Free Shipping Over $50
15%, 20% or 25% off Your Order
Fake Bake

Fake Bake Self Tanning Lotion

Fake Bake is a new breakthrough in self-tanning, guaranteed to satisfy even the palest skin tones!
$29.95
$26.95
Save 10%
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 66 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Fake Bake Self Tanning Lotion (66)
Show All 66 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Missouri
    5 Star Rating
    Awesome Stuff
    I purchased the self set of 3. I absolutely love this stuff! I have tried LOTS of other self tannners and they have turned me orange or dryes my skin out and as it wears off looks like you have a skin disease. This stuff doesnt do that at all, it looks just like a natural tan. I had been going to a tanning bed an quit and have been using this and no one can tell the diffrence. My best friend thought I was still tanning! I did have an alergic reaction the the exfoliate cleanser but no problems with the dry oil or self tanner. By far the BEST I have ever purchased so worth every penny!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 25, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Vancouver, BC
    4 Star Rating
    Great Results, Hard Application.
    Okay, well I read a lot of negative reviews on here, and I was apprehensive at first. But after a half-hour of application (pain in the butt) and an hour or so of drying time, I went to bed on a towel and woke up the next morning, took a shower and I was amazed. I had gotten the stuff on my hands but a little scrubbing got them to come out great. I now look like all the other people who go to tanning beds, but without the $30 for 100 minutes thing. Great product!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 23, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Pennsylvania
    4 Star Rating
    I Love It
    Of course, like anything, there is good and bad about it. Im Italian and my boyfriend is too, and he was making fun of me saying how pale I was because I didnt get a chance to go tanning lately, so I got fed up and got this. Im surprised to see so many people saying it was messy. I think I put on more than usual. You DEFINITELY have to wear gloves with it, but it says so on the bottle, so anyone who said their hands are black..well its their own fault. I used big globs onto the gloves and mixed it in the gloves first to get it all over them, then did section by section. It will dry quickly if you rub the crap out of it. You wont get streaks if you go in circles, like hmm, maybe what the bottle tells you to do? Just put it on in circles and sections and youll be fine. I put it on right before going bowling in white shorts, and it did get some color on the inside of the shorts, but I threw them in the washer and they were just fine! The thing i hate about it is that it says it will last 50% longer than a usual tan..but it doesnt...dont go swimming with it. It comes off in the shower and doesnt seem to stick to your skin, but if you reapply every day it will be the best tan you have ever had. It looks like I spent an entire day in the tanning bed, I love it. In a way you control how dark your tan is; the bigger the glob on your hand, the darker the tan. That is, if you are going section by section. And by section like.. leg, thigh, neck, chest, face, lower arm, etc. That way is the best to go. I havent had a problem with it getting on my bed sheets. Like i said, rub it in really really good and it will be fine. Everyone at work was asking me if Ive been tanning a lot lately. Its noticeable the first time you use it. I did have a problem at work today though, I was back by the dishes and my arms went in water and it started taking my tan off in spots.. but i just wet the whole thing and wiped them down. It still had a tan though, so no one noticed. Just try it and see how you like it. I usually have a dark complection, but lately I havent, until I used this. Now my boyfriend is jealous because Im tanner and hes a landscapper! Hah, he still doesnt know I have it. I just love the long brown hair and dark tan. Gotta stick to my Italian heritage!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 13, 2009
    Link to this post
  • California
    1 Star Rating
    Don't Waste Your Money !!!!
    I wanted to buy a product for a long lasting tan...after reading that fake bake would last for about 7 days i give it a try. First it is extremly messy...you have to reapplied to make the tan even... like they say i went to bed, the next day took a shower and here goes my tan, i had just a little bit of color left... i give another try like they suggest to do it 3 days in the row, same thing the tan doesnt stay on ????? and i have streak all over...i try the spray same thing.... i wish i could get my money back....you get a good tan but you can never shower or go swimming...!!!and my towels are completly stain..
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 20, 2008
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Best Self Tanner
    I have used many many self tanners and Fake Bake is the best I have ever used! I use gloves to put it on and I never get streaks, it drys in less then twenty minutes if used correctly. A little goes a long way! If it gets on your clothing it washes out and does not stain.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 28, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Tacoma, WA
    5 Star Rating
    The Best!
    I am a natural blonde with blue eyes and the fair skin you can see blue veins through. Needless to say I am always looking for some color without the damaging rays of the sun. Fake Bake is AWESOME! I mixed it with Loreal sublime bronze gradual lotion for medium tones (even though Im not medium) and applied 3 nights in a row. The first morning after a nighttime application, I had a subtle glow. The second morning after my second application, I was pretty tan. My third morning, I was dark! When applying, I added a bit more of the lotion than the Fake bake, maybe a 2 parts lotion to 1 part fake bake. I also do an extra coat on just my legs, because they seem to take less color. I would absolutely say to USE GLOVES. Mine break because I blend so much, so I go through about 3 pair, but trust me, your hands will be black if you dont. Also, after you shower each morning, put a regular body lotion on. This keeps your skin moisturized and from flaking the color off. For us paleys I wouldnt recommend doing more than 3 nights in a row for a base color, then just touch up once a week from there. Hooray for no more see-through skin!
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 26, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Orange County, New York
    5 Star Rating
    It Works Like Magic!
    Ive been using this product for about 3 weeks now and its amazing! My mother complains about the smell, Im a nurse, so Im used to certain smells, so its the ingredients they put it that reacts to create that smell. Anyway, the first week, I learned you SHOULD use gloves, cause under my nails, it looked like I had been digging in the garden, but my tan was nice. To get that perfect tan, massage in like you do with lotion, evenly, in circles till it blends in and you dont see it all streaky, thats one reason why so many of the reviews Ive read said streaky, which is why I avoided doing the applying in an up and down motion. Another tip about using this product is if you want a dark tan your first time, apply it twice that week and leave it on till its completely dry or itll all come off on your clothes and stain em, because of the coloring they put into the product. I also found out leaving on your tan for as long as 10-15 hours and doing it the night before your first week, leaves your skin a little darker, because the tan really gets soaked into your skin and then applying it again after you shower, I never get tan, especially on my legs, so I have to always apply it 3-4 times a week on my legs to get that deep tan look. My aunt the other day thought Ive been outside tanning and was surprised to know I used this product! So if you follow the directions and google for tips on how to apply it better and if you use what Ive suggested, you should be fine and look like you just came from the beach. Oh for those that got sunburn and start to peel after they applied this, just keep applying or exfoliate till your not peeling, its the only way for it to keep your tan going.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 25, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Doncaster
    3 Star Rating
    Fake Bake The Good And The Bad!
    i wanted a spray tan for my night out!Okay so i had a fake bake spray tan at my local tanning salon and just to be careful i had a test run first! i didnt exfoliate before because i didnt have time but the results were okay.... ( abit hot and miss on the legs though)! no side effects and it looked lovely for about 2 days because i didnt showa... but as soon as i got in the showa it was basically gone with only a little left on my arms and chest!next week i went ready for my nyt owt! this tym i had exfoliated.i got my spray tan and everything was ok....until 2days after! i washed the tan when i was ment too patting it dry and rubbing in moisturiser but my skin went FLAKY like in a rash all over my neck and face, it wasnt too visble but it looked like i cudnt apply makeup!I WILL NOT GET IT DUN AGAIN USE ST.TROPEZ IT IS FAR BETTER :)
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 20, 2008
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Live By Fake Bake
    i was actually really shocked to read all the negative reviews!!! the first time i used it, i applied ab an hour before bed for three nights in a row. granted when i woke the first morning after, i was horrified! i looked like i hadnt showered in weeks, and had dirt ground into my skin. but the worries washed away in the shower. i didnt turn orange in the direct sunlight, and i didnt have streaks. maybe it just does that to certain skin types? it defintely took more than one application, being as that most the color DID wash off in the shower, so thats why i used it three nights in a row and i turned out a beautiful brown color and had people asking me all night what i used and where they can get it. to the person who had orange hands... gloves, gloves, gloves! ive never once screwed up my hands while using gloves, and i even use the cheap medical gloves they use at the dentists. the smell smelt like fake tanner- but whats it matter, youre not supposed to wear it out the second you apply it, you have to wash it off first. and my sheets have never been ruined, let it dry before getting into bed... yes, it takes a while to dry and that is in my opinion the only drawback. maybe run a few laps around the backyard... haha!! only kidding!!! ive had to use the cooling option on my hair dryer once when i was in a hurry. and i dont find it greasy and it didnt make my skin dry... if anything it was like applying regular lotion. i would DEFINITELY recommend this to anyone.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 24, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Duncan , South Carolina
    2 Star Rating
    Not So Great Fake Bake
    Ive been using self tanners for 3 or 4 yrs now and have tried nearly every " drug store " brand out there. I got excited to try Fake Bake for the first time only to be disappointed !!I bought 3 different types of Fake Bake online two weeks ago , First trying the regular Fake Bake lotion, it went on extremely dark , never did seem to dry completly and when i went to take a shower the next morning it seemed as though all the product had washed off leaving me w/ little to NO tan /color what so ever . I waited a few days then decided to try the Fake Bake Extreme Gel which btw dries extremely fast so you got to be quick when applying it .. but i got the same results NADA !! I waited another 3 days and decided to try the Extreme Gel again and again NOTHING .. I used as directed but Fake Bake so far hasnt impressed me , I did get a hint of color but it was a bit orangy :(I got the mousse which i havent tried yet .. I guess ill try it then let ya know how it works !!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 15, 2008
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Fake Bake Bronzy Babe Face & Body Bronzing Glow

    Fake Bake Bronzy Babe Face & Body Bronzing Glow

    Fake Bake Bronzy Babe Face and Body Bronzing Glow delivers that 'dewey-glowy-look' celebrities have been keeping a secret for years! Go ahead! Sample one hand first....now compare hands, WOW! Imagine your entire face and body wearing this colorful glow all year long!

    Old Price: $16.99 New Price: $13.99
  • Fake Bake Instant Air Brush Tanning Spray 7 oz. Sale

    Fake Bake Instant Air Brush Tanning Spray 7 oz.

    Fake Bake Instant Air Brush Tanning Spray "The most beautiful, flawless tan under the sun!"

    Old Price: $31.95 New Price: $28.95
Server Name