White Cyber Monday Is Here!
Splat

Splat Rebellious Colors Hair Coloring Kit

Splat Rebellious Colors Hair Coloring Kit creates a Splat of Rebellious Color!...Be expressive, be shocking, be extreme! The possibilities are endless!
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.
 

Reviews

Based on 114 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Splat Rebellious Colors Hair Coloring Kit (114)
Show All 114 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Hair Dye Heaven
    I've used this dye three times. I obviously must think it's a pretty good dye if I keep using it. I died the under red and I did bleach it before hand. In some lighting it was a dark pink or magenta but I loved that color. It did fade to an orange but I didnt really have a problem with it and it eventually faded back to a bright blonde. Next I bought Lusty Lavender and died a piece of my bangs with out previously bleaching. It was a subtle purple and eventually faded to a pinkish color. Just yesterday I bought Pink Fetish. I bleached the under of my hair again and my bangs. When I bleached my bangs they did have a pink piece from the left over purple. My bangs and the under are now bright pink and it worked out great. I dont know why this hair dye it getting so much hate it works great for me.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 13, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Oily Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    1 Star Rating
    What's The Opposite Of User-friendly?
    My boyfriend wanted to dye his hair red, and asked me to help. He had already gotten a box kit for Luscious Raspberries. I have a lot of experience dyeing hair, but i always use full permanent dyes with developer and wasn't certain how to handle this. So, we followed the box directions, but skipped on the bleach since he has medium blonde hair.
    I put the color on his hair, trying to avoid getting it on his scalp, but failing. Then, he decided that he wanted it to be super-intense, and that we should leave it on for 10 minutes longer than the longest recommended time, which seemed like a big deal, but since this dye is sans-developer, it was actually probably far too short of a time.
    Anyways, we rinsed, with ice-cold water, and most of the color came out, then and there. Not shocking, but disappointing.
    And then it just kept rinsing out. Until he was left with a splotchy, bright red scalp, and slightly pink hair, but only on the back of his head.
    A week later, his scalp was still stained bright red, but his hair had only a vague pink tint to it. Three weeks later, all the color was gone except that vague pink on the back of his head.
    Needless to say, I've been told i'm never allowed to touch his hair again.

    While this dye might not actually suck, the box directions are pure uselessness. Follow the instructions of someone who actually has bright red hair, and pitch that piece of paper.
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 5, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    No Regrets
    I used the red and it turned out amazing. It's been a month and it only faded a litlle bit. I used the bleach that came with it. however if you're doing your entire head, use two boxes. I only did the underneath part. I would certainly use this product again.. It's way better then manice panic and rage.
    8 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 1, 2012
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    White
    Oily Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Perfect Dye, If You Understand How To Use It
    Most of the bad reviews here don't seem to know much about hair coloring. The product worked as intended, they just didn't know what to expect.
    Yes, it's going to run if you sweat IF YOU DON'T WASH IT OUT PROPERLY. Rinse and rinse until no color at all is coming out with the water!
    Also, this is real hair dye! Not halloween costume spray on stuff! It isn't supposed to just wash out! Many people are complaining that just shampooing it for weeks didn't remove it. Duh! It's hair dye! If you want it removed, you need to use a dye remover or even a bleach. It will fade with time, but not completely disappear!
    And finally, bright reds and pinks stain your hair badly! Not just Splat brand. ANY brand of bright red or pink will be close to impossible to completely remove with bleach. If you're dying your hair bright red or pink, you will not be able to get it back to blond immediately without damaging your hair! It's not a problem with the brand, those colors just stain!
    My natural hair color is dark brown, almost black. I've always been able to get my hair light enough for a Splat color with only the bleach included in the pack. I've used Splats blue, pink, purple, red, and their new bleaching kit and they've all always worked excellent for me. As long as the three points I already mentioned don't bother you, I highly recommend this brand!
    31 out of 33 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 27, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Pretty, But Won't Go Away!!!
    My hair is naturally blond, so I dyed a streak of it blue with no bleach. The color turned out bold and dark and I was really happy with it. As it faded, it also remained the same color too, just faded. However, 4 months later it's still partially there! It's ridiculous!! I wash my hair almost everyday and now it looks like my hair has a dark spot, almost kinda purple-ish in color.

    Overall, nice color, but be prepared to have it for a looooong time.......
    8 out of 11 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 11, 2012
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Horrible
    I followed the instructions EXACTLY. I used Lusty Lavander, and my hair turns out red? I left it in for 30 minutes, and my hair isn't the color it's supposed to be. I am never buying this product again.
    9 out of 14 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 7, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Better Than Manic Panic, But Not Enough Dye In One Package
    I used the Lusty Lavender. I have long hair, you absolutely need 2 boxes if you want to cover your head. I didn't have enough, so I was spreading it all over as far as it would go. I started out with dyed black hair, bleached it to an light yellow, dyed it with purple splat, my roots came out bright purple, the rest of my hair more of a dark burgundy color. It was pretty for a week, then my hair turned a rusty red color with bright purple roots still. Not the prettiest, so I made the mistake of dying it again with manic panic blue, that stuff is HORRIBLE. Stick with splat, it will last a few weeks if you hardly wash your hair. Just be sure to bleach the crap out of your hair if you really want the color on the box.
    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 25, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    This Stuff Is Horrible
    I was trying to appease my wild side by doing the lavender on the underside of my hair. My daughter decided to do the red on her whole head. We both totally regret it. It is summer time and we can't do anything. We can't go for a walk without the color running because of sweating. We can't go swimming for obvious reasons. We can't even go to the amusement park because of the color running down our backs or front. AND there is no way to really remove it except for washing, washing, and washing your hair over and over and over. I do not recommend this for anyone. I am surprised that it hasn't been taken off the store's shelves.
    19 out of 23 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 21, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Oily Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Why All The Hate?
    I'm honestly surprised to see all the negative reviews for this product, because Lusty Lavender worked wonders for me. I'm one of those people who hates bleaching with a passion, so I'm always looking for semi-permanent purple hair dye that will at least leave a nice tint on dark brown hair. I've tried Manic Panic's Purple Haze, and Special Effects Burgundy Wine and Deep Purple. Manic panic didn't do a thing, and Special Effects looked nice, but didn't last long at all. This stuff seriously works though and lasts for an incredibly long time (6 weeks so far,) if you actually know what you're doing. Not only does the color actually show up on my dark hair, but it's incredibly vibrant compared to the other brands. I left it in for about 5-6 hours, which is something I would highly suggest if you're dyeing without bleaching. There's no developer in the dye, so you can leave it as long as you want. It is FAR messier than anything I've used, but really... This is hair dye, people. It's going to be messy, and it's going to stain. Cover your bathroom counter with an old towel or cut up some old plastic grocery bags and spread them out. Wear clothes you don't care about. USE PETROLEUM JELLY AROUND YOUR HAIR LINE! This stuff sticks to skin like you won't believe, which is the sign of a WONDERFUL hair dye. When you rinse it out, use cold water to seal it in. Generally you'll always see a bit of color go down the drain if you wash with hot water, even weeks after dying, but it still lasts for ages. Really though, you need to have realistic expectations. This isn't a good dye for people who haven't dyed before because it's so messy, and can stain the skin for up to a week if you're not careful. If you're experienced, or have other people to help, then this really is a good choice.
    Before Photo
    62 out of 65 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 6, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Okotoks
    1 Star Rating
    This Stuff Is Crap
    I DIED MY HAIR PINK AND IT TURENED MANY ODD COLOERS
    25 out of 30 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 5, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name