Take 20% off site wide with code FRIENDS20

one 'n only Colorfix

Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
$18.95
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.

Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.

  • SKU: P8302   /  
  • Guaranteed Authentic
  • This package includes 4 fl oz (118 ml) Color Reducer, 4 fl oz (118 ml) Conditioning Catalyst, and 4 fl oz (118 ml) Processing Lotion
  • Gently removes permanent hair color no matter how long it has been in hair.
  • Easily removes any level of hair color.
  • Effective on all hair types - leaves hair in optimum condition.
  • Precise control formula is easy to mix and apply.
  • Does not contain ammonia, or formaldehyde.
  • Gently reduces the size of color molecules, allows for easy color removal.
  • No unpleasant odor.
  • From 6 to 16 applications depending on whether use is for partial or full color correction.

Before using colorfix After using colorfix

Directions

For full color correction:

  1. Apply to dry hair.
  2. Mix equal parts of  Colorfix Part 1 Color Reducer and Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst in tint bowl or an applicator bottle. (Mix as much as will be needed for the density and length of hair that requires correction.) Wearing gloves and using a tint brush, apply quickly and evenly to the hair. If mixed in an applicator bottle, shake vigorously until thoroughly mixed (45 seconds to 1 minute). Gently work through the hair to ensure even penetration. After mixing Part 1 Color Reducer and Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst, use as quickly as possible, since the activity of the mixture decrease with time.
  3. Cover loosely with a plastic cap, and process up to 20 minutes. Strand test frequently. Low, warm dryer heat may be used to speed processing time.
  4. Rinse hair for 3-5 minutes and shampoo. If sufficient color is not removed, repeat Step 2 and 3 (this may be done on damp, towel-dried hair). Depending on condition of scalp and hair, do not repeat process more than 2-3 times.
  5. When desired level of color removal has been achieved, apply Processing Lotion for 5 minutes. (Due to the nature of dye molecules, it is possible that hair may redarken to an unacceptable level. If it does, repeat Steps 2-4 on damp hair, until sufficient color is removed.)
  6. Rinse well. Dry hair with a warm heat setting. (A hot setting may cause scalp irritation.) You may now proceed with your color application, if performing a full color corrective service.

For slight color correction (lighten color that has gone too dark or ashen):

  1. Mix 1/4 oz Part 1 Color Reducer + 1/4 oz Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst + 1 oz Shampoo.
  2. Wearing gloves, apply to damp, towel-dried hair. Apply only to the areas of the hair that require lightening, and work into lather. To determine timing, take a strand test frequently.
  3. When the desired shade has been reached, rinse thoroughly and shampoo.

Tips for successful color correction:

  • Always strand test color formulas to be used prior to application. Remember, porous hair will absorb colors more quickly and the resulting hair color may be slightly darker. You may need to formulate 1-2 levels lighter than desired result.
  • Always use a low pH conditioner after an application of Colorfix. This will help protect the hair, and return it to a more normal state.
  • Colorfix is developed to remove oxidative dyes. Since most semipermanent colors are combination of direct dyes and oxidative dyes, Colorfix may only partially remove these.

Part 1 Color Reducer
Water (Aqua), Sodium Hydroxymethane, Sulfinic Acid, Hydroxyethyl Cellulose,Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothizolinone.

Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst
Water (Aqua), Citric Acid, Cetearyl Alcohol/Dicetyl Phosphate/Ceteth Phosphate,Cetearyl Alcohol, Fragrance, DMDM Hydantoin, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, PentasodiumPentetate.

Processing Lotion
Deionized Water (Aqua), Hydrogen Peroxide, Dimethicone Copolyol Medowfoamate,Simethicone, Phosphoric Acid.

NARROW BY HAIR TYPE
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
NARROW BY PRODUCT
  • one 'n only Colorfix (508)
Sort By
  • Date
  •  / 
  • Helpfulness
  •  / 
  • Rating
  • Iffy Iffy 3 Star Rating
    Alright...so I read like atleast 60 plus pages of review on this stuff...I decided that I would try to use it considering I have dyed my hair permanent black for the last year, and I wanted to go back to blonde without the bleach...so...I got two boxes which I was told and read should have been enough..well here we are 4 boxes later and 8 applications later, Im sitting with this crap on my head now lol...the only problems I have had so far is, well the smell IS bad, I dont care what anyone has written on here, Ive been doing my hair for over 10 years now and some of the smells Ive had on my head before were NOTHING compared to this, it doesnt bother me BUT I have had atleast 15 people say "whats that bad smell" when Ive walked into a room lol so yes, it does smell and washing it amplifies it, it doesnt smell too bad after it dries though. It has taken some of the black out buuuut I dont know if I would say enough to make it very light at all, its currently a chocolate cherry color I would describe as I guess...Im going to do the bleach anyway but I have a feeling its going to be a scary time for me the next few weeks lol, as far as Im concerned it should have lifted the color way more than it has at this point, was it worth the money...yah in my case it was I guess...but for someone else, maybe not. This is a product that can go either way, everyones hair is different so to write a review to base on whether you buy it or not really cant be done. Also, if you have semi or demi permanent color in your hair and you use the product and it doesnt work..dont write a bad review, it clearly states on the box it will not lift these types of hair color...duh..I dont know why I keep reading reviews about it not working on that type of hair color, of course it doesnt, it says it doesnt! In the end, my hair is lighter not as light as I thought it would end up but lighter, it does smell like fish lol, but not that bad, and I would recommend it...oh also, I didnt use the lotion as I should have and even without the lotion after a day or so it did get darker on its own maybe a shade or two so..... Good luck ladies!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 26, 2010
    / Binghamton, NY
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Thick or Coarse Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Works 4 Star Rating
    At the beginning of summer my hair gal used a base color too dark with blond highlights that were way to chunky. I was so unhappy with getting the same results from her that I went to someone else. The next gal dyed over the blond with an equally dark color that had a black green cast to it. It faded out after 5 weeks to a lighter brown. I was happy with it finally and let her know that I was happy with the color and she went back over it with the same black green color! What?! Was I speaking the same language? It was dark, dull black with a few highlights at the top and dark black on the ends. Horrible. I used Colorfix 2 days ago. It turned the expected strawberry blond and now it is a light brown with auburn highlights. I may not even recolor it. It looks healthy enough to let it stay this color for awhile. So until the roots come in, it's going to be this color! :)

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 11, 2010
    / Colorado Springs
    HAIR TYPE
    Light Brown / Dry Hair / Color Treated Hair
  • Did Absolutely Nothing For Me 1 Star Rating
    Does NOT work on hair that has been dyed with permanent Black hair color.
    DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT LIKE I DID!!!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 3, 2010
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Normal Hair
  • Pretty Good, But My Hair Smells. 3 Star Rating
    I've been dying my hair black for 3 years. I wanted a product that would gently lift some of the dye off my hair so my light brown roots would not be so apparent as I grow my hair back out. I found this product to be VERY effective in lightening my hair, and after 2 applications (you can easily get 2 applications from one box) I had a coppery red color. I attempted to apply dark blonde dye over my hair to even things out, and my hair went back to black. Yes, it turned black again, even after following the directions to a tee! (It says in the box it could do this.)

    I bought another box of Color Fix and repeated one application. This brought my hair back to the coppery red. This time, I decided to just leave it alone as I did not want another color fiasco. It has now been 3 weeks without touching my hair, and it seems to get darker every time I wash it. I definitely do not have black hair anymore, but the red has completely transitioned into dark brown.

    Overall, the product has basically done what it said it would do. The only con (besides the color getting darker again) is that my hair has smelled faintly of rotten eggs (surfer) since the first time I used the product. I was hoping this would fade over time, but it seems to be revitalized everytime my hair gets wet or is heat-styled. Shampooing, rinsing, conditioning, ect. has not helped. This has been VERY annoying!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jun 30, 2010
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Color Treated Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Fixing My Multicolored Hair Dilema 4 Star Rating
    I colored my hair dark red for the past 6 months and figured it was time for a change because I got so tired of red, I began hating it. I have naturally dark (almost black) hair with a natural red base so that red dye clung on no matter what color I tried to put over it. I tried a variety of light browns till I finally made a decision to bleach my hair - a decision I would regret tremendously. My roots turned bright blonde and the lengths turned bright orange! I had scary clown hair. So with a cap on over my ginger head I went to the salon and the hairdressers there were shocked but were sure to fix it. They applied dark blonde over my entire head only to realize the orange ends were more resistant than they expected. So they applied made a new dye concoction and threw in a lot of blue. At the end the salon professionals seemed happy and told me to return for highlights and since it was late I skipped blow drying to do it myself at home. When I got home, I looked at my hair in the light and to my horror it was gray at my roots in certain areas and auburn at the lengths. Another disaster. I went back to the salon people who acted as though they did everything right but forgot to tell me to return 3 additional times to continue applying color....this didnt make sense and I could afford to do it either so I took matters in to my own hands (again.) I played around with store bought color a couple times and got my roots decent but the ends still had the nasty red tone. I did some research online and found this product, One N Only Colorfix. I was hesitant to buy it since my hair had gotten so weak and I didn't want it to melt. Ah well, I risked it. The results were great, not mind blowing like some other customers, but I was satisfied. The solution smelled like a chemical, rotten egg fart that lingered in my apartment and my hair for a day lol but my hair's condition was great! Was very touchable and surprisingly soft, possibly better than before. My hair went from an auburn/ash brown/golden brown multicolored mess to strawberry blonde that was almost completely even from root to end. The ends still had a redder tint but not too obvious. For some this color would look beautiful but warm golden colors wash me out so I dyed it in couple days with a light ash blonde. However....that damn red continues to haunt me....almost no significant color change has occurred. I don't know if it is a result of the colorfix or the new dye but now my hair just looks like a darker strawberry blonde. It's better at least. Can anyone suggest a way to make my hair more ashy? I heard gentian violet may be an option...I want a medium to dark blonde so I can put highlights...any help is appreciated. All in all, I highly recommend this product, I am sure it will work wonders for you :)

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jun 21, 2010
  • I Was Amazed It Worked! 5 Star Rating
    My stylist turned my brassy blonde hair blue/black. I was in tears. I googled until I was half blind, read all the reviews here, and decided to plunk down the 14.99 at Sally's and try it. I did a test strip in the back underside of my hair. It was obviously lighter before washing and blow drying. It was however a brassy reddish blonde. I can live with that until I get it colored. I have dry curly hair so I did a test strip on a problem area and it worked was exactly as the other test with no signs of additional damage. I did my whole head, rinsed in the shower for 5-10 minutes, did shampoo and conditioner then dried it.. it's brassy and reddish but it's a world better than that ugly dark chocolate brown. Get a bad dye job? Don't hesitate to get this product and correct it yourself at home. I mixed as directed in a glass cereal bowl, with gloved hands I applied it to my hair like I was applying conditioner. It was quick to apply and I think I'd have had trouble with the brush application method by myself. Oh, the smell wasn't half as bad as I thought it would be. Much like a perm solution smell. I'm sure it will be gone after a couple more washings.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jun 5, 2010
  • Peewhew! 3 Star Rating
    I dyed my hair black and wanted to get rid of it so I went to the hair salon and she can i could try stripping it well,it worked but only on a little part of my hair,and it seemed like after a week or two it was going back to the way it was before.
    Well My bestfriend wanted to strip his hair so he bought one'n only colorfix and It worked on his hair awesomely!
    But then I tryed it and it seemed like it lightened it a little bit,but not all the way and after two days it looks as if it went back to the way it was before,not to mention the back of the box says "no unpleasent odor" this stuff smells horribly! and the smell of it stays in your hair for awhile.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jun 3, 2010
    / Delaware
  • Does Not Work !!! 1 Star Rating
    i have natural light brown hair, i dye it dark brown, some of my roots were showing, anyways i decided to dye my hair golden blonde, when i dyed it, my roots were golden blonde but the rest of my hair was light brown.. i decided i wanted to strip all the color off my hair so i bought this.. it did not work! it made my roots still the same color.. and the rest of my hair a rusty orange color.. then it darked and my roots were still golden blonde.. so i bought another kit and tried it again and it didnt work again.. and plus the smell is soooo bad and no matter how many times i wash my hair my hair still stinks !!!!!!! i hate this product!!!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jun 2, 2010
    / LA
  • Better Than Expected 5 Star Rating
    ok so i read like almost all the reviews on this site and a few on other sites and was not sure what to expect. I have been dying my hair for over 15 years and have not seen my natural color since i was in junior high school. I had found a great color that was semi-perm. and when my roots came in wanted to go darker so tried the next color down or is it up? anyway it came out almost black where as before it was a nice ashy medium blond. I figured it would fade but over a month later no fading. so i figured i would try to lighten it by adding highlights with a lighter color, using the same semi color, well it kinda worked did that twice with progressively lighter colors. realized i really missed the blond so go some hi lift brown perminante color and tired high lights with it seemed to work better so decided to do my whole head. bad idea my roots came out light reddish blond my middle reddish dark/medium brown and my tips dark brown. according to my husband not that bad...but he's a guy they don't get things like that. so called the help line they refunded me the cost of the dye all $10 and told me towards putting it to going to a salon to get it fixed. not an option to much $$$$. so looked up going blond on youtube and came across a review for this product. went out and got it two days later. i spend those two days doing heavy moisturizing on my hair. so put on this morning used 1:1 mix of the part 1 & 2 then added a tablespoon of shampoo applied it all to my towel dried hair, covered with a cap applied heat while waiting for 20min. washed my hair 3 times in the shower with a clarifying shampoo and a purple shampoo to reduce brassiness in between each i would condition so i could detangle. did not use step 3 like most others suggested. then applied a deep conditioner, rinsed that out and applied the protein filler let that sit for 20min then added an oil treatment, blew my hair dry with that in it and my hair was a beautiful golden strawberry blond. was kind expecting orange or yellow so was relived. I then rewet my hair and applied a toner white blond with 20 developer and some protein filler added in. was supposed to go for 15min. but after 5 my scalp was burning so washed it out. it did tone down the redness but only a little and slightly darker almost hard to tell. used the ion conditioner which gotta say is my new favorite better than the henna placenta stuff. i think the burning was because the filler has an ingredient i am allergic to so be careful if you allergic to wheat. hair seems fine some of my ends look kinda dry but other wise all good. and love the color would use again any day.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    May 27, 2010
  • Hmmm.... 4 Star Rating
    I was having a hair coloring disaster. I used demi permanent color in a 10N to tone my hair. I decided to add a *little* red mixer to it to warm up the tone, as I'm more of an ashy blonde and I wanted to warm up the overall color. Much to my shock, my hair turned red. 8| It actually was a beautiful shade, but ...I didn't want to be a redhead! So...I went back over the hair with a clear mix with a little /blue/ tone mixer to counter the red (when I say 'little' I mean less than half of what I used with the red. When I finished, the base of my hair was back to ash tones, but...my highlights were BLUE!!! I looked like a smurf on a bad day. As you might imagine, I was pretty upset. I'd rather be a gorgeous light red color than to have ashy hair with bright blue highlights! I wasn't sure what to do with it next. My DH reminded me of a product he saw in Sally beauty called "color remover" (this one). So he went to get it, and I used it. The first time, I left it on for 8 minutes and rinsed. I wasn't sure what to expect since I had used all demi permanent colors and this is supposed to work on permanent colors only. After I rinsed...the blue was gone!! All of it. But it also had definitely lightened my hair overall, and what was left was a little orange. I did a round 2 with one 'n only....left it on for 5 minutes, hoping it'd get rid of the brassiness. My hair lightened a little more (eek!) but it looked less brassy. So...then I did the developing lotion or whatever they call it (last step). When I rinsed it off.... /the blue was BACK/. I'm not even sure how that is possible! I was definitely fit to be tied, because I didn't want to put this strong stuff on my head for a third time, but...I didn't have any choice. So I did, once more, for 5 minutes...and left off that last nasty lotion step. The blue is nearly 90% gone, and I was left with a less brassy, very light blonde color. Way lighter than my color to begin with. My husband did some slices in foils of low and mid lights through it, and now it's really beautiful...except for all the damage this misadventure created in my hair. All in all, I'd say this product really works! Even on demi permanent color. But...be very careful with it, it says it won't lift color but it absolutely can. And when in doubt, leave out that last step with the developer lotion or processing lotion or whatever they call it.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    May 23, 2010
Server Name