Get the Sedu Classic 1.5

MAVALA Stop for Nail Biting and Thumb Sucking

A harmless, yet effective product that helps adults and children break the nail biting habit.
$14.00
We're sorry, this product is no longer available. / GROUND SHIPPING ONLY

A harmless, yet effective product that helps adults and children break the nail biting habit.

  • SKU: F8142   /  
  • Guaranteed Authentic
  • MAVALA Stop is a harmless, transparent formula with a distinct bitter taste.
  • It can be used alone or over color.
  • It will stop you from putting fingers to your mouth and biting your nails.
  • Also recommended for children who suck their thumbs.

Directions

Apply one coat of MAVALA Stop on the entire nail and allow it to dry for one minute. Repeat the application every two days until you have broken the habit of biting your nails.

After 10 days, your nail should have grown normally but may require strengthening! We would then recommend our nail hardener MAVALA Scientifique and Nail Cream to complete the beauty of your "new" nails.

Ethyl Acetate, Alcohol Denat., PVM/MA Copolymer, Phthalic Anhydride/TrimelliticAnhydride/Glycols Copolymer, Butyl Acetate, Acetyl Tributyl Citrate, SucroseOctaacetate, Denatonium Benzoate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Benzophenone-1, D&CViolet No. 2.

NARROW BY HAIR TYPE
NARROW BY PRODUCT
  • MAVALA Stop for Nail Biting and Thumb Sucking (807)
Sort By
  • Date
  •  / 
  • Helpfulness
  •  / 
  • Rating
  • The Taste Disappears Quickly 4 Star Rating
    This stuff works! But then I forgot about it for a little bit and was back to my old nail biting ways. I tried it again yesterday and there is no gross taste anymore! Its like it evaporated from the bottle. It just seems like regular clear polish now. :-( Ive only had it for 5 months. Time for a new bottle!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Feb 27, 2009
    / Central Coast, CA
  • Works Wonders 5 Star Rating
    My son is 5 1/2 and has always sucked his thumb. We thought it would get better as he got older, but it actually got worse. We tried every tip that people gave us. We decided to talk to the orthodontist because my sons teeth were starting to push forward from sucking his thumb. He recommended this product before we put the "bar" in his mouth. It worked immediately. The first night he tried to put his thumb in his mouth twice, he hated it. He has not even tried since. We are on day 6 and will keep it on for a couple weeks just to make sure, but so far I am thrilled!!!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Feb 11, 2009
    / St. Louis, MO
  • Eh... 3 Star Rating
    This product didnt really work for me. Ive been biting my nails since I was 6 yrs old and I dont know if Ill ever stop. Ive been taking vitamins and my nails have been growing faster and getting really thick, so they have been a little bit harder to bite off. This stuff tasted HORRIBLE and the taste stays in your mouth for a while.Even though MAVALA Stop didnt work for me, it could be just the solution for a lot of other people, so give this product a try.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jan 1, 2009
    / Texas
  • I've Used Better. 2 Star Rating
    I was really excited about this because I am 21 and NOTHING has ever been able to keep me from biting my nails. They are so nasty looking and I am tired of it. Anyway, while waiting for this to arrive I went to WalMart and painted one nail with a no-bite polish. (It comes in a little cardboard box that is black and red in the nail section.) It tasted bad, but I was thinking that Mavala would be much worse based on all the positive reviews. Well..its not!!!! That $3 stuff from walmart is a million times more disgusting. I was even purposely licking my fingernails to try to convince myself that it was just bad and I was getting my monies worth. But no, sadly it just isnt powerful enough for me.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 3, 2008
    / Central Coast, CA
  • In Case It Doesn't Work. 4 Star Rating
    I can see that this product has worked in 99% of the cases. But, we used it on my sons nails and he got used to the taste after a few days and started biting his nails again. I just added a bunch of tobasco sauce to the nail polish and now the taste is absolutely positively unbearable. 7 days later, He still tries to bite his nails but the horrible taste is stopping him cold. His nails are starting to look normal.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Sep 27, 2008
    / Los Angeles, CA
  • Magic In A Bottle!! 5 Star Rating
    My 4 year old had sucked her thumb for about 1 year after picking it up from my 2 year old. While my younger one sucks her thumb on occasion, my 4 year old daughter sucked her thumb from sun up to sun down. The persistance of her thumb sucking was starting to become a social problem, instead of interacting with other children at preschool she would stand off by herself sucking her thumb. She is an incredibly sensitive child and I was hesitant to try and get her to stop sucking her thumb. After much persuasion from her pediatrician and dentist, I started looking for thumb sucking solutions. I read all the great reviews for MAVALA and decided to give it a try. WOW!! This stuff is amazing, like magic, my daughter only tried to put her thumb in her mouth twice more after applying it to her thumb nail. She has not sucked her thumb in almost 3 weeks now. I have recommended it to everyone I know that is looking for a quick and relatively pain-free solution to thumb sucking, this stuff is FANTASTIC!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Sep 25, 2008
    / Northern Virginia
  • It Works! 5 Star Rating
    I read the hundreds of reviews prior to purchasing this to help my 2-1/2 year old from sucking her thumb. I figured it wasnt too expensive to try. The first day I put it on she gagged a little but that did the trick. I applied every other day for a week or so and occasionally she tried the thumb but hated it. After a week, I never saw her put the thumb to mouth again. It could be a problem if the person uses their hands for eating as she got the occasional "bad taste" but it was only for a few days until we knew the habit was broken. Love this product.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Aug 29, 2008
  • She No Longer Sucks Her Thumb! 5 Star Rating
    My daughter sucked her thumb since babytime and nothing we tried got her to stop. But after using this product for one month, she has completely stopped!! She has not sucked her thumb for 4 months now and has lost the desire...we are talking about a child with a true thumbsucking addict! I highly recommend this product to everyone who has a child that sucks her/his thumb.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 25, 2008
  • Wonderful!!! 5 Star Rating
    I was not sure if this product would work. I applied the product one time to my childs finger and she hasnt sucked her fingers. Excellent product.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 16, 2008
  • Stops Pre-schooler Nail-biting 5 Star Rating
    My 4 1/2 year old daughter had been biting her nails for several months and nothing I tried had worked. I searched the internet for remedies and after reading reviews of bitter nail polish chose Mavala. She hated it! The trick was to keep the bitterness tasting fresh with frequent applications and soon she had stopped biting almost completely. (I say almost because once in awhile Ill notice what appears to be a slightly eroded nail on one or two particular fingers, but I do consider her "cured.")

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    May 30, 2008
    / NJ
Server Name