Valentine's Day Sale

one 'n only Colorfix

Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
$18.95
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.

Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.

  • SKU: P8302   /  
  • Guaranteed Authentic
  • This package includes 4 fl oz (118 ml) Color Reducer, 4 fl oz (118 ml) Conditioning Catalyst, and 4 fl oz (118 ml) Processing Lotion
  • Gently removes permanent hair color no matter how long it has been in hair.
  • Easily removes any level of hair color.
  • Effective on all hair types - leaves hair in optimum condition.
  • Precise control formula is easy to mix and apply.
  • Does not contain ammonia, or formaldehyde.
  • Gently reduces the size of color molecules, allows for easy color removal.
  • No unpleasant odor.
  • From 6 to 16 applications depending on whether use is for partial or full color correction.

Before using colorfix After using colorfix

Directions

For full color correction:

  1. Apply to dry hair.
  2. Mix equal parts of  Colorfix Part 1 Color Reducer and Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst in tint bowl or an applicator bottle. (Mix as much as will be needed for the density and length of hair that requires correction.) Wearing gloves and using a tint brush, apply quickly and evenly to the hair. If mixed in an applicator bottle, shake vigorously until thoroughly mixed (45 seconds to 1 minute). Gently work through the hair to ensure even penetration. After mixing Part 1 Color Reducer and Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst, use as quickly as possible, since the activity of the mixture decrease with time.
  3. Cover loosely with a plastic cap, and process up to 20 minutes. Strand test frequently. Low, warm dryer heat may be used to speed processing time.
  4. Rinse hair for 3-5 minutes and shampoo. If sufficient color is not removed, repeat Step 2 and 3 (this may be done on damp, towel-dried hair). Depending on condition of scalp and hair, do not repeat process more than 2-3 times.
  5. When desired level of color removal has been achieved, apply Processing Lotion for 5 minutes. (Due to the nature of dye molecules, it is possible that hair may redarken to an unacceptable level. If it does, repeat Steps 2-4 on damp hair, until sufficient color is removed.)
  6. Rinse well. Dry hair with a warm heat setting. (A hot setting may cause scalp irritation.) You may now proceed with your color application, if performing a full color corrective service.

For slight color correction (lighten color that has gone too dark or ashen):

  1. Mix 1/4 oz Part 1 Color Reducer + 1/4 oz Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst + 1 oz Shampoo.
  2. Wearing gloves, apply to damp, towel-dried hair. Apply only to the areas of the hair that require lightening, and work into lather. To determine timing, take a strand test frequently.
  3. When the desired shade has been reached, rinse thoroughly and shampoo.

Tips for successful color correction:

  • Always strand test color formulas to be used prior to application. Remember, porous hair will absorb colors more quickly and the resulting hair color may be slightly darker. You may need to formulate 1-2 levels lighter than desired result.
  • Always use a low pH conditioner after an application of Colorfix. This will help protect the hair, and return it to a more normal state.
  • Colorfix is developed to remove oxidative dyes. Since most semipermanent colors are combination of direct dyes and oxidative dyes, Colorfix may only partially remove these.

Part 1 Color Reducer
Water (Aqua), Sodium Hydroxymethane, Sulfinic Acid, Hydroxyethyl Cellulose,Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothizolinone.

Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst
Water (Aqua), Citric Acid, Cetearyl Alcohol/Dicetyl Phosphate/Ceteth Phosphate,Cetearyl Alcohol, Fragrance, DMDM Hydantoin, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, PentasodiumPentetate.

Processing Lotion
Deionized Water (Aqua), Hydrogen Peroxide, Dimethicone Copolyol Medowfoamate,Simethicone, Phosphoric Acid.

NARROW BY HAIR TYPE
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
NARROW BY PRODUCT
  • one 'n only Colorfix (505)
Sort By
  • Date
  •  / 
  • Helpfulness
  •  / 
  • Rating
  • Love This! 5 Star Rating
    My hair was dark brown when I used this, I literally had colored it the day before using it (it was dark brown before also). I didn't think that it was going to turn out well at all due to me trying to bleach my hair before. My hair actually turned out lighter when I used this product than when I just bleached it. The color is very even, my roots to the tips of my hair are all the same color. The number one bottle smells very bad but doesn't stink as bad once you mix it with the second, I didn't use the processing lotion because of the reviews and my hair looks great. I highly recommend this product when wanting to lighten hair. My hair is now a light brown/dark blonde with some lighter highlights. USE THIS.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jan 24, 2012
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Curly Hair / Color Treated Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair
  • Love! From Natural Black Hair Asiannnn! :) 5 Star Rating
    OK,I'm Asian so I have natural black hair, when I came to U.S about 5 yrs ago, I never dyed my hair before, but couple months later my hair color become lighter, it became brownish which I really don't like. So I dyed my hair to black,which turns out to be the worst choice I have ever made. And my hair became VERY VERY VERY dark black and it probably never came off even before I use the one 'n only Colorfix. 1 year later I want to dye my hair to red, it didnt work of course. So I waited 2 yrs and after I graduate from high school I went back to China and went to a professional hair salon and asked the professional designer to dye my hair to red and purplish, but it turns out only the root of my hair was red and the others remains black. The color only shows my I go under the sun. Until this year, I dyed my hair to black AGAIN! (I guess I didn't learn from it yet!) It was about 3 months ago, then I dyed my hair to red about 2 month ago, I didn't know that I can't mix colors on hair, I wouldn't waste so much time and money if I did! but until about 4 days ago, I heard about this product, I ordered online and it shipped to me in 2 days, I used it but only for 20 min,I rinsed it and i low heat dry. It turns out my hair started look yellow reddish, and i love it!!!!!!!! I have had black hair for my entire life and now I see the change!! If it worked on my hair which is naturally black only in 20 min and only 3/4 of both bottle, it should definitely work on yours I suppose!!

    My advise:
    1) It does smell bad but if you ever dye your hair by yourself, you know what hair dye products smell like, so it shouldn't be so bad! But yes, it's kinda bad.

    2)If you are looking for very obvious color change buy more than one bottle and leave the product longer! the longer the better.

    3)Be confidence, believe in your choice, I didn't know what would happen to my hair before I use it but how bad could it be?! But maybe try it on Friday night when you don't have plans for Saturday! Just in case you know. :p

    4)I didn't use the condition as most of the reviews said, I don't want take this risk.

    5)REMEMBER: I'm a natural black hair Asian, black hair is in my blood, if I get this work on my hair, yours would to!

    6)It does make your hair dry, but it's not that bad, you can always condition your hair, but you don't always get rid off the hair color you hated RIGHT?!

    7)Good luck with it, I hope all of you find it helpful and useful! :)

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 31, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Dry Hair / Color Treated Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Didn't Work! 1 Star Rating
    This product is AWFUL. It leaves your hair smelling like rotten eggs or sulfer. It didnt do anythign to my hair at all!! I used it correctly followed the instructions right. I didnt pull any color out at all.

    Im extreamly disapointed with this product. i can only HOPEEEE that i will recive my money back, this was very expensive.

    This is an awful product. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!

    Also it damaged my hair, made it brake ..
    P.S im naturaly blonde, and i dyed my hair black.. I didnt dye it for months tho, and i even used a shampoo to help get out the color. so stripping my hair would be easy. Not with the awful product.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 27, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Normal Hair / Color Treated Hair / Fine or Thin Hair
  • Don't Let The Smell Fool You.. 4 Star Rating
    Ok so I tried to go from a medium auburn brown to a nice dark blonde to get a dirty blond color but it didn't work. I went to a hair salon to get it professionally done and it absolutely made no difference to my hair! I read a lot of these reviews and didn't want to bleach my hair so I got the colorfix and yes IT REALLY DOES WORK. The only problem is the smell, i mean i can't even smell my hair right now because it's grossing me out but it's totally worth the result and im sure it'll come out in a few washes. I've had red in my hair for about a year now and it never comes out but after i used this i'm surprised to say there is not even a hint of red left in my hair. It turned into a nice golden brown (i was thinking it would turn orange because of the previous color) but my roots got a little too light which i can fix by myself. I really recommend it, especially since it didn't damage my hair, just left it a bit dry. Covers very evenly too, just skip the last step with the processing lotion to keep it light :)

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 21, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Medium Brown / Color Treated Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair
  • Reversed... 1 Star Rating
    I had a good result from the product at first and then when I tried to redye my hair it didnt take and my hair turned back to the exact color it was before I used color fix. I dont understand this product and I now think it was a waste of money!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 19, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Dry Hair / Color Treated Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Miracle Product! 5 Star Rating
    First I will start by saying I am a licensed managing cosmetologist. I was weary about using this product, but as a natural light blonde I wanted my natural color back so bad!! I had dyed my hair red months ago and it would not fade out! I liked the red but as a cosmetologist I get tired of my color fairly quickly! I knew if I used bleach all over my hair would be white at the roots and orangy at the ends (and that is after several, several bleach applications!) So I decided to try this color fix treatment.
    Let me say the smell is bad; however, it smells just like a perm so I am used to that!
    All in all I will now swear by this stuff!!! If anyone has ever had red, you know how hard it is to get out! My hair is Blonde again! It isn't the perfect natural blonde color I had, but it isn't at all red... so I am extremely happy!
    Lastly, I skipped the last step! I had read reviews saying it would make your hair darker, and I plan to dye mine again in a few days to a more natural blonde so I just left that step out.
    My hair is healthy and not too dry as I expected! (if I would have used bleach my scalp would be burned and my hair would more than likely be falling out and dry) I did use a hot oil treatment on it after the color fix treatment and left it on for 5 hours! I love this product and I highly recommend it!!!!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 17, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Blonde / Dry Hair / Color Treated Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Don't Bleach To Lighten Your Hair! 4 Star Rating
    I dyed my hair hair blue black in October, until yesterday wanted it back to my brown. I was dreading I'd have to bleach but heard about Colorfix. I slathered the 1+2 in a bowl onto my hair (skipping 3 because it'll darken hair). I slatherd it into my hair like I was using shampoo or conditioner. Put on a cap blow dried every 10 minutes for a minute or two. I left it on a whole hour because I didn't notice lightning after 20-30 mins.

    Rinsed with clarifying shampoo mixed with dish soap and my hair was a very light goldeny brown, I was relived it didn't turn orange or red. So happy it wasnt black!

    DO NOT dye your hair right after, the next morning I woke up and the color had somehow darkened on its own almost 3 shades so now it's a dark auburn type color. I really liked the light brown, not sure if repeating colorfix will lighten it even more.

    Only complaint is the smell, I felt very sick with it on my hair and the smell stays no matter what, until you dye it over.

    Whoever rates this product poorly obviously didn't use it correctly. Also note my hair was a tad drier after but I used some leave in treatments so it's all good!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 20, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Medium Brown / Fine or Thin Hair
  • Awesome Product For Black Dyed Hair Removal! 5 Star Rating
    I WAS HAPPY TO HAVE SEEN A GREAT RESULT FROM THIS PRODUCT I USED PART 1 AND 2 AND REMOVED ALL MY BLACK HAIR! DIDNT DO THE LOTION PART BUT WENT TO SALLY AND GOT THE COLOR I WANTED AND MIXED IT WITH A ASH BLONDE AND GOT A LIGHT BROWN COLOR JUST WHAT I WANTED! I RECOMMEND COLORFIX INSTEAD OF BLEACHING FIRST

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 17, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Light Brown / Dry Hair / Curly Hair / Color Treated Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • My Go To Color Remover From Now On! 5 Star Rating
    My hair is naturally a light to medium brown, but I had been putting semi-permanent black hair dye (clairol & garnier) for 10 mths. I finally stopped in August (it's now November) and the color was hardly fading, so about a week ago I tried coloring it another semi permanent dye, a mix between dark golden brown and dark natural brown. Again, not much of change...still really dark, basically black hair except at my roots. I know this product is meant for permanent dyes but I gave it go. I followed the directions on the box mixing part 1 and part 2 equally and applied to my hair. Then I wrapped my hair in seran wrap and let it sit for 30 minutes, applying heat from the blow dryer for a few minutes at a time (2 times during the 30 minutes). Then, I rinsed with a clarifying shampoo because I was told that helps remove color as well. After I rinsed, the black was GONE! Completely out! But it was more of a brassy, golden, auburn brown. Kind of freaked me out because I wasn't used to it being that light...I added a bit more of part 1 and 2 to spots I had missed on my head and let it sit again for 20 minutes and then rinsed. I know a lot of reviews say not to use the processing lotion, but I DEFINITELY would because it completes the process. I was actually hoping the processing lotion would make it a tad darker, and it did, but just enough to even out the tone and take the brassy color out. Now, my color is a slightly auburn brown, but a lot more brown than red. It's actually a really pretty color and close to my natural. I would definitely recomment this product and use it again! My hair is still just a soft as it was before, and I believe that is because I used the lotion at the end. A friend of mine skipped this step and her hair was more coarse after she finished. Also, the smell was really not that bad. No worse than other hair dye you would put in...Hope this helps!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 4, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Medium Brown / Normal Hair / Color Treated Hair / Fine or Thin Hair
  • This Works But Dark/black Hair: Read This Please! 4 Star Rating
    This is only my opinion on this product, but i would read the directions carefully and decide for yourself. My hair is naturally dark brown/black, with some grey (39 yrs old). I have been dying my hair for many years and use both Sally's products and drug store dyes. At this point my hair was looking pretty dark. I used this product because I have been wanting to go lighter for some time....just a lighter shade of brown (my stylist was going to do it for $80, but i am on a budget). After reading a lot of reviews and hearing the controversy over #3-i opted to leave it out. I mixed all of #1 & #2 because i did not plan to repeat this harsh process. It ended up taking about 45 min to lighten it "all" to an orangy color (the ends and back took the longest because i have less grey in that area). FYI-It still seemed a little darker in those areas when i washed it out. I used a dandruff shampoo and dishwashing liquid. I also followed up with a little bit of conditioner (a good one). I had planned on dying right away so i dried it with a blow dryer on cool. Thank goodness i read the review that stated go waay lighter than you would ever imagine dying your hair, so i returned the lIght brown and bought a light ash blonde...YES I DID SAY BLONDE!! ASH BLONDE (didn't want any addtl red in the dye). I felt crazy purchasing the blonde, but against my better judgement i did it because a blogger stated this worked best for her-not knowing how this product worked-i followed the advice. THANK GOODNESS I DID!!! I used a test strand underneath and left it on for about 20 min and it turned pretty dark. When i dyed my whole head i decided to only leave it on 10-15 min because i tend to have resistant grey and even then when i washed it out it looked dark. Once again using a deep conditioning pack. I ended up drying it (low med heat) and styling right away. It is definitely lighter, I would say a medium reddish brown (in the sun i can see some red under tones) but it looks soo much better than the dark /black brown. My only issue now is that i have grey around my hair line in the front that did not take the blonde and i tried to avoid stripping those areas because it said stay away from the root area, although some still got on there. I want to see if i can touch up my part on top and the hairline around my face with a light brown, but am afraid it will take "black" and not match. I may do a test strand underneath, where i have some new growth areas as well. Smell is bad but not worst case scenario..i permed back in the day, so maybe that's why it wasn't that bad for me. I do have some (just a little) dryness-not anything like i thought. My hair has always been proned to some dryness anyway. After styling, you couldn't tell it was any dryer it looked/felt great. Over all, i thought it was well worth it. I plan on following up with some deep conditioning packs and hot oil treatments for a while. I wouldn't worry about the dryness factor as much as the end color result. MY WARNING: Brunette's do not dye your hair any shade of brown right after using this...it will turn very dark again! GOOD LUCK to all of you!!!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 4, 2011
    / Houston, Texas
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Normal Hair / Dry Hair / Curly Hair / Color Treated Hair
Server Name