Free Shipping Over $50
15% off + Free Shipping on Top Ten Lists
one 'n only

one 'n only Colorfix

492 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
$22.95
$18.95
Save 17%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 492 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • one 'n only Colorfix (492)
Show All 492 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Doesn't Damage Hair
    I've used this product a few times in the past and it's never let me down.This is the only product that will remove all that black color and leave my hair in the same condition it was before I used it. I've read other reviews on people who have had not so good experiences, and I'd like to share some of the steps I've done to get the best results.

    I have about 2 inches of new growth on my roots, and the rest of my hair is colored black. You can put this on your roots but it WILL lighten them a bit, so just keep that in mind. I usually work in sections, applying the solution quickly as it will lose potency after a while. Put a processing cap on (these are cheap and look like a shower cap), and apply some hair dryer heat to help the cuticles open up a bit. The box says 20 mins, but it also depends on how much color is in your hair and how dark it is. I usually leave mine in for upwards of an hour.

    Check your hair every 20 mins or so to make sure it's working, and apply more heat if needed. Once you start seeing the desired color removed, wash it out. Use a shampoo (clarifying if possible) and YES use the processing lotion! I know this is a controversial step but it's actually useful. The lotion is hydrogen peroxide and will allow any left over dye molecules to re-oxidize. This way you can see how much dye is left over and do another round of ColorFix. It's highly unlikely that you will get this in one pass.

    Once all the dye has been removed, wash it thoroughly and condition. Purchase a Protein Filler and put that on your towel-dried damp hair BEFORE recoloring. Do not rinse it out. This will equalize the porosity of your hair and will help accept the new color you are applying. It's also very important to get a color 1-2 shades LIGHTER than what you are going for. This is because after ColorFixing, your hair will absorb new dye much faster and if you use too dark of a color, you may find yourself at the beginning again. Remember, it's always easier to go darker than it is to go lighter, so you can adjust the deepness later on.

    Sorry for the long review, but hopefully these steps help!

    62 out of 63 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 27, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love It!
    My hair is naturally brown and for some reason I died it black. I liked it but now I'm over it. I also have thick curly hair. I used this stuff and I love it! Although the smell is AWFUL, it took out all the black and it is now a bronzy golden color. I also did not use the third step because I did read that it makes the hair darker and I'm trying to go lighter! I suggest to use this! =)
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 21, 2011
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Suks
    This product suks!!!!!!! i used IT so i can take my bright pink off and it made my haircolor worse!!!!! This product claims it doesnt smell well it does because the nasty rotten stench stayed on my hair for about 3 days!!! i washed n washed my hair so much nothing worked i just had to let da odor come out by itself after a few days>>> I WILl NEVER TRY THIS PRODUCT EVER AGAIN!!!! ITS A WAIST OF MONEY!!!!!!!!
    42 out of 43 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 9, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Rhode Island
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Product
    I was concerned about drying out and breakage but after reading the reviews I was ready to try it. When I bought it the women suggested a deep conditioner with it so I bought it. I was not prepared when I applied it (no gloves or applicator bottle) But continued. After 20 minutes it didn't look light enough after 35 I got nervous and washed it out. I didn't do step 3 as advised by other reviews. I thought I would have to re-color but the color was really nice and didn't even need the conditioner. Great product!
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 7, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Works Alright
    I've been dying my hair dark brown for years I tried this product and it brought it up to like a reddish orange but just on the bottom and top and the mid section stayed fairly dark. Applied again, and it didn't change the mid section at all. I didn't use step 3 and left the application in each time for about 30 minutes with heat. I shampooed and conditioned after each application. I rinsed for the full 5 minutes each time prior to shampooing. I then put on a dark blonde. My hair turned a light/med brown with orange undertones even the I used Unred mixed in with the color. I obviously got lighter brown hair but it's not quite even and I'm not diggin' the orange undertone. This product is probably better for light brown haired girls or dark blonde to begin with. I think it just depends on your beginning hair color and undertones how this will end up turning out on an individual's hair so there's really no sure fire way to determine if it will work or not, everyone is different. It didn't damage my hair which was nice, and I used a deep conditioner which may of helped.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 2, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Seattle
    Hair
    Oily Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing Results!
    My friend and I both had a problem with our hair. We had the lower half of our hair which was dark and wouldn't hold any color and the top half that was much lighter. We wanted to be able to get our hair all one color so we could have a fresh start and get the colors we were trying to get.

    My hair is shoulder length, wavy, and very thick. My hair was a dark reddish brown but wouldn't hold color. It turned my hair into a very light copper color and evened it out completely with the part that was lighter.

    My friends hair is to her mid back, straight, and very thin. My friends ends were almost black and she had been going to a salon to try and get them lightened for 8 months with no results. This turned her hair into a medium auburn color VERY dramatic difference from the almost black.

    We threw away step 3 as suggested by everyone. We did 2 oz part 1, 2 oz part 2, and 2 oz shampoo. We applied to our whole heads, not just the darker part. This product still evened it all out. It didn't lighten the roots a bunch and

    This product was amazing and we are very very pleased with the results it has given both of us.
    9 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 21, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Auburn
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Put My Hair Back To Normal
    I absolutely loved this product! I have auburn hair, and decided to dye it a light ash brown. Needless to say it turned my hair totally black! And i have very long hair. I tried everything to get the color out but because i had used an ash color, it just wouldn't work. I was also afraid of stripping it because i didn't want to risk having to cut it all off. This product lightened it to my normal red, and i didn't even have to re-dye it! The only drawback was that it smells like rotten eggs. But it did leave my hair fairly soft an undamaged. I followed the process with a good conditioner and it worked out fine. I would absolutely recommend this product. My hair is very fine and suffered no damage.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 20, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Color Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Don't Do It!
    I have been dying my hair black for 10 years and wanted to go back to my natural color which is a golden brown. With the first wash I could not even believe it- it was so light an the black was really coming out. It was shocking to see. When I applied step 3 it turned completely black again. Very upsetting. So, I read the reviews about not using step 3 and washed it two more times without using step 3. So now.. the top part was a brassy/orange and the bottom part of my hair was black. It was not pretty- at all.
    Woke up the next morning and it was almost all black again, stunk still and now just the roots were brassy/orange. :( So.. I went and got a box of dark brown to cover this whole mess up and pretend like it never happened. Well.. it covered it Ok. but the roots are not taking the color so I can see some brass/orange when I look in the sunlight or in bright lights. Very frustrating. My hair also feels very dry and not as healthy. Why did I use this! I don't recommend it.
    7 out of 13 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 20, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Color Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Don't Do It!
    I have been dying my hair black for 10 years and wanted to go back to my natural color which is a golden brown. With the first wash I could not even believe it- it was so light an the black was really coming out. It was shocking to see. When I applied step 3 it turned completely black again. Very upsetting. So, I read the reviews about not using step 3 and washed it two more times without using step 3. So now.. the top part was a brassy/orange and the bottom part of my hair was black. It was not pretty- at all.
    Woke up the next morning and it was almost all black again, stunk still and now just the roots were brassy/orange. :( So.. I went and got a box of dark brown to cover this whole mess up and pretend like it never happened. Well.. it covered it Ok. but the roots are not taking the color so I can see some brass/orange when I look in the sunlight or in bright lights. Very frustrating. My hair also feels very dry and not as healthy. Why did I use this! I don't recommend it.
    4 out of 6 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 20, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    It Did The Job
    So i had a horrible job done at the salon where they dyed my hair red instead of dark purple (i know right) so i went to sallys and purchased this item (actually cheaper on folica :() Let me say this right now..there are no words to describe how horrendous the product smells..It sticks to your hair and the smell wont go away. Overall it did the job. I added the shampoo so that it wouldnt take off all the color but it still took off most of it.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    13 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 19, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name