PlayTrickorTreat
Jerome Russell

Jerome Russell's Punky Hair Color

227 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Colors that condition and shine. Last longer on chemically treated or bleached hair.
$8.95
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 227 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Jerome Russell's Punky Hair Color (227)
Show All 227 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Glendale,CA
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Way Better Than Manic Panic.
    Trust.I've died my hair since 7th grade. I've now graduated high school and I've been dying my hair soo much, I decided to try manic panic because it's the "best" & unfortunatley,it's not. The color washed out VERY quickly. UNLIKE JEROME RUSSELL! This stuff SMELLS phenomenal, It lasted waaaay longer than MP.The color is VERY vibrant. I LOVE THIS! I reccomend it to EVERYONE. JR>>>>MP :)
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 10, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Sc
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Best Red Dye Ever!
    I love this product. I decided to bleach my hair first with Jerome Russells bleaching kit and then put on the Punky Fire hair color. It was amazing. I love my hair color. It was bright red just the way I want it. I plan to buy more of this product and get my hair dye has much has I can. Thank you so much for me to buy this affordable product for me and others.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 24, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Oily Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Pink Not Red
    I got a jar of Poppy Red last x-mas. I thought it would be red but it came out hotter then neon pink. I cryed at first but by the next day i got over it. I even dyed it more pink before I went form winter break. My best freand thought it looked good but sceary at the same time. in the end it didn't come out fully till March. I have used other breands before but they didn't last this long but one and stoped makeing it. it was in my mom's hairs from halloween till x-mas.
    7 out of 10 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 15, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    First-timer
    Just tried Jerome Russell's Punky Colour in Atlantic Blue, and it turned out great. I applied it over bleached tips for 60 minutes and the result was a deep, rich royal blue color. The dye will stain pretty quickly, so wear gloves and old clothing. I was able to scrub off the dye that ended up on my arms the day of, so don't be afraid you'll be blue forever. In short, I would definitely recommend Punky Colours!
    9 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 4, 2011
    Link to this post
  • South Central Minnesota
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Tried So Many...this Is The Best!
    I came across my first tub of Punky color at the local Hot Topic (the only other place to get hair dye around here besides a Sally's) and was very happy with the outcome. I chose violet, which really started out as a deep blue and after a week seemed to transcend to a purple color. I had wanted blue to begin with, but the limited selection left me with Violet, and I am glad I was forced to that choice. It was the exact color I wanted. I have tried others since Hot Topic AND our local Sally's stopped carrying Punky colour, and NONE of them are worth a dollar. N'Rage, Manic Panic, Color JamZ ("pro formula" so they say), all three lasted no more than 3 days. Punky Colour lasted 2 months! I have not had the issue with staining while hair is damp, in fact, the color has held really well. (Though I have not tried a chlorinated swimming pool effect yet...I assume it would be catastrophic...) And anyone that commented earlier about the stuff smelling like candy? Right on! The violet smells like grape bubblegum. Oh, and a flat iron has no ill effects either. Keep it up Punky! You're my only hope.
    14 out of 14 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 29, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    How To Work The Product?
    I want to bleach and color my hair with Jerome Russell products? Do I put bleach on my dry hair, wait for the 60-90 mins. because my hair is dark brown,wash it out the bleach with water, then put the punky color in my wet hair, wait for 30 mins., then wash the dye and shampoo my hair? Or is it some other way? Please help me I would really appreciate it. Thank you.
    18 out of 22 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 16, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Los Angeles, CA
    Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Awesome Vibrant Color!!!
    I really love this brand. I dyed half of my hair blue but first i had to bleach it cuz i have black hair but wen I washed out the blue it was so awsome looking!! And after 4 washes it was still cool.. I used lagoon blue. But the only con is that I wake up with a blue hand and a green neck. And I hate that it does that. And last week I went for a walk and my hair was down and my back was all green. I did not appreciate that at all! And I love going for walks but I dot want a green back.. So it was a good color and it stays in but it just stains every thing..
    5 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 8, 2011
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Black
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Flamingo Pink, Have Used For 8 Months Now
    After bleaching my hair from black to blonde and dyeing it pink in college for the first time, I had to find an appropriate substitute for the vibrant pink that was fading away. Manic Panic always faded too quickly and Special Effects never gave me the deep pink I wanted.

    Then someone recommended this to me and it worked wonders. Not only that, but it smelled way better than the other dyes. It's a better texture than the other dyes I've used, so it's easier to apply. Lasts a great long while and fades nicely :) And because my hair is so dead from all the bleaching, the dye conditions it nicely. I use Flamingo PInk.
    Before Photo
    36 out of 37 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 15, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Mass
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Everyone Loved My Hair.
    I have used this product a few times, and every time its come out beautifully bright in color, and completely conditioned. The only thing i dont like is it stains my hands. A small price to pay for pretty hair. My first really big dye job i used this product, Lagoon Blue and Plum, and they both fade to pretty colors. These took a while to fade, if i used cooler water. Now, the one i didnt like was the Rubine or Pillarbox Red (I cant remember which one at the moment) which faded to the ugliest color i have ever seen in my entire life. It was all Different shades of orange and yellow at my roots, and at the tips it was still red. It looked awful to stay the least. Ill be ordering the Plum and Purple again for my next color (: **bleaching before use results in brighter colors !
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    12 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 4, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Kutztown,pa
    Hair
    Grey
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great
    i purchased midnight blue,,,,it is true to color......i have washed my hair every day for a week now. even used a cleansing shampoo to vitalize my hair....the color just started to fade yesterday.... i only have about 4-5 fairly wide streaks in the front of my hair but the color has really lasted. with another product i could only wash my hair every other day with a regular shampoo for curly hair because the color would start to fade. i wish jr had some pastel colors..but all the review that i read before purchase are correct,,,,COLOR DOES LAST LONGER (for me anyway)
    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 3, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name