Free Shipping Over $50
SHOP YOUR WAY
Mavala

MAVALA Scientifique Nail Hardener

A true penetrating hardener that works in seconds. Ends splitting, flaking, and breaking.
$20.00
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 57 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • MAVALA Scientifique Nail Hardener (57)
Show All 57 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • 1 Star Rating
    Dreadful Product
    My nails are generally in quite good nick, though they do tend to chip or peel from being brittle in winter, so I thought I'd buy this product to improve their condition as for the most part, it had received some pretty amazing reviews.

    It's now one month since I applied this product and I am still suffering from the damage it has caused. I followed the instructions to the letter but as soon as I applied this liquid, my nails became soft and fragile, like something akin to soft paper. They broke off and peeled off all the way down to where they meet the skin, leaving them tender and in appalling condition.

    As I note from a previous reviewer, the nails all look like they have lifted from the bed of the fingertips and they have not managed to grow in 4 weeks, due to the fact that they are so damaged, they continue to break or peel off. They look like I have a nail biting problem!

    I am seriously unhappy with this product as it clearly contains some terribly strong chemicals in it and there was no warning mentioned that this reaction might occur. I still am completely in the dark as to why this product was so horrible for me yet so many others rave about it so for these reasons, I would do more than not recommend it, I would strongly advise shoppers to stay well away from it!
    6 out of 8 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 13, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Grey
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love It!!!!
    this is the only thing that will help my nails---its the best!!!!!!!!!!!!
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 1, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Vancouver
    5 Star Rating
    It Works!!!!! The Best Thing I Ever Bought!!!
    This stuff works!!!!!!!!!! My only regret is not taking before and after photos because my nails were really that bad, they used to split - not so much break but split into layers at the tip and chip off, I tried so many products and this is the only one that works, IT ACTUALLY WORKS... honestly TRY IT, the best $14 I have ever spent, SERIOUSLY TRY IT, I cannot say enough good things about this product.
    11 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 27, 2012
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Grey
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Fabulous!!!
    This is the most fantastic product out there...it works! With fifty years under my belt, I have had time to try everything out there. It makes soft nails hard, and ends peeling. Finally, I was able to grow longer nails. This is the "shiznit" As for the ingredients being questionable; consider what's in your water, or food before jumping onto the environmentally friendly bandwagon. If used properly, there shouldn't be any problem.
    10 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 8, 2012
    Link to this post
  • UK
    1 Star Rating
    Warning On Formaldehyde
    This product contains formaldehyde that is a known caustic and toxic agent. It burns and drys up your nail surface, providing a false nail hardening feeling, while the nail is in fact damaged and burnt.
    26 out of 43 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 7, 2011
    Link to this post
  • United States
    4 Star Rating
    Nail Hardener Performs
    35 years ago I used a similar product and it was amazing. Then I had acrylic nails for 20 years (professional requirement) and was recently able to return to my natural nails. In one week's time I see a significant difference and look forward to the great results I expect. It is so very similar to the original product (name escapes me), but I know already it will provide the same great results.

    I searched for several months until I found this product online, and we don't have a local vendor so I ordered it from Folica.com. It arrived in mere days which was another plus.

    Thanks, Folica.com !!
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 5, 2011
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing!
    I had this product for such a long time. I didn't even know what it was, it was just always mixed in with my nail polish. I finally decided to use it & I got such wonderful results! I will be purchasing a second one. Some people say it works at the beginning and then it messes up your nails, well I've been using it for over a year & my nails are the healthiest they've ever been. Best nail hardener ever!
    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 29, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Mississippi
    5 Star Rating
    Best Nail Products Ever!!!!
    I used Mavala back in the 70s. Had the most beautiful nails I have ever had and the product was pulled from my local retailer because it contains formaldahyde. My nails were long and strong now they are short and brittle and ugly. Now that I have located somewhere to buy this product, I will use it again and I am sure that I will have the same results. You really must use the products as directed in conjunction one with the other to get the desired results. The again everybody's chemistry is different and you might not be able to tolerate the formaldahyde. This could be the problem if you are not acheiving the results you hoped for. Please use all of the products for the best results.
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 9, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Didn't Get The Results You'd Hope, Please Read This!
    Scientifique DOES WORK! It is a nail hardener, not a nutrient. It contains FORMALDEHYDE and likely other drying agents. Therefore, you cannot apply without extreme caution. You must follow the directions! If you didn't obtain results or benefit from using this product, then chuck it up as user impatience and lack of knowledge. Did you misapply it, protect your cuticles, accurately diagnose nail issue(s), massage or cut your cuticle, have a nail moon? Why do I pose these questions? The cuticle contains the root of our live nail. If the live nail or cuticle is damaged and unhealthy the nail will lack the proper nutrient to support growth, be flexible and strong, you must use a combination of Mavala products until the problem(s) is/are corrected. Using the cuticle oil (it's orange and is not nail polish) and the Nutritive nail cream before applying Scientifique and having some patience will eliminate your feelings of you've wasted your money. Afterall, the problem didn't start overnight. First accurately diagnose your nail issues, which oftentimes are multifold before you begin the product selection / bashing. I used Mavala products back in the 90's before it disappeared from the USA retail market with much success. Finally, I made the online purchase because I was tired of having unattractive nails. Additionally, I'm allergic to the adhesive used with acrylics. I have six nails with thick, hard, dry, brittle cuticles; other cuticles normal; 5 nails that are soft, crack, split and peel easily; 4 nails that are seemingly healthy; 1 nail which is hard, brttle and breaks deep into the cuticle. I used to cut and file away my cuticles to make for a perfect manicure, but that would only last a few days at the most. I purchased the Mavala manicure set because it contained Scientifique and products I was running low on. And I thought it offered more bang for buck too--I knew a little Scientifique goes a long way. Week one I tried short cuts, i.e., not using a cuticle oil and applying Scientifique very generously, which resulted in a worsening of my nail conditions, e.g., breaks. Week two, no short cuts. I'm using the aforementioned combination of products and Houston, we have positive results. My nail conditions are changing for the good! I will attempt to upload photos, but I'm not tech savvy.
    12 out of 14 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 19, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Tulsa, OK
    2 Star Rating
    It Works, Until It Ruins Your Nails! Beware Of Formaldehyde
    Warning! Warning! Warning! Warning! This product contains 4% formaldehyde. The maximum in cosmetics is usually .2% which does not require a warning label and anything over .2% with up to 3% requireing a warning label, but this doesnt have a warning label. This stuff worked great for me for about 2 months, i got amazing results, and then BAM BAM BAM peeling non stop, peeling and splitting like crazy. My long nails reverted to the shortest they have been my entire life. That is the amazing power of formaldehyde. It works by making the keratin bonds in your nails have more threads which makes the bonds harder, however there is no max to how many threads formaldehyde helps the keratin create. It can make the keratin bonds in your nails so strong that your nail will actually lift off from the nail bed. Use this at your own risk and be careful.
    67 out of 80 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 14, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name