StealOfTheDayClipless30
Grecian

Grecian Formula 16 Liquid with Conditioner, Large

For light grooming action. Gradually restores lost color to graying hair... naturally. Removes as much gray as you want. Works for any color hair.
$15.99
$12.99
Save 19%
GROUND SHIPPING ONLY
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 77 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Grecian Formula 16 Liquid with Conditioner, Large (77)
Show All 77 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Houston
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Odor Kills It For Me
    I have to agree with those that commented that not washing hair often in the first 2 weeks, is unrealistic. For example if you work? Just saying. But what will kill me from this product (and it's only the beginning of week 2, is the odor. In this day and age, this company can't figure out "odor free?" I suffer from allergies and am often stuffy and can't smell much, but I can smell the odor from this product NON STOP! Most unsettling is to keep waking in the night feeling suffocated by it. Sorry Grecian Formula, you're a big NO GO based on the odor. Just for Men is 10 min, no odor and done!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 4, 2014
    Link to this post
  • 4 Star Rating
    The Trick To Making This Work
    First time I tried it I swore it did not work. Years later I tried again, and again it appeared not to work after 4 weeks of using. Then I decided to follow the directions EXACTLY and it worked. The trick is that you must not shower your head often during the first 3 weeks. If you cannot do without a daily hair wash, this product will not work for you.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 15, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Brighton
    Hair
    Grey
    2 Star Rating
    Acts Like A Temporary Makeup Only.
    The product works in the sense that it temporarily colours the hair if I apply everyday. But then when I come to wash - all the brown colour just washes out and Im back to the grey. I am 50% grey and I like the resulting texture and its nice to get rid of the grey in a natural looking way, its just a shame that the product totally washes out every time.
    I wouldnt be comfortable taking my kids to the swimming pool, I would go in dark haired and come out grey - leaving a trail of brown streaks behind me.
    I have been using the product now for 6 weeks.... is this long enough? If not how long does this product take? I will be 100% grey before it works.
    5 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 8, 2013
    Link to this post
  • UK
    3 Star Rating
    So Far So Good...
    I am in the U.K. and have been using this product for about a week. I do wash my hair just the same, when it needs it, at least every other day. I am not going to leave it a week without washing! Anyhow, I am now noticing that my grey on my the sides of my heard are becoming less grey! I have very fine hair and I have used all sorts of stuff in the past to give it more body to try to stop it laying flat and looking dead. Matt clay, gell and hairspray. I don't like hairspray as it makes the hair feel like straw. Back to Grecian. Even if it does not colour my hair any more than it already has, for me it has other properties! I apply it as directed and then brush and style, and my hair stays where I put it! This product DOES make my hair look so much better because of it's conditioning properties. I no longer use hairspray or gel or anything like that. I feel that I have discovered a secret that I have been looking for a long time, something that makes my hair look alive! I will continue to use it for this benefit alone. However, like I say I have only been using it for a week so I will carry on and see if my hair gets darker still. I don't know where all these other reviewers are getting a bad smell from. I have no issues like that. It has a vague smell but really no big deal at all. Once it's dry there is no smell at all. So far I am happy with this product.
    7 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 22, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Alexandria, KY
    Hair
    Oily Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Have Used For Over 10 Years
    I have been using Grecian Formula 16 for the past 10 plus years and it works! Where people get this idea that there is a strong odor, they must have large noses. Yes, there is some odor if you sniff the bottle directly but once it dries on your scalp that odor dissipates entirely. And this notion about the lead acetate is over emphazied. I am 65 years old and as healthy as possible. I haven't been ill since I can't remember and as I said, I have used this product consistantly (2-3 times per week) with no health concerns. I put in on after washing my hair and it works just as described. I seriously doubt that there is one single case of lead posioning ever attributed to this product. Just a bunch of scientists getting a government grant to do another ridiculous study just to waste our tax dollars. If you are such a pansy, wash your hands afterwards and you will be just fine. Now go enjoy your non-gray hair.
    28 out of 33 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 11, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    New Formula Does Not Work For Me
    I am 72 and i use Grecian formula every year when we go to Barbados for 3 months every year. This year, with the new formula, I obtain just a slight blond colour. The new formula does not work for me. Any suggestion? and will you go back to the old formula.
    Georges
    10 out of 12 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 10, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Works Great
    The Grecian Formula works as advertised. It reduced the gray without totally removing it like a dye would. Since it is colorless by itself it is not messy to use like other home hair coloring. Some comments on all of the comments posted so far:

    1) It does have a distinctive smell. However, if it is overpowering you are probably putting on way too much. You don't need to soak your head; it works fine to just put some on your hands and run them through your hair. If you put it on in smaller amounts the smell goes away in about 15 minutes.

    2) It does contain 0.2% lead, which is poisonous. So don't drink it. Otherwise there is no evidence that it can poison you through your scalp. If this concerns you, use a different product.

    3) Although the directions recommend not washing your hair for the first week, it works ok even if you do. The directions look like they were written in the 1950's when maybe people didn't wash their hair as often as we do now. It works great if you put in on in the morning after showering every day.
    35 out of 36 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 24, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Staying With It
    I'm 65 and have a lot of grey hair. Have used liquid for three weeks. There is definitely a difference. It would have worked faster if I didn't wash my hair so often (once a day). The sulphur smell is a big minus. I do have to wash my hair to go out in public. I found using an old pillow case at night and a hat during the day cuts down on the smell getting on to everything. I'm staying with it but looking forward to using it only once eery week or two.
    9 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 7, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Minnesota
    1 Star Rating
    The Smell Was Too Much
    At 53, my hair is getting pretty gray. I thought I'd try this product since it works gradually and you can control how dark it is. Also I wanted to see if my co-workers or wife would notice so I didn't tell anyone. The fact that it was a creme was a bonus because I could use it in place of my regular pomade. I got a haircut this morning then came home, washed my hair, dried it, and applied the creme.

    I did not care for the smell but I thought it might be tolerable after I got used to it. I had the same experience with Brylcreem -- a chemical smell that envelopes your head but eventually dissipates. Grecian Formula smelled as strongly several hours later as it did from the start and I just didn't care for it. Even my wife asked what junk the barber put on. Finally I just washed it out. Maybe the foam or liquid aren't as strong smelling but the cream... I couldn't stand the smell. And there was no way I was going to be able to hide it from my wife.
    14 out of 16 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 27, 2011
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Wendy T. Is A Drama Queen
    Wendy T. is a DRAMA Queen. The product is great. Use it at night, and shower in the a.m. NO BIG DEAL. Oh, by the way, it does not leaves stains on anything. Does not surprise me that Wendy T. is from CT......strange people in that state.
    13 out of 22 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 13, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name