PlayTrickorTreat
John Frieda

John Frieda Precision Foam Colour

John Frieda Precision Foam Colour introduces a new way to color hair, as a revolutionary, non-drip foam that covers every strand perfectly, so you are assured o...
$12.99
 

Reviews

Based on 46 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • John Frieda Precision Foam Colour (46)
Show All 46 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • 5 Star Rating
    Love It!!!
    I'm soooo glad I read all this reviews first, the color was great and it left my hair soft and shiny I would love to get the conditioner by it self, it cover the grays an 80% and I got a lighter color so I could get a brown, I got dark golden blond and it turned out perfect!!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 10, 2012
    Link to this post
  • FL
    3 Star Rating
    It's Fine..
    This product is good. It was easy to apply and did not drip. Though the color came out a little darker than I expected, my hair was really shiny and evenly colored. The dark color toned down and became the right color after two washes. I found a couple grays that it didn't cover but I think most brands I've used have left me with a few whites. I was going for my same dark brown color so it wasn't too hard to mess up. I may try it again but not sure...
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 19, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Toronto Ontario
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    No Longer Playing Hair Dye Roullette!!!!
    I just finished dying my natural light brown hair (that has remnant blonde highlights that were done 12 months ago) with 9N light natural blonde and I LOVE it! I call home hair dyeing a "girls version of russian roullette" as I've never had much luck with any store bought products (and I have had more than my share of emergency dashes to the salon with horrific raspberry coloured hair)...My hair is long, extremely thick and somewhat course so I used two bottles. I was impressed with how the product applied, but i am THRILLED with the results! the colour is very dimensional, a beautiful blonde with a strawberry undertone (which happens almost always with my hair because of my natural tones). It's soft (again, for someone with course hair this adds HUGE points in my book), shiney and not flat at all! I did use the colour selector on the JF website, which suggested that i use 8N blonde. Now, because of my past experiences/disasters, i actually tested a good size chunk of my hair first (again, my hair is long and thick, so i knew that if disaster ensued i could cover the mishap easily). I mixed about .5 tsp of each colour/developer in a small plastic bowl (it doesn't foam when you do this, but it still works) then saturated the strands. The 8N medium blonde was nice, but was darker than what i had wanted, so I went back out and bought the 9N (folks, it may seem wasteful but i would MUCH rather throw away a $12 product than not being happy with the colour, or worse, spending $300 fixing it at a salon after). The colour i ended up with is a beautiful honey. At 42 i was looking for something that would cover Grey. The grey coverage was not exactly 100%, but i would say if covered about 80%, and i'm happy with that!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 12, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Maine
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    No Longer Blonde! Don't Buy It!
    Why, oh why did I not check the reviews here earlier? I have used L'Oreal products in the past and never had problems. I got a coupon for John Frieda and decided to try it. I bought Medium Natural Blonde, which is my natural color. The result is NOTHING like pictured on the box! This product DARKENED my hair to a shade of peanut butter or caramel with red tones!!! Where is quality control for this company? Obviously, I am not the first one this happened to! I am NOT happy and will never buy John Frieda again.
    10 out of 12 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 22, 2012
    Link to this post
  • United States
    5 Star Rating
    Love This!
    I have a med to dark brown hair color and sometimes my color seems dull. I chose medium natural brown and it just seems to ritchen the color and add shine exactly what I wanted! I love it & would recommend this product to anyone. I just wish I could find out if it is possible to buy the conditioner that comes with the kit by itself.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 16, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    1 Star Rating
    No Longer Blonde!
    I had been using another hair coloring product, and my hair was light ash blonde. I wanted to try the new foam product and chose 9A "Light Ash Blonde", assuming that the result would be a similar shade or perhaps even a little lighter.

    I followed the package instructions; the application was easy and less messy than many other hair coloring products. So far, so good --BUT this product significantly darkened my hair so that I can't even classify it as blonde. It is now brown and this was not, I repeat NOT the intended result. My hair is several shades darker than any of the colors shown on the box. I feel that this product was severely misrepresented. I would hate to see what color would result from choosing a medium or dark shade of blonde.

    I will be heading to the store today to find a product that will hopefully restore my formerly blonde hair. Needless to say, it won't be John Frieda.

    9 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 20, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Color Not Right!
    Wish I had visited this site prior to Friday. I actually liked the foam application, however the color on the box and how it turned out was terribly wrong! I went looking for a dark blonde and got brown which looks very bad when you started out strawberry blonde!!
    6 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 17, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Package Perfect
    I have been using hair color of one sort or another for many years to either highlight my hair or to cover the beginnings of gray. The color worked OK until the gray began it's brutal attack a few years ago. Trying different shades and tones of products that promised to cover my gray, and being careful not to use too often, the gray always managed to rear it's ugly head. I was becoming very frustrated. I had noticed John Frieda's haircolor on the shelves (I had been using J.F.sheer blonde shampoo for several years) at the store, but was afraid to change products for fear of "green" or frizzy or NO HAIR at all! However, knowing that I would eventually try it anyway out of sheer curiosity. I made the plunge! I picked the same shade that I had used of another product, (X-tra light natural blonde), hoping that would alleviate any mishaps. The results were nothing short of amazing!! The foam was easy to apply and odorless. Better than that, the color was gorgeous, not washed out and dull looking. It was the first haircolor that I have ever used that actually looked like the color on the box! My hair was soft and shiny and I loved the conditioner I could actually run my fingers thru it. Along with using the sheer blonde strengthening shampoo, my hair has never been more beautiful! I never was one to age gracefully, I fight it every step of the way. And now, with a little help from John Frieda I will!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 15, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Tennessee
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Spotty
    I was expecting a lot out of this product. The product says "John Frieda Precision Foam Colour introduces a new way to color hair, as a revolutionary, non-drip foam that covers every strand perfectly, so you are assured of shiny, natural-looking results." i dyed my hair dark brown and it is a splotchy, streaky mess. I completely saturated all of my hair and it looked as foamy as it did on the instructions. For the amount i paid it should have worked better.
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 6, 2011
    Link to this post
  • TN
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Oily Hair
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Easy To Use, Pretty Color, Does Not Cover Greys
    I love the ease of using this mousse color. For the first time, I felt I got even color all over. I am a dishwater blonde that colors medium (9 natural) blonde and sometimes self highlights. The color is very pretty and is holding up well. The color treatment left my hair very full and healthy and the conditioner that comes with it (generous size) keeps it soft and nice. My one complaint is this color did NOTHING to hide my few little grey hairs at the part right at my forehead so I had to dip into my L'Oreal root color touch up and get those. That was aggravating. But overall I like this color. I don't know if I'll use it again, if it stays nice and bright for a few more weeks, I would and just commit to the root rescue for my few greys.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 29, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name