Spa and Body Sale 35% Off
Jerome Russell

Jerome Russell's Hair Color Thickener for Thinning Hair

71 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
As the answer to thinning hair in both men and women, the Hair Color Thickener will effectively cover up light to medium bald spots.
$5.95
GROUND SHIPPING ONLY
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 71 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Jerome Russell's Hair Color Thickener for Thinning Hair (71)
Show All 71 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • 4 Star Rating
    Works Great For Compulsive Hair-pullers
    I am a female with shoulder-length hair. I have been pulling out my hair for decades and have several large bald spots. The hair I still have is medium brown and wavy, so by coloring in the bald spots I am able to completely hide them. This is how I do it: First I wash and dry my hair. Then I fold a tissue (NOT toilet paper -- it breaks down too fast when wet) and I spray the "scalp paint" on the tissue. I then wipe it on the bald spot on my scalp. It works best if the scalp is fairly dry. If you really "style" your hair, style it first and then color in your bald spots. I dont spray the stuff right on my scalp or it goes on too thick and wet. I dont swim much, but it seems to hold up and not run when I do. I find that a little comes off on my pillowcase, but its not bad. If I were a guest in someones house, I would put a t-shirt or something else over their pillows at night, just in case. This product makes my life a lot easier. I hope you have luck, too!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 16, 2007
    Link to this post
  • PA
    1 Star Rating
    Garbage
    I got the "blonde/brown" and it is horrible. It is white and seems to have almost no color whatsoever. Even worse than thinning hair. I would give zero stars if possible.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 6, 2007
    Link to this post
  • 4 Star Rating
    Good Product - Could Be Better
    This is a great product that blends in good with your natural hair. It does not leave a shiny spray paint look. The only drawback is that it can come off when it comes in contact with clothing or skin. It can also be a bit messy if you dont know how to apply it correctly. I would strongly recommend it over Top Coverage.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 17, 2007
    Link to this post
  • Columbus, Ohio
    5 Star Rating
    Excellent
    Ive used this product for more than 10 years. It is excellent; dont know what I would do without it. My bald spot is totally hidden, and the product blends well with my hair to given a fully look.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 4, 2007
    Link to this post
  • Virginia
    1 Star Rating
    Get A Darker Shade!
    I have always used ProThik and decided to try this brand. When I got it, the can was a third the size of a ProThik can. Second, I have dirty blonde hair, so I ordered the blonde/brown shade. WRONG!!!! I sprayed it on my head and it looked white. Luckily I still had some ProThik left to darken the spot. I always use light brown in ProThik, so I guess I needed to order medium brown, or maybe even dark brown. I dont know. These ads need to show what each color will actually look like. The product may look good and work, but if you have dirty blonde hair like me, DONT order blonde/brown.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 24, 2007
    Link to this post
  • 3 Star Rating
    Product Review
    I like the product because (obviously) it hides my balding areas. The thing that I do NOT like is..... I have black "residue" all over my bathroom....its on my blinds, on my shower walls, etc. and it just takes extra cleaning. Also, there is black residue on my pillow case each morning. AND, if you dont put hairspray over the color spray, it will smear all over your forehead.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 24, 2007
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    It Works Perfectly
    I had a gastric bypass a few years ago and before that I had valve surgery on my heart. I tell you this because I not only had hair loss after the heart thing but after the bypass it got worse. I tried a few other products with not such great results. For my kind of hair loss (thinning on the right side and around the part and bang area) Jerome Russells Hair Color Thickener for Thinning Hair is definately the most effective. It does take practice and it took me a while to really perfect my technique but the results are really fantastic. After washing and blow drying my hair I carefully spray on the Jerome Russells Hair Color Thickener for Thinning Hair where needed, let it dry and then spray with hair spray. After that all dried it is stiff so you have to carefully brush the hair without scraping your scalp itself with the brush. I am then able to style it and have recently been using a waving iron as well. It is a long process so I usually wash my hair only twice a week but it really looks the way I want.Its a lot better than running around bald and wincing when people would look at my hair. I hope this helps someone who has known this kind of heartbreak themselves. C. G.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 22, 2006
    Link to this post
  • Duncanville Texas
    1 Star Rating
    Product Is Not What Is Advertised
    I received my order of Folica and I am very disapointed. It smears on my fingers if I just touch my scalp or hair, it comes off on my pillow and is not even close to my hair color. This is the 4th brand of colored hairspray I have tried and this is the worst.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 13, 2006
    Link to this post
  • Ocala, Fl.
    4 Star Rating
    Hair Thickener
    Due to medication, I have experienced some hair loss in front. Not good for a woman to have bald spots. But I tried this Jerome product months ago, and have just reordered. This is amazing stuff! It doesnt just color the scalp like the color sprays do, it looks like it adds hair. I use the medium brown and it blends it perfectly. I cant tell you how good it is to have a product that works so well...it has made me lose my self-conscienceness. Plus the shipping was immediate. I plan to stay with this company for as long as they sell hair thickener. My thanks to them. Grace Burnson
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 7, 2006
    Link to this post
  • Washington, D.C.
    4 Star Rating
    Effective
    I just tried this product on a lark. Liked the price, and was more impressed that this brand offered a "brown/blonde" color -- most of the products dont really cater to those of us who have blonde highlights.The good news is that when you use this, your hair stays a completely normal, natural texture. The spray is very lightweight and your hair remains quite flexible, just with some added strength.My only caution with this or any product when youre not certain which color would be best for you would be to buy two colors. I ended up using a touch of a darker shade around my front hairline, and it blended really well to give me a highlighted look. Overall, the product is a great value. Id definitely buy this again.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 3, 2006
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name