25% off site wide. 35% off Theorie.

one 'n only Colorfix

Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
$18.95
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.

Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.

  • SKU: P8302   /  
  • Guaranteed Authentic
  • This package includes 4 fl oz (118 ml) Color Reducer, 4 fl oz (118 ml) Conditioning Catalyst, and 4 fl oz (118 ml) Processing Lotion
  • Gently removes permanent hair color no matter how long it has been in hair.
  • Easily removes any level of hair color.
  • Effective on all hair types - leaves hair in optimum condition.
  • Precise control formula is easy to mix and apply.
  • Does not contain ammonia, or formaldehyde.
  • Gently reduces the size of color molecules, allows for easy color removal.
  • No unpleasant odor.
  • From 6 to 16 applications depending on whether use is for partial or full color correction.

Before using colorfix After using colorfix

Directions

For full color correction:

  1. Apply to dry hair.
  2. Mix equal parts of  Colorfix Part 1 Color Reducer and Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst in tint bowl or an applicator bottle. (Mix as much as will be needed for the density and length of hair that requires correction.) Wearing gloves and using a tint brush, apply quickly and evenly to the hair. If mixed in an applicator bottle, shake vigorously until thoroughly mixed (45 seconds to 1 minute). Gently work through the hair to ensure even penetration. After mixing Part 1 Color Reducer and Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst, use as quickly as possible, since the activity of the mixture decrease with time.
  3. Cover loosely with a plastic cap, and process up to 20 minutes. Strand test frequently. Low, warm dryer heat may be used to speed processing time.
  4. Rinse hair for 3-5 minutes and shampoo. If sufficient color is not removed, repeat Step 2 and 3 (this may be done on damp, towel-dried hair). Depending on condition of scalp and hair, do not repeat process more than 2-3 times.
  5. When desired level of color removal has been achieved, apply Processing Lotion for 5 minutes. (Due to the nature of dye molecules, it is possible that hair may redarken to an unacceptable level. If it does, repeat Steps 2-4 on damp hair, until sufficient color is removed.)
  6. Rinse well. Dry hair with a warm heat setting. (A hot setting may cause scalp irritation.) You may now proceed with your color application, if performing a full color corrective service.

For slight color correction (lighten color that has gone too dark or ashen):

  1. Mix 1/4 oz Part 1 Color Reducer + 1/4 oz Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst + 1 oz Shampoo.
  2. Wearing gloves, apply to damp, towel-dried hair. Apply only to the areas of the hair that require lightening, and work into lather. To determine timing, take a strand test frequently.
  3. When the desired shade has been reached, rinse thoroughly and shampoo.

Tips for successful color correction:

  • Always strand test color formulas to be used prior to application. Remember, porous hair will absorb colors more quickly and the resulting hair color may be slightly darker. You may need to formulate 1-2 levels lighter than desired result.
  • Always use a low pH conditioner after an application of Colorfix. This will help protect the hair, and return it to a more normal state.
  • Colorfix is developed to remove oxidative dyes. Since most semipermanent colors are combination of direct dyes and oxidative dyes, Colorfix may only partially remove these.

Part 1 Color Reducer
Water (Aqua), Sodium Hydroxymethane, Sulfinic Acid, Hydroxyethyl Cellulose,Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothizolinone.

Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst
Water (Aqua), Citric Acid, Cetearyl Alcohol/Dicetyl Phosphate/Ceteth Phosphate,Cetearyl Alcohol, Fragrance, DMDM Hydantoin, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, PentasodiumPentetate.

Processing Lotion
Deionized Water (Aqua), Hydrogen Peroxide, Dimethicone Copolyol Medowfoamate,Simethicone, Phosphoric Acid.

NARROW BY HAIR TYPE
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
NARROW BY PRODUCT
  • one 'n only Colorfix (508)
Sort By
  • Date
  •  / 
  • Helpfulness
  •  / 
  • Rating
  • Awesome Product For Black Dyed Hair Removal! 5 Star Rating
    I WAS HAPPY TO HAVE SEEN A GREAT RESULT FROM THIS PRODUCT I USED PART 1 AND 2 AND REMOVED ALL MY BLACK HAIR! DIDNT DO THE LOTION PART BUT WENT TO SALLY AND GOT THE COLOR I WANTED AND MIXED IT WITH A ASH BLONDE AND GOT A LIGHT BROWN COLOR JUST WHAT I WANTED! I RECOMMEND COLORFIX INSTEAD OF BLEACHING FIRST

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 17, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Light Brown / Dry Hair / Curly Hair / Color Treated Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • My Go To Color Remover From Now On! 5 Star Rating
    My hair is naturally a light to medium brown, but I had been putting semi-permanent black hair dye (clairol & garnier) for 10 mths. I finally stopped in August (it's now November) and the color was hardly fading, so about a week ago I tried coloring it another semi permanent dye, a mix between dark golden brown and dark natural brown. Again, not much of change...still really dark, basically black hair except at my roots. I know this product is meant for permanent dyes but I gave it go. I followed the directions on the box mixing part 1 and part 2 equally and applied to my hair. Then I wrapped my hair in seran wrap and let it sit for 30 minutes, applying heat from the blow dryer for a few minutes at a time (2 times during the 30 minutes). Then, I rinsed with a clarifying shampoo because I was told that helps remove color as well. After I rinsed, the black was GONE! Completely out! But it was more of a brassy, golden, auburn brown. Kind of freaked me out because I wasn't used to it being that light...I added a bit more of part 1 and 2 to spots I had missed on my head and let it sit again for 20 minutes and then rinsed. I know a lot of reviews say not to use the processing lotion, but I DEFINITELY would because it completes the process. I was actually hoping the processing lotion would make it a tad darker, and it did, but just enough to even out the tone and take the brassy color out. Now, my color is a slightly auburn brown, but a lot more brown than red. It's actually a really pretty color and close to my natural. I would definitely recomment this product and use it again! My hair is still just a soft as it was before, and I believe that is because I used the lotion at the end. A friend of mine skipped this step and her hair was more coarse after she finished. Also, the smell was really not that bad. No worse than other hair dye you would put in...Hope this helps!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 4, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Medium Brown / Normal Hair / Color Treated Hair / Fine or Thin Hair
  • This Works But Dark/black Hair: Read This Please! 4 Star Rating
    This is only my opinion on this product, but i would read the directions carefully and decide for yourself. My hair is naturally dark brown/black, with some grey (39 yrs old). I have been dying my hair for many years and use both Sally's products and drug store dyes. At this point my hair was looking pretty dark. I used this product because I have been wanting to go lighter for some time....just a lighter shade of brown (my stylist was going to do it for $80, but i am on a budget). After reading a lot of reviews and hearing the controversy over #3-i opted to leave it out. I mixed all of #1 & #2 because i did not plan to repeat this harsh process. It ended up taking about 45 min to lighten it "all" to an orangy color (the ends and back took the longest because i have less grey in that area). FYI-It still seemed a little darker in those areas when i washed it out. I used a dandruff shampoo and dishwashing liquid. I also followed up with a little bit of conditioner (a good one). I had planned on dying right away so i dried it with a blow dryer on cool. Thank goodness i read the review that stated go waay lighter than you would ever imagine dying your hair, so i returned the lIght brown and bought a light ash blonde...YES I DID SAY BLONDE!! ASH BLONDE (didn't want any addtl red in the dye). I felt crazy purchasing the blonde, but against my better judgement i did it because a blogger stated this worked best for her-not knowing how this product worked-i followed the advice. THANK GOODNESS I DID!!! I used a test strand underneath and left it on for about 20 min and it turned pretty dark. When i dyed my whole head i decided to only leave it on 10-15 min because i tend to have resistant grey and even then when i washed it out it looked dark. Once again using a deep conditioning pack. I ended up drying it (low med heat) and styling right away. It is definitely lighter, I would say a medium reddish brown (in the sun i can see some red under tones) but it looks soo much better than the dark /black brown. My only issue now is that i have grey around my hair line in the front that did not take the blonde and i tried to avoid stripping those areas because it said stay away from the root area, although some still got on there. I want to see if i can touch up my part on top and the hairline around my face with a light brown, but am afraid it will take "black" and not match. I may do a test strand underneath, where i have some new growth areas as well. Smell is bad but not worst case scenario..i permed back in the day, so maybe that's why it wasn't that bad for me. I do have some (just a little) dryness-not anything like i thought. My hair has always been proned to some dryness anyway. After styling, you couldn't tell it was any dryer it looked/felt great. Over all, i thought it was well worth it. I plan on following up with some deep conditioning packs and hot oil treatments for a while. I wouldn't worry about the dryness factor as much as the end color result. MY WARNING: Brunette's do not dye your hair any shade of brown right after using this...it will turn very dark again! GOOD LUCK to all of you!!!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 4, 2011
    / Houston, Texas
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Normal Hair / Dry Hair / Curly Hair / Color Treated Hair
  • If U Want To Smell Bad 5 Stars 1 Star Rating
    i dyed my hair purple using "splat" everything went down hill real fast after that, hair turned pink..., then went to sallys got colorfix, so knowing me i follow directions, did everything, hair with blondish again, so im like ok cool, the smell though holy hell.... just terrible... like its worst then being stuck in a car with someoen who just ripped one and locked the windows... cant do anything i sweat boom the smell... + after colorfixing the hair i redye the hair... worst thing ever... the color fix just gets rid of the color so fast its like wow yuck..... washed my hair so many times now to try to get this smell out i just wasted 30 bucks... just terrible....

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 4, 2011
  • Works Really Well! 5 Star Rating
    This product worked beautifully! I had very, very dark brown hair when I used it, and it brought it back to about my natural color. The odor wasn't too bad, either! I read a lot of the reviews on here before I used it, and they all said to not use the part 3 processor stuff, so i didn't. but really, this product is wonderful. and my hair is in the same condition that it was to begin with.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 20, 2011
    / Mn
    HAIR TYPE
    Color Treated Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair
  • Unexpected Color Changes 2 Star Rating
    I originally had blue-green hair, I used this to get my blonde hair back, so I could dye it a different color. Everything was going great, the color was coming out and the blonde was back. Everything went to crap when I used the Processing Lotion. It turned my hair green. It says on the package that it may darken the color of the hair and that you have to do the steps again. Well, if that is the case than this product should be removed from shelves. People don't want unexpected things to happen, especially to their hair. It is unreliable and I will not be buying it again.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 9, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Color Treated Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • My Miracle Product 5 Star Rating
    So, i am a licensed cosmetologist, so I tend to change my hair color ALOT! This is the ONE product I trust to use on my hair, because it does the job, and leaves my hair in the same condition. The only downside is the smell, BUT it goes away after a few washes. I literally use this product once every two or three months, and my hair is in great condition. Ive used other color removers, and theyve all left my hair dry and brittle! But not this one! I do, however, skip the last step too, because it does redarken your hair. But I am 100% happy with this product, and if they ever take it off the shelf, I WILL cry. :)

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 5, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Medium Brown / Color Treated Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair
  • Varying Results 4 Star Rating
    I've used this product twice now, and I've had varying results.

    The first time I used it, I'd dyed my hair using some random box of red dye from the supermarket. The color was entirely too intense for me (I was naturally light blonde to begin with - hadn't colored my hair in about two years), so I used Colorfix the next day. Using the full color restore method (no shampoo in mixture) the results were stunning! While it wasn't my natural shade of blonde, it was blonde again and not even my parents could tell the difference (shocking, as even at 28 they are very aware of my hair). I waited about a week and then colored my hair again using another supermarket box dye and was relatively successful. The color was correct, though I noticed that it faded quickly. After recoloring it a second time (about 2 weeks later) my hair was holding the color just fine.

    With that success, it's really no wonder I picked up another box in order to start fresh with another color about three months later. This time my hair was in a different condition - no longer "virgin", holding about three different shades and two different brands of color, much drier as well. It removed most of the color again, though my blonde was more of a light orange this time. Also the smell was MUCH stronger, a bit like sulfur, and my hair was brittle and unmanageable after the entire process. The product says applying color immediately to dry hair was acceptable, so I applied the new color (a shade of light copper blonde) and waited. Surprising to me, my hair developed into a dark shade of brown - warm - but brown all the same. For some odd reason it has no red, is not light, and is not copper. I'm not sure what went wrong, but I can only assume that Colorfix is responsible.

    I'm fortunate enough not to have bright orange hair, or extremely damaged hair, but I would think twice before using this product without GOOD cause again. If I did use it again, I would likely use the gradual removal method, where you mix 1/4 oz of each part of the product with an ounce of shampoo.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 4, 2011
    / Inland Empire, CA
    HAIR TYPE
    Blonde / Dry Hair / Color Treated Hair / Fine or Thin Hair
  • Use Only If You Don't Mind Surprises Or Failures 1 Star Rating
    In my opinion this product should be taken off the shelf. I should have heeded the warnings, but hated my hair color so was willing to try Color Fix. First, it is true that the small is nauseating and is hard to get out of the hair . To me, that alone is a good enough reason to reject it . Still, I felt desperate . My hair is prematurely naturaly almost snow-white, and was naturaly black before it went gray -to-white . I decided after 13 years of white I'd see what it would look like blonde. I used a " light natural warm blonde " by Wella, with 20 volume developer. The result was awful ! I appled the color and put a plastic cap on . After 15 minutes I took a look and my hair had turned reddish brown ! And it looked dull and dead . That was a HORRIBLE color for me, so I thought ColorFix would take it out. All it did was turn it a slightly lighter more intense red shade . That did it for me- I wasn't going to go through that again. And LET ME SAY THIS : for you who think this was a great product and worked fine for you - you should realize that what you are looking at is not hair that has had the color removed- but hair that has been lightened somewhat. Notice the reddishness ? All you ever can hope for is to get your dark hair a little lightened, and that will always result in some reddishness. It's a red-head product and for some, as I have learned , the red will be neon orange ! Stay away from this "tricky" flop of a product , esp. if you don't wear orange well. I know it's a killer-color on some people--especialy on people with cold winter coloring like me. Orange is the kiss of death.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Sep 29, 2011
  • Yeah, No. 2 Star Rating
    Yeah, i have the same story as some of you guys. My hair was once black; i wanted it out. I went to sally's and bought colorfix. Well, lets just say i ended up buying it three times. I was excited at first because my hair had turned orange- which is a big step up from black. In a couple of days, i noticed that my hair would turn dark at the ends, either when i washed my hair or swam in ocean. Eventually, my hair turned completely dark, except for my roots that were blasted blonde. Oh, when you try to re-dye your hair to a lighter color (no matter HOW light) i noticed it always turns back to dark or black. So, just wanted to know if anyone else had this problem. I ended up paying abround 30 to 40 dollars for a product that works for a little bit. No, i would not recommend this product to anyone.. Yeah sure, some people have had their success- not me. Also, if you are planning to swim with people- the smell is horrific and someone will point it out that your hair smells and looks like a garbage dump.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Aug 13, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Normal Hair / Color Treated Hair / Fine or Thin Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
Server Name