StealOfTheDayClipless30
Hot Tools

Hot Tools Professional Marcel Curling Iron

134 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
An innovative, effective curling iron that features high power, instant heat for consistent, dependable results on any type of hair. Comes in 3/8, 1/2, 5/8, 1, ...
$35.99 - $43.99
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 134 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Hot Tools Professional Marcel Curling Iron (134)
Show All 134 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Dissapointment
    Was not impressed with this tool at all,,,,there is not insulated tip to the end of the curler so when you go to hold it to secure your curling ( because there is no spring between the clamp and the barrel) you can get burned. I am returning this product. Not worth the money.
    16 out of 20 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 23, 2010
    Link to this post
  • MA
    5 Star Rating
    This Is A Great Professional Iron!!!
    After reading so many reviews, I have decided it was time to write my own. I have been using Hot Tools Marcel Irons for the last 10 years. It is a great quality iron.

    I am kind of disappointed about the low star ratings. I would honestly say being a licensed professional that I do not recommend any marcel iron if you have not been shown how to properly use them. Yes they can be dangerous since it does not have the "cool tip" to hold on to.

    Back to the great rating. In the last 10 years I replace my irons about every 5 years, not because it stops working but because it gets "worn" looking.

    Great PROFESSIONAL Iron! Great Price!
    10 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 8, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Just What I Was Looking For!
    I have used the Marcel Professional Curling Iron for about 15 years now and was very disappointed when I went to the retail store to replace one I had burned up overseas, to find that they no longer carried it in the store. I immediately went online and was overjoyed to find Folica.com and the curling iron I so depend on. The service was super and I had my new curling iron in just a few days. Thank you Folica.com.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 4, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Bad Design
    Yes. It is o k. However,My real opinion about this curling iron is that it is NOT o k. I am not a professional. I am not even adept in the world of curling irons or any hair styling tool. I had a very cheap curling iron for more than 10 years that was lost when I moved so I found folica. I read some reviews and finally picked this one.There was one thing NONE of the reviews mentioned (at that time) was: there is no place at the end that is 'cool to the touch'.I simply figured that since I did not see a plastic tip at the end,the end must be cool somehow.(yeah,I know, not so smart) When I received it and plugged it in, I found out very quickly that NO,there is NO place on the end of the iron that I can touch with my bare hands. For ME,this makes the product unusable. I should have sent it back and I wanted to but hoped there would be someway to make this item work for me without having to spend more money. Mistake #2. I couldn't believe that ANY curling iron would NOT have a cool spot at the tip.Because of my bad experience with this product, I have never ordered another item from folica and probably never will.
    32 out of 36 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 27, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Difficult To Use.
    this is an excellent brand, but it was difficult for me to use because of the marcel grip handle.
    i wouldn't suggest getting this unless you're used to using that type of curling iron. otherwise, this brand heats well, and leaves lasting curls.
    6 out of 9 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 26, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Otis Orchards, WA
    Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Appreciated The Service By This Hair Company Folica For What They Did For Me.
    This Marcel Curling Iron was very effective on my hair & it heated up incredibly for me and was very wonderful to use and wouldn't use a spring curling iron on my hair to break the bonds of my hair. I absolutely appreciated Folica sending me Curl Keeper or Curly Hair Solutions so that my hair wouldn't burn because of the heat of the curling iron on my hair. Don't ever be afraid of trying this 2 products and I personally want to thank Folica for doing this for me. Thank You Folica for sending me the Marcel Ceramic Curling Iron first and then this Marcel Curling Iron a few days later.

    Have an Incredible Fall Look for All-
    C.E.
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 13, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Phoenix, AZ
    Hair
    Normal Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great Marcel Iron!
    I have been looking for a good marcel iron ever since my last one died on me, so I decided to try this brand based on all the great reviews. I purchased the 1 1/4" size and it works great! It heats up quickly, and I like how it has an on/off switch, temperature settings, and a swivel cord. My only complaint is how heavy it is! My last one, the Gold N' Hot brand, was significantly lighter and easier to maneuver (however, within a year I went through 2 irons from this brand due to power failure). Anyways, I'm sure I will get used to it. Overall, a great product!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 7, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 2 Star Rating
    Disappointing.
    I bought this after having read all the positive glowing reviews. I was thoroughly disappointed.

    Although I quickly got the hang of using the Marcel, the curls it produced were frizzy and did not even stay in my hair for a minute. I followed all the instructions and prepared my hair as advised. Still, the curls dropped before I'd even finished the next piece of hair.

    Also, the lack of a 'cool tip' make this iron extremely dangerous. I wore a kevlar glove and was very very careful with the iron, however I still managed to give myself two severe burns.

    I ended up returning this iron and buying a 1" flat iron to curl my hair with.

    Unless you already have glossy non-frizzy hair that curls easily, I'd recommend a different product.
    5 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 7, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Bay Area, California
    5 Star Rating
    Best Kept Secret For Long Lasting Curls!
    This iron saves time when doing clients' hair because of its heat settings and easy lock/unlocking mechanism in the handle. No matter how hard their hair is to curl, this iron always gives a perfect frizz free curl that holds. Heats up super fast (literally in seconds!) I have it in 3 sizes 3/4", 1", and 1 1/4". A must-have in every stylist's bag.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 3, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Utah
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    1 Star Rating
    I Really Hate This Curling Iron!
    I really did not like this curling iron!
    i had really high expectations for it because of all the great reviews.
    It is not easy to use at all and the clamp doesnt stay tight, it lets hair slip. the handle isn't easy to use.
    I curled my hair and about two minutes later the curls turned into a yucky wave, my hair is usually easy to curl so i dont know why this happened.
    There is nothing to grab onto on the top so that isn't any help either.
    One other thing i really didn't like about it is that none of the curls are ever the same, it makes totally different curls every time and it really bothers me because it happens even when i curl the strands of hair the same.
    I am taking this back because i majorly disliked it.
    7 out of 10 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 26, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name