Free Shipping Over $50
20% off Tools
Jerome Russell

Jerome Russell's Punky Hair Color

227 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Colors that condition and shine. Last longer on chemically treated or bleached hair.
$8.95
 

Reviews

Based on 227 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Jerome Russell's Punky Hair Color (227)
Show All 227 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    My Worst Experience
    I have dyed my hair multiple times before but my usual brand was sold out so I got this one, the violet was much darker than the picture and the blue lagoon is much lighter and comes out green. I've never had this much of a problem with color and am now trying to wash these colors out and figure out what to do with my damaged hair.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 29, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dry Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing Color And Very Nourishing
    Yesterday was my first time using this brand of hair color. It's the best I've tried so far. I mixed plum and violet and go the most perfect purple color I could wish for. It's just as bright and deep as I was hoping. Purple is a pretty tricky color to get and last time I tried with splat it was pretty much pink. My hair has also taken a lot of damage and it isn't perfect yet but punky color did a great job of helping it. I'll definitely use this product again and try more colors.I'd recommend it to anyone.
    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 6, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Grey
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great Product, But Inaccurate Color Descriptions
    Absolutely love this product in Flamingo Pink. It goes on evenly, it gives a bright color, and it lasts with no bleeding onto fabrics and skin. Unfortunately the other two colors I've tried (Apple Green and Purple) are completely mislabeled. Apple Green is far more of a light turquoise once all is said and done, and Purple is merely Flamingo Pink without the brightness. I did find that using Purple and then layering Flamingo Pink over it a few days later results in a beautiful color with a little more depth than the plain Flamingo Pink though.

    I personally don't follow the instructions on the bottle. I put the color on dry hair, leave in for at least an hour, then rinse, shampoo, and condition in cold water. I continue to use cold water for washing and conditioning daily, and after a week I re-color. Once I do this a few times, the color stays very little fading for at least a month (unless I switch to hot water). I've never had any bleeding onto my clothes, pillows, towels, etc.

    When I've dripped color onto the counter or onto my skin when applying, I use a diaper wipe immediately and it completely removes the color. If the colors sits there for a few minutes, it will stain but within a day or two of using a regular cleanser/soap the color is completely gone. I've had no issues with staining the tub or sink while rinsing, either.
    2 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 28, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Montreal
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    This! Much Better Than Manic Panic!
    i used to allllways buy manic panic colours. i ran across these and decided to give them a try. i bought turquoise and aquatic blue, they're amazing! the colour was great. but the most amazing thing is that they don't bleed at all! it says on the bottle that it will, but it was just a tiny bit, with manic panic it looked like i had killed someone in my bathroom after taking a shower! love this!
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 5, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Vancouver
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love It
    Got great results with punky color, bright vivid red, didn't last as long as some red dyes iv used but this one DIDN'T STAIN EVERYTHING. Would recommend to anyone wanting to try something fun.
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 28, 2013
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Came Out Great!
    I'm a newbie to hair coloring -- aside from a little bit of "let's cover up my stupid premature gray streaks" work in college I haven't ever dyed my hair, let alone an awesome color.

    But hey, I have short hair now and live in Portland, OR where bright hair is pretty normal, so I decided to take the plunge. A local friend with WAY more experience than me helped me out. I bleached my hair the day before (taking my salt-and-pepperish dark brown / gray hair to a fairly solid blonde, see the "before" pic), then she came over and applied about half the jar of Apple Green Punky Hair Color to my hair. She built a neat hat thing out of saran wrap to cover my hair and keep it warm/damp, and I left it in all afternoon AND overnight.

    When I rinsed my hair in the morning, it looked AMAZING! (See "after" pic. It doesn't quite do the color justice, but my cameraphone is what it is. At least it gives a general idea!) The green is really bright and has gorgeous depth to it. LOVE. IT. This would be perfect for someone cosplaying The Joker.

    It does smell a bit weird -- sort of like Kool-Aid, even several days after the dye was applied. Weird.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    14 out of 14 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 20, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great Product, Wrong Color
    I ordered this in the color violet to do the tips of my hair. I had previously done blonde ombré but got a haircut(about an inch), so the ends of my naturally brown hair were still a dirty blonde color. I didn't bleach my hair before applying this to reduce damage and just try it out. I left it on for about 45 mins. It turned out really nice just not the color I was expecting at all. The color chart on Folica is very very off; it made the violet look more purple than it actually is. Violet is actually very blue toned and darker then just regular purple. It's not a huge problem but if you're going to be buying this I would recommend referring to the color chart on the Jerome Russell website and not on here to get a more accurate color choice. I've washed my hair about 5 times and it has faded a lot but it's still noticeably purple and looks nice. I'm predicting I will get at least 5 more washes in until it's completely washed out.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 29, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Jerz
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great S%#!
    I've tried almost every brand of crazy color hair dye and Punky is by far the best! It lasts the longest, easiest to clean up (Mr Clean Magic Erasers..OMG!) and smells fruity. Its also cheaper than most funky brands retailing arounf $12/bottle...and Folica has the best deal on it at $8 & change per tub.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 27, 2013
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Lagoon Blue
    I have to apply two coats for the color to look nice otherwise it just looks green=(
    I Put it on top of Plum and had a peek-a-boo style and got a lot of compliments on it. Overall i liked Lagoon Blue except for having to apply the color twice.
    the color lasted pretty well in my hair as well ( not washing daily)
    Before Photo
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 24, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Ma, USA
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Another Colour Update
    After keeping my beautiful red hair for a while, it had faded to something resembling strawberry blonde, and I had purchased one of the pink colours this brand offers. It was stunning ! Even without bleaching my hair c:
    Before Photo
    12 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 14, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name