Free Shipping Over $50
20% off 4 Stars
Jerome Russell

Jerome Russell's Punky Hair Color

227 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Colors that condition and shine. Last longer on chemically treated or bleached hair.
$8.95
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 227 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Jerome Russell's Punky Hair Color (227)
Show All 227 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • 5 Star Rating
    Great Stuff!
    I reallllly like this stuff. i used Flamingo pink in my light blonde hair(not bleached) and it lasted at least 4 months..the only bad thing i found is that it really stains everything..your towels hands and bathtub..but its worth it!!(it will eventually come out of ur tub if you use bleach)
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 22, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Santa Ana,ca
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    3 Star Rating
    There's Good && Badd Things.
    there is bad andd good thing about punky colour,ive dyed my hair blue with this dye about a year now andd i like that the color stays for like about 3 weeks but i hate that it's REALLY messy and fades in EVERY washh!i cant go to the pool with my hair going from intense blue to turcoise,and it stains a lot of my clothes and towles but while i keep it dry it's all good,p.s if youu want to keep it longer wash hair with dry shampoo:)
    3 out of 5 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 28, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Los Angeles
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Leaves Hair Super Healthy!
    Okay, this is my first time dying my hair (other than bleaching in streaks in third grade; ruined my hair for at least two or three years) and got the Punky Colour in Red Wine. And... I LOVE IT! Since I didn't bleach my hair first its a bit muted, but the color is very complimentary with brown hair and it leaves my hair really healthy! Plus it looks great in the sun, and toned down indoors so it's not too bold. The only bad thing is that it likes to stain EVERYTHING so i dye it outside and after I rinse in the shower I basically scrub everything with bleach and my face and hands with super strong acne soap (it works best :P).

    But I still recommend this brand a ton!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 22, 2010
    Link to this post
  • New Mexico
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great, Long-lasting Color!
    I've been using these Jerome Russell Punky Colour products for almost three years now and I only have good things to say about them! I've used the red, pink, and now the plum colors and they are all very vibrant and long-lasting. I tried the pink manic panic when I ran out of this and was very disappointed; it looked good but didn't last half as long! They are pretty messy but as long as you clean your tub right after you dye your hair and use shampoo or some nail polish remover to get the dye off your skin its not too much of a problem. I would recommend these to anyone daring enough to try the crazy colors! Here's a pic of the plum color.
    Before Photo
    27 out of 27 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 29, 2010
    Link to this post
  • New Mexico
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great, Long-lasting Color!
    I've been using these Jerome Russell Punky Colour products for almost three years now and I only have good things to say about them! I've used the red, pink, and now the plum colors and they are all very vibrant and long-lasting. I tried the pink manic panic when I ran out of this and was very disappointed; it looked good but didn't last half as long! They are pretty messy but as long as you clean your tub right after you dye your hair and use shampoo or some nail polish remover to get the dye off your skin its not too much of a problem. I would recommend these to anyone daring enough to try the crazy colors! Here's a pic of the plum color.
    Before Photo
    8 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 29, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Paducah
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love It
    i love this stuff!! first off i bought this in plum and its a really pretty purple at first its kinda dark and then it fade out to a very pretty bright purple and it last me about a month or more (on bleach hair) second the only bad about this is that it does stain everything!!! so i would say wash ur hair with a hose outside if possible and if u cant be carefull washing it out in white sinks. it does come off with dish soap and after a few washes it will fade out since this is a stain so it might just take a lil bit. i would use manic panic but that stuff dont work for my hair at all. and a big plus this stuff smelllsss amazing!!!
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 24, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Platinum Blonde
    Fine or Thin Hair
    1 Star Rating
    This Stuff Is Total Crap!
    This stuff is the worst! I've been dying my hair for well over 10 years. I've had every color of the rainbow. I finally tried this brand. I used Mandarin. I bleached my hair as usual then applied the dye the next morning. Being summer time I have to wash my hair every day or the heat and humidity makes it fairly oily. I didn't wash it the next day but I did the day after that. After ONE washing the color faded so badly! It was so disappointing! I skipped a day of washing again since I didn't want it to fade anymore. Inevitably, I had to wash it. When I got out of the shower I was shocked to see how terrible it looked! I have 3 or 4 shades ranging from pale orange to almost red orange. And, it does NOT look nice at all! I would NEVER recommend this brand to anyone EVER! It's crap!
    24 out of 26 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 22, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Red Deer,Alberta
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Stuff Ever
    I used this product back in the early 90's and loved it then. I found it again at a store by my house and still LOVE it. I bought Flamingo pink and it has lasted for over a month all I have done to it is touched up the roots. My derby girls love it too. I work in the schools and the Kids love the color.

    I have an order at the store for 6 more bottles I just hope they keep carrying it. I have used manic panic and fudge but I will stick to this brand.

    Keep it up Jerome Russell.

    janice
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 12, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    3 Years Green, Never Want To Go Back
    I use Spring Green, Alpine Green and Apple Green (alpine and apple are both quite blue) and I find that I need to reapply when my roots grow out, naturally, but my hair is still strikingly green even after 5 weeks.
    Punky Color makes my hair incredibly silky and it smells wonderful.
    I do bleach with half a bottle of Clairol Palest Blond (the first one I used because it was on sale, worked well so I just haven't tried anything else) even though I'm a natural strawberry blond... I find that just 10 minutes of mild bleaching makes the green bright enough to shame tropical fish.
    I don't use Vaseline or baby oil because it's more gross then helpful, and anyone who says Punky Color stains their neck clearly has an aversion to washcloths and soap... just a little scrub, perhaps a little more vigorously than a regular shower, and my neck is perfectly pink.
    I leave the color on for a few hours when I apply per another review's suggestion and I don't know if it makes a difference... the shortest time I've left it on is about an hour.
    Punky does run with my shampoo (Aussie Moist) and conditioner (Suave) for the first 3-5 washes and occassionally I get a green streak on my towel, but it comes out in the washer and doesn't stain other clothes. The grout in my shower has a green tint, but I've been green for 3 years now, so that's to be expected.
    Do be careful you don't splotch it on your table or floor, because that definately doesn't come out... though I've had some luck with a Mr. Clean Magic Eraser if I catch it soon enough.
    I wrap the earpieces of my glasses in cling film since I'm blind as a bat.

    Biggest Pro: little kids thinking I'm a mermaid or fairy... like... REALLY.
    Biggest Con: idiots thinking I went green just for Saint Patricks Day, and the even worse idiots wondering why half my hair isn't red for Christmas... idiots...
    Biggest Suprise: even with my hair in 2 buns no one has ever said I look like a Warcraft gnome.
    Before Photo
    23 out of 26 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 2, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    5 Star Rating
    Best Colors I've Used So Far
    I've dyed my hair bright colors many, many times. This was the first time I used Punky and I have to say I'm absolutely in love with how bright the colors turned out. As others have said, use some vaseline and gloves to keep your skin from being dyed and keep some tilex around for your bathroom and you'll be good to go. It definitely helps to bleach your hair ahead of time if you want the really bright colors. I used the Violet, Atlantic Blue, and Flamingo Pink. My only specific warning is be extra careful with the violet because if it gets on any surface, you're going to be working for awhile to get it out.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    6 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 29, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name