Free Shipping Over $50
How lucky is your summer? Get up to 25% off.
Bigen

Bigen Permanent Powder Hair Color

180 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Designed to elegantly color all gray or partially gray hair, enrich your natural hair color without lift. Contains no ammonia and requires no hydrogen peroxide.
$4.99
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 180 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Bigen Permanent Powder Hair Color (180)
Show All 180 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Bigen Product From Hell
    All the reviews seem to have had the same mishap, I might as well add myself to the list, I had same negative experience that majority of comments are saying. The night after using product, My scalp itched so bad till i scratched it with a hair brush in order to get so relief from itching, Next morning puss started to come out of scalp like sweat.

    All these reviews seem to have had same problem, That makes it more than isolated.
    Don't use this product or you might find yourself in same conditions as the rest of us and it sure don't feel good.
    23 out of 31 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 29, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Texas
    Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Information Is A Powerful Tool
    This is the first I heard of this product & most of the reviews that I read was about a bad reaction to the product. I want to change my hair color but I think I will stay with the color I have. It is clear that this product is not for everybody.
    10 out of 18 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 17, 2010
    Link to this post
  • New Jersey
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Allergy Test First!!!
    Okay, so after reading countless reviews, good and bad, I decided to purchase this product. Thank GOD I decided to do an allergy test spot on my inner elbow before applying to my hair. Within 24 hours, my arm broke out into a huge rash! Iching, swelling, burning and bleeding!!

    All I can say is proceed with caution. Take the extra day or 2 to run an allergy test. Trust me, if your allergic to this product, you'll be glad you did!!
    34 out of 37 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 7, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Chicago, IL
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Tiss, Tiss, Tammy From Ny. (bigen)
    Sorry, Your sister should have known better. Let your sister speak for herself.
    18 out of 26 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 2, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Chicago, IL
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Tiss, Tiss, Tammy From Ny.
    @ Tammy in Brooklyn, NY

    Anything that says permanent should have been tested before you put it in your daughter's hair. It's called a prelimenary test to test for allergic reaction. I am a Cosmetology Instructor for the state of Illinois. You people should not do any of your own chemicals yourselves. That is what we are here for. But we are not respected enough by people like you to come to use for professional advice and guidance. We just don't do hair. We help you make the right decisions when it comes to treating your hair, skin and nails. Don't down the product because you had no business doing it in the first place. Let the professionals handle special services like color, relaxers, and perms. Or, you are going to wind up spending more money treating the accident you caused.
    22 out of 39 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 2, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Can Cause Severe Side Effects
    I am a hair stylist and I do not reconmend this product. I have seen several people use this product for 7+ years and never have a reaction. Then one day come in, get the same color and have severe side effects. This include swelling of the face, tounge, and blisters, this list can goes on. If you insist on using the product keep bynadryl capsules nearby. If needed break capsule and place the contents inside capsules underneth your tounge. Good luck for you Bigen users!!!
    19 out of 24 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 28, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Charlotte, NXC
    Hair
    Black
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Negative Outcome - Irreversible
    I had a hard time retaining color in my hair and someone told me about Bigen. I used it for several months and noticed that it was staying in longer than any other color I had used. The negative side of this is my hair started to thin out terribly and because I only used the Bigen near the front I started to go bald on one side. Didn't know what was going on until one day my godson who is an established hair stylist told me that it was the Bigen. He said it was not a good product for me to use. Well I stopped using it and my hair did start filling back in, but it is still thin in that area. Don't know if it will ever get back to it's fullest. I used to have long, thick hair, now I have long thin hair. Of course going through menopause plays a part in it, however it was initially the Bigen that caused the baldness to start. And using the Bigen at the time I was going through menopause escalated the affects. Now, no matter what I use I can't seem to get my hair to grow back to its full potential in that area. At the time my hair was going bald I was so distraught I was in tears a lot. Then one day my daughter told me to stop worrying about it because they made plenty of hair. She said if I can't grow it, I can always go out and buy some. So that's what I do now. My recommendation is to not use Bigen. Even if it tests safe, the long term outcome may not be in your favor and then it might be too late to reverse the damage.
    77 out of 82 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 28, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Brooklyn, New York
    1 Star Rating
    Buyer Beware!!! Do Not Purchase!!
    My 16 year old sister used this product (Oriental Black #59) about 4 days ago and like many others who have used it - suffered a severe allergic reaction! The glands in her neck and head are swollen...and she definitely has the itchy sore scalp. Thankfully (by the grace of God) she didn't have to visit the emergency room. I've been treating her with several natural remedies (I don't trust meds to be that much more effective) and she is healing well! I have her taking up to 10 grams (or 10,000 mg) of vitamin c powder a day! Most people don't believe a person can take this much Vit C but trust me....you can....the body eats it up like candy! It not only supports her immune system but helps with the inflammation, her sore muscles, the itchy scalp and so on. I also washed her hair out (asap!) once we realized what was going on. I washed it with African black soap (this is very effective for stripping hair of any dirt/residue) and then masked the hair with a volcanic clay called Zeolite. The zeolite helps to neutralize and/or eliminate the adverse effects of the dye on the hair....this way, it has no further effect since it is a PERMANENT haircolor. Thankfully, any remaining residue was gone (she ran her fingers thru her hair several times) and the itching/redness in her scalp subsided quickly. Now....I'm just loading her body up w/ antioxidants so her nodes/glands can return to normal (the vitamin c can do this as well but the more the merrier!).....what a nightmare!

    I'm simply sharing all I did for her in the event someone becomes affected and doesn't have med insurance (like lots of folks)....it can serve as an alternative to address the allergic reaction. You can believe I will be reporting this company for poor practices! This dye more than likely has an incredibly high level of PPD (its the 2nd ingredient on the list!!) And the 1st ingredient (which I researched) is SODIUM PERBORATE. This is nothing more than a highly oxidative bleaching agent. You can even read on wikipedia that it is an "extreme irritant to skin".....

    Be careful all - your health is far more important than trying to turn heads! Blessings!
    61 out of 72 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 19, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Seattle, WA
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    This Product Should Be Be Banned By The Fda
    Up until 5 months ago, I had used this product for ten years. I thought it was a natural black henna, but apparently there is no such thing. It is a highly dangerous chemical dye made of 3 forms of PPD. Coincidently, I had been extremely ill for almost the same amount of time I had been using this product but never associated the connection because the reactions were so delayed and no reaction to patch tests. I have been on oral corticosteroids because of this product for almost ten years and no one could diagnose me. After learning that 2 friends had to be hospitalized from using Bigen I immediately stopped using it. About a month later my symptoms started to go away, now, 6 months later I am almost off medication entirely and free of the nightmare. Although it smells like flowers and looks like black henna, this chemical product is incredibly dangerous. Please google PPD and all the related chemical names before using this product, it could truly save your life.
    44 out of 48 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 18, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 2 Star Rating
    Bought Light Brown, Got Jet Black!
    I bought light chestnut brown, but after careful application as described, my hair turned JET black (with slight red hughes). I look pretty silly. The product was highly recommended. I think if I were trying this for the first time, I'd be very very careful not to leave it on the full recommended time and monitor what shade I'd reached. I'm not sure that would have saved me... Be careful! I'm trying to see if there's a way the color can be lightened...
    20 out of 24 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 25, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name