Take 20% off site wide with code FRIENDS20

one 'n only Colorfix

Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
$18.95
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.

Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.

  • SKU: P8302   /  
  • Guaranteed Authentic
  • This package includes 4 fl oz (118 ml) Color Reducer, 4 fl oz (118 ml) Conditioning Catalyst, and 4 fl oz (118 ml) Processing Lotion
  • Gently removes permanent hair color no matter how long it has been in hair.
  • Easily removes any level of hair color.
  • Effective on all hair types - leaves hair in optimum condition.
  • Precise control formula is easy to mix and apply.
  • Does not contain ammonia, or formaldehyde.
  • Gently reduces the size of color molecules, allows for easy color removal.
  • No unpleasant odor.
  • From 6 to 16 applications depending on whether use is for partial or full color correction.

Before using colorfix After using colorfix

Directions

For full color correction:

  1. Apply to dry hair.
  2. Mix equal parts of  Colorfix Part 1 Color Reducer and Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst in tint bowl or an applicator bottle. (Mix as much as will be needed for the density and length of hair that requires correction.) Wearing gloves and using a tint brush, apply quickly and evenly to the hair. If mixed in an applicator bottle, shake vigorously until thoroughly mixed (45 seconds to 1 minute). Gently work through the hair to ensure even penetration. After mixing Part 1 Color Reducer and Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst, use as quickly as possible, since the activity of the mixture decrease with time.
  3. Cover loosely with a plastic cap, and process up to 20 minutes. Strand test frequently. Low, warm dryer heat may be used to speed processing time.
  4. Rinse hair for 3-5 minutes and shampoo. If sufficient color is not removed, repeat Step 2 and 3 (this may be done on damp, towel-dried hair). Depending on condition of scalp and hair, do not repeat process more than 2-3 times.
  5. When desired level of color removal has been achieved, apply Processing Lotion for 5 minutes. (Due to the nature of dye molecules, it is possible that hair may redarken to an unacceptable level. If it does, repeat Steps 2-4 on damp hair, until sufficient color is removed.)
  6. Rinse well. Dry hair with a warm heat setting. (A hot setting may cause scalp irritation.) You may now proceed with your color application, if performing a full color corrective service.

For slight color correction (lighten color that has gone too dark or ashen):

  1. Mix 1/4 oz Part 1 Color Reducer + 1/4 oz Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst + 1 oz Shampoo.
  2. Wearing gloves, apply to damp, towel-dried hair. Apply only to the areas of the hair that require lightening, and work into lather. To determine timing, take a strand test frequently.
  3. When the desired shade has been reached, rinse thoroughly and shampoo.

Tips for successful color correction:

  • Always strand test color formulas to be used prior to application. Remember, porous hair will absorb colors more quickly and the resulting hair color may be slightly darker. You may need to formulate 1-2 levels lighter than desired result.
  • Always use a low pH conditioner after an application of Colorfix. This will help protect the hair, and return it to a more normal state.
  • Colorfix is developed to remove oxidative dyes. Since most semipermanent colors are combination of direct dyes and oxidative dyes, Colorfix may only partially remove these.

Part 1 Color Reducer
Water (Aqua), Sodium Hydroxymethane, Sulfinic Acid, Hydroxyethyl Cellulose,Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothizolinone.

Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst
Water (Aqua), Citric Acid, Cetearyl Alcohol/Dicetyl Phosphate/Ceteth Phosphate,Cetearyl Alcohol, Fragrance, DMDM Hydantoin, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, PentasodiumPentetate.

Processing Lotion
Deionized Water (Aqua), Hydrogen Peroxide, Dimethicone Copolyol Medowfoamate,Simethicone, Phosphoric Acid.

NARROW BY HAIR TYPE
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
NARROW BY PRODUCT
  • one 'n only Colorfix (508)
Sort By
  • Date
  •  / 
  • Helpfulness
  •  / 
  • Rating
  • Worked As Described 5 Star Rating
    I bought this not really knowing if it work for me. I died my hair a dark brown over light brown and it turned it black. My natural hair color is a reddish brown. The Color Fix brought it back to its natural color. I would recommend not leaving it on for long time. It took only about 10 minutes for mine to work.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 27, 2005
    / Birmingham, AL
  • I Wonder 4 Star Rating
    i wonder if this stuff works i mean i dyed my hair black i dont want it any more its semi perminent and its not gone! i hate its and so does my boyfreind i want it back to brown

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 24, 2005
    / New Hampshire
  • Great Product 5 Star Rating
    this product worked great. I have used lots of color removers that were much more harsh. I did the shampoo method and did not do the 3rd step due to the other comments about it making your hair turn dark again. It did smell but if you color it the same day it eleminates most of the odor. Use a really good shampoo and conditioner,redkin allsoft and heavy cream,the best! my hair was and has been many shades of darkest brown and lift to a peachy brown,capable of taking a lighter brown now.xoxo

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 23, 2005
    / Los Angeles
  • One Word.... Miracle 5 Star Rating
    I had a family wedding to attend, and thought that I would just get rid of the gray for it. I, being a novice at hair color, went to the local store to buy color. I had no idea what to choose, since the only other attempt I had made was way to light. My natural hair is very dark. Looking at all the boxes was so confusing. I saw one that said "soft black" since it looked close to my color on the box I chose it.....BIG MISTAKE!! It came out VERY black. There was NOTHING soft about it. I called the company, and they told me I was stuck with it, and black is black, no matter what you call it. I could not stand passing a mirror! I looked like a 40 year old goth wanna be. I found this product on line, and read other stories, So I too went to Sallys, and I was so happy with the results when I got done that I cried!!! This product has given me back my self esteem. I now want to stand in front of the mirror instead of running in horror. :)

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 22, 2005
    / East Greenbush, NY
  • Definitely Worth Trying 4 Star Rating
    Id been having foil highlights for the last 2 yrs. My natural hair color is dark dark brown. Then decided to try an all over color a week ago. Big mistake, the color was way too dark for my complexion, I hated it. I read the reviews for colorfix here 1st, then bought it from Sally Beauty. It was very easy to use. My hair looked a little reddish at first, but I can now see the previous higlights again and the dark color is toned way down to a light brown. Id say its definitely worth trying if you are unhappy with your color.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 15, 2005
    / Seattle
  • Colorfix Did Exactly What I Wanted!!! 5 Star Rating
    A year ago, my home-colored hair was severely damaged by a perm from a high-end "chain" salon. Sure, I go my money back, but the damage was already done. With teeth clenched, I continued to color my hair, and was very unhappy with the way it faded from med brown to red, and how dry it was despite all the deep conditioning treatments I was using. It finally occured to me that my hair was so coated with color that it was resisting both conditioners and color. With advice from a "Sallys" employee, I bought Colorfix (for $13.99) and hoped and prayed it wouldnt further damage my hair. IT WORKED GREAT! I spent hours reading all these reviews and took the plunge. I used one ounce of salon shampoo with one ounce each of parts 1 & 2, and left it on for 30 minutes. I did not use the processor because I saw it contained peroxide (it also wasnt clear to me what this step accomplished). I deep conditoned and colored with a semi-permanent hair color and finished with another deep conditioner. I was amazed at how quickly and evenly the color took (10 min) and how soft and shiny my hair was. Its possible I could have removed more color with a second treatment, but I didnt want to take the chance. And the smell? Come on girls, it isnt nearly as bad as a perm! By the time I used a couple conditioners, I couldnt smell it at all. Colorfix REALLY delivered for me!!!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 11, 2005
    / VA
  • Colorfix=gooood 5 Star Rating
    yes!! it did work. I decied to dye my light blond bottled hair red becuase i thought it be cute. boy was i worng i got a purple red and after a few days the red faded and i hated it so i went out and brought colorfix for sallys and withtin 5 minutes i was a light blond again! it didnt return my hair to its natural color(im not even sure what that is anymore) but it did get all the red out! i didnt even use the whole bottles

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 9, 2005
  • Far Better Than Stripping The Hair W/ Perocide & Bleach, I Think. 3 Star Rating
    I honestly have mixxed feelings about this product. I have normaly natural dark ash blonde hair. I have been dying my hair for the last few years. By accident 3 months back I went to dark using a Brandy Brown on my hair, just too dark for my skin tone. So when I used this stuff, I honestly could not believe how well it worked. My hair went to a light strawberry blonde in about 20 minutes. BUT... it was uneven and I was ready to recolor. I bought a very light shade of brown / dark blonde. WOW WARNING.... for some strange reason my hair went back to exactly the same dark color after only processing with the new color for ten minutes! I quickly tried to wash out the new color but it was to late. It grabbed. So BE CAREFUL. I have no idea why my hair went back to the dark brandy brown color... very strange indeed. I was so excited at first when I saw how light my hair got. HMMMMMMM.... what happened?

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 5, 2005
    / Pennsylvania
  • Awesome Product! 5 Star Rating
    My natural color is a light brown but after coloring it blond for about 3 years, I Thought I wanted a change. So what did this brain child do but go and color it Black Cherry. (I think the name got me!) Well what a disaster with my skin coloring I resembled a 33 year old gothic princess. UGH! after crying for 2 days and calling all of the help lines only to be told there was nothing I could do, I found this product online. I went directly to Sallys and purchased it. well low and behold after using it I can smile again. It brought my hair back just a shade more strawberry blonde than before but I love it!! GREAT PRODUCT!!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Sep 25, 2005
    / Hershey, Pa
  • Purple And Gray Accident 4 Star Rating
    I have been dyeing my hair blonde for 7 years and have only come into problems when going brown to blonde or brown to blonde on rare occasions. A couple of days ago I ran into a big problem just going from an almost platinum blonde to a color called "Platinum Crytal" by Feria, which is an extra light ash blonde. My hair turned a horrifying grayish purple. I then attempted to color over this with a medium brown and got grayish brown. Colorfix was able to get out all of the brown and gray at first and brought me to a very brassy blonde which I predicted and then figured Id bleach out the orange the next morning. Well, my good news only lasted for about an hour. My hair kept gradually getting darker again. Very strange.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Sep 23, 2005
Server Name