Free Shipping Over $50
15% off + Free Shipping on Top Ten Lists
CHI

CHI Ceramic Flat Iron (Original 1" CHI)

1,955 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Achieve professional results. This original CHI 1 inch flat iron will straighten, curl and flip your hair.
$149.00
$120.00
Save 19% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 1,955 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • CHI Ceramic Flat Iron (Original 1" CHI) (1955)
Show All 1,955 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Long Island, New York
    2 Star Rating
    Not Reliable At All
    I orginally bought the Chi straightner about 2 years ago... I purchased it online for about 130 dollars. In the course of one year (it came with a one year warranty) I went through FIVE chi straightners!! FIVE!! It either stopped working, kept turning off and turning on... or just stopped turning on all togheter. One time it completely fried an entire section of my hair and started smoking and the plates turned completely black and it stopped working.. I currently have my 6th Chi straightner... and it just broke a few weeks ago. (It stopped turning on).... so now I am without a straigtner. The CHI works and does get the job done... but it is deffintly not reliable. I spent more money sending it back in shipping fees then it was really worth. I am currently looking to purchase another straightner, But i dont think I will be purchasing another Chi....
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 21, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Boise ID
    4 Star Rating
    Best Thing In The World If You Know How To Use It.
    I am a cosmetologist and I have reviewed most of the reviews on this web site. I have had my CHI Iron now for almost 8 mo. I use it on quite a few of my clients sometimes three of four times a day. I have thus far not had ANY problems with mine, however I just learned that Farouk Systems has just done some remodeling of the iron. Some people that buy this iron need to read their instructions. If you use a product to protect your hair from the iron you will never have any problems with "fried" hair. As long as you stick to regular trims on your hair and use a decent shampoo and conditioner. Also one of the great things about the CHI iron is that it has no temp. dial. The harder you press the hotter igt gets. So for all of you heavy squeezers out there no wonder your plates are falling appart.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 19, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Houston, Texas
    4 Star Rating
    Farouk Chi Flat Iron
    The Farouk CHI Ceramic Hairstyling Iron is the best straighner product in the market. I have naturally wavy hair. Living in Texas we have an abundant of humidity. Other straightners would make my hair look dry and frizzy. I have tried many other cheaper irons, but I have never been as satisfied with the results as the chi. The chi leaves my hair with a silky shinny look ever time. My hair is long and manages to stay straight and shinny almost all day. Expensive but worth the money spent.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 19, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Lewis Center, Ohio
    4 Star Rating
    Beware Of Plates
    I have had my CHI for 2 years now. I have loved up till now. I read some of the reviews and there was one girl, a cosmotologist, who made a comment about people who squeeze to hard and the plates come loose. Well for the money I payed for it, it should last a lot longer than 2 years. My plates fell off, so now its a $140.00 down the toilet. Now granted, I bought a cheep one and hate it. I did read the instructions, and dont believe I read anything about the plates falling off if you squeeze to hard. If you have real curly, frizzy, nappy hair like mine, I guess dont press too hard. Other than that, its awesome!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 19, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Katy, TX
    3 Star Rating
    It Worked Great For 3 Years
    When I first got my CHI, I loved it. I have naturally curly hair and it was the first time that I could get my hair really straight, without being poofy. It was great for about 6 months, then it sparked, started smoking, and basically blew up, so I sent it back and got a new one. The next one worked great at first, but after 2 years now, the plates have fallen out and it wont stay on. I have tried glueing the plates, and taping the wires certain ways to get it to stay on, but nothing seems to work. My step daugher has enough hair for 3 humans and its very wavy. She also likes the CHI but it seems to have damaged her hair a little. She has some hair breakage (looks kind of like a little mohawk of baby hairs).I figured since Ive been using it for so long, its time to try something new anyways. So, I just ordered the Solia and should be getting it any day now. Overall, it was ok, it just isnt very durable.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 13, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Dallas, Tx
    3 Star Rating
    Be Careful
    i had used several straighteners, starting with the hot tools, then the ceramic models of the hot tools, then a superstar. when i had to go through 2 superstars, i decided that i had to get the best and finally caved in and spent the big bucks on a chi, after seeing how good my friends hair looked (who has naturally CURLY hair).unfortunately, i straightened my hair every day, and usually more than once a day, for touchups, and my hair has thinned out so much and is really damaged because of this. and i DID use the styling products beforehand, like the biosilk sprays and biosilk silk therapy. the chi works great if you use it ***once in a while*** but never ever use it every day if your hair is not naturally straight. im regretting it every day because i now have to wear my hair wavy to avoid doing futher damage, which actually isnt a bad look on me, but im still tempted to turn my chi on sometimes. also, i had the problems that several customers mention with the light turning off if the cord swiveled to a certain point. very infuriating, but for me, it seemed like it was only the light that went off, not the iron. my main advice is to just use this sparingly, but if youre going to be using it a lot, make sure to have your hair completely blow dryed, use enough pre straightening product and do section by section only ONCE. i was straightening sections several times each, and the split ends are a nightmare. flat irons have huge risks, and unfortunately a lot of the damge is undoable.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 10, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Fort Worth, TX
    4 Star Rating
    Great Product...when It Works
    Keep the receipt! I was really pleased with this product, however, it started to shut off on its own a few months after I bought it. I didnt keep my receipt, so my $130 went down the drain.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 10, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Los Angeles, CA
    4 Star Rating
    Nice
    I like this iron. It really straightens my curly hair. Although, it still takes me quite sometime to straighten it.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 8, 2005
    Link to this post
  • New Jersey
    2 Star Rating
    I've Used Better
    I was highly reccommended to this product, however after purchasing it,recently I wasnt very impressed. It does not straighten well, & within hours my hair looked worst, really frizzy. As a woman of colour this didnt work for me. I have sinced purchased a HAI Convertable which works really great.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 5, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Austin, Texas
    3 Star Rating
    Good But Has Its Flaws
    When I first got it, it was wonderful. It straightned my hair instantly. I had my chi for about 7 months then it began turning off on its own. I called to see if I could get it fixed or replaced but I didnt have my recipt. So they couldnt fix or replace it. I was so upset because I paid over 100 dollars for a product that didnt even work for a year. My advice to you is keep your recipt just in case it breaks like mine did.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 3, 2005
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. . Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $50.00 New Price: $37.00
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") Best of Folica

    Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

    The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution for true silky straight hair. 

    5,517 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $79.99 - $89.99
    Free Shipping
  • CHI Air Classic Tourmaline Ceramic 1" Flat Iron - Onyx Black

    CHI Air Classic Tourmaline Ceramic 1" Flat Iron - Onyx Black

    Achieve professional results with the CHI Air Classic 1" Ceramic Tourmaline flat iron will straighten, curl and flip your hair.

    New Price: $99.99
    Free Shipping
  • CHI Silk Infusion

    CHI Silk Infusion

    CHI Transformation System Silk Infusion helps strengthen your hair, providing incredible softness, manageability and shine without any build-up. Alcohol free, enriched with pure silk and wheat and soy proteins. Available in 6 oz. and 2 oz.

    549 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $14.00 - $41.50
  • Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer

    Sedu continues to innovate in its line of heat styling products with creativity and the latest advanced technology. One of the first professional hair dryers of its kind with super compact size and light weight design, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer has 60% more power than a conventional dryer. With the most effective tourmaline coated ionic generator, this dryer reduces frizz and static by 90% and cuts drying time in half. Get it today, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer is the only dryer you will ever need!

    847 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $250.00 New Price: $174.99
    Free Shipping
Server Name