CHI

CHI Ceramic Flat Iron (Original 1" CHI)

1,958 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Achieve professional results. This original CHI 1 inch flat iron will straighten, curl and flip your hair.
$149.00
$120.00
Save 19% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 1,958 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • CHI Ceramic Flat Iron (Original 1" CHI) (1958)
Show All 1,958 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Please Read Before You Buy!
    SO I've been straightening my hair for about six years now. I've tried many brands and still haven't found the perfect brand. I thought this would be it until about a month ago. I was straightening my hair getting ready for school one morning when all of a sudden it just stopped working!!!!!! I plugged it into different outlets but it didn't work! My friend also has a chi and hers doesn't get very hot. I know there are a lot of good reviews but it really IS NOT WORTH IT!!!!! RECONSIDER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    8 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 17, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    My Chi Has A Sticker For The Labble
    Im pretty confused. I was looking up how to tell a real from a fake and all the things are right about my Chi except the labble its a sticker but it doesnt look like a cheap sticker. They say that if its a real chi that the info would be ingraved. Now it has all the right serial numbers but i just wasnt sure Its a new CHI but the original one. Does anyone know if thats right?. Other then that the products great!
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 17, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Canada
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    The "fake" Works Better
    My old CHI finally died after 5 years' of use. It worked wonderflly. So I was going to buy another new CHI. However, I was told the by a salon manager that the CHI she has had for 6 year was made in China. It was really durable and that was when CHI enjoyed great reputation.Later on, all the original 1' CHI were made in USA. Ever since then, she has never heard good things from customers. They break easily, smell like burning hair, catch fire.... I also saw videos talking about how the "fake" CHI with standard plug (instead of box-like) and paper sticker (instead of gravings) works much much better and lasts way longer! I don'r really understand it.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 27, 2011
    Link to this post
  • QuÃ?©bec,Canada
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    3 Star Rating
    I Bought My Chi Flat Iron In Quã?â©bec,canada,i Live There And Im French...
    I bought it but I wanna know,on my box there is an USA flag and its weitten made in USA.I wanna know if my flat iron could be a fake because of that,the box isnt the same as others,it it very similar,but there is an american flag on the box,that the others dont have... Also,when I flat iron,it makes a little plastic noise.. And There are no ungraved infos on it(next to the switch on button,there are two bkack stickers saying the warnings info.... It isnt supposed to have ungraved warnings infos..? It seems real,but just because of that im worrying,u know because of the plastic noise,everytime i flat iron,it make a plastic noise,just hope you understand what I mean,is it a real one,does yours make the same noise? Thanks a lot (:
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 24, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    6 Yr Old Chi
    I've had my original 1" chi for 6 yrs now and have loved the soft, super straight results (even though my really thin, fine hair gets pretty damaged from all the heat even using CHI silk infusion).. About a yr ago i started having to wiggle the cord and put it into a certain position to make it work. My husband told me to go buy myself a new one so I broke down and finally did.. Needless to say it was a horrible disappointment! In 6 yrs the quality has completely gone down hill. I returned the new one I bought and I've still been dealing with my old one with the messed up cord. And honestly my cord didn't start messing up until I started traveling with it alot and folding the cord up (NOT WRAPPING IT). Haven't considered trying any other brands.. But I'll have to if mine completely stops working.
    3 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 23, 2011
    Link to this post
  • St. Loius, Mo
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Kinda Junky
    I had the chi for a year and its broke now.
    it wont turn on anymore which really sucks! i guess i should try something different cuz it always lost its heat after i started using it, it didnt straiten my haair after the first pass so it takes forever!!! then it just brakes. so i wont be ordering anotherr!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 22, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Carbondale Co
    Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    1 Star Rating
    It Burns Hair
    I have had my chi for about 4 months. In that time I noticed my hair looking a lot less healthy. It finally burnt a huge chunk in front. Horrible don't spend the money!
    4 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 5, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Oily Hair
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    My Old Fake Was 10x Better Than My New Real :(
    Background: I went to the UK in April this year for two weeks. The first night I decide to straighten my hair. After using the correct converters (I had been using hair dryers, laptops, phone chargers, etc) I plugged in my CHI. BAM! I flip a breaker. I had a hotel employee come up and help. He continually plugged the straightener in and it continually flipped the breaker. After the 4th time my straightener sparked and the switch no longer functioned. I was stuck for two weeks wearing ponytails because I couldn't straighten my hair.

    This brings me to this review... Once I got home I immediately started my search for a new CHI to replace my old one. In the process of this search I discovered that my beloved CHI, that had lasted over 5 years and worked fabulously, was a FAKE! I was a little put off, but the item had worked beyond my wildest dreams so I was not complaining. I purchased a new REAL CHI and my heart was soon broken. It did not work like my old one! I had to go over each very small section at least twice to achieve the straightness I desired. It also did not have the staying power of my old one! With my old (fake) CHI my hair stayed straight until I washed it, but with this new (real) CHI I had to do touch-ups at least once a day (which made my hair oilier). It is just such a disappointment to find out that I will not have the great results that I had for so many years with an apparent fake. FYI I am white with semi-course,THICK, wavy/curly, highlighted hair with oily roots and dry ends.

    In short- Look for a fake made in Korea and you will probably find a better and cheaper product than the real one that is made in China.
    3 out of 5 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 25, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Worked For 3.5 Years: Something Wrong With Swivel Cord
    My chi worked amazingly for 3.5 years, until something broke inside the swivel cord. Now, the red light only comes on with certain positionings of the swivel cord and barely stays on long enough to heat up. I just ordered a 1" Sedu.... will see how that works now.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 24, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Really Good
    ive had my chi since 1 or 2 christmases ago and it recently stopped working out of nowhere. but in the time that it was working it was pretty good. it didnt give me to many split ends but when it did it was easily fixed with a deep conditioning treatment and some breakage to stregth shampoo/conditioner in one use. it took me about a half hour to an hour to straighten my hair but for the most part it did its job for a while and it worked!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 21, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name