Free Shipping Over $50
Labor Day Sale
Jerome Russell

Jerome Russell's Punky Hair Color

227 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Colors that condition and shine. Last longer on chemically treated or bleached hair.
$8.95
 

Reviews

Based on 227 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Jerome Russell's Punky Hair Color (227)
Show All 227 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Florida
    5 Star Rating
    Perfect
    the best I've ever used! The color lasts very long too. My original hair color was dark brown. I had to bleach it about three times to get it the blonde I wanted. My hair was mildly damaged, mostly my ends were. I trimmed them before I put the color it. I left the punky colour in for an hour and rinsed the colors our separately to prevent the colors from mixing. It does stain bathroom counters so I would recommend putting newspaper around there. The only bad thing about it is that when my hair is wet, I can't have it touch anything white otherwise it'll bleed onto it. Other than that it's great. I would recommend this product to ANYONE. The colors I used were Atlantic blue (the darker blue), turquoise, flamingo pink, and plum. I also bought bright yellow which I will be using once this color comes out.
    Before Photo
    10 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 21, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Auburn, GA
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    I Won't Use Any Other Color.
    AMAZING! It's easy to apply and lasts! I've used blue and purple. LOVE IT!
    2 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 18, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing
    Ive been using this for a little over a year and have had my hair four different colors. I tried before using manic panic and other brands from hot topic and stuff but they just didnt work as well. The color takes FOREVER to fade for me, but i guess it depends on how you wash your hair. The colors are soo vibrant and gorgeous on bleached hair. yes, they are messy, if your worried just cover your counters and wear gloves. i find that hand sanitizer actually works really well to take it of counters. YES i would definatly reccomend these to anyone looking for some crazy bold hair :)
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 13, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Auburn
    Normal Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Going Green Has Never Been Easier!
    ok, so I first dared to use a color change 3 months ago, I used a product called splat, it worked out fine in fact it lasted way longer then I expected, but in the small town I live in the fact that I settled for the pink and didn't get green like I'd wanted to was my only disappointment...now fast forward to NOW?¦ I went back to the drug store and was hoping to find green coloring in the splat but I didn't in fact the supply had depreciated in 3 months and my hair other than grow our was still going strong... so I asked a gal that worked there about getting the product mentioned in, in the green...as I waited for an answer another gal who worked there said "have you tried this?"... and it was a jar of PUNKY COLOR in a small jar...she dug out a SPRING GREEN and said it's just the same but with out the bleaching product and she has used it herself in the past and liked it WAY better, so I said what the Hey, I'll give it a try, and here we are, giving it a try... now other then trying to get the pink out of my hair, (not Punky's fault) I got it as bleached as I could without melting my lockes...and DAMN I win! Punky wins the pool! I will never use anything else EVER! it comes off your skin as long as you attend to it as it hits...and I covered my counter with tinfoil and used HOT water to clean up my tools. As for the rinse since I only do the front of my hairline I use the sink BUT I make sure to have some scrubbing bubbles at the ready to bleach any discoloration...works well! My hair is VIBRANT and the effects are AMAZING! Yes I bleached the pink out (as much as I could) and since the PUNKY Spring Green touch up is a wee bit darker then the first app, but it's still wonderfully GREEN!
    As for the one comment that people feel the need to comment on the hair color, those people are just unfun! ;-)
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 7, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Chicago
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Pinky Purple
    I loved this product. But wanted to specify that this purple is a kind of pinky purple. Very pretty but not straight purple... just fyi :)
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 16, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Puts Manic Panic To Shame!
    I've been using Punky Colors for about a year now & I'll NEVER use anything else! I've used Flamingo Pink (magenta, darker pink), Turquoise, Purple (between dark pink and purple) & Plum (rich, dark purple) and they all held so well! Punky Colors is by far the longest lasting semi-permanent out there (which is rad, because anyone who's dyed their hair an unnatural color for an extended period of time knows that it isn't cheap). The only bad thing to say about it is that yes, it stains the skin (which can be avoided by using vaseline around the hairline & on the neck and wearing gloves to apply & rinse the dye) and that the darker colors transfer quite a bit. Those are pretty small prices to pay for having awesome hair, though. Smells like Dimetapp or grape markers, not damaging at all, fairly cheap ($10 Canadian vs. $17 for Manic Panic). It probably sounds like I work for the company, but honestly, this is the best semi-permanent out there.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 8, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Pretty Good.
    I like the selection of hair colors.. Been coloring my hair for ohhh.... 10 years with semi and demi colors... I usually got my colors at Sally Beauty Supply - However.. They I guess discontinued selling Punky Professional - A demi rather than semi hair color.. It lasted MUCH longer than this product, it only came in a few colors but it didn't bleed out, and lasted for MONTHS. I've been forced to use Manic Panic for quite some time due to my location and not being able to wait to change my hair color in time to order it off the internet :P I'm getting really sick of their selection and iv'e mixed just about every color with another @.@ - I did find that this Punky Colors does not seem to last as long as Manic Panic though. I Really like the N'Rage line ( < Also RAW ) But they seem to come out too dark. A tip on your color not bleeding so much - ONLY use cold water ( not even warm ) And do not use shampoos and conditioners that strip the colors out. Unless you are trying to make your color fade, which is also cool. ^.- Or if you want to just tint it use Beyond the Zone - it seems very waxy and uh if you color your hair more frequently it will wash out just in time for a new one :D
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 18, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Color
    The only vibrant color that really lasts.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 1, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Minnesota
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Awesome
    used this brand a million times. colors stays bright , doesn't fade too quickly, no super chemically smell. bought the purple dye once and i swear it smelled like one of those scented markers you used in school. kind of grape-y
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 4, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Asheville, NC
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Hair Dye I've Ever Used.
    Punky is the best hair dye I've ever used, and it's cheaper than the more well known Manic Panic and a thousand times better.
    I've used the Flamingo Pink and Rose Red and both are fabulous. I left it in my hair for nearly two hours and it was the brightest color I've ever had. it lasted much longer than any other hair dyes I've used.
    I used the pink and a Manic Panic blue together and was awfully disappointed in the Manic Panic. It took two dyes and lasted two days while Punky was extremely vibrant and lasted for weeks.
    I will never use any other brand other than this one!
    Before Photo
    21 out of 26 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 3, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name