional hair dryers of its kind with super compact size and light weight design, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer has 60% more power than a conventional dryer. With the most effective tourmaline coated ionic generator, this dryer reduces frizz and static by 90% and cuts drying time in half. Get it today, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer is the only dryer you will ever need!

    847 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $250.00 New Price: $174.99
    Free Shipping
Server Name