Free Shipping Over $50
15%, 20% or 25% off Your Order
Mavala

MAVALA Stop for Nail Biting and Thumb Sucking

806 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
A harmless, yet effective product that helps adults and children break the nail biting habit.
$14.00
GROUND SHIPPING ONLY
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 806 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • MAVALA Stop for Nail Biting and Thumb Sucking (806)
Show All 806 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • St. Louis, MO
    5 Star Rating
    Works Wonders
    My son is 5 1/2 and has always sucked his thumb. We thought it would get better as he got older, but it actually got worse. We tried every tip that people gave us. We decided to talk to the orthodontist because my sons teeth were starting to push forward from sucking his thumb. He recommended this product before we put the "bar" in his mouth. It worked immediately. The first night he tried to put his thumb in his mouth twice, he hated it. He has not even tried since. We are on day 6 and will keep it on for a couple weeks just to make sure, but so far I am thrilled!!!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 11, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Texas
    3 Star Rating
    Eh...
    This product didnt really work for me. Ive been biting my nails since I was 6 yrs old and I dont know if Ill ever stop. Ive been taking vitamins and my nails have been growing faster and getting really thick, so they have been a little bit harder to bite off. This stuff tasted HORRIBLE and the taste stays in your mouth for a while.Even though MAVALA Stop didnt work for me, it could be just the solution for a lot of other people, so give this product a try.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 1, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Central Coast, CA
    2 Star Rating
    I've Used Better.
    I was really excited about this because I am 21 and NOTHING has ever been able to keep me from biting my nails. They are so nasty looking and I am tired of it. Anyway, while waiting for this to arrive I went to WalMart and painted one nail with a no-bite polish. (It comes in a little cardboard box that is black and red in the nail section.) It tasted bad, but I was thinking that Mavala would be much worse based on all the positive reviews. Well..its not!!!! That $3 stuff from walmart is a million times more disgusting. I was even purposely licking my fingernails to try to convince myself that it was just bad and I was getting my monies worth. But no, sadly it just isnt powerful enough for me.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 3, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Los Angeles, CA
    4 Star Rating
    In Case It Doesn't Work.
    I can see that this product has worked in 99% of the cases. But, we used it on my sons nails and he got used to the taste after a few days and started biting his nails again. I just added a bunch of tobasco sauce to the nail polish and now the taste is absolutely positively unbearable. 7 days later, He still tries to bite his nails but the horrible taste is stopping him cold. His nails are starting to look normal.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 27, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Northern Virginia
    5 Star Rating
    Magic In A Bottle!!
    My 4 year old had sucked her thumb for about 1 year after picking it up from my 2 year old. While my younger one sucks her thumb on occasion, my 4 year old daughter sucked her thumb from sun up to sun down. The persistance of her thumb sucking was starting to become a social problem, instead of interacting with other children at preschool she would stand off by herself sucking her thumb. She is an incredibly sensitive child and I was hesitant to try and get her to stop sucking her thumb. After much persuasion from her pediatrician and dentist, I started looking for thumb sucking solutions. I read all the great reviews for MAVALA and decided to give it a try. WOW!! This stuff is amazing, like magic, my daughter only tried to put her thumb in her mouth twice more after applying it to her thumb nail. She has not sucked her thumb in almost 3 weeks now. I have recommended it to everyone I know that is looking for a quick and relatively pain-free solution to thumb sucking, this stuff is FANTASTIC!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 25, 2008
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    It Works!
    I read the hundreds of reviews prior to purchasing this to help my 2-1/2 year old from sucking her thumb. I figured it wasnt too expensive to try. The first day I put it on she gagged a little but that did the trick. I applied every other day for a week or so and occasionally she tried the thumb but hated it. After a week, I never saw her put the thumb to mouth again. It could be a problem if the person uses their hands for eating as she got the occasional "bad taste" but it was only for a few days until we knew the habit was broken. Love this product.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 29, 2008
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    She No Longer Sucks Her Thumb!
    My daughter sucked her thumb since babytime and nothing we tried got her to stop. But after using this product for one month, she has completely stopped!! She has not sucked her thumb for 4 months now and has lost the desire...we are talking about a child with a true thumbsucking addict! I highly recommend this product to everyone who has a child that sucks her/his thumb.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 25, 2008
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Wonderful!!!
    I was not sure if this product would work. I applied the product one time to my childs finger and she hasnt sucked her fingers. Excellent product.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 16, 2008
    Link to this post
  • NJ
    5 Star Rating
    Stops Pre-schooler Nail-biting
    My 4 1/2 year old daughter had been biting her nails for several months and nothing I tried had worked. I searched the internet for remedies and after reading reviews of bitter nail polish chose Mavala. She hated it! The trick was to keep the bitterness tasting fresh with frequent applications and soon she had stopped biting almost completely. (I say almost because once in awhile Ill notice what appears to be a slightly eroded nail on one or two particular fingers, but I do consider her "cured.")
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 30, 2008
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Works!
    my 3 year old daughters thumb sucking was starting to affect her bite and the dentist recommended this product. it was hard for me to give it a try on her (the terrible bitter taste does not wash off--I tried it) but after a few nights with a struggle, the polish just became a reminder and within a few weeks, the habit which began in womb was broken! I kept painting her thumbs every day (it says every two, but I found she bear the taste if I didnt do it every day)for a while, but havent for quite a while and she hasnt began again. I only used a fraction of the bottle--very well worth the $9!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 17, 2008
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Nailtiques Formula 2 for Thin, Brittle Nails

    Nailtiques Formula 2 for Thin, Brittle Nails

    Featured in the "Best Beauty Buys" in the April 2006 InStyle! This formula treats nails that are naturally soft, peeling, split or just won't grow.

    52 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $17.99 New Price: $14.95
  • Orly No Bite

    Orly No Bite

    A bitter flavored nail bite deterrent helps break the annoying and painful nail biting habit, allowing for healthy new nail growth.

    99 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $10.00 New Price: $6.99
Server Name