Free Shipping Over $50
15% off + Free Shipping on Top Ten Lists
one 'n only

one 'n only Colorfix

492 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
$22.95
$18.95
Save 17%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 492 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • one 'n only Colorfix (492)
Show All 492 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Maine, USA
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    My Story
    So almost a week ago, I went into a beauty school that a good friend of mine attends. I went into the school because I had at least six inches of regrowth and the remains of bleach blonde highlights that I got over a year ago. I have naturally light brown, wavy, very thick hair that reaches almost halfway down my back - the natural regrowth on the back of my head matched a 5n swatch and the natural regrowth on the front matched a 7n. In order to give me my "natural" color, the instructor had my friend dye me a 5n, but only after using a red filler to cover up my bleached highlights. Anyway, the end result was HORRIFIC. It was extremely dark and almost BLACK with a deep reddish almost purple undertone from the filler, which I absolutely hated, especially since I'm quite light complected and since I tend to already wear darker, more earthy colors.

    So I went online, did some research, and ending up washing my hair multiple times with Prell, Head and Shoulders, and even Dawn dish soap to try and fade the black. Minimal fading occurred.

    So I did more research and discovered ColorFix! After reading almost every review of the product on here, I went out to my nearest Sally's and got my own kit.

    I cut out a small chunk of hair from where I had the highlights (since I have so much, I wouldn't miss it) and did a strand test and was amazed to see it become a light golden orange-ish color. But I was really very afraid to put the product to the actual test. So for the next few days I thought about it. Finally realizing that I would rather have any color other than the almost-black brown, I got to work.

    And it worked wonderfully! Unlike how the strand test came out (not surprised since I did that under optimal conditions basically) my hair is now a nice medium brownish, auburn color. I'm not even going to recolor it, since my end result came out so beautifully! My hair definitely feels a bit dry, however it looks as healthy as it normally does.

    Yes, the product does smell sort of funny and my hair still has a strange odor to it despite the use of conditioner, but I'm sure this will go away with time. I'm just hoping that the dark color doesn't come back since some people have had this happen. Crossing my fingers!
    11 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 29, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Illinois
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Magic :-}
    Here is my story for this product,
    Well last week I got my hair colored black, I wanted to get more like a natural soft black but it turned out to be black blue hair color. I was so worried what to do and I didn't wanted to bleach. So, I did some research and read many reviews before using this product. I was very nervous to use this product, but I wanted to get rid of the permanent black color in my hair. First, I did strand test on my hair and i removed it after 20 minutes and it turned into medium auburn brown color. I was happy that black color is gone, so i did overall in my hair and left it for 20 minutes exact. It did smell bad but not as bad that you will faint. I did this whole process in my garage because I didn't wanted my bathroom to smell bad. I did skip the step 3 based on other reviews to do so. So, after washing my hair black was gone and I had medium brown with some auburn hair color. I was happy with my results, although it did smell like sulfur in my hair. Next day, I got my hair deep treatment on my hair. And two days later I got my hair colored from salon with some highlights. Smell is gone too and this product didn't damaged or fried my hair. Go ahead and try this product if you want to fix your hair color.
    Hope this review help
    overall I am happy with my results
    11 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 23, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Oily Hair
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Works Great, But Quickly Caused My Happiness To Frustration
    Well after reading the reviews on this product I decided to give it a shot. I was willing to try anything after being stuck with this ugly jet black color for over a year. So I bought the product and put it in and left it for almost an hour. The reviews said to skip step three, and I wasn't sure why. But I did it anyway just to be on the safe side. It turned out an orangy reddish gold color and I was immediately so impressed that it took all that black out! Even my hairdresser couldn't get as much black out like this stuff did. The color I am looking to go is a chocolate brown, so I was eager to proceed to dying it with the hair color I had. WELL. That was a mistake. I went and put the color in my hair and within five minutes it turned black again! I was extremely close to tears and couldn't believe what I had was seeing. After doing some research I discovered that the peroxide in the developer for the hair dye causes the black to come back, hence why everyone says to skip step 3 (because there is peroxide in step 3.) Apparently the only thing I can do now is go back to the store, buy a whole other box of Colorfix, wait a week and then dye my hair to the chocolate brown. So all in all my experience has been annoying and frustrating, but in the end the product itself is great. It will get rid of that harsh color, you just have to have some patience to get to your ideal color. I'll write another review when I go to get the black out the second time and let everyone know how it works out in round two.
    10 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 22, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Newark, Ca
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Well, It's Alright.
    I got this product at Sally's Beauty because I couldn't get the Clariol Eversol color remover. I was really skeptical about this product but I was just trying to get to red. I have had various shade of black/dark brown hair for the last 5 years and this stuff took the most recent color applications out very well, but the stuff that's been dyed more than that turned into either a red or a light brown. This works well if that's the shade you're going for or if you're going to bleach over it like I did. And another thing is don't use the last step because I heard it makes your hair darker.
    5 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 28, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Binghamton, NY
    Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Iffy Iffy
    Alright...so I read like atleast 60 plus pages of review on this stuff...I decided that I would try to use it considering I have dyed my hair permanent black for the last year, and I wanted to go back to blonde without the bleach...so...I got two boxes which I was told and read should have been enough..well here we are 4 boxes later and 8 applications later, Im sitting with this crap on my head now lol...the only problems I have had so far is, well the smell IS bad, I dont care what anyone has written on here, Ive been doing my hair for over 10 years now and some of the smells Ive had on my head before were NOTHING compared to this, it doesnt bother me BUT I have had atleast 15 people say "whats that bad smell" when Ive walked into a room lol so yes, it does smell and washing it amplifies it, it doesnt smell too bad after it dries though. It has taken some of the black out buuuut I dont know if I would say enough to make it very light at all, its currently a chocolate cherry color I would describe as I guess...Im going to do the bleach anyway but I have a feeling its going to be a scary time for me the next few weeks lol, as far as Im concerned it should have lifted the color way more than it has at this point, was it worth the money...yah in my case it was I guess...but for someone else, maybe not. This is a product that can go either way, everyones hair is different so to write a review to base on whether you buy it or not really cant be done. Also, if you have semi or demi permanent color in your hair and you use the product and it doesnt work..dont write a bad review, it clearly states on the box it will not lift these types of hair color...duh..I dont know why I keep reading reviews about it not working on that type of hair color, of course it doesnt, it says it doesnt! In the end, my hair is lighter not as light as I thought it would end up but lighter, it does smell like fish lol, but not that bad, and I would recommend it...oh also, I didnt use the lotion as I should have and even without the lotion after a day or so it did get darker on its own maybe a shade or two so..... Good luck ladies!
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 26, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Colorado Springs
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Works
    At the beginning of summer my hair gal used a base color too dark with blond highlights that were way to chunky. I was so unhappy with getting the same results from her that I went to someone else. The next gal dyed over the blond with an equally dark color that had a black green cast to it. It faded out after 5 weeks to a lighter brown. I was happy with it finally and let her know that I was happy with the color and she went back over it with the same black green color! What?! Was I speaking the same language? It was dark, dull black with a few highlights at the top and dark black on the ends. Horrible. I used Colorfix 2 days ago. It turned the expected strawberry blond and now it is a light brown with auburn highlights. I may not even recolor it. It looks healthy enough to let it stay this color for awhile. So until the roots come in, it's going to be this color! :)
    5 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 11, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Did Absolutely Nothing For Me
    Does NOT work on hair that has been dyed with permanent Black hair color.
    DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT LIKE I DID!!!
    12 out of 17 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 3, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Pretty Good, But My Hair Smells.
    I've been dying my hair black for 3 years. I wanted a product that would gently lift some of the dye off my hair so my light brown roots would not be so apparent as I grow my hair back out. I found this product to be VERY effective in lightening my hair, and after 2 applications (you can easily get 2 applications from one box) I had a coppery red color. I attempted to apply dark blonde dye over my hair to even things out, and my hair went back to black. Yes, it turned black again, even after following the directions to a tee! (It says in the box it could do this.)

    I bought another box of Color Fix and repeated one application. This brought my hair back to the coppery red. This time, I decided to just leave it alone as I did not want another color fiasco. It has now been 3 weeks without touching my hair, and it seems to get darker every time I wash it. I definitely do not have black hair anymore, but the red has completely transitioned into dark brown.

    Overall, the product has basically done what it said it would do. The only con (besides the color getting darker again) is that my hair has smelled faintly of rotten eggs (surfer) since the first time I used the product. I was hoping this would fade over time, but it seems to be revitalized everytime my hair gets wet or is heat-styled. Shampooing, rinsing, conditioning, ect. has not helped. This has been VERY annoying!

    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 30, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 4 Star Rating
    Fixing My Multicolored Hair Dilema
    I colored my hair dark red for the past 6 months and figured it was time for a change because I got so tired of red, I began hating it. I have naturally dark (almost black) hair with a natural red base so that red dye clung on no matter what color I tried to put over it. I tried a variety of light browns till I finally made a decision to bleach my hair - a decision I would regret tremendously. My roots turned bright blonde and the lengths turned bright orange! I had scary clown hair. So with a cap on over my ginger head I went to the salon and the hairdressers there were shocked but were sure to fix it. They applied dark blonde over my entire head only to realize the orange ends were more resistant than they expected. So they applied made a new dye concoction and threw in a lot of blue. At the end the salon professionals seemed happy and told me to return for highlights and since it was late I skipped blow drying to do it myself at home. When I got home, I looked at my hair in the light and to my horror it was gray at my roots in certain areas and auburn at the lengths. Another disaster. I went back to the salon people who acted as though they did everything right but forgot to tell me to return 3 additional times to continue applying color....this didnt make sense and I could afford to do it either so I took matters in to my own hands (again.) I played around with store bought color a couple times and got my roots decent but the ends still had the nasty red tone. I did some research online and found this product, One N Only Colorfix. I was hesitant to buy it since my hair had gotten so weak and I didn't want it to melt. Ah well, I risked it. The results were great, not mind blowing like some other customers, but I was satisfied. The solution smelled like a chemical, rotten egg fart that lingered in my apartment and my hair for a day lol but my hair's condition was great! Was very touchable and surprisingly soft, possibly better than before. My hair went from an auburn/ash brown/golden brown multicolored mess to strawberry blonde that was almost completely even from root to end. The ends still had a redder tint but not too obvious. For some this color would look beautiful but warm golden colors wash me out so I dyed it in couple days with a light ash blonde. However....that damn red continues to haunt me....almost no significant color change has occurred. I don't know if it is a result of the colorfix or the new dye but now my hair just looks like a darker strawberry blonde. It's better at least. Can anyone suggest a way to make my hair more ashy? I heard gentian violet may be an option...I want a medium to dark blonde so I can put highlights...any help is appreciated. All in all, I highly recommend this product, I am sure it will work wonders for you :)
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 21, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    I Was Amazed It Worked!
    My stylist turned my brassy blonde hair blue/black. I was in tears. I googled until I was half blind, read all the reviews here, and decided to plunk down the 14.99 at Sally's and try it. I did a test strip in the back underside of my hair. It was obviously lighter before washing and blow drying. It was however a brassy reddish blonde. I can live with that until I get it colored. I have dry curly hair so I did a test strip on a problem area and it worked was exactly as the other test with no signs of additional damage. I did my whole head, rinsed in the shower for 5-10 minutes, did shampoo and conditioner then dried it.. it's brassy and reddish but it's a world better than that ugly dark chocolate brown. Get a bad dye job? Don't hesitate to get this product and correct it yourself at home. I mixed as directed in a glass cereal bowl, with gloved hands I applied it to my hair like I was applying conditioner. It was quick to apply and I think I'd have had trouble with the brush application method by myself. Oh, the smell wasn't half as bad as I thought it would be. Much like a perm solution smell. I'm sure it will be gone after a couple more washings.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 5, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name