Bigen

Bigen Permanent Powder Hair Color

180 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Designed to elegantly color all gray or partially gray hair, enrich your natural hair color without lift. Contains no ammonia and requires no hydrogen peroxide.
$4.99
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 180 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Bigen Permanent Powder Hair Color (180)
Show All 180 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Milwaukee, WI
    Hair
    Black
    Relaxed Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Too Many Scalp Injuries
    I have been using Bigen Oriental Black for years. This time, I used it on Saturday & was in the hospital by sunday. This has never happened to me before. After telling others my story, I found that several people besides myself has been injured & hospitalized as well. I am a Cosmetologist & recommended this product to my clients in the past. But, now, I will have to recall that recommendation. It is not worth all of this pain just to color your hair. My scalp is burning, itching, oozing pus. My head is swollen like I was beat up, My neck has enlarged lymph nodes on both sides. I didnt leave it in too long & i rinsed it out for a while. Unfortunately, I will not be using this product anymore on my clients. I hope that the people at Hoyu can reformulate their product to make it safer for the consumer or make it so that you have to be a licensed practitioner to purchase. I would definitely suggest that it shouldn't be sold to unlicensed persons. I REALLY wish you all knew how serious this is. Some of you won't take it serious until you're atmitted to the hospital, on Prednisone, Benadryl, Antibiotics, pus soaking up your pillow & staining your mattress, hair stuck to your scalp, head throbbing, big alien forehead, etc.
    67 out of 71 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 6, 2011
    Link to this post
  • DC
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Excellent Product
    Just used this product after watching several guides on how to properly apply it. Very easy to mix and apply. Results were much better than expected. To those who had an allergic reaction my best advice is to follow the suggestion on the direction sheet and do a patch test on your skin for 48 hours prior to using it on your hair. As with all hair products, regardless of brand, there is always the chance of an allergic reaction.
    19 out of 19 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 27, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Thanks For The Advice
    I was going to purchase this product tomorrow morning and put it in my hair, but I am so glad that I found this website. I cannot believe that this product does so much, and it is still allowed to be sold to unexpected customers. I am really thankful that I found these reviews. The Lord works in mysterious ways. I probably would have been one of the people having a serious allergic reaction tomorrow, or five or ten years down the road. That is the scariest part. I'd rather be gray in my 20s. Thank you so much for telling your stories, and I wish you all the best!
    19 out of 30 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 9, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Chicago/Orlando
    Hair
    Black
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    I Like This Dye.
    I know a lot of people have had complaints about this dye in the past, saying it caused them to develop reactions This is because a few years ago the dye actually contained a lead ingredient in it, and if you look up the side effects of what that can do to one's hair-- you'll find that;s why. Since then they've revamped the formula, and even have a new semi-permanent dye which is all natural and contain soothing ingredients like honey. I used it once, and really liked it!
    23 out of 25 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 22, 2011
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Bigen!!!! Great Product!!!!!
    I have used this product for over 2 yrs now and my husband too...we love it... I do it myself and I use 1 quarter bottle each time for both of us, its perfect for our hair he is mixed Haitian and i am Jamaican and the dye works well on both my curls and his natural hair. we love the product and will always buy it..thanks BIGEN!!!
    15 out of 18 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 19, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Toronto
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Very Nice Results, No Irritation At All
    I just used this (the Medium Chestnut colour) and was very pleased with the results. The colour is quite even, the grey was all covered, and my hair looks very shiny and feels like it's in good condition - definitely an improvement over most dyes I've used in the past. Also, I was pleased at the total lack of odour, and it seemed easier to use and less messy than most other kinds, and felt like it was gentler to my hair. I experienced absolutely no irritation from it.

    My hair is shoulder-length, and I found half the bottle was enough for one use. I like that because it comes in a powder form, in a resealable bottle, it's possible to save whatever you don't use for later.

    Of course, before using it I read the instruction and did a patch test to make sure I was not allergic to it, as it says to. It sounds like many people here didn't bother with that step.

    It's kind of disappointing to see so many people giving it one-star ratings because they turned out to be allergic to it. Permanent hair dyes are strong by their nature, and for any product out there, someone somewhere is probably going to be allergic to it. That doesn't make it a bad product overall - it just makes it a bad choice for the people who happen to be allergic to it. I wish people would remember that difference. As someone else noted, there are people out there who will die if they eat peanut butter - that doesn't make peanut butter a bad product in itself - it's perfectly fine for most people.

    It's also worth noting that it's possible to develop an allergy or sensitivity to a product over time - I know a number of people who have had that happen with hair dyes (not this particular kind, but a variety of others). That's why the instructions on most dyes now say to do a patch test even if you've used the product before.

    So please, people - I know it's upsetting to have a bad reaction to something, but try and stay rational, and realize the difference between bad for you and bad in general. And always, ALWAYS do a patch test before using any dye. No matter how many times you've used it.
    57 out of 62 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 20, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Providence, RI
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Was Sceptical, But Love Hte Success!!!
    I never heard about this product until i walked into Sally's Beauty supply and shared my hair drama. I had very golden caramel and blonde highlights on dark brown based hair color. I am a person tha thas dyed my hair from black, to blonde, to black, etc. in the past. My hair is chin length so i dont have much to work with or risk with color! I normally drop at least 100 bucks to go to the salon and have my hair died with minimul damage when going back to dark. The woman at Sallys recommended Bigen Hair powder permanent dye. When i found out you add water to powder, i did not belive it would work or even trust it at all. After all, How can powder with no amonia or harsh chemicals work? Plus, i didnt want to risk putting a random product in my hair with the risk that it would not covery my highlights. I used it last night, waited the 20 minutes, and poof-my hair was beautiful. No highlights, no damange! I blow dried it to get the full effect and am 100% satisfied! I have not had any dramatic reactions at all either. As far as im concerned, i will just keep using it forever and save literally thousands of dollars in dark permanent dye in my lifetime! I have thin straight hair too..i am fair skinned and it took PERFECTLY! I recommend!
    27 out of 30 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 18, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Relaxed Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Bigen's The Greatest For My White Headband
    I have extensive gray hair especially around my hairline. Someone even once told me I was wearing a white head band, that was rather embarrassing. I have used Bigen for about four years and have no problems. Actually there was a period when I couldn't get Bigen and used another product and had serious loss aroun my hairline.Am happy to say Bigen is now back on the market and I will continue using it. Sorry to hear all the horror stories but individuals react differently to different products.
    18 out of 19 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 14, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Florida
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    5 Years Of Satisfaction And Counting!
    My hair is thick, beautiful and healthy. I have used Bigen immediately following a relaxer and weeks after with the same level of satisfaction. I have recommended Bigen to several friends and family and will continue to do so. It is an outstanding product and easy to use. As with any product, we must be wise enough to follow instructions, strand test, skin test and watch for a reaction. Everyone is different and a small minority may be allergic to certain ingredients used to manufacture a product that the majority may not be. We must take responsibility for our own actions or lack thereof. If we experience excessive itching, swelling, blistering and other symptoms of allergies, one of two things has occured. 1)We did not perform the strand/skin test and/or 2)If we did the test, we ignored the results. Be Informed, Be Blessed and Be Beautiful! Black Butterfly
    23 out of 25 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 12, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best I Found Does Not Cause Breakage To My Hair.
    I started using this product about 8 years ago. Discovered it at ultra black publications I relax my hair then apply # 59 as soon as it is mixed. I find it does not break my hair like the regular hair coloring. I like that I use water only to mix and apply and can rinse and wash out the excess withing 10 minutes and it last till the roots begin to grow out.
    16 out of 18 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 8, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name