Free Shipping Over $50
15% off + Free Shipping on Top Ten Lists
Ardell

Gray Magic Concentrate Color Additive

Covers gray. Makes colors last longer. Decreases fading. For professional use only.
$12.99
$8.95
Save 31%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 27 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Gray Magic Concentrate Color Additive (27)
Show All 27 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • San Antonio
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Disappointed
    I am a first time user of this product because this product was less expensive than another similar product I had used, which gave me great results. I was expecting the same great results from Ardell Magic Gray.

    I added the Ardell Magic Gray to a light brown permanent hair color as per the directions on the packet. I expected Ardell Magic to provide the same excellent results as the previous brand I used. However, that was not the case. Ardell Magic turned my hair light red! I'm very disappointed and would not recommend this product to anyone. I am now forced to recolor my hair without Ardell's "Magic." I'm going back to my previous hair color additive...it works with no awful surprises.
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 12, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Grey
    2 Star Rating
    Nothing But Ginger Grays
    Keen to try this I bought some on eBay and had it sent to me in Australia from the USA. After following the instructions on more than three occasions (I am the eternal optimist) I gave up. All I ended up with were orange coloured greys with no trace of the level 7 blonde I was using whatsoever. Very disappointed. That said, the products dirt cheap but the postage was a whopping $25
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 10, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Product!
    I've been a hairdresser for over 30 years and have used this product for what seems like forever. This product works really well and compared to other products is extremely inexpensive. I even use it on my own hair, and also for my husband when it's time to color his beard.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 2, 2013
    Link to this post
  • NY
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Adds Undersirable Red Tint To Hair! Results Do Not Seem To Last.
    I purchased this product based on recommendation of salesperson at my beauty supply store. I told her I was looking for something to add to the boxed haircolor I was using because I had resistant grays that weren't taking the color as good as they did before. I have shoulder length, wavy brown hair with a concentration of grays around the hairline and on top of head. I currently use Revlon Colorsilk in Deep Brown shade.

    I followed the directions precisely as indicated. I was a bit alarmed when upon opening the packet I found the product to look like iodine! I added it to my haircolor and colored as usual. While the product appeared to have covered my grays, it left my hair with a very undesirable coppery tint. I currently use a medium to deep neutral brown color.

    However, I just washed my hair today (first time after coloring a couple days ago) and found that my grays are now a shimmery color and my root area is quite faded and orange looking compared to the rest of my hair. NOT GOOD at all! My hair looks worse than it did before I colored. In the sunlight it resembles carrot orange.

    Although I only spent 99 cents for the single use packet, I will not be buying this product again. I now have to live with the end result for a few weeks until I can color my hair again.
    6 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 6, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Sacramento CA
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Expected More
    Just tried adding this to my color, expecting the grays to take better, they are "ok". I can still see them a slightly silvery shimmer almost the same as my color. The rest of my hair took fine, I used Ion creme color, light mahogany brown with 20 developer on thick long brown hair. We'll see how long it lasts. Next time I will try the Ion liquid color with 30 developer then add the Gray Magic to see if any difference.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 20, 2013
    Link to this post
  • California
    Hair
    Black
    Color Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Gives Off A Red Or Brassy Tint!
    I found this years ago & couldn't remember why I stopped. Oh yeah!!!!! The red tint it gives your gray hair you're trying to dye black!!

    I'm a 43 year old male, I have short black hair & I'm about 40% gray already. I'd say that my hair is also very resilient to hair dye.

    I tried adding the Gray Magic & all it did was add a red, brassy tint to the heavily gray area's of my head. Oh well, have to dye it again!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 16, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Added A Red Tone
    I did not like this product. It seemed to add a red tone to my blonde hair. It did however cover the grey just not the color I was trying to achieve.
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 20, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    1 Star Rating
    This Product Does Not Work For My Hair
    help!!!!! I have tryed this product twice without success. Is there anything else I can try?
    I am afraid I am stuck with my grays
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 22, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Good Additive
    I just learned about this product from my colorist. I do my own roots and only go to her about every 3 months. I ordered them and I find that it does help to cover the gray. I add 9 drops when I do my roots and that seems to be a sufficient amount.
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 8, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Nashville, TN
    Hair
    Grey
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    This Stuff Works!
    I began using this on the advice of a salesperson at my local public beauty supply store. I had told her that henna doesn't stick well on my gray hair. I told her that I can't use regular hair dye because I have toxic overload and that it made my joints hurt. She recommended this to make the henna stick.

    It works.

    It doesn't make my scalp burn, and it doesn't make me sick. What I use it with is plain, organic henna, either cream, powder or Hennalucent, which is henna and a soy conditioner, and either way, it makes your hair absorb the henna better. I can't tell that it has any odor, as all I can smell is the henna.

    I think that it's a really good deal. I color my hair about once a month and a bottle lasts me nearly a year.
    8 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 27, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name