Shop Sedu
one 'n only

one 'n only Colorfix

497 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
$22.95
$18.95
Save 17%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 497 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • one 'n only Colorfix (497)
Show All 497 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    How To Remove One N Only Colorfix Odor Asap!
    Throw out step 3 bottle! I used Colorfix to remove a permament dark brown red dye. I read all of the reviews on this site, and decided I would give it a try. I had bleached the color out of my hair a few years ago and it ended up breaking off so I vowed I would never do that again. I am a natural blonde, but I like the drama the darker color gives me. Now that I'm 39 and going a little gray at the roots it's to much maintanence, I figured blonde will be easier to blend, but I didn't want to wait for it to grow out. I highly recommend you buy the widest color applicator brush you can to apply the colorfix. I was going to use a applicator bottle, but the mix is very thick and it doesn't mix well in the bottle.Also, make sure you have a tight fitting plastic cap. I mixed 2 oz each of bottles 1 & 2, and slavered it on. I put on this plastic cap I found at Sally's that shrinks up tight when you apply heat and I used the blow dryer every few minutes to keep my head warm. It does have an odor, sulpher, but I can tell you how to remove it pretty quick. I kept it on for 30 minutes. I rinsed for almost 5 minutes, then put Dawn dishwashing liquid in like shampoo and let it sit a few minutes, then I rinsed and repeated twice more. Then I put in a clear neutralizer (Sally's $2), and put on a plastic cap and let it sit for 20 minutes. DON"T RINSE OUT THE NEUTRALIZER! Apply a permanant color that is 2 shades lighter than what you want, make sure that it has a violet base, this will take out any orange. Put the color on like you normally would and leave it for about 10 or 15 minutes. Rinse, shampoo and put on a conditioning treatment. Voila! My hair turned out nice,it's a darker blonde than I would have liked, but I am giving my hair a break for a month and then repeating this whole ordeal again. I am going to use a high lift blonde afterwards with a 30 volume developer and see if I can get it lighter. I personally think that if you do this and you are a natural blonde you have to dye it again to get rid of the orange. Also buy a shampoo for color treated hair and Aphogee 2 Minute Miracle conditioner and use it every time you wash. I also bought a leave in conditioner I use everyday for anti-breakage and my hair feels wonderful!
    33 out of 33 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 30, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Worked For Me!
    My natural hair color is a medium brown, but it has been dyed several colors over the years both by professionals and using the box dyes. The latest color was supposed to turn a dark brown color into a vibrant red color, but ended up more like a purple-ish, red-orange color depending on what light I was in. It was not what I wanted at all. I read reviews for color removers and settled on this one. I was extremely nervous, but decided to give it a shot. To my surprise, it actually worked really well! My hair already pulls red, but this product (after 2 applications) turned my hair into a very light reddish-brown color. I've read that it is safe to apply new color right after using this product, but I chose not to because I'm okay with this color for now and am worried about my hair becoming more damaged than it already is after coloring and color removing. I would strongly recommend a deep repairing conditioner to use after applying this product, as it does dry out the hair to some extent (much less than bleaching would though!). Also, a lot of reviews have mentioned the bad smell of this product, but I did not find it to be bad at all. It does have a strong chemical smell, but it did not linger in my hair after a shampoo and deep conditioner. Overall, I am impressed with this product. It got the job done! Hope this helps!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 23, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Awesome Product.!
    I have an auburn/brown undertone to my hair which i didnt like, so i wanted a light/medium blonde hair to dye my hair. So i bought this, put it in my hair. And whaddya kno.! It turned out exactly how i wanted, so then i re-dyed it medium brown with a red undertone. Perfect product.! I recommend this.! :)
    2 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 8, 2010
    Link to this post
  • NYC
    5 Star Rating
    Black Hair For Years
    THIS PRODUCT REALLY WORKS! IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 2, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Do Not Waist Your Money
    OK I DYED MY HAIR BLUE BLACK BUT IT WAS A LITTLE FADED...BUTANWAYS I WANTED TO TRY COLOR FIX BUT IT WAS HORRIBLE IT JUST MADE MY HAIR SMELL LIKE EGGS AND IT MADE MY HAIR CLOR ORANGE UGHHHH!!!!!!!!!!! HORRIBLE:(
    33 out of 36 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 1, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Auburn
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Life Saver!
    I've been dyeing my hair black for over a year and I wanted to go back to a light auburn color. I bought the colorfix and I was very scared to use it at first. Yes it does have a horrid smell but it goes away. I left it in for 30 min and I was blown away by the results, it completely took out the black color!!

    I am planning to dye my hair a lighter color but not at this time, I want my hair to take a rest from all the chemicals lol.This did not leave my hair damaged at all, I shampooed it very well and I left my conditioner in for a bit longer than I'd normally would. I love this product and I strongly recommend it to anyone!!!
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 30, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Not Too Bad
    I bought this product at Sally's because I wanted to change my hair from black and bright red (red was only on the tips and under my bangs). Most of the black was faded from my hair and was more of a dark brown and I had read some reviews and was nervous that it wouldn't do anything after seeing that it did very little for some people. I mixed both part 1 and 2 completely, using the whole bottle of both, and I actually left it in my hair for about 45min rather than the advised 20min. (mostly because I didn't want to have to do it twice, as many people had reported doing. I didn't damage my hair much leaving it on for the longer amount of time either.) I washed it out and my hair turned out a copper colour (which I had expected). However, where my roots were growing out, my hair was a dark brown. I'll probably end up bleaching my roots to get the colour tone more even throughout. But for the most part the product worked fairly well and as I expected with minimal damage to my hair.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 30, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Ohio
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Omg Love
    My hair is naturally a light brown. i've done many things to it. i recently have had my hair brown with light brown highlights. my highlights grew out and it just looked trashy. so i bought dark brown hair color to cover up my highlight. BIG MISTAKE! it turned my hair JET BLACK! i came home from my friends and my parents were in shock! it looked like i had a wig on. it was awful. i cried and cried. after going to the salon to get it lightened, IT DID NOTHING!!! money down the drain. then, i researched and found this product. i put it on one strand and nothing happened. i was about to cry, once again! then, i got gutsy and just put in on my whole head. i didnt use the 3rd step. left it on for 20 minutes. i blowed my hair dry andddd it came out brown with reddish highlights. it's so pretty im not going to do anything to it.

    I LOVE THIS NO MORE TEARS
    12 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 13, 2010
    Link to this post
  • PR
    2 Star Rating
    Color Fix
    I used this to remove black dye. I did 2 treatments (one package). It did remove a lot of dye but it got dark again. I used the developing lotion though most reviews said not to, but i figured it wouldn't have mattered since it would've gotten dark anyway with or without it so i followed instructions. There wasn't too much damage but my hair felt like straw when i rinsed. I think there would be more negative or mixed reviews of this product if people waited a couple of days before giving it 4 or 5 stars since i read this has happened to a lot. And yes, it smells like FART (though i wouldnt care about the smell if it actually worked the first time).
    4 out of 7 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 29, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    4 Steps To Success: Please Read This First!
    Wish I read all these reviews first. Here's why:

    1) YES.... IT SMELLS AAAAWWWFFFFUUUUUUUUUL! Seriously horrible. Unless your noses have failed, everyone in the house will smell it. Deal with it.

    2) buy two boxes, if you don't use the 2nd, return it. But trust me, you don't want this half-done and need box #2 when the stores are closed.

    3) THROW AWAY STEP 3 processing lotion, PERIOD! Like dump it off in a dumpster as soon as you leave the store so you don't even have a chance to use it. It's worse than useless, bleaches everything except hair, makes smell worse and pretty much reverses the whole deal. Don't even consider using it.

    4) give yourself pretty much allllll day to do this, preferably a SAT, so you can color if you need to and try removing the odor. This is not a simple 30 min deal. Do not do this around people you are hoping will fall in love with you. Yeah, the smell is THAT bad, they will run for hills. Instead, wait until your mother in law visits and tell her you do it every other night and smell? what smell? everyone loves this scent! She'll run too, and we'll all feel better.

    NOW. My teen son has natural light brown hair, we've been dying it perm jet black for a year. Now he wants to be a dirty blonde, of course. So, we tried this. I mixed the entire two bottle of one kit, and YOU SHOULD TOO. First it sat on 20 min w/ a cap and had minimal results. So, we repeated, again for 20 min. That was pretty good so I did the processing lotion. He walked out of the shower with hair as black as when we started. ERGH! So, we had to go buy a 2nd kit. Annoying? YES. This time, I again use all of the 2 bottles (and TOSSED step #3). Put on a cap for 1 hour, washed and it's pretty much his natural color. Now, you must RINSE RINSE RINSE RINSE and then RINSE some more. Use ultra strong head and shoulders shampoo., and follow these tips:

    it will still smelled god awful. I mean like people are gonna ask "OMG! What DIED????" when they get a whiff. So, off to shower #5 for the day, we could have done this when we liked the color results. He rinses and rinsed and rinsed some more, then lathered and rinsed FIVE (5) times w/ industrial Head and Shoulders (it's called complete care or something, dark blue bottle). Then he did a deep conditioning treatment that sat on there for 5 min w/ a cap. buy cheap caps to toss, everything this touches smells like road kill, and Saran wrap is a huge pain... also, prep like you are doing surgery: gloves, smock, face mask.... it's smellier than ANYTHING in a hospital and you will throw away anything it touches. His hair looks normal, feels soft (extremely clean, I might add) and smells much better. The smell is SO much better when the hair is dry, you know how a nice wool sweater smells like a sheep when it's wet, but fine when dry? Same kind of thing.

    Now, after all that, we're waiting a few days to color, since we're going to a a 7N. I am for sure going to strand test first, because I have visions of Oompa-Loompas if we don't. Murphy's Law. I think it will lift and color nicely.

    I would buy this again, but god as my witness my kids will never color their hair black again! It's such a pain, and I warned him since he wanted black. Now he knows mother really does know best! :D

    Good luck everyone!
    125 out of 136 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 20, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name