Thanksgiving Sale use Code PIE25
one 'n only

one 'n only Colorfix

497 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
$22.95
$18.95
Save 17%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 497 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • one 'n only Colorfix (497)
Show All 497 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Michigan
    Hair
    Oily Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Just Say No..
    I would give this product zero stars if I could! After reading endless reviews, I decided to try this to remove semi-permanent hair color, even though the product is meant to permanent hair color. I figured this would at least fade the color, but no such luck. Tried twice to remove hot pink semi-permanent hair color & the only thing this product succeeded in doing was making my hair smelly & dry. The color did not even fade a little bit. I even tried washing my hair with a clarifying shampoo & Palmolive dish soap prior to putting the processing lotion on my hair, to see if my hair would release any color, but nothing worked. DO NOT waste your time & money with this product if you are trying to remove unnatural shades of semi-permanent hair color, such as Special Effects, like I was. I followed the instructions, including the third step, which I believe is what made my hair so dry. I didn't want to chance not doing it & having my hair turn green when I attempt to recolor my hair though. Two conditioning treatments later & it still feels dry, which is really uncommon for my hair. Since I had to use two boxes (my hair is thick & down to my butt), I'm out $30. It sucks!!
    33 out of 43 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 7, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Northern Ontario, Canada
    Hair
    Auburn
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    The Scoop On Colorfix.
    So this is the deal with One N Only Colorfix...

    It is to fix a newly applied colour that is considered a screwup. It won't take out so many years of dying black very well, if at all.

    On the box it does indicate that step 3 will bring the tone of the red colour down after steps 1 & 2 (ideal of you are not into copper orange hair).

    Remember that if you feel after you dye your hair that it is going to be too dark (and thus need to use this product in the end to remove it) don't apply conditioner. Conditioner actually locks in the colour and removing it will be that much more difficult.

    I do like this product, but you need proper ventalation. Windows and ceiling fans are a must! If you have both in your bathroom, utilize them! It is not odorless, but is a lot less potent than other colour removers.

    I have found that a couple of really good shampooings after using this product will allow you to dye over it in the same night. But always do another strand test to be sure. One missing chunk of hair is better than a full head of awful colour. And I know you all love your hair as much as I do!

    Good luck ladies!

    14 out of 14 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 4, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Seattle, Washington
    Hair
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Jet Black!!!
    I promised myself I'd write a review, Even if it was a good experience or a bad.
    I dyed my hair jet black. Ive had it black for a while, but my natural hair color is platinum blonde. I read all the reviews, but i didnt listen to them because everyones hair is different. So, I went to Gene Juarez and payed 90$ for a color stripper, What did it do? Nothing but damage my hair more and only boost the color to dark chocolate brown. Ive been searching since and I have been recommended Color Fix and Sally's Beauty Salon, I wasnt sure about, But i decided to give it a try! Everything went fine, I had to do it about 3 times, But it was worth it. But Ive had about 5 people a day asking what the horrible smell is. Rotton Eggs isnt a good perfume. Yes, It litterally did smell like rotton eggs, and it is stuck in my hair for about a week. My hair has gotton so light, but not to the goal I wanted to get to, Im not suprised though. It worked more than i thought! I still am going to Box Color it until i get it to platinum blonde! I recomend it.
    15 out of 15 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 1, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Chicago
    3 Star Rating
    Not Happy But Will Try Again
    Step 3 definitely made it darker, but dyeing afterwards with a softer color, made it black again except for my roots which are gray. Before Step 3 it was carrot top orange, I like the color "my roots" are now, just wish the rest of my hair was the same color.

    A stylist has described my hair to be like horsehair.

    I am planning on trying once more, without the developer and will report back.
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 30, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Edinburg, Tx
    4 Star Rating
    Skip Last Step
    I had dyed my hair blue black for the past 3 months. I bought this product because I didnt want to bleach. I put it on the first time and did the step 1 and 2. my hair was looking medium brown like my natural color. Then I put the 3rd step and decided to dye it auburn after that. It did NOT wrk, it turned my hair red in my roots and the rest was black again!.
    so here I am applying the second box, but will skip the 3rd step, I've already had it on for an hour, fixing to take it off.
    It left my hair soft and not damaged, the smell is not as bad as people say. It smells like perm chemicals. it shouldnt be as bad once you wash it several times.
    I would recommend this, just skip the last step
    My hair is long, mid back, one box is enough.
    9 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 29, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Maine, USA
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    My Story
    So almost a week ago, I went into a beauty school that a good friend of mine attends. I went into the school because I had at least six inches of regrowth and the remains of bleach blonde highlights that I got over a year ago. I have naturally light brown, wavy, very thick hair that reaches almost halfway down my back - the natural regrowth on the back of my head matched a 5n swatch and the natural regrowth on the front matched a 7n. In order to give me my "natural" color, the instructor had my friend dye me a 5n, but only after using a red filler to cover up my bleached highlights. Anyway, the end result was HORRIFIC. It was extremely dark and almost BLACK with a deep reddish almost purple undertone from the filler, which I absolutely hated, especially since I'm quite light complected and since I tend to already wear darker, more earthy colors.

    So I went online, did some research, and ending up washing my hair multiple times with Prell, Head and Shoulders, and even Dawn dish soap to try and fade the black. Minimal fading occurred.

    So I did more research and discovered ColorFix! After reading almost every review of the product on here, I went out to my nearest Sally's and got my own kit.

    I cut out a small chunk of hair from where I had the highlights (since I have so much, I wouldn't miss it) and did a strand test and was amazed to see it become a light golden orange-ish color. But I was really very afraid to put the product to the actual test. So for the next few days I thought about it. Finally realizing that I would rather have any color other than the almost-black brown, I got to work.

    And it worked wonderfully! Unlike how the strand test came out (not surprised since I did that under optimal conditions basically) my hair is now a nice medium brownish, auburn color. I'm not even going to recolor it, since my end result came out so beautifully! My hair definitely feels a bit dry, however it looks as healthy as it normally does.

    Yes, the product does smell sort of funny and my hair still has a strange odor to it despite the use of conditioner, but I'm sure this will go away with time. I'm just hoping that the dark color doesn't come back since some people have had this happen. Crossing my fingers!
    11 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 29, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Illinois
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Magic :-}
    Here is my story for this product,
    Well last week I got my hair colored black, I wanted to get more like a natural soft black but it turned out to be black blue hair color. I was so worried what to do and I didn't wanted to bleach. So, I did some research and read many reviews before using this product. I was very nervous to use this product, but I wanted to get rid of the permanent black color in my hair. First, I did strand test on my hair and i removed it after 20 minutes and it turned into medium auburn brown color. I was happy that black color is gone, so i did overall in my hair and left it for 20 minutes exact. It did smell bad but not as bad that you will faint. I did this whole process in my garage because I didn't wanted my bathroom to smell bad. I did skip the step 3 based on other reviews to do so. So, after washing my hair black was gone and I had medium brown with some auburn hair color. I was happy with my results, although it did smell like sulfur in my hair. Next day, I got my hair deep treatment on my hair. And two days later I got my hair colored from salon with some highlights. Smell is gone too and this product didn't damaged or fried my hair. Go ahead and try this product if you want to fix your hair color.
    Hope this review help
    overall I am happy with my results
    11 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 23, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Oily Hair
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Works Great, But Quickly Caused My Happiness To Frustration
    Well after reading the reviews on this product I decided to give it a shot. I was willing to try anything after being stuck with this ugly jet black color for over a year. So I bought the product and put it in and left it for almost an hour. The reviews said to skip step three, and I wasn't sure why. But I did it anyway just to be on the safe side. It turned out an orangy reddish gold color and I was immediately so impressed that it took all that black out! Even my hairdresser couldn't get as much black out like this stuff did. The color I am looking to go is a chocolate brown, so I was eager to proceed to dying it with the hair color I had. WELL. That was a mistake. I went and put the color in my hair and within five minutes it turned black again! I was extremely close to tears and couldn't believe what I had was seeing. After doing some research I discovered that the peroxide in the developer for the hair dye causes the black to come back, hence why everyone says to skip step 3 (because there is peroxide in step 3.) Apparently the only thing I can do now is go back to the store, buy a whole other box of Colorfix, wait a week and then dye my hair to the chocolate brown. So all in all my experience has been annoying and frustrating, but in the end the product itself is great. It will get rid of that harsh color, you just have to have some patience to get to your ideal color. I'll write another review when I go to get the black out the second time and let everyone know how it works out in round two.
    10 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 22, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Newark, Ca
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Well, It's Alright.
    I got this product at Sally's Beauty because I couldn't get the Clariol Eversol color remover. I was really skeptical about this product but I was just trying to get to red. I have had various shade of black/dark brown hair for the last 5 years and this stuff took the most recent color applications out very well, but the stuff that's been dyed more than that turned into either a red or a light brown. This works well if that's the shade you're going for or if you're going to bleach over it like I did. And another thing is don't use the last step because I heard it makes your hair darker.
    5 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 28, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Binghamton, NY
    Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Iffy Iffy
    Alright...so I read like atleast 60 plus pages of review on this stuff...I decided that I would try to use it considering I have dyed my hair permanent black for the last year, and I wanted to go back to blonde without the bleach...so...I got two boxes which I was told and read should have been enough..well here we are 4 boxes later and 8 applications later, Im sitting with this crap on my head now lol...the only problems I have had so far is, well the smell IS bad, I dont care what anyone has written on here, Ive been doing my hair for over 10 years now and some of the smells Ive had on my head before were NOTHING compared to this, it doesnt bother me BUT I have had atleast 15 people say "whats that bad smell" when Ive walked into a room lol so yes, it does smell and washing it amplifies it, it doesnt smell too bad after it dries though. It has taken some of the black out buuuut I dont know if I would say enough to make it very light at all, its currently a chocolate cherry color I would describe as I guess...Im going to do the bleach anyway but I have a feeling its going to be a scary time for me the next few weeks lol, as far as Im concerned it should have lifted the color way more than it has at this point, was it worth the money...yah in my case it was I guess...but for someone else, maybe not. This is a product that can go either way, everyones hair is different so to write a review to base on whether you buy it or not really cant be done. Also, if you have semi or demi permanent color in your hair and you use the product and it doesnt work..dont write a bad review, it clearly states on the box it will not lift these types of hair color...duh..I dont know why I keep reading reviews about it not working on that type of hair color, of course it doesnt, it says it doesnt! In the end, my hair is lighter not as light as I thought it would end up but lighter, it does smell like fish lol, but not that bad, and I would recommend it...oh also, I didnt use the lotion as I should have and even without the lotion after a day or so it did get darker on its own maybe a shade or two so..... Good luck ladies!
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 26, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name