Thanksgiving Sale use Code PIE25
Jerome Russell

Jerome Russell's Punky Hair Color

228 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Colors that condition and shine. Last longer on chemically treated or bleached hair.
$8.95
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 228 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Jerome Russell's Punky Hair Color (228)
Show All 228 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • San Diego, CA
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Nothing Else Compares!
    I've only been using Punky to dye my hair funky colors since high school. Manic Panic always washes out and fades within a week, but when I leave Punky on for an hour or two and wash it out, I'll be damned if any of it will fade in two months. The reds and pinks are always super vibrant -- I haven't tried any other colors but a variety of the reds, but I just ordered lagoon blue, violet, and the bleaching kit, so I will be sure to update Folica on how AMAZING the blue turns out!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 30, 2012
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Crazy Hair Dye Though Likely To Stain Everything
    Punky Color gives fantastic results, I used both Plum and Lagoon Blue, over top a recent, but awful Manic Panic purple dye job. My hair was a streaky midtone blue (I don't know, the purple turned blue), and even the light Lagoon Blue was vibrant over top, and Plum is the perfect purple, bright, vibrant, neither too light or too dark, it reminds me of crayola markers. I've even used it over my natural hair color (brown, medium brown), and was left with a stunning near black purple, that shone bright purple in the sun. I am thrilled with the results. That said, as much as I love the results from this dye on my hair, I am less thrilled with the results on my sink/skin. Firstly, follow the instruction about putting petroleum jelly around your hair line. And make sure you have some sort of cleaner with bleach in it for your sink and shower, or everything will be purple.
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 30, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    It Lasts! It's Vibrant! But There's A Downside...
    I have hair that's naturally really dark, on the edge of black. So I bleached it blonde. No biggie, done that before. I got a really bright and vibrant shade of blue-purple. Very cool. Downside though. Even with doing all the standard steps like rinsing till water ran clear - it STILL continues to run and rub off. I emphasize still because my hair which normally has issues with taking and keeping dye (even permanent dye tends to fade in my hair) still LOOKS blue-purple six months later (no, not exaggerating) though it has faded slightly so it's now perhaps more honest to say it's a purple-blue. However, even at six months, I can still see where it's running and rubbing off. Does that problem ever stop? Because even now if I see color running when I shampoo, I'll rinse until the water is clear.
    10 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 17, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Florida
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Very Bright!
    If you're looking for dramatic and bright color, this stuff is amazing! I used their suggestions of using a shampoo (NO conditioner) and drying before applying. I did also use the foil and hair dryer tip. It's been 2 weeks and it's not even faded slightly, still extremely vibrant! It has a pleasant fruity scent in the jar also, nothing like typical all over hair color or lightener :D Bottom line, I love it and won't use anything else for my Punky Streaks! (I've used about 8 various colors)
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 13, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dry Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Turquoise
    I'm a bit upset with the outcome of the turquoise. My hair was already a very light turquoise, but I had used Manic Panic. Once it faded I decided to try out Punky Colors 'Turquoise' - It seems like this specific color relies on your hair having a yellow tint after bleaching ( which I didn't ) for the fact that my hair is now a dark electric blue. Not a single hint of green. I'm so sad about it because, i'm not a big fan of my hair being blue. Oh well... We'll see if it fades to a nicer color. Probably will not be buying this specific color again, however I will try out other colors they have because they are quite bold & vibrant.
    5 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 8, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Punky Colour
    I absolutely love this product. Not only do I achieve the look I want, it lasts and is very vibrant. This hair color is by far my favorite semi-permanent hair color and I plan to keep purchasing it for a long time.
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 2, 2012
    Link to this post
  • New York
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Too Bad...
    It's a real shame that the other reviewers were so right about this product. While it left my tight, kinky, coils soft as a baby's and a bright, vibrant shade of blue/black, it Never. Stopped. Bleeding. That means that even now, four weeks after coloring my hair, even the tiniest bit of moisture that touches it makes the color run. So I have a slight bluish tint all over my bathroom, any hair accessories that hafta come in contact with my wet (or even damp) hair, and my fingertips and nails get re-"dipped" almost every day.

    (I am, however, gonna try and find out what they put in this stuff to make your hair so soft and then make up a batch to use at home as conditioner!)
    7 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 24, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    White
    Curly Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Couldn't Believe It!!
    i have used at least 3 colors including lie locks , which i love, and they came out great. color stayed twice as long as manic panic......i have white hair....took ebony to my stylist today for some streaks & a haircut. she did everything the same way she always does,,,,,and when it was rinsed off with cold water ( same as always) IT WAS GREEN!!!! none of the stylists could believe it....didn't know what we were going to do.....she used manic panic and it covered it. hoping when this starts to fade it doesn't fade to the green underneath...my hair is now naturally white started turning grey early and the colors have been beautiful,TILL NOW...
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 9, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love My Punky Color
    I've been using punky color for over 6 years, it has never once failed me and has always last 2 - 3 months in my hair (bleached) , ive also used a few other brands but they all suck compared to punky color i can honestly tell u that.. I have used almosty every color they have and have loved all off them.. My favorite is putting two similar colors one on top of the other i like to use flamingo pink(on bottom) and rose red or purple (on top). Also punky color makes your hair soft and shiny! always turns out awesome on everybody ive seen. i currently have rose red in my hair and am going to do a blue one next... i love the color so much that i think i might just do all of my hair! RECOMENDED OVER ANY OTHER BRAND!
    5 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 22, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Dye I've Ever Used
    I've used the expensive brands and the cheap ones, and Punky Color outperforms them all by a long shot. It's super inexpensive and you get a great variety of colours for next to nothing in the cash moneys department. The colour is easy to apply, easy to wash out, lasts a super long time. It even smells nice. Which I don't understand at all, but, whatever. Post-dye, my hair is always super nice and shiny, which is super duper. It lasts the longest out of any dye I've ever used and you can dye on top of other colours to create a totally unique look, which I think is extraordinary. I highly recommend this dye, as well as the associated bleach kit that is sold on this website. I've always used them in conjunction and had nothing but the best results. Favourites include Violet (my #1 favourite. It looks AMAZING. Every single time), Flamingo Pink, Midnight Blue, and Fire.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 15, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name