Free Shipping Over $50
How lucky is your summer? Get up to 25% off.
one 'n only

one 'n only Colorfix

496 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
$22.95
$18.95
Save 17%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 496 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • one 'n only Colorfix (496)
Show All 496 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • CA
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Oily Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Worked Great!
    Now, I don't know the science behind this... but it worked great for me, but it does stink up your place like eggs. I personally didn't think it was THAT bad, but my boyfriend came home and was like, "EW WHAT IS THAT TERRIBLE SMELL?" LOL.

    My natural color is a mousy brown. I usually dye it either a richer, dark chocolate brown, or a lighter honey brown. I went a little crazy this year, and dyed it red (Think Ariel from Little Mermaid) and then black. Red is TERRIBLE to get out of my hair, I think even more so than it is known to be. Even with the faded black, the red was still very visible in my hair. GREAAAT. Tried to dye over it with the Loreal Hicolor (for brown's only) in Honey Ginger (I had good results before, but it didn't take this time. Could have been a problem on my end since I only left it on for may 25-30 mins I have a feeling it needed to be in way longer than that, anyways-) It only colored my roots. Ha! It wasn't so bad, but I am a bit of a perfectionist.

    So, I went out and got this and another dye to re-dye my hair. I followed the directions, mixed, put it in my hair, blah blah blah. When it came to letting it sit, I let it sit for a whopping 60 minutes. 20 would have done absolutely nothing for me. That's how freaking resistant my hair is.

    When I rinsed it out, I did what another review said and let it rinse for a good 15 minutes, then I washed it twice. The new "classic" Herbal Essences did a good job at getting the smell out of the hair, btw.

    I then did the lotion, but I only left it on for 3 minutes, because by this time I was getting annoyed that it was taking so long. Haha. Then I conditioned twice.

    The color of my hair? A nice honey brown, that matched my roots almost to a T! I do not even need to redye it! :) My hair is still in great condition. I might try one more application to get it a tad lighter, but overall I am really happy with the results.
    9 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 24, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Norfolk, VA
    Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    This Product Is Amazing!!!
    I can never make up my mind whether I want to be blonde, red, brown with highlights and so on..I don't even remember what my natural color is lol. Last dye job I wanted a fire red but it didn't take well I thought maybe I will go to Sallys and gey dye just for dark hair, they told me to use ColorFix and then dye my hair. So I followed all directions even step 3, yeah the smell isn't pretty but its not horrible. After shampooing and conditioning I blow dryed and straightened it..hair is naturally curly and sucks to dye with curls..once I straightened it iLOVED the color I got and took all my dye back to the store lol. My hair came out a golden blonde with highlights..looks better than when I had highlights done professionally. I have washed it and used a color seal conditioner the 2nd time..looks like it gotten darker but still love it. Not sure if it will just keep getting darker with each wash or what but I won't be redying anytime soon. Awesome product..will use again if I get another bad dye job.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 9, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Washington State
    Hair
    Blonde
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Overall, A Success
    I have naturally dishwater blonde hair. I have been many different colors, including black & fully bleached twice. About 3 months ago I decided to go all burgundy. I finally got tired of it and wanted my blonde back. I thought my only choice would be bleach, then I found COLORFIX and read every review here. Knowing my hair, I expected to come out orange. I purchased a light ash blonde and 20 vol developer lile the sales lady suggested to lift and cover orange. So I used half of each bottle and slathered it on my hair which is down to the middle of my back. I left it on for an hour. I was really excited because it had lightened it alot. But after washing it, it was oraaaange/yellow on top and a light pretty brown on the lower half. Sooo I repeated the process using the other half. I rinsed it out and it was a little lighter, but still orange. I decided TO use the processing lotion for these reasons: All it does is oxygenize your color and make it stable for a new color! SO if your hair darkens after putting it on, it's because you weren't succesful in removing all the color. Therefore you need to do it again if you still want to be lighter. If you don't use that step, your hair isn't stable, it will continue to change color for days and darken on it's own anyway and you will have no way of knowing what color your hair will turn when you do recolor. Also, if your hair turns orange after colorfix it tones down the brassyness a LOT. Yes it did darken me just a touch, butit really helped tone.So I dried it after washing a lot and using a good conditioner. It was not damaged, yay. I woke up today. Applied the color praying I didn't become green. It did not turn blonde and it didn't cover the orange, but like others have said, your hair grabs color and makes it a lot darker than the shade on the tube. So for me, it was helpful in bringing my brassy strawberry to a more even, less harsh color. Not a total success, not what I want, but livable. I am going to do some more research and talk to a pro before I color again. So Colorfix DID do what it's supposed to, as it doesn't promise to get you to your natural shade OR even one you don't have to recolor, apparently some girls just get really lucky and experience that lol. I DO suggest you use step 3 no matter how many reviews tell you not to. I even saw a review who raved about it the day of, but did a new review days later saying her hair continued to darken and that's because your hair oxygenizes over time on it's own, only slower than what you get with step 3. So either way, if you didn't get all the color out, it will darken. And if you color right after colorfix without using step3, it will most likely leave you very dark again. So think logically about it. Buy two boxes of colorfix to be sure you'll have enough incase it does darken after step 3. I used 1&2 and didn't do 3 until I repeated steps 1&2 since it didn't lift enough the first time. So after you are happy with the color then do step 3. If it darkens to the point that you want or need to be lighter, use the second box of colorfix. But if it darkens and you're happy with it or it doesn't darken, then leave it alone and color as normal. Just remember either way, your hair will soak uo the color really fast and will be darker than expected. So get a few shades lighter than yohr goal and WATCH your hair. Seriously. Oh, and the smell everyone says is horrid, unbearable, ect.. Is NOT that bad. Really. Yes part one smells like sulfer (rotten eggs) . But once mixed with bottle 2, it's not that bad. Still an odor, but not what ppl say it is. Maybe it didn't bother me much because I'm so used to chemical color smells, I don't know. But my fan in the bathroom cleared the smell in minutes after I was done. I can smell it slightly inn my hair, but between the new color and products, it is not strong at all and smells more like regular color than the eggy. Some tips: Start at the darkest part of your hair. Try to avoid roots. I mixed in a bowl and used a color brush to apply and that worked well. I saw some reviews say it was too thick and some say it was runy. Mine was right in the middle, so perhaps they didn't get their ratios right. Massage it all in once it's applied. Use heat! Blowdryer helps a ton! Use a good conditioner. And you can never rinse too much .... Good luck ladies.
    22 out of 22 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 11, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    It Works, But Theres Cons
    I've been dying my hair all kinds of blacks for almost a year.. this stuff worked after 3 applications. Everybody says it smells? Mine didn't smell like anything, at all? But, after the second application applied that lotion, and I had to redo my hair alll over again.. LEAVE OUT THE LOTION! The lotion darkened my hair back to black, but after application number 3, my hair was a pretty auburn color, but my rots were blonde! Haha, I HAD to dye my hair after I did this.. I used a demi color from Sallys, i used light neutral brown. And it kinda dyed my hair that color, but my roots are blonde, and some of strands of my hair is black, other is a real dark brown like almost black, but in a couple weeks I'l be getting it professional done because people still say my hair looks black! But this stuff works! :)
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 6, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Toronto, Canada
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing..totally Unexpected Results
    I'll start off by saying that I have spent years going back and forth from dark brown to blonde using bleach and bleach only and always ended up with a yellow/orange mess..because I didn't do my research! Most recently I let my natural hair grow out about halfway until I got bored and decided to go dark red which I loved but found it was way too high maintenance..it faded every 2 weeks and I hated seeing light brown shine through.
    This time I decided to take on the challenge of becoming a platinum blonde! Since I know red is a difficult colour to lift I looked around online for the best hair colour remover (which I didn't even know existed until now!) and came across Colorfix. I threw out step 3 (not needed), mixed about 2.5 ounces of each bottle and saved the rest for a 2nd application. Combed it through my hair, put on a shower cap, left on for 20 minutes, shampooed/rinsed for 5 minutes STRAIGHT (had to set an alarm on my phone..lol) and then put a deep conditioner in for another 5 minutes. I stepped out of the shower, looked in the mirror and was shocked.
    Not a single trace of red left, my hair was a caramel blonde with a copper tint and completely even! Not splotchy at all! And soft! Dare I say..it actually looks kinda good! Unfortunately it doesn't really suit my skin tone otherwise I'd keep it!
    The 2nd application wasn't really necessary since it only lightened it maybe another 1/2 shade..but I definitely felt like my hair was a little more dry this time around so I used a generous amount of Moroccan Oil after I blow dried it.
    All in all, a great product and I highly recommend it, especially if you're trying to go blonde and plan on bleaching..it will be much easier for the bleach to lift your hair to the pale yellow stage. Good luck:)
    7 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 1, 2013
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Terrible.
    I want the real deal when I look at reviews, and not long paragraphs so short story short: It didn't work AT ALL. I did everything x2, and it still never worked. Waiting 20 minutes and all, and my hair is exactly the same. It sucks.
    11 out of 15 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 25, 2012
    Link to this post
  • 4 Star Rating
    Amazing Results But Seriously Don't Use Part 3!!!!
    I have dyed black hair and colorfix stripped the black out within 2 times going through all steps. It was a BEAUTIFUL copper shade. I was hesitant to do the last bit (processing lotion) because I've heard it will just darken the color back up. It did exactly that and all my hardwork is all gone, I'm sooooo annoyed. Going to redo it in the morning without the last step.
    8 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 25, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Miami
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Colorfix Confusion.
    I WANT TO MAKE SURE SKEPTICS READ THIS!
    My natural hair is a mousy brown (not too light not too dark) and I've dyed it every shade of burgundy, brown and last but not least the dreaded black shade that makes us all look older, not cute. I liked the black because people told me it would look good as I am super white but I was over it two months later.
    Anyways I did my research and stumbled upon Colorfix and ended up going to pick it up at my local Sallys and the lady told me it was great but to leave out the third bottle because since I already had natural dark hair it would only make it darker.
    I applied a third of bottle #1 and a third of #2 and used a hair dye brush all over, I checked my hair every 10 minutes and I definitely saw the black COMPLETELY FADE! I left it overall for one hour and washed like crazy with my regular shampoo mixed with some dish soap. I need to stress the fact that this product has to be washed out thoroughly or it will darken "on its own". Wash wash and wash!!!! Since I found that some parts where a little darker brown I applied another third of the bottles and mixed with a little bit of shampoo (massaged into the roots and sides which were the darkest of all) and left it only for 40 minutes this time but by the time I washed everything looked a great shade of brown with honey highlights I guess you could say?
    I am one of those who, however, took it upon themselves to dye right after and my hair went right back to dark (but with red highlights since i used medium red dye.)
    One week later I'm going to buy another box of Colorfix and repeat the process but won't dye until a week after of maybe more we'll see! I'll probably write again once that's done
    (Hope I can be useful to those who are still wondering whether to use this product)
    10 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 23, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Color Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Bottle Black Hair
    I bought Color Fix along with some hair dye at Sally's so I could get to back to as close to my original medium brown hair color. I went home and used 1 application of color fix, also used a cap and dryer for about 30 min. rinsed shapooed and it worked great! I now had dark red hair! so I wanted to go lighter and I repeated and once again it worked and looked cute! However I wasnt going for the red look I wanted close to my natural color so I dyed my hair a little bit darker than my original color as I knew it would fade and look perfect with time. After I washed my hair color I was back at square 1, MY HAIR WAS JET BLACK AGAIN with a different color root! so I had to go back and buy another box hoping that I can get that reddish color back and be happy that it was no longer black but I now have orange roots and auburn hair with patches and streaks of god knows what color!
    So yes use it but DO NOT dye your hair after! I wish I would have left it the red color it better than what I came out with the second time around! I really have no idea how Im going to fix this mess maybe dark brown or back to black again! Hope this helps I wish someone would have told me not to dye it right ater because it would just go back to black and end up a mess!
    Good luck!
    7 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 21, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    5 Star Rating
    Colorfix Cured My Color Oops!
    First here is what I did to need to use this product and how I used it:
    I died my hair with a lvl 40 developer to go blonde, the problem: I accidentally used a N base which brought out the red tones in my hair. Hate the strawberry blonde so i mistakenly thought if I re-dyed it with a violet it would make the nasty color go away. Boy was I wrong! So did i ton of research to find out exactly what I needed to do and found this product recommended by professional colorists. I used the product for 30 minutes with a blowdryer periodically. Made sure to wash my hair like 5 times before continuing, no conditioner used yet. I DID do step 3. Yes, it made it a little darker but it was definitely needed. Anyhow one website I found said to use this product exactly as directed then apply the toner (dye + lvl 10 developer) directly on wet hair after rinsing step 3. Did that, waited about 30 min. and washed it out. My hair felt horrible afterwards so I used a treatment on my hair: 1/2 cup mayonnaise, 1/4 cup olive oil, 2 egg yolks. It got everywhere so just be prepared for that. Kept it on for about 30 min, washed it out with shampoo and applied conditioner as well. My hair afterwards was in better condition than when I started and my color came out just the way I wanted because I removed a bulk of the dye and applied an ash base toner.

    After reading many of the reviews on here I think somepeople quite frankly messed up their hair even more without using step 3. Yes it makes it darker...temporarily. one of the primary ingredients is hydrogen peroxide which has the opposite effect on hair so for those of you who decide to not use this step good luck trying to re-fix your oops.There is a reason the manufacturers say to use step 3, so use it. Secondly those who have complained about it not leaving it back to the normal color most likely no longer had their normal color to begin with. If they used anything other than a lvl 10 developer with a permanent dye (not semi) dont expect it to return to normal. People need to understand how color is applied and how it works with your natural tones before bashing this product.
    23 out of 23 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 16, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name