Labor Day Sale
elchim

Elchim 2001 Professional Hair Dryer (Elchim Classic)

Reduce your drying time by 50% with the high pressure Elchim Classic Professional Dryer. Less time drying means healthier shinier hair, every day.
color 1
color 2
 
$109.99
In Stock
- Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 159 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Elchim 2001 Professional Hair Dryer (Elchim Classic) (159)
Show All 159 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Richmond, VA
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Eh...
    I purchased this dryer based on Folica's "Top 10" list as well as other submitted reviews and have had it for about 6 months. It's better than some cheaper models but just does not deliver what I had expected.

    My hair is fine (but I have a lot of it) and it takes a long time to dry with the dryer. It also leaves my hair feeling dry and there are quite a bit of flyaway strands, even with the use of primer/heat protectant and other styling products.

    So I purchased a Super Solano and man...what a difference! Head on over there to read my review for that :o)

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 5, 2015
    Link to this post
  • San Francisco, CA
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    So Disappointing - Only Lasted 5 Months!
    I bought this hair dryer based on extensive research and seeing a lot of positive reviews. However, after only 5 months of use, the dryer crapped out on me! In looking at the reviews, I now see there are many users like me who have experienced the same problem. For $100, you would expect the hair dryer to have a strong motor and last for many years. I highly recommend you find another good quality dryer that will last longer than a few months. As for me, on a search for a new hair dryer...

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 23, 2015
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    2 Star Rating
    No Longer The Same Quality
    I bought my first Elchim back in about 2002, and it performed magnificently. It also lasted me until 2014!! TWELVE YEARS of nearly daily use in blow drying my curly hair straight. Since I loved my Elchim so much, I bought a pink one (I think from Folica) in about 2013 for my younger sister. It died within a few months, and it wasn't even being used daily. I also purchased one for my other sister.... same problem. My former boyfriend bought me a spare because I told him that my Elchim had been going strong since 2002 and I was afraid it would die on me soon.. that was in early 2013.. My Elchim finally died in 2014, and so I took the spare out of the box and began to use it. I have barely been using it for 6 months and the motor is already failing.

    I had wholeheartedly recommended the Elchim 2001 to anyone who crossed my path, but I can no longer do so. I guess it's time for me to buy another blowdryer.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 15, 2015
    Link to this post
  • CA
    Hair
    Blonde
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Poor Quality
    I've owned two Elchim dryers, both of which died from a burned out motor shortly after the warranty ended. One started shooting sparks while I was using it and I had to pull the cord from the outlet in a rush. The other died in my hand after exhaling a puff of black smoke. This has also happened to my stylist with Elchim dryers, so she's changed brands.

    Although Elchim's dryers function well, I can't justify the cost against their short life span. I've owned much cheaper dryers that work almost as well and last far, far longer.

    I am officially done with the Elchim brand.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 28, 2015
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Just Ok
    Just ok performance on my fine, wavy hair - lasted 3 years.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 25, 2015
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Elchim Hair Dryer
    Don't waste your money on this one!
    I've had 2 within 2 years and both were defective.
    1st one - Motor ran slow and would shift from fast to slow after 1 year.
    2nd one - sounds like bearing are shot after 1 year, blows little air.
    Look for something else.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 20, 2015
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Lasted Me 6 Years
    Loved this blow dryer. Lasted me all throughout college and for 2 years since. The motor just started dying today. Dries quick; hair was always shiny. Got a lot of compliments.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 8, 2015
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Died Too Soon
    I have long thick hair that I blow dry daily. I am always blowing the motors of cheaper blow dryers bought at Target type stores within a year or so. So, I decided to put some extra money into a professional blow dryer. Well, my Elchim only made it 2 years, maybe 2 1/2 and the motor is going! Disappointing.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 14, 2015
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Hair Dryer I've Ever Bought
    I have purchased the Original Solano, the Solano Lite and the Solica and this is the best. It is light weight and not loud. Your hair is shiny and not frizzy. When styling your hair, the only hair that gets blown is where you aim your nozzle and the rest of your hair stays put. THE BEST!!!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 19, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Pennsylvania
    Hair
    Blonde
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    This Dryer Is "just Right"
    I am officially the Goldilocks of hair dryers. For years, I used a Chi, but I realized that it was really too hot for my fine hair and was probably causing damage. I bought a Harry Josh, but it really didn't have enough heat. So I returned that and tried the Solano because that's what my hair dresser uses. It was definitely not hot enough. Back that went (thanks Folica for the great return policy). I read all the reviews on the top professional dryers and decided the Elchim might be a good fit. The reviews were right on and this dryer is just right. It definitely blows hotter than the Harry Josh and the Solano but is nowhere near as hot as the Chi. I'm thrilled!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 6, 2014
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name