Valentine's Day Sale

one 'n only Colorfix

Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
$18.95
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.

Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.

  • SKU: P8302   /  
  • Guaranteed Authentic
  • This package includes 4 fl oz (118 ml) Color Reducer, 4 fl oz (118 ml) Conditioning Catalyst, and 4 fl oz (118 ml) Processing Lotion
  • Gently removes permanent hair color no matter how long it has been in hair.
  • Easily removes any level of hair color.
  • Effective on all hair types - leaves hair in optimum condition.
  • Precise control formula is easy to mix and apply.
  • Does not contain ammonia, or formaldehyde.
  • Gently reduces the size of color molecules, allows for easy color removal.
  • No unpleasant odor.
  • From 6 to 16 applications depending on whether use is for partial or full color correction.

Before using colorfix After using colorfix

Directions

For full color correction:

  1. Apply to dry hair.
  2. Mix equal parts of  Colorfix Part 1 Color Reducer and Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst in tint bowl or an applicator bottle. (Mix as much as will be needed for the density and length of hair that requires correction.) Wearing gloves and using a tint brush, apply quickly and evenly to the hair. If mixed in an applicator bottle, shake vigorously until thoroughly mixed (45 seconds to 1 minute). Gently work through the hair to ensure even penetration. After mixing Part 1 Color Reducer and Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst, use as quickly as possible, since the activity of the mixture decrease with time.
  3. Cover loosely with a plastic cap, and process up to 20 minutes. Strand test frequently. Low, warm dryer heat may be used to speed processing time.
  4. Rinse hair for 3-5 minutes and shampoo. If sufficient color is not removed, repeat Step 2 and 3 (this may be done on damp, towel-dried hair). Depending on condition of scalp and hair, do not repeat process more than 2-3 times.
  5. When desired level of color removal has been achieved, apply Processing Lotion for 5 minutes. (Due to the nature of dye molecules, it is possible that hair may redarken to an unacceptable level. If it does, repeat Steps 2-4 on damp hair, until sufficient color is removed.)
  6. Rinse well. Dry hair with a warm heat setting. (A hot setting may cause scalp irritation.) You may now proceed with your color application, if performing a full color corrective service.

For slight color correction (lighten color that has gone too dark or ashen):

  1. Mix 1/4 oz Part 1 Color Reducer + 1/4 oz Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst + 1 oz Shampoo.
  2. Wearing gloves, apply to damp, towel-dried hair. Apply only to the areas of the hair that require lightening, and work into lather. To determine timing, take a strand test frequently.
  3. When the desired shade has been reached, rinse thoroughly and shampoo.

Tips for successful color correction:

  • Always strand test color formulas to be used prior to application. Remember, porous hair will absorb colors more quickly and the resulting hair color may be slightly darker. You may need to formulate 1-2 levels lighter than desired result.
  • Always use a low pH conditioner after an application of Colorfix. This will help protect the hair, and return it to a more normal state.
  • Colorfix is developed to remove oxidative dyes. Since most semipermanent colors are combination of direct dyes and oxidative dyes, Colorfix may only partially remove these.

Part 1 Color Reducer
Water (Aqua), Sodium Hydroxymethane, Sulfinic Acid, Hydroxyethyl Cellulose,Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothizolinone.

Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst
Water (Aqua), Citric Acid, Cetearyl Alcohol/Dicetyl Phosphate/Ceteth Phosphate,Cetearyl Alcohol, Fragrance, DMDM Hydantoin, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, PentasodiumPentetate.

Processing Lotion
Deionized Water (Aqua), Hydrogen Peroxide, Dimethicone Copolyol Medowfoamate,Simethicone, Phosphoric Acid.

NARROW BY HAIR TYPE
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
NARROW BY PRODUCT
  • one 'n only Colorfix (505)
Sort By
  • Date
  •  / 
  • Helpfulness
  •  / 
  • Rating
  • Omg Don't Buy This! 1 Star Rating
    I have naturally brown hair, and I have died it darker which was a dumb idea. I bought this product along with my friend, and we both tried this on our hair...Well it turned hers orange and it turned my hair red (even after doing it 3 times). Not only was it not even close to my natural hair color.... It also has made my hair permanently rubbery all over my hair and I am not able to brush it without it falling out!!!! My friends did the same thing, just not as bad.. I would never recommend this to anyone! Four months later with hundreds of dollars of conditioners that I have bought, and still rubber hair :((

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    May 12, 2013
    HAIR TYPE
    Medium Brown / Color Treated Hair
  • Amazing Product! Took Me From Deep Dark Red To Caramel! 5 Star Rating
    I left it on my hair for an hour with a plastic bag over top, and a towel wrapped over top the plastic bag. I used a blowdryer every 20 min for 3 minutes to add heat.

    I rinsed for 20 straight minutes, shampooed with a clarifying shampoo with a tbsp of baking soda 3 times. I then put an Ion Brilliance conditoner pack on it for 10 min. I rinsed and rinsed some more.

    the end result was an orangey puke color. I re-applied and let sit on my hair for another 45 min, using heat here and there. I repeated my rinsing for 20 minutes and 3 shampoos, and lots of conditioner. I then blow dried and the result was a caramel looking color with some orange tones. I applied the processing lotion (which is so important, its crazy not to use it!) for 5 minutes and rinsed. the result was a lighter caramel with less orange tones.

    It smelled gross..pretty unbearable really. But after rinsing and lots of shampoo with baking soda(natural odor eliminator) it didnt smell bad at all. only when its wet i can smell it faintly(i used it a few days prior to this review).

    All in all, its a fantastic product. I highly recommend it!

    Ps- if you dont rinse well enough, your hair will darken with the processing lotion. It is very important to rinse and rinse and rinse. also very important to use the processor. if you dont, you are leaving your hair cuticle open and when you go to dye it, it could be very unpredictable. You could end up with really really crazy bad hair. PLEASE use the processing lotion and dont be scared. just make sure you rinse thouroughly and shampoo repeatedly before using it.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Apr 13, 2013
    / Ontario
    HAIR TYPE
    Medium Brown / Dry Hair / Color Treated Hair / Fine or Thin Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Color Fix Works (for Me) 5 Star Rating
    i have pixie short hair strw blonde natural and i tried a dark mahogany red which after a week or 2 started to look coppery so i color fixed it and it took out the dye. how ever that was the only layer of dye i had on my hair and its short .people who have trouble with color correction at home is because we dye our hair alot with different shades alot. i would suggest that if you have long hair and or have been dying it for years to get a proffesional opinion i am not a hair dresser but i have also had my share of mistakes .the product works but you have to consider all the dye on your head and the length and thickness .

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Apr 4, 2013
    / United States
  • This Product Is Horrible Do Not Waste Your Money Trust Me! 1 Star Rating
    i bought this on sallys it was 15 dollars. I have very dark ash brown hair almost black. I ombred my hair at a salon but hated how yellow it was and dyed it a "darkes brown shade" after a month i felt like giving the ombre another try and wanted to remove the dye i had so i can go back to the "ombre bleach stage" of my hair so that i could tone it the color i wanted it. I got this thing and it did nothing!!!!! nothing at all i followed all the instructions and all that and it just faded some little pieces of my hair to a brown but nothing more and i didnt use the 3 step thingie. Oh and now i think its back to darkest brown does little pieces that faded to a lighter brown. It doesnt work! and i dont understand how it does work for some people.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Apr 3, 2013
    / California
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Normal Hair / Oily Hair / Color Treated Hair
  • I Have It On Hand At All Times! 5 Star Rating
    I have been using ONO Colorfix about twice a year since I discovered it 5 years ago. Each time, it has been used to remove semi-permanent dye buildup of varying shades of dark browns and blacks (brown black, soft black, dark auburn, etc.). I have never been disappointed by the results of Colorfix. My natural color is a light/medium ash brown and I have been dying it religiously every month for years. In the colder/winter months, I opt for dark browns and blacks, but love to go lighter for the spring and summer months. So about ever 6 months or so, I will remove the black semi-permanent dye buildup from my hair so I can dye it a lighter shade.

    I have found it helpful to apply to the ends of the hair first, where there is the most dye buildup. I will usually do that and keep it on for about 10 or 15 minutes (depending on how much it has lightened in that time) before applying it to the rest of my head. I find that my hair color turns out much more even in the end when I apply the Colorfix over two stages like this.

    If I don't use the processing lotion, the brassy brown hair will generally darken within a few days. Though there have been times when I have used the processing lotion after a few days when the brassy tones in my hair had not darkened sufficiently. I have found that the processing lotion is best used about 2 to 3 days after you remove the dye from your hair, or it may darken back to the original shade.

    I absolutely love Colorfix, I have learned to keep a box of it on hand at most times, just in case! I have also recommended it to many of my friends looking to remove dark dye or just to partial corrections of dye jobs. I absolutely cannot recommend this product enough.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Apr 2, 2013
    / Oregon
    HAIR TYPE
    Medium Brown / Fine or Thin Hair
  • Expensive And Not As Great As It First Appeared 2 Star Rating
    I mixed about a third of the product for my long dark-brown-almost-black hair. My natural hair is medium/dark ash brown, with a ton of premature grey.

    I left it on for over an hour with periodic blow-drys. When I rinsed, using lots of shampoo and a bit of conditioner, I was left with an inch-wide orange stripe down my centre parting and all through my roots, and the rest of my hair was fairly unchanged. I mixed all the rest of the bottles together and used the lot, straight away. Due to the quantity it seemed to spread more evenly through my hair, with a nice creamy consistency and gag-inducing smell.

    I left it for another hour. I washed it out, using tons of shampoo and dishwashing liquid to try and get rid of the smell (it sort of worked), and this time it was an amazing caramel blonde, shading darker towards the ends but in an appealing way. I loved it, my hair felt fine, and it even seemed to be thicker, 'lighter' and less greasy from years of dying different shades of brown.

    I skipped the processing lotion, and the next evening my partner commented that my hair was darker than it was 24 hours ago. The next evening, he noticed that it was even darker.

    That was about 4 or 5 weeks ago and today my hair is only a shade lighter than before I stripped it. Presumably, if I had used the processing lotion my hair would have darkened straight away.

    I haven't tried dying it yet - I want to go lighter so I'll try bleach, but I'll definitely be doing a strand test, since I don't know what to expect. I'm in Australia and I paid $60 for this product from a hair care shop. Had I paid $30 I wouldn't mind so much. Next time I'll use bleach straight away.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Mar 26, 2013
    / Melbourne
  • A Must To Get Rid Of Unwanted Black Hair! 4 Star Rating
    I dyed my hair black after years of bleaching it blonde. Long story short I used this product minus step three and my hair went from jet black to a beautiful cinnamon brown and it feels amazing. For those with damaged hair be sure you haven't over processed your hair or else as with any chemicals you can cause damage. I just wanted to share my experience because I really love this product. I wish I would have known about it long ago. My hair was very damaged on the top layers but prior to using this product I didn't use heat styling tools for 8 weeks and cut my hair twice in the interum. I will use this product again. One n Only has some amazing products. I use their Keratin Kurl shampoo, conditioner and deep coditioning treatments, all sulfate free.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Mar 23, 2013
    / San Diego, CA
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Curly Hair / Color Treated Hair
  • Much Better Than Expected. 4 Star Rating
    last year I dyed my hair from a dirty blonde to black. tried Color Oops and it turned my hair brown for like a minute and went back to how it was. before I used the one n only colorfix my hair was a dark red. I was kind of skeptical because of the last time I used a product like this, but it turned out a lot better than I had originally thought. I left it on my hair for about a half hour and my hair is almost a strawberry blonde. there was some damage, but that's probably on my end for dying my hair too often. my bathroom smells TERRIBLE still, but the smell in my hair is almost nonexistent after I washed it out.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Mar 19, 2013
    / West Virginia
    HAIR TYPE
    Light Brown / Color Treated Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair
  • So Disappointed 1 Star Rating
    First off i must have the worst luck in the world because every product i try works for everyone else but me! I followed these instructions so carefully and later rinsed the product out for 15 minutes! I even skipped the third step like many of the reviews i read said to do. It was looking a bit lighter but then a few minutes later it was back to the exact same color! I literally have tried everything underthe sun to get rid of this god aweful red hair without bleaching it because its already damaged. NOTHING EVER WORKS FOR ME! All this product did was leave my hair dry and smelling bad. Now im gunna be forced to bleach my hair because its the only way to get the red out... TERRIBLE TERRIBLE PRODUCT! Doesnt work at all if youre trying to get red out...waste of my time and money.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Mar 1, 2013
    HAIR TYPE
    Auburn / Curly Hair / Color Treated Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Worked Great! 5 Star Rating
    Now, I don't know the science behind this... but it worked great for me, but it does stink up your place like eggs. I personally didn't think it was THAT bad, but my boyfriend came home and was like, "EW WHAT IS THAT TERRIBLE SMELL?" LOL.

    My natural color is a mousy brown. I usually dye it either a richer, dark chocolate brown, or a lighter honey brown. I went a little crazy this year, and dyed it red (Think Ariel from Little Mermaid) and then black. Red is TERRIBLE to get out of my hair, I think even more so than it is known to be. Even with the faded black, the red was still very visible in my hair. GREAAAT. Tried to dye over it with the Loreal Hicolor (for brown's only) in Honey Ginger (I had good results before, but it didn't take this time. Could have been a problem on my end since I only left it on for may 25-30 mins I have a feeling it needed to be in way longer than that, anyways-) It only colored my roots. Ha! It wasn't so bad, but I am a bit of a perfectionist.

    So, I went out and got this and another dye to re-dye my hair. I followed the directions, mixed, put it in my hair, blah blah blah. When it came to letting it sit, I let it sit for a whopping 60 minutes. 20 would have done absolutely nothing for me. That's how freaking resistant my hair is.

    When I rinsed it out, I did what another review said and let it rinse for a good 15 minutes, then I washed it twice. The new "classic" Herbal Essences did a good job at getting the smell out of the hair, btw.

    I then did the lotion, but I only left it on for 3 minutes, because by this time I was getting annoyed that it was taking so long. Haha. Then I conditioned twice.

    The color of my hair? A nice honey brown, that matched my roots almost to a T! I do not even need to redye it! :) My hair is still in great condition. I might try one more application to get it a tad lighter, but overall I am really happy with the results.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Feb 24, 2013
    / CA
    HAIR TYPE
    Medium Brown / Oily Hair / Color Treated Hair
Server Name