Youthair Creme

81 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Lanolized, non-alcohol, hairdressing for men and women. Changes gray hair gradually to a natural looking youthful color.
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 81 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Only show reviews for:
  • Youthair Creme (81)
Show All 81 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • RANCHO CUCAMONGA
    5 Star Rating
    Gray Hair Gone
    YOU HAVE TO TRY IT !! THIS STUFF REALLY WORKS
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 3, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Redondo Beach, California
    4 Star Rating
    How It Works And Only For Dark Hair
    I have used YoutHair Creme for several years and use it as my only vanity pleaser. As a retired chemist, Id like to explain how this works. The product DOES contain Lead Acetate whis sure to lead to lead poisoning if ingested. Apparantly it doesnt enter the body if just used on the body. Lead when combined with Sulfur forms BLACK Lead Sulfide. The skin & hair are made up out of proteins which are made of long chains of various Amino Acids. Of the many Amino Acids, a few contain Sulfur. SO! The Lead Acetate in YoutHair reacts with the sulfur in the hair yeilding a black color to the hair. I have found that the reaction is relatively slow as I do not wash the product out of my hair until at least 8 hours[preferably 24 hours.] I find that my black hair requires 2 applications 24 hours apart I leave my hair short [� to � inches] but leave it until �-� inches before haircuts. The prodect seems to cover the gray hair between haircuts. I suppose that you could use more between haircuts, but after a hair cut, the blackened hair is cut off showing all the gray and YoutHair needs to be reapplied as I talkled about abpove. Scientifically, from a chemists view, I would think it will blacken blonde and other light hair. I would guess that dark brown to black hair are the prefered usage of the product. Blonde hair to black hair are chemically except that darker hair has more of Natures black color (Melatonin)and lack of it yields white hair.
    28 out of 34 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 17, 2009
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    First Class Results
    I am 58, am African American with natural hair and my hair became darker within a week, faster than it says on the bottle. I am sorely disappointed to see discontinued on the page! Is this product truly being discontinued?
    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 21, 2009
    Link to this post
  • California
    4 Star Rating
    Worked Pretty Well For Me
    I am in my 50s and have gray hair mainly around the temples and forehead, though it is starting to pop up elsewhere. My hair is a medium to dark warm reddish brown.I havent achieved full 100% gray hair reversal but what I have achieved is pretty darn good. I no longer have white "old lady" hair, instead I have some golden blondish streaks. Big difference. One of the ladies who does my hair says the color looks "very rich." Its kind of cool seeing the various highlights of golden blonde and red in my brown hair. No foil required!I use both super Youthair cream and the regular liquid. Each has its advantages and disadvantages. Personally, I think the liquid penetrates better and its easier overall to apply with a spray bottle, but application can get messy and itll drip so you have to be really careful you dont lean over food or valuable papers later. Also, you have to make sure the liquid doesnt run down over your cheeks or forehead, because you do have little tiny hairs on your face and your pores can start looking dark if you dont diligently clean the drips off your skin.Another advantage of the liquid is that I feel I can "wear" it and go out to do some things, like walking a dog. People will just think my hair is wet and slicked back.When I use the cream I mix it with some of the liquid to thin it out and make it easier to apply. You have full control over the thickness and consistency. I apply it with a toothbrush around the temple area first, then dribble it on to the top of my scalp and use a comb or brush to apply it more deeply. Dripping is really not an issue. The disadvantage of the cream is that its obvious its in there, so I wouldnt want to be seen in public wearing it.Initially, you have to apply Youthair A LOT, like, almost every day. I remember when I first started applying the cream and liquid combo last November, the white "skunk stripe" at the top of my forehead started looking yellow-blonde after 3 days. If you are skeptical of it working, I suggest treating only a part of your hair at first, and then comparing the treated hair to the hair on the rest of your head. That is what I did. The white hair around the temples started blonding, while the white hair on top of my head and toward the back remained really white by comparison. So I started treating my entire head.After you have gotten your color to where you want it you can taper off, to maybe 2 or 3 times a week.I do get my hair straightened (formerly by hot process, now by a cold process), and we suspect that (unfortunately) the straightening process removes some of the color I work so hard to develop. It probably has to do with the cuticle opening up. For that reason I also stopped doing hot oil treatments on my hair, and now just use a cold conditioner.The thing I like most about Youthair is that this is my natural color, not some obvious fake color applied by your usual permanent hair coloring techniques. I dont have to worry about Youthair causing my hair follicles to develop some weird color that looks fake and doesnt suit me.I dislike the frequency with which I have to mess with my hair but it looks good so to me its worth it. My coworkers tell me they think I am in my late 30s and I want to keep it that way for as long as I can! :)
    10 out of 12 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 17, 2009
    Link to this post
  • California
    3 Star Rating
    Did It Work?
    It takes forever to work. 3 weeks on the bottle is WAY off. I called the company and they said it takes about 3 months. That is a severe misprint on the bottle. Unlike others here, I like the smell, but the product I have is from 2 years ago so it may have changed. Lead in the product worries me, but all hair products have damaging chemicals in them. It is not yet turning my hair back to dark brown, but what it is doing is changing into a lighter color brown/red. It would work a lot better on lighter colored hair. I will see if it works after the 3 months recommended.
    9 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 23, 2008
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Top Ginger Results But My Hair Was Black !
    Dont know why. Be aware this was my result. Am left with a problem. Daughter has posted a question about all this.I just want to give others the heads up!
    5 out of 9 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 20, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Hollywood, CA
    4 Star Rating
    Nice Product, But Hard To Find...
    Used to be able to find Youthair in any CVS or Walgreens, but havent had much luck lately. I like this product a lot, since its a couple of bucks cheaper than Grecian Formula, and also seems to work quicker. I noticed that the new creme formula is a lot thicker than before, so if you tend to use a lot (as I do), itll temporarily turn your mop into a waxy, uncombable mass until the next shampoo. Not very attractive, however I found that the new formulation actually works quicker, so it takes less time to get the old color back (which means less time with that waxy "helmet hair"). As for the smell, some people dont like it, however I prefer the smell of Youthair over that of Grecian Formula, which has an off-putting medicinal smell reminiscent of a visit to Grandfathers barber. Also (and this was a surprise), my girlfriend actually seemed to like the scent of Youthair. She didnt know I was using a color restorer, but always commented on how good I smelled whenever I was using it. (Even the cat seems to like the scent...)
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 19, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    3 Star Rating
    Every Season Is Different
    Hi - Ive been using Youthair since my early thirties and Im presently in my sixties. I have a full head of hair, dont lose any, never had any dandruff, washes my hair daily with shampoo and conditioner. First, Id like to say that I preferred the older creme as it was thiner and much easier to use. The new formula is way too thick and you need to beat it out of the bottle most of the time. Why would Youthair take a good product and make a worst product out of it? The smell...I can live with but there must be a way for Youthair to improve on that too.Second, in its instructions, Youthair says that sunlight will make your hair darker. Well I believe that they should really stress that point. Based on my years of experience I can say that Youthair combined with sunlight is the most important factor to get rid of your grey hair. When the UV index is high you can see the difference in no time. I really think that the UV index has a lot more to do with changing the colour of your grey hair than any shampoo or conditioner that you might use. When I leave Montreal and go to Florida in March for vacations, I can see the grey hair disappearing on a daily basis.During the winter months, although I always used the same amount of Youthair year round, I find it almost impossible to get rid of my grey hair. During our winters the UV index is usually low, we also spend more time inside than outside and because its usually colder in the winter we tend to wear a hat more often. However, as soon as late March-April come around, I spend more time outside, dont wear a hat, the sun is stronger and it really makes a big difference. You need to try it!Basically, if you wear a hat all the time, sit in hotel rooms and stay out of the sun then dont expect miracles with this product.My rating for Youthair: 5 stars for the summer, 1 for the winter, 2 for the smell, 1 for the thickness
    10 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 18, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Vashon, Washington
    5 Star Rating
    Yes, It Works And No I Am Not A Shill!
    Im 58 years old, just to get that out there. See my photo? Looks like Im lying, right? Nope. Im fifty eight. My hair would be completely grey right now. But I absolutely guarantee it works. BUT!!! There is something youthair doesnt tell you. Or supply. You MUST buy an empty plant spray bottle, the kinds you mist your indoor plants with, so you can SPRAY this stuff on your hair. I use the liquid. Otherwise, its too difficult to apply. I wont wax eloquent on how well it works, just look at my photo. These are pictures of me in my living room RIGHT NOW in England. But Im an American. You cant GET THIS STUFF in England. I brought it with me. When you use this, your hair MUST BE COMPLETELY DRY! I put it on in the morning on a weekend. I dont mind the smell. Someone was wigging out over the smell, some 31 year old. THIRTY ONE??? Hes just a PUP! Wait till he turns 50!
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    16 out of 16 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 8, 2008
    Link to this post
  • 2 Star Rating
    What Did They Change; And Why????
    Ive used Youthhair for a few years and was quite satisfied until a few months ago. At that time; the product changed from a wonderful "Brylcream" consistency to that of Elmers glue. I just would like to know what they changed and why they felt the need to do that. Ive bought a couple of new bottles of it to see if anythings changed...but it seems not.Is their a mfgs rep that can answer my question?Larry
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 21, 2008
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name