Free Shipping Over $50
SHOP YOUR WAY
Hot Tools

Hot Tools Professional Marcel Curling Iron

134 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
An innovative, effective curling iron that features high power, instant heat for consistent, dependable results on any type of hair. Comes in 3/8, 1/2, 5/8, 1, ...
$32.99 - $38.99
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 134 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Hot Tools Professional Marcel Curling Iron (134)
Show All 134 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • United States
    Hair
    Blonde
    Curly Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Good Curling Iron
    I just bought a small curling iron and was so happy with it I decided to get a bigger one. Before I bought the 1/2 inch and it is fabulous! This time I got the 1 1/2 inch. My hair is naturally pretty curly, and holds curl very well. With the 1 1/2 I have to spray my hair before with a product then use a lot of hair spray after to keep the curl. I am still very happy with the product, it curls fast and that is on the lowest setting. I have naturally curly and average thickness. My hair is down a little past my shoulders. I would suggest a smaller size for shorter hair and it your hair is down farther past your shoulders this curling iron would probably work even better. Overall very pleased with it, just something with my hair doesn't want to hold this type of curl all the time.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 28, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Tallahassee, FL
    Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Awesome Professional Tool!
    I first saw this tool being used at my hairstylist. I got the 1 1/2 inch which created the most beautiful big volume curls in my hair. (it helps that he gave me an amazing cut to accentuate the curls). I was very worried at first because so many people have complained it's difficult to use. But I have not found that to be the case. I watched a youtube video on it 3 times, spent a total of 30 minutes practice (small 5 min segments throughout the day) with if OFF. Then tried it with my hair with it on. First time took me 30 minutes, second time 15, now it takes me about 10 minutes to do my hair. It's one of those things that if you commit to learning it and practice you will get it. If you give up easily and not very good with your hands then I suggest you not get this. But then again it's so cheap even if you can't get the hang of it it's worth a shot!

    I love that you can change the heat setting and the flexibility in terms of usage this gives you. I will never go back to a spring loaded iron again.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 16, 2011
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Great Purchase!
    I've never used a marcel curling iron before and I've had the chance to test it out a few times so far, but it does take some getting used to.....but I actually like it more. It definitely takes some practice, so be sure to take the time to do a trial run before you do it for real! But the curls are beautiful and they hold! And I've never had a curling iron that actually holds curl in my hair! So, A++ for this curling iron!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 22, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Gotta Get This!
    This is the best curling iron i have ever had! it works for all hair types.... I have way curly and thick hair. and it still made it look like i straightened my hair and everything before. If you dont get this curling iron, you must be crazed!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 1, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Kissimmee, Fl
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    No Regrets!!
    Best curling iron I have ever bought. Price is remarkable. Curls last for a long time. First time to buy this kind of curling iron, but very easy to learn. LOVE LOVE LOVE the marcel curling iron!!!!!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 29, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Good Curling Iron , Hard To Learn How To Use ..
    Once you get the hang of this curler it gives you amazing curls. Keep in mind you don't need a large barrel in order to get nice curls in fact i found the 3/4 works better for me then the 1 inch ... My hair is to my boobs. This curler took me like no joke 4 months to learn how to do .. so do keep that in mind. If your looking for an alternative to a curling iron , i'd recommend the Sedu straightener ( 1 inch ) Gives you amazing waves , curls , and flips) and is crazy easy to use !

    xx
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 28, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Princeton,NJ
    4 Star Rating
    Practice Makes Perfect.
    My hair is: Extreme long and thick! I bought this product because: I wanted a 1" curling iron and thought that it would be fun to try something new. And high reviews! I used it this way: I watched an online tutorial and saw that the stylist was using a marcel curling iron. About a week after, I went to the salon for a trim and asked my stylist for some advice with using a marcel. She told me to practice while I'm just relaxing at home, because transitioning from a spring iron is going to feel weird initially. Furthermore, she told me that once you get used to this type of curling iron, it makes things faster because it spins with the flick of the wrist. My results were: Well, I burnt my face, but that was partially my fault and the fact that the end of the iron DOES NOT have a plastic part on the tip (which I always used on my spring curling iron). The curls really do hold though. I've had mine for two days now! Nevertheless, I'm finding that when I use the manual clamp and spin the iron around, my hair falls out on the end. Maybe it's because I have super thick hair? So, I've been in the habit of just wrapping my hair around the iron and holding it. It creates the look I'm going for more so than the using the clamp (best for beach waves). I'm going to keep practicing. Maybe I'll write another review once I get the hang of it.
    Before Photo
    5 out of 8 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 26, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Princeton, NJ
    Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great Value
    I bough this product to style my hair for a wedding. I have recently (3 years ago) gone to minimal styling on a day to day basis for my long hair (down to my shoulder blades), so I wanted to try something different and a little more formal than air drying for this special event. The reviews for the product were good. I used the curling iron on myself and my 9 year old daughter, who was a jr bridesmaid in the wedding. The curls were perfect. The heat was great. The last time that I used a curling iron was say the 1980s, and they didn't do much for my thick, straight, coarse asian hair. This curling iron heated up in no time, and the curls were perfect; held from 4 pm to midnight.

    I bought the professional iron where you have to hold the clip in place and there is not cool plastic tip to hold. In retrospect, I might have purchased the the spring clip one with the cool tip instead. Regardless, it worked great, the results were great, and I look forward to using it again for the next special occasion.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 23, 2011
    Link to this post
  • NEW YORK
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    I Got The 1/2 In One And Now Want The 1 1/2 In!
    i think it is a very nice product although if u don't like marcel do not buy... it was tricky to learn but i don't mind since i usually just wrap my hair around the iron barrel . It gets so hot and when my hair dresser used it it lasted for 2 to 3 days (falling slightly & frizz from sleep but just used argon oil to clean them up!) that was the selling point
    Before Photo
    10 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 19, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Curling Iron
    I've grown out my hair and was tired of the straight look. Bought the Marcel Curling iron and will never go back to spring irons. After watching a video on how to use Marcel Irons i was ready when I received mine. It's tricky but well worth it when you learn to use it. I rather curl my hair then straight it now.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 10, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $50.00 New Price: $37.00
  • Hot Tools Iron Cleaner

    Hot Tools Iron Cleaner

    Hot Tools Iron Cleaner is a safe spray that will keep your flat iron in tip top shape and ready for the next use.

    Old Price: $8.00 New Price: $4.99
  • Helen of Troy Tangle-Free Hot Air Brush

    Helen of Troy Tangle-Free Hot Air Brush

    A blow dryer and styling brush in one! Style and dry without annoying tangles! Features Soft-Grip textured handle and 8-ft. tangle-proof swivel cord.

    New Price: $27.95 - $29.95
  • Hot Tools Pink Titanium Curling Iron

    Hot Tools Pink Titanium Curling Iron

    Hot Tools Pink Titanium Curling Iron has pulse technology so it gets hot...and stays hot!

    67 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $44.00 - $50.00
Server Name