Take 25% off one hair tool with code TOOL25

Bigen Permanent Powder Hair Color

Designed to elegantly color all gray or partially gray hair, enrich your natural hair color without lift. Contains no ammonia and requires no hydrogen peroxide.
$4.99
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.

Important Message: As with all semi permanent and permanent hair dye, please perform a test patch on your hair before applying all over. Customers who are allergic to this dye may find skin irritation or rash. Please contact Bigen Corporate Office if allergic reaction occurs. 1-800-848-4980

  • SKU: P8618   /  
  • Guaranteed Authentic

Directions

1. Assemble everything you need: the contents of the Bigen pack, plastic or glass bowl or cup and a non-metal stirrer, plastic or rubber gloves, cape or used towel, brush, cold cream.
2. Do not pre-shampoo your hair unless it is very oily or treated with metallic color such as hair color spray or henna compound or any other material that might interfere with Bigen coloring. Cover the upper part of your body with the towel or cape. Apply a thin coating of cold cream along the hairline to guard against any traces of tint around the hairline.
3. Pour Bigen Permanent Powder Hair Color into the plastic or glass cup or bowl. Add tap water at room temperature (DO NOT use hot water) in the following proportion to make a paste: - 1 bottle Bigen Powder, 5 Bigen measuring cups of water (2 fl oz) - 1 bottle Bigen Powder, 2 Bigen measuring cups of water (1 fl oz) - 1 bottle Bigen Powder, 1 Bigen measuring cups of water (1 fl oz)
4. Then quickly apply Bigen Hair Color mixture to the dry or towel dry hair with a brush. If you are partially gray haired, start application where the hair is most gray, making sure every hair strand is thoroughly covered. After application is complete, begin timing. It usually takes 20-30 minutes for the hair color to develop and cover gray. (DO NOT use dryer or cap.)
5. Your color results depend on your current color or hair conditions. After 10 minutes, check your color by wiping a strand with cotton every few minutes until the desired color is achieved. Failure to perform a strand test may result in darker shade than expected.
6. Now rinse Bigen thoroughly from the hair with warm water. Then wash the hair with mild shampoo until the water runs completely clear and free of color.
7. Low pH conditioner is recommended for satisfactory results.

NARROW BY HAIR TYPE
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
NARROW BY PRODUCT
  • Bigen Permanent Powder Hair Color (181)
Sort By
  • Date
  •  / 
  • Helpfulness
  •  / 
  • Rating
  • Great Color 5 Star Rating
    I have read all the horror stories, but I don't have any. I started using Bigen when I was in high school ( 1996). I have never have any problems or allergic reactions to it. My sister has used it as well and have had no problems. I uses it just as the directions say. I have used it periodically on and off since high school. I have great results. The color last for months. I have maybe 12 fierce gray hairs that I like to cover and my hair is naturally light brown and I want it to be jet black. This product gives me the look I am looking for. It also adds a shine or gloss to the hair. I love it. I don't suffer from any allergies, so may be that is why this product works for me.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Feb 22, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Fine or Thin Hair / Relaxed Hair
  • Black N Lovely 5 Star Rating
    I LOVE THIS PRODUCT. I HAVE BEEN USING THE ORIENTAL BLACK BIGEN HAIR COLOR FOR TWO YEARS AND IT IS GREAT. IT DOES NOT MAKE MY HAIR BREAK OFFAND IT LASTS A LONG TIME. OVERALL I THINK ITS A GREAT PRODUCT.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Feb 1, 2011
    / Columbus
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Thick or Coarse Hair
  • Permanent Hair Loss 1 Star Rating
    Beware! I have used this product (black) two years ago and it caused scalp irritation, itchiness, and hair loss at top of scalp. Now after two years, I still have scalp irritation and itchiness. And I have permanent hair loss.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jan 24, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Thick or Coarse Hair / Relaxed Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Safe And Never A Problem 5 Star Rating
    I have used Bigen dyes 46 and 47 on my blonde eyebrows for about 4 years. I have sensitive skin and have never had an allergic reaction. I love that you can mix up just enough product for a small job without a lot of waste. You can add water to make the consistency you need, and blend the powder from two or more colors easily. I use an artist's brush to put the paste on my eyebrows, wait about 8 minutes, then shower it off - voila!

    A box lasts me several months and the powder seems to keep for years. There is absolutely no odor. My eyebrows seem shinier after I use this product.

    This dye is from Nagoya JAPAN by the way - not China.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 26, 2010
    HAIR TYPE
    Blonde
  • Pleased Customer! 4 Star Rating
    My stylist used Bigen on my hair because my gray hair was very hard to cover. She assured me that if the product did not completely cover my gray that my hairstyle would be free of charge. She was right! For the first time in years I was satisfied with the results. Fortunately, I did not have an allergic reaction because no "test" was done prior to applying Bigen to my hair. I am sold on this product and will continue to use it.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 18, 2010
    / Texas
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Fine or Thin Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Digging It 4 Star Rating
    I have had an allergy to hair dye for as long as I can remember, to the extent that I have read about on this site. I used Bigen Oriental Black for the first time and I am loving it! This is the first dye that I did not have a negative reaction to and the color came out better than I had even hoped for. And for the record people, there are instructions for how to do the allergy test included with the regular directions. This is such an important part of coloring your hair. Your body is always changing and allergies can pop up at any given time. This dye does get quite dry while it is doing its thing, make sure to rinse really really well and to get all of it off of your scalp as to not have irritation. I will be using this for as long as I can find it!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 18, 2010
    / Rhode Island
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Thick or Coarse Hair
  • Disaster 1 Star Rating
    I have used this products for years with no problems, but this is my first time this year. This weekend my had drained puss, and it constantly oozed from my scalp like sweat. I woke up the next morning and went to church, after going into the rest room, I realized that my forehead and face was swelling, it was very scary. I had to be rushed to the emergency room. The doctor prescribed me Prednisone. I am doing fine now, but I will never used this product, and anyone I come in contact with, I tell them to beware.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 17, 2010
    / Mobile, AL
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Relaxed Hair
  • Do Not Use This Product It Is The Product From Hell!!! 1 Star Rating
    PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT!!!! I use this product and my face swell up, my scalp itch so bad, to where I scratched it so much I now have sores in my head, my scalp had so much puss it felt as if I had washed my hair. The only thing that stop the itching is benadryl and that only last a few hours and then it itches all over again. I have been having this problem for 2 weeks now, also it has made my hair come out. I have washed it and creased my scalp and it still itches so bad. So please I'm telling you now do not use this this product.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 8, 2010
    / Kansas City MO
  • I Say Keep It On The Market, Why Not! 4 Star Rating
    i like the bigen every since i have been using it, have never seen any side effects at all never, i love how it covers my gray for a longer period of time,i use to use the miss clairol, with the liquid developers, but what i liked about the bigen is there are no chemicals to mix, i like to just add water, i have had more breakage w/ the other color products, such as clairol, i am african american and i like the look and softness, and manageabilty, it gives my hair, i don't wear weaves or braids, i always wait at least 2 weeks or longer before applying my relaxer, gentle treatment. i use this product on myself and my daughter, and no adverse effects, my hair is thick the only thing would like to see is a lttle more in the bottle because i stretch the one bottle by adding more water to it


    overall i enjoy this product

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 4, 2010
    / Ca
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Normal Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair / Relaxed Hair
  • Thinks It Should Be Banned 1 Star Rating
    Never trust chinese products 100% PLEASE!!!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 1, 2010
    HAIR TYPE
    Normal Hair / Oily Hair / Dry Hair / Curly Hair / Color Treated Hair / Fine or Thin Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair / Relaxed Hair / Synthetic Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
Server Name