Free Shipping Over $50
20% off All Orders + Sedu Travel Dryer with $100+
Ardell

Gray Magic Concentrate Color Additive

Covers gray. Makes colors last longer. Decreases fading. For professional use only.
$12.99
$8.95
Save 31%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 27 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Gray Magic Concentrate Color Additive (27)
Show All 27 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • NC
    Hair
    Grey
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Grey Magic..my Best Hair Buddy
    I've been using GM for 20yrs. I have resistant grey hair. I use it with whatever permanent color I choose and either 20 or 30 developer. My haircolor range is from dark mahogany to light coppery red. I love this product! WHY they don't teach about it in cosmetology school beats me.
    14 out of 15 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 9, 2011
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    The Gray Blocker
    I am African American and have had Blonde hair for the past 30+ years, I use 40 volume peroxide and approximately a 1/4 packet of booster and a fabulous color. Approximatel 7 years ago I spotted Gray Magic in the beauty supply, as I was just beginning to gray I thought I would give it a try, I now add the Gray Magic to my concoction and the results are absolutely wonderful. Unintentional "multiple colored hair "ain't cute", Brown, blonde, gray, uh, uh.
    11 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 9, 2010
    Link to this post
  • California
    Hair
    Black
    5 Star Rating
    So Worth It!
    I've been using this over 5 years. I use 10 volume developer with a dye for the beauty supply. I add the 10 drops per ounce of color just like the box says. It penetrates the grey and doesn't fade! I love it! I do take care of my hair though. So if you flat iron/blowdry/hot roll your hair daily, you may not have the same luck.
    15 out of 15 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 19, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Covina, Ca
    4 Star Rating
    Worked Well With Colorsilk 7a Med. Ash Blonde
    Was a little skeptical because of my 20% gray hair on my crown, but Gray magic worked rather well. It did turn the haircolor mixture darker but the color turned out the same . I hope it last long. Also I used only 5 drops per oz. and had color on 20 minutes only.
    10 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 4, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Brighton; East Sussex; UK
    Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Grey Magic Is Just That
    Being a hair stylist myself I always like to try things on myself before my clients, and have just completed the task....So mixed up my colour which is a very dark brown & plum shade, then added the Grey magic. Firstly I was shocked it was a dark colour, and once mixed with my tint "horrified" when it turned bright orange.....But I still applied to my hair, and was getting worried as it stayed orange for 10-12mins, where after my normal plum shade re-appeared. Happily after the required time, rinsed, dryed and was amazed those little resistant stubbourn grey hairs around my hairline which generally don't seem to cover well, have actually gone with using Grey Magic.....So I think it actually does the job it says it does and would definately use again on myself. I would also use it on my dark haired clients, but would be worried to use on the fair haired one's as I think me applying a bright orange product on their normally light hair shade would be a bit scary for them, unless they agreed to let me try. On the whole so far I think it is a worthy product, but will interested to see how my colour lasts over the grey hairs in the next couple of weeks. Just one poor point is that its a shame they dont warn you on the bottle that your normal colour will change to a different colour for a while, but I suppose really if I had thought about it the product puts back yellow & red pigments which is why it works!!
    25 out of 26 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 28, 2009
    Link to this post
  • California
    1 Star Rating
    Mystery Ingredients?
    I can not find the ingredients on the label or web site. There is a warning about dont use near eyes, as can cause blindness and skin irritation. Sounds like it might be the very dangerous ingredient p-phenylendiamine. Which the FDA banned and removed from market in 1938 in all products applied to the skin except hair dye which must be 5% or less. It makes dyes last longer and was used in lash products that caused blindness. Its now reappeared in henna tatoo to make them last longer, but dermatologists are seeing skin rashes and blisterings. My sister had to stop dyeing her hair, due to blistering and swollen eyes. Be very careful.
    15 out of 24 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 27, 2009
    Link to this post
  • ESVA
    5 Star Rating
    Grey Magic
    My grey hair just stopped absorbing hair color. I decided to use 40 volume with my color and added the grey magic according to directions. Im happy to report that there was no residual grey at all and I have some of the most resistent grey on the planet. I should add that my hair is in pretty good shape, hence the 40 volume with torrid steamy cappucino. and the result was gorgeous. go grey magic!
    14 out of 16 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 7, 2009
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Does Not Work
    I tried coloring my hair with & without this product & the result was the same. So it does not work. I have resistant gray hair & dark hair. The color fades off the resistant hair within a few days.
    8 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 15, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Palm Coast, Florida
    5 Star Rating
    No More Gray
    I used this product for the first time and it was wonderful. It covered my hard to cover gray and I do use a blonde haircolor and it did wonderful. I was nervous at first with the color of the product, but it did work!!!!!
    12 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 15, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Southern California
    5 Star Rating
    It Is Magic In A Bottle!
    I absolutely love this product! Unfortunately I have resistant grays and dark hair, and the decolorization mark was driving my batty. My hairdresser friend suggested adding this to my bottled haircolor and viola! No more marks, my color lasts longer, and I can get my gray hair as dark as I want them to get!
    12 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 10, 2008
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name